• Replies 648

Movie Review On 'Cars'

'Cars' tells the story of a rookie racecar, Lightning McQueen's journey of self-discovery when he got lost on his way to a race to determine the 'Piston Cup' winner after a 3 way tie between him and 2 other race cars in a previous race. The plot and themes of this movie are somewhat familiar to Michael J Fox's 'Doc Hollywood' where a big time plastic surgeon has to spend time doing community work in a hospital after causing a traffic accident there. PIXAR has really outdone itself with this animation movie. The attention to the details and colours give the cars a lifelike feel to them. Though not as hilarious as 'Chicken Little' due to its grown up themes, I still like the movie. Plus, do stay back while the credits roll because there are a few hilarious spoofs done by the PIXAR team on their past animated movies. Now, when will PIXAR do an animation movie on sportsbikes next??? :lovestruck:

Originally posted by Aie@Jun 13 2006, 10:54 AM

Movie Review On 'Hostel'

For those backpackers to a foreign land, be wary of the company you keep because you'll never know what lies in the minds of strangers. Two guys, out on a sexcursion to Slovania learnt this the hard, painful and torturous way. This movie, supposedly inspired by true events, is full of blood and gore halfway into the story. It never ceases to amaze me on how the perverse human minds work that people could actually play butcher to another human being, without a hint of guilt or conscience. It is kind of horrific and depressing to see kids around 8 to 10 years old, using rocks to bash people's heads in just for a reward of a plastic full of sweets. Another good, gory movie from Lions Gate Films, the same company that brought you 'Saw' and 'Saw 2'. A movie not for the faint at heart though... :thumb:

quite a nice movie..

Rot In Hell!!

wa.. u really know a lot of stories hor..

2002 - 2003 Yahama Tzr 125 (FH1687Z)

2003 - 2005 Honda Sp 150 (FR9672K)

2005 - 2007 Honda Cbr FireBlade 400 (FN543E)

2007 - 2010 Suzuki Gsx-R K7 1000 (AU222D)

2010 - 2011 Honda Civic FD2 (S*******)

http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j165/honam24/Bikini%20Bike%20Wash/My%20Bike/IMG_2304copy.jpg

All the way across the board with no limitation

Movie Review On 'Final Fantasy 7 : Advent Children'

When Final Fantasy The Movie was released, I was disappointed, being an ardent Final Fantasy videogamer. Although the graphics of that movie are gorgeous and lifelike, the storyline was lame. Nothing like the intriguing storyline of the videogame series. Well, fans of the Final Fantasy videogames can now rejoice. Final Fantasy 7 : Advent Children is a beautiful piece of mesmerizing animation work. For those who played the Final Fantasy 7 videogame, the story continues two years after the ending of that game. The hero, Cloud Strife, is back again to save the world once more from the villains who are keen to resurrect the antagonists, Jenova and Sephiroth, so that they can rule the world. The original characters of Final Fantasy 7 such as Yuffie, Barret, Tifa, Red and Cid are all present in this movie. Even the Guardian Force or Aeon, Bahamut, made an appearance to wreak havoc whilst under the control of the villain. The fight sequences are dazzlingly great, almost Matrix-like with enchanting music accompaniment. I just love this movie. Kudos to the director, music director and graphic designers. This is the first time I developed a major crush on an animated character, Tifa. She's grown up so beautiful and different from her cartoony self in the videogame. If only... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Crude_XO@Jul 11 2006, 02:06 AM

Obviously a "POSTS CLOCKER"

I don't know you personally and I don't know what your reasons are for being a firestarter. Like purposely adding fuel to fire and waiting for arguments between forumers to erupt while you just sit back and enjoy the show. Please lah. Go bother someone else. I've already apologized for my mistake in the other thread and the threadstarter and his friends are magnanimous enough to forgive me. If you want to find fault with me, just to get a reaction from me, I'll tell you now that after this post, I'll treat you as invisible. However, if you wanna be friends in the spirit of riding, then I've got no problems shaking your hand if I happen to see you in person. Until you've made your intentions clear, no one invited you in my thread so do clock your posts elsewhere... o_O

Movie Review On 'The Pirates Of The Caribbean : Dead Man's Chest'

