by the way, to let u feel confident on limbat's HID, i need to mention this.

I work at zouk controlling traffic outside of zouk. i have seen hundreds of cars, fitted with HID coming in and out of zouk every weekend. and really, from wat i see, only the brightness of a few cars can fight with limbat's HID.

wat im trying to say here is tat there are many types n brands of HID in the market. and i could haf gotten a cheaper HID myself. But i insist on getting limbat's HID is becoz of this.

im not trying to promote or anything, i just dun wanna u all get disappointed with the HID u just installed and condemn it.

upz for limbat

• Replies 1.2k

Paiseh > Actually, a "bright" looking headlight is not an efficient one. You'd want the light where you need it, on the road infront of you, not scattered everywhere, like into the eyes of pedestrains.

Its called glare, looks cool, but its just inefficient. Projector lamps like those on the R1 have very sharp cutoffs, so the glare is very minimal. But if its misaimed, the glare is incredibly blinding. Thats why proper HID lamps have auto-leveling systems.

For conventional headlamps, typicaly the larger it is, the more light it can focus onto the road. notice how huge touring bike headlamps are? LIghts like those on the Blackbird and Hayabusa are designed to throw as much light as possible a long way down the road for high speed night riding.

A projector lamp is not as efficient as a large conventional lamp, but takes up only 1/4 of the space and weight.

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 28 2006, 03:14 AM

Paiseh > Actually, a "bright" looking headlight is not an efficient one. You'd want the light where you need it, on the road infront of you, not scattered everywhere, like into the eyes of pedestrains.

Its called glare, looks cool, but its just inefficient. Projector lamps like those on the R1 have very sharp cutoffs, so the glare is very minimal. But if its misaimed, the glare is incredibly blinding. Thats why proper HID lamps have auto-leveling systems.

For conventional headlamps, typicaly the larger it is, the more light it can focus onto the road. notice how huge touring bike headlamps are? LIghts like those on the Blackbird and Hayabusa are designed to throw as much light as possible a long way down the road for high speed night riding.

A projector lamp is not as efficient as a large conventional lamp, but takes up only 1/4 of the space and weight.

:? Mr Neo, i need ur kind advise, is my FJR1300 headlights brighter or those projector HID better :? I feel my current headlights are extremely bright enough, can light up the NSHW, that y now not sure wthether to install or not. Or maybe find 1 day at nite go NSHW to test it out.

Pls advise,

Yours sincerely

Cheeko

:smile: By the way, Mr Neo, ur bike by default comes with the HID system or it is an add-on :confused:

Cheeko

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 28 2006, 03:54 AM

:? Mr Neo, i need ur kind advise, is my FJR1300 headlights brighter or those projector HID better :? I feel my current headlights are extremely bright enough, can light up the NSHW, that y now not sure wthether to install or not. Or maybe find 1 day at nite go NSHW to test it out.

Pls advise,

Yours sincerely

Cheeko

Well, your bike's headlamps are pretty powerful already. If you upgrade to HIDs, you'll loose your highbeam function.

And if you wanna change to projector lamps, you have to modify the entire headlamp itself, expensive, irreversable move. Just use a good quality bulb (Philips Vision plus :thumb: ), and if you need, add auxilary lighting.

Long range Driving lights for highway riding, wider angle lamps for mountain road riding.

Originally posted by paiseh@Jan 28 2006, 12:27 AM

here's my opinion on HID. And this is wat im going to do.

usually, u need to on the main headlight switch b4 u can on the high beam.

halogen bulbs are 60/55watt as spec. meaning 55watt normal light and at the same time able to act as high beam, i.e 60watt.

for my case, i have 3 light bulbs, 1 main and 2 high beam bulbs. after installing HID, i on my high beam all the way as headlight. BUT, i will on/off my HID with an external switch to control the main headlight. which means now HID acts as high beam for me. and when im in msia, i will on the HID and disable my high beam.

for R1's case, the main pair of headlights are at 55watt and will shoot up to 60watt when high beam is on. my suggestion is tat, fix one of it as HID with an external switch. when u meet up with rd block or anything, off the HID, and on the normal bulb as headlight. although is an ugly one eye jack, but i tink thats the trade off for the HID.

anyway, when u on the HID, and when im in the front, i wont be able to see the shape of ur bike at all, i just see a single bright light during the nite. this is wat i experienced with LIMBAT's bike behind me. totally awesome.

