also, i foresee 1 big disadvantage the bike-taxis will have in sg.... car-taxi drivers will try to kill the bike-taxis for snatching away their customers...

Haha gd one there..!:lol: If they don't kill, they'll hurt us...

http://robeastblog.files.wordpress.com/2008/06/jabbawockeez_red.jpg
  • Replies 44

as mi5trooper mentioned, London already have them and it's the big bikes that are being used as cabs... i remembered a lot of professionals used them to rush to meetings cos they are faster...

with the panniers & boxes i believe all the raincoats & helmets can be store there. maybe 2 helmets & raincoat to rotate the usage...

Not to mention, London has colder temperatures than that of tropical Singapore, so I'm guessing the perspiration problem doesn't play a big factor in whether they want to ride one or not.

u provided a better solution than ERP. imagine lesser ppl will be driving their cars or taking taxis. can write to Ministry of Transport and see if they r OK? :lol:

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

i think the ministry will be happy le...:cheeky: :cheeky:

i will try to increase de pool of this free lance bike-cab...:thumb: :thumb:

anyway, just came back from bike shop at Alexandra... my 2A is really coming soon..:cheeky: :thumb: :cheeky: :thumb: heee hee he..

dat shop servicce is...:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

anyway, dat guy mentioned the bike market has increase quite substantially... some positive sign ya? :thumb: :thumb:

>

1998-2001: Hyundai Accent 1.5

2001-2005: Mazda 323 Sports 1.6

2005-? : Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6

2006-2008: The humble Bajaj Pulsar 0.180 hee..

2008 akan datang: Suzuki GSR 0.400

Solution to road congestions, environment polutions and rising costs of transportations: RIDE!

RIDE responsibly - stay alive, stay out of trouble..

>>>

2006-2008: The humble Bajaj Pulsar 0.180 heee..

2008 - ? : Suzuki GSR 0.400...:thumb: :thumb:

Solution to road congestions, environment polutions and rising costs of transportations: RIDE!

i think the ministry will be happy le...:cheeky: :cheeky:

i will try to increase de pool of this free lance bike-cab...:thumb: :thumb:

anyway, just came back from bike shop at Alexandra... my 2A is really coming soon..:cheeky: :thumb: :cheeky: :thumb: heee hee he..

dat shop servicce is...:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

anyway, dat guy mentioned the bike market has increase quite substantially... some positive sign ya? :thumb: :thumb:

>

2006-2008: The humble Bajaj Pulsar 0.180 hee..

2008 akan datang: Suzuki GSR 0.400

>>>

wat bikeshop?

Universal Motor at Alexandra.. Good service for both sales and servicing and both my bike from there...

can try there if looking for bike :cool: :cool:

btw my GSR is with me liao... 2 days old... Matt black... to describe the bike in one word it will be... AWESOME :thumb: :thumb:

great look, great response, great sound, great build....:thumb: :thumb: :thumb:

after run in can start my pillion business liao... heee...:p :P

2006-2008: The humble Bajaj Pulsar 0.180 heee..

2008 - ? : Suzuki GSR 0.400...:thumb: :thumb:

the idea is gd~! but gov will nv approve... b'cos this idea will stop them to earn more money~! car import tax, COE, insurance, road tax, fine, especially ERP. b'cos they know all driver hav no choice and willing to pay for it. so they just add more granted and increase the charges of ERP... now even u dun use expressway u oso hav to pay for ERP~! i stay bt. panjang go by bt. timah road to science park to work. the stupid ERP granted at bt.timah will b activate on 1st april. i "lan lan" hav to wake up early to work liao... F**K

u provided a better solution than ERP. imagine lesser ppl will be driving their cars or taking taxis. can write to Ministry of Transport and see if they r OK? :lol:

I think the closest thing we can get to this in the near future is to pillion our colleagues to and from work for a bit of petrol money.

Even if this becomes a reality, Comfort Delgro sure corner the market one, use the same bike as CDC Class 2B. So unglam.

I'll definitely pay to take a ride on a big bad Harley. Rider must look like Paul Senior though.

Get a Pulsar, fix a side-car, earn more money! :lol:

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2009/07/09/bikepics-1722149-full.jpg

If It Ain't Scary, It Ain't Fast Enough
Get a Pulsar, fix a side-car, earn more money! :lol:

yeah man , a side car would be nice, but the point is they wan to arrive fast .

which means will have to cut thru jams and all . With side cars = no point.

take taxi better got aircon..