Sequels are usually a disappointment when compared to its first movie. However, this does not apply to 'Pirates Of The Caribbean : Dead Man's Chest'. In fact, this movie is way better than its predecessor. The adventure continues with Captain Jack Sparrow's quest to find Davy Jone's key and chest to rid himself of a cursed agreement with the tentacled face fiend, Jones himself. His quest got him and his crew captured by cannibals. The process of their escape had me in stitches. Elizabeth Swann and Will Turner join up with Jack to get Jack's compass that is able to lead them to Davy Jone's chest. They need the compass in exchange for a full pardon from the monarchy for helping Jack escape previously. Lots of swashbuckling action, laughs and a riveting storyline. Another curse has replaced the Aztec Gold curse. Most of the action are now at sea with a Kraken around. The ending is a mind blowing surprise to me and don't assume that the story ends there. Be prepared for a third installment to 'The Pirates Of The Caribbean'. Plus, stay back for the coda after the credits end... :thumb:

Originally posted by Aie@Jul 12 2006, 11:09 PM

I don't know you personally and I don't know what your reasons are for being a firestarter. Like purposely adding fuel to fire and waiting for arguments between forumers to erupt while you just sit back and enjoy the show. Please lah. Go bother someone else. I've already apologized for my mistake in the other thread and the threadstarter and his friends are magnanimous enough to forgive me. If you want to find fault with me, just to get a reaction from me, I'll tell you now that after this post, I'll treat you as invisible. However, if you wanna be friends in the spirit of riding, then I've got no problems shaking your hand if I happen to see you in person. Until you've made your intentions clear, no one invited you in my thread so do clock your posts elsewhere... o_O

well said bro Aie!

I'll be behind you all the way!

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a376/gssiong/JatukamRamathep.gif
Originally posted by gssiong@Jul 18 2006, 09:55 AM

well said bro Aie!

I'll be behind you all the way!

I'd rather that once in a while, you be in front of me all the way. Especially if we are out riding together... :cheeky:

Movie Review On 'Superman Returns'

I grew up with knowing Christopher Reeve as Superman. Now that he had passed away, imagine my surprise to see a Reeve lookalike in 'Superman Returns'. Brandon Routh is a worthy successor. The movie tells the story of how things have changed during Superman's five years absence when he went back to recce his devastated planet Krypton. Lex Luthor, played brilliantly by Kevin Spacey is Superman's nemesis. Though the special effects are top notch as you get to see Superman attempting to save a crashing plane in midair, this new Superman movie just fails to excite me further. The storyline is rather boring and longwinded. That's what you get when you pit Superman against a mere mortal like Lex Luthor. I still remember the excitement that I had as a kid when Superman fought against the three Kryptonian super villains in 'Superman 2'. Now that is a GREAT movie. The BEST, in my opinion. Let's just hope that the next Superman movie will have more action sequences to replace the sappiness of this movie... :smile:

Originally posted by Aie@Jul 27 2006, 12:08 PM

I'd rather that once in a while, you be in front of me all the way. Especially if we are out riding together... :cheeky:

hahaha...

you hungry for stone?

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a376/gssiong/JatukamRamathep.gif
Originally posted by gssiong@Jul 27 2006, 03:15 PM

hahaha...

you hungry for stone?

I'm hungry for supper from you but if you don't wanna belanja me supper, stones also can lah. Long time never eat stones liao... :lol:

Abg Aie..i'm waiting on your movie review for The Fast and the Furious Tokyo Drift.

Hell..yesterday i went to watch the sneak preview..Guys..this is a warning..for those who love cars and bikes..get ready to be rocked by the speed and sound of cars travelling on gravel and burning their rubbers at every turn..oh..and try to look out for a chopper with NOS installed..its mind blowing..

although its 50% real 50% graphical imagery..i still its a rawking movie nonetheless!!..

TOKYO DRIFT!!A must watch guys!!

-- Kawasaki KRR Kips (150-1) -- 040506 --> 260608

-- Super 4 VTEC III (400-1) -- 260608 --> ???