Actually i wish to modify my H4 55/60 watt bulb to

1)2nos of 55/60watt bulb to function as normal beam &

2)2nos of the above 55/60watt bulb to function as HID instead of high beam.

Is the above possible :? Can any electrical engineer here explain.

Reason i still need the normal beam is becos my high beam is too glaring on Singapore roads. In malaysia then turn on HID system.

I think Mr ICE BOYZZZ2002 is also asking this similiar question as i am.

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 28 2006, 04:04 AM

Well, your bike's headlamps are pretty powerful already. If you upgrade to HIDs, you'll loose your highbeam function.

And if you wanna change to projector lamps, you have to modify the entire headlamp itself, expensive, irreversable move. Just use a good quality bulb (Philips Vision plus :thumb: ), and if you need, add auxilary lighting.

Long range Driving lights for highway riding, wider angle lamps for mountain road riding.

:smile: Thank u for your prompt reply Mr Neo, now still getting to know more abt all this different types of HID b4 buying as i think it is not cheap to install.

cheeko

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 28 2006, 04:07 AM

Actually i wish to modify my H4 55/60 watt bulb to

1)2nos of 55/60watt bulb to function as low beam &

2)2nos of the above 55/60watt bulb to function as HID instead of high beam.

Is the above possible :? Can any electrical engineer here explain.

Reason i still need the low beam is becos my high beam is too glaring on Singapore roads. In malaysia then turn on HID system.

I think Mr ICEBOYZZZ is also asking this similiar question as i am.

Your headlamp uses two Dual filament H4s, which means each lamp works as both lowbeam and highbeam. Although its not as efficient as say, the Goldwings headlamps (independent low and highbeam bulbs), I think its good enough for majority of your riding right?

In your case, if you want to upgrade to HIDs, you'll loose your highbeam function. So even if you just change to oneside, you're lowbeam will be very powerful, but highbeam will be just half as bright as before.

A more effective way, I suggest you get an auxilary HID driving light, like this one from Hella, the smallest, most compact HID driving light in the world. Draws 35watts, outputs equivalent of 300watts of light.

http://www.tuning-bmw.ru/Е-39-ФАРЫ.jpg

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 28 2006, 04:15 AM

Your headlamp uses two Dual filament H4s, which means each lamp works as both lowbeam and highbeam. Although its not as efficient as say, the Goldwings headlamps (independent low and highbeam bulbs), I think its good enough for majority of your riding right?

In your case, if you want to upgrade to HIDs, you'll loose your highbeam function. So even if you just change to oneside, you're lowbeam will be very powerful, but highbeam will be just half as bright as before.

A more effective way, I suggest you get an auxilary HID driving light, like this one from Hella, the smallest, most compact HID driving light in the world. Draws 35watts, outputs equivalent of 300watts of light.

http://www.tuning-bmw.ru/Å-39-ÔÀÐÛ.jpg

:clapping: Nice explaination Mr Neo, then i guess temporary i no need to touch any of my bulbs yet, but it will be a useful upgrade for other factory default bikes with not so powerful headlights like the honda cub or scooters.

Am i rite :confused:

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 28 2006, 04:26 AM

:clapping: Nice explaination Mr Neo, then i guess temporary i no need to touch any of my bulbs yet, but it will be a useful upgrade for other factory default bikes with not so powerful headlights like the honda cub or scooters.

Am i rite :confused:

Well, its subjective... On local roads, we really don't need such powerful headlamps, and our neighbour's ride their cubs with hopeless headlamps in terrible conditions which even I feel nervous with all my lights on...

So I guess its down to personal preferance, and budget. If budget allows, get those high quality driving lights, mount them as high as you can. The higher its mounted, the further down the road it can illuminate without causing unwanted glare. For mountain roads, get foglights to light up the sides of the roads, esp when cornering.

U R a pro man, I fully agree wif U - we really don't need such powerful headlamps locally. But for trunk, mountain roads & the NSH, the built in HIDs wif its glare actually provides lighting up the sides of the roads, unlike Projector lamps wif their sharp cutoffs. Fitting of auxilary driving lights, comes wif it problems - fitting location is 1 of them - on a bike there is no high position to mount. I really advice the fitting of onli 1 HID into the current lighting system & leave the other side as a normal driving lights. Switching on the HIDs when onli when U need them.