SKY - NESS

10/06/09 - Passed TP!

17/06/09 - First Ride NSR SP.

Roehr-1250SC

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2009models/2009-Roehr-1250SCj.jpg

thialand congestion is worst but they do have bike cabbies

nice crazy idea...i think it wont work in singapore....since lots of ppl think bike is not safe...but hu knoe...if u get some attention...maybe..

Plz Value Life...

Ride Safe...

http://i461.photobucket.com/albums/qq337/whoissham/IMG_0285.jpg

dunno where you got the idea that sg roads are much safer now.. and i am very sure very few pple will take a bike.. why?

1) its dangerous. accident how? rider pay? cab company pay?

2) wont be comfortable. rain how? sunny sweat like crazy.

3) ladies definitely wont take it. if sg population equally divided into 1/2 male 1/2 female of 4mil pple.. that leaves with 2mil guys. how many of the 2mil would be willing to take a taxi-bike? wear shirt tie swee swee still must sweat.. if they dare and willing to take a taxi-bike, i believe most would be riding themselves already..

just my 2 cents worth.

dun wan la.. avoid from any body contact.. imagine your passenger is

those horny auntie or gayish uncle who like to touch here n there 1.. how? half way through the road.. i know.. you could jam front brake let them fly.. but like that increase the road accident rate leh.. COE + road tax increase.. and plus with this system.. i can confirm insurance company confirm will interfere 1.. With special insurance or even license to carry pax..

this might get spoil easily..

-tyre due to heavy pillion.

-heat up engine even faster..

-make parts wear out faster..

-suspension tension very easy spoil..

-some ppl have dun have the guts..

-helmet wise..

-TAXI UNCLE WILL BE DAMN DULAN WITH YOU!!!

http://coastline.chu.jp/Resources/zxr400.jpg

Be cool, Be smart... Be your Yourself!

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

Money is'nt everything, but without money, you're just nothing!

actually london got bike taxi. it is more ex then car taxi. the are using big bike like st or fjr (type that look like these lah) for bike taxi.

basically, the idea is good. but most singaporean will not accept it. becos, 1st they think it is degrading. 2nd bike is danger in their mind. 3rd they are spoilt and want confort too. 4th most girl will hate to wear helmet or have their long hair blow in the air like that. it will spoilt them hairdo (most of them think like that). the most factor is 1st they think it is degrading. 2nd they think it is danger.

unless these are being corrected, bike taxi is not going to be very popular.

lastly the most important factor is gov may not issue u the taxi license. so it is hard to work illegally.

dun wan la.. avoid from any body contact.. imagine your passenger is

those horny auntie or gayish uncle who like to touch here n there 1.. how? half way through the road.. i know.. you could jam front brake let them fly.. but like that increase the road accident rate leh.. COE + road tax increase.. and plus with this system.. i can confirm insurance company confirm will interfere 1.. With special insurance or even license to carry pax..

this might get spoil easily..

-tyre due to heavy pillion.

-heat up engine even faster..

-make parts wear out faster..

-suspension tension very easy spoil..

-some ppl have dun have the guts..

-helmet wise..

-TAXI UNCLE WILL BE DAMN DULAN WITH YOU!!!

lastly, ladies tend to wear skirts... thus cannot sit on bikes... this is the main issues about bikes... When sending my gf to interviews.. I and her HAVE TO take cab.. because she wear skirt... haix..

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

i used to have this idea in the past when i was a kid.but fact is it hard to be it.

reason is stated as what u guys have fact it out.

but from 2 yr back when i see the uncle at dam selling ice-cream,i start to think of this again:)

but even with tat,ppl might as well take a car lol..

some 2b bike is so cheap, I believe if ppl want to ride around to places, they would get a lic and buy a $2-3k get a fuel efficient kup for daily use instead of depending on bike taxis.

i dunno if ppl in SG would want to pay and seat on a bike or not, since the general consesus is that biking is dangerous, some more you dun know the person pillioning you.

if u had tried to be a pillion with someone u dun know at all, the entire journey i tell you, is like fear fear fear all the way, not a relaxed ride, especially when jams start coming in and the biker squeeze his way thru.

i've rode on those bike taxis countless times before, no doubt it is faster and cheaper, but when i balance my safety to the amount i would have saved, i'll rather take a taxi.