Ride as much as you want; keep in mind there's a family back home who loves you.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g304/gendut18/26072008090.jpg

Movie Review On 'The Hills Have Eyes'

A family going on a road trip vacation in a motor home strayed away from the main road to a supposedly short cut route, only to be attacked by something out there in the desert. The something out there turns out to be a family of mutants, living deep in the desert, away from civilization. The mutants here are not the X-Men but deformed, horrendous humans, mutated due to radiation exposure from the nuclear tests that the United States government conducted in the desert. When I saw this movie, a few other movies come to mind. This movie is a little bit of 'Trespassers', 'The Devil's Rejects' and 'Texas Chain Massacre' all rolled into one. The scenes of torture, violence and inhumanity are rather sickening as the mutants take cannibalistic pleasure in slaughtering the innocent family, one by one. Lots of blood and gore presented. Needless to say, another movie not for the faint-hearted... :giddy:

Movie Review On 'She's The Man'

This modern adaptation of Shakespeare's 'Twelfth Night' has Amanda Bynes playing Viola who attended her twin brother's school, Illyria Prep, in his place (her brother went to London for a band gig) just so she could make it into the BOYS soccer team. She wanted to do so cos her own school had a gender discrimination issue and had scrapped the girls soccer team. In order to prove that she plays as good as the guys if not better, she disguises herself as her twin brother Sebastian. It is intriguing to see how a girl thinks and acts according to what a guy should be like. I find her depiction of a guy, totally hilarious, with her deep Southern drawl and gangly mannerism. From a weirdo as thought by her soccer team mates, their impression of her changes to a hotshot playboy after her gay hairdresser friend stepped in to help. This movie is a great date movie and definitely a movie made to appeal to teenagers. The movie soundtracks are great too and just like Shakespeare's other play, this is the kind of movie with the ending 'Alls Well That Ends Well'. I did not anticipate that I will like this movie but after watching it, I did... :thumb:

Movie Review On 'Final Destination 3'

The means and ways may be different but the main message stays the same. Cheat Death once and Death will hunt you down mercilessly with a vengence, killing you in a much gory, brutal way that the people who see Death in action, will cringe in horror. This scenario is prevalent in the 3rd installment of the 'Final Destination' movies. Only this time, instead of having a premonition of death at the aeroplane or the expressway like the two previous movies, the lead female character, had her deathly visions on a roller coaster. As a result of her hysterics, 9 people got off the ride and sure enough, her premonition came true soon after the roller coaster ride started. It is intriguing to watch the chain of events Death concocted which ultimately lead to the demise of those who escaped him the first time. Though these chains of events are stylishly linked together, the death scenes are not a pretty sight. Blood, gore, burnt to ashes and smashed to pieces body parts are aplenty in this movie. If you had watched the first two movies of this trilogy, then the ending to this one should come as no surprise to you. Watch this movie if you have a stomach for blood and gore... :smile:

Movie Review On 'Lucky Number Slevin'

Slevin is a man who gets caught up in a web of confusion when two rival crime bosses mistake him for someone who owes them money. In order to write off his 'debt', Slevin was ordered to assassinate The Rabbi's (one of the crime boss) son, 'The Fairy' (cos he is gay) by 'The Boss' (the other crime boss). The plot initially plays like a comedy of errors with another professional killer, Goodkat, lurking in the background. His presence at the start of the movie, killing a man at the bus terminal and his purpose will only be revealed towards the end. For those of you who loved 'The Usual Suspects', this movie will blow you away. The storyline is intriguing and the way how every course of event and action in the past pieces of puzzle fit nicely into place at the final confrontation among the key players are a gem to watch. This is a thinking man's movie and definitely the most thought provoking gangster movie I have watched this year so far. If you are left with only $10 to watch a movie, then this is the movie to watch... :thumb:

Movie Review On 'Scary Movie 4'

'Scary Movie 4' starts off with a parody from the movie 'Saw' which is rather funny. This latest installment of the 'Scary Movie' series by David Zucker (after he took over the reins of the Wayan brothers in Scary Movie 3 and this latest one) spoofs off movies like 'Ju-On', 'The Village', 'Brokeback Mountain', 'The Million Dollar Baby' and 'War Of The Worlds'. If you like dumb, crude, disgusting, tasteless and low IQ physical comedy, then this movie is the one for you. This comedy is so lame that all it got out of me after the initial 'Saw' scene, is forced laughter. This is the perfect movie to watch when you have an hour and a half to kill without much concentration needed on your part to focus on the plot or storyline... :faint:

Movie Review On 'The Break-Up'

If you are currently in a relationship, 'The Break-Up' is a great movie to watch so as to know on what NOT to do to keep your relationship fine and dandy. Jennifer Aniston and Vince Vaughn play a couple who breaks up when the both of them cannot see eye to eye and reach a compromise on their expectations of the other. Namely, she can't stand his couldn't be bothered attitude in helping out with maintaining the tidiness of their abode and on the other hand, he can't stand her control freak nature. This movie will hit a chord with couples because the situations presented are so true to life. The story gets interesting when they both refused to move out of their condo unit and the ways they assert their territories in terms of living space and friends, border to the point of being childish. My wife and I can totally relate to the movie because the cohabitation between the two lead characters is like a marriage without the wedding vows. Their bickering is just like the bickering my wife and I do over the same subject matters in real life. The chemistry Vaughn and Aniston share on screen is so good that it is no wonder that they developed a real relationship after the movie was completed. Definitely a great movie for couples regardless of whether they are married or in love. This movie proves that not all relationships end up happily ever after... :weep:

Movie Review On 'When A Stranger Calls'

If you had seen the opening scene of 'Scream' whereby Drew Barrymore entertained the psychotic killer regarding scary movies, you'd probably think that the scriptwriter of the movie, 'When A Stranger Calls', got the idea from that movie. The funny thing is, you are not the only one to think that and that you are probably right. This movie is like the one and a half hour extended version of that scene except the killer here does not initiate any senseless banter and the lead character does not end up like Drew Barrymore. The lead character is just an innocent babysitter, stalked by a killer through the phone. The director tries to play on our fear by using dim lighting, setting (a huge house, far away from civilization) and mood. However instead of being shocked or scared out of my skin, I felt that the pace of the movie is rather slow, building up to a climax that falls short. The killer did not even attempt to murder the babysitter by using knives, a machete or an axe but only used his bare hands by trying to strangle her to death. How boring is that? Give me a maniacal killer that slashes, chops and hacks his victims any time of the day over this wussy killer. The ending also is a tad too cliche. Those movie scriptwriters in the thriller, serial killer genre really need to come up with something more original... :help:

Hiz!

Which is the best war movie u guys ever watched?

In your opinion ......

Movie Review On 'Date Movie'

'Date Movie' has spoofed so many movies that I totally lost count. The main storyline is basically about this slimmed down fat girl who faces difficulties getting married to the man she loves. Plot is mainly spoofed from 'My best Friend's Wedding' and 'Meet The Fockers' with parodies from a lot of other movies thrown in. In the tradition of those Wayan brothers movies, 'Date Movie' has plenty of crude, tasteless, lame and dumb scenes that only managed to get forced laughter out of me. It took me a lot of effort to sit through this movie until the end cos it just did not appeal to me and all those lacklustre attempts at humour got me cringing instead of laughing. Don't waste your time to watch this movie unless you really have nothing better to do and please do not bring a date to watch this movie. Though the title is apt, bringing a date to watch this movie with you will only jeopardize your chance of a second movie date. A movie should be fun but this one is agonizing... :giddy:

Movie Review On 'The Fog'

The main plot of this movie is about the future generation in a small town having to pay the price for the sins of their forefathers. A thick, dense fog descends on the town, killing the descendants of the four founders of the town. Personally, I think this is a decent remake of the original. The shadows in the fog and the apparations do provide some decent, scary moments. As the mystery unravels on the truth, it was rather anti-climatic towards the end and my reaction was, "Huh, that's it?" when the movie ended. The ending in this remake is a tad different from the original movie. All in all, a rather decent horror movie but I doubt that it will garner a cult following. If you are interested in watching Tom Welling of 'Smallville' fame making out in the shower with Maggie Grace from 'Lost' , then watch this movie... :cheeky:

Hiz!

Does anyone know where can I get Band of Brothers DVD? (With English subtitles)