Guess there is no prefect lighting systems - U hv to choose 1 tt will fit into yr riding style. :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Where can I view a set of those Hella compact HID driving lights ? Are they Plug & play type. We have stock of 7" & 9" HIDs driving lamps - strictly Plug & Play, all builted into the rear lamp casing wif onli 2 wires in 1 connector on the outside. :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

HP: 93891138 :angel:

Originally posted by limbat@Jan 28 2006, 11:28 AM

Where can I view a set of those Hella compact HID driving lights ? Are they Plug & play type. We have stock of 7" & 9" HIDs driving lamps - strictly Plug & Play, all builted into the rear lamp casing wif onli 2 wires in 1 connector on the outside. :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Your driving HID with integrated ballast unit similar to Lightforce ?

You have to show me that too when i visit you after CNY.

http://www.lightforce.net.au/images/HID.pdf

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 28 2006, 04:15 AM

http://www.tuning-bmw.ru/Å-39-ÔÀÐÛ.jpg

This particular set cost about US$700!

http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f64/arsenz/Signature2.jpg
Originally posted by limbat@Jan 28 2006, 11:28 AM

U R a pro man, I fully agree wif U - we really don't need such powerful headlamps locally. But for trunk, mountain roads & the NSH, the built in HIDs wif its glare actually provides lighting up the sides of the roads, unlike Projector lamps wif their sharp cutoffs. Fitting of auxilary driving lights, comes wif it problems - fitting location is 1 of them - on a bike there is no high position to mount. I really advice the fitting of onli 1 HID into the current lighting system & leave the other side as a normal driving lights. Switching on the HIDs when onli when U need them.

Guess there is no prefect lighting systems - U hv to choose 1 tt will fit into yr riding style. :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck: :goodluck:

Of course, Mr Neo is our SBF in-house electrical engineer, he noes wat he is explaining, but installation wise i duno.

1 point he is correct abt is,

1) my original bike with 2nos of 55/60watt or VS

2) bike with 1nos of 55/60watt & 1 nos of HID light

performance add up maybe the same, so come back to square 1. LPPL as factory default is already very bright. No need to modify anymore for FJR1300. But i will highly consider it for my next bike or honda wave whereby factory default bulb is only 35w which is not so bright :smile:

Yes, projector lamps are actually quite dangerous because of their sharp cutoff. Zero glare means zero visibility above the beam. :giddy:

The Hella unit is so expensive because its very well designed. There are cheaper alternatives, but may not work as well. You get what you pay for!

Proper lighting makes night time riding on the NSH alot more comfortable. Its probably the best investment I've made on my bike :thumb:

7 inch is probably too huge for most tourers, but would look darn good on Enduro bikes! :thumb:

Originally posted by ArSenZ@Jan 28 2006, 01:36 PM

This particular set cost about US$700!

Woooooohaa ......... Ferraries are also not cheap ley ......

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Originally posted by nE0@Jan 28 2006, 04:16 PM

Yes, projector lamps are actually quite dangerous because of their sharp cutoff. Zero glare means zero visibility above the beam. :giddy:

The Hella unit is so expensive because its very well designed. There are cheaper alternatives, but may not work as well. You get what you pay for!

Proper lighting makes night time riding on the NSH alot more comfortable. Its probably the best investment I've made on my bike :thumb:

I will see ur bike soon.. someday.

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 28 2006, 02:02 PM

Of course, Mr Neo is our SBF in-house electrical engineer, he noes wat he is explaining, but installation wise i duno.

performance add up maybe the same, so come back to square 1. LPPL as factory default is already very bright. No need to modify anymore for FJR1300. But i will highly consider it for my next bike or honda wave whereby factory default bulb is only 35w which is not so bright :smile:

Hey........Cheeko ......U dun need the HIDs lighting, cos U R happy wif yr halogens.

But never be mistaken tt HIDs R on the same platform as Halogens. They are world apart as far as lumination of the dark roads are concern. HIDs are the

future platform for most lighting systems. After U have used HIDs U can never

go back to Halogens again - dark places are never the same wif HIds - cos U

can see all. All the restrictions, rules & laws against HIDs are because they are

veri veri bright - watt for watt. We just have to get it right !!

:lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck: :lovestruck:

Im getting mine after Chinese New Year. All depends on Limbat. :D

Originally posted by cheeko@Jan 28 2006, 02:02 PM

I heard of this b4 as well :D

Yeap fully intergrated wif only 2 wires in a connector outside - strictly Plug & Play

Just like those bikes with electronic ECU, whereby maybe actually is resistor or capacity on circuit board blow which can be repair, but cb bikeshops usually recommend throw away the whole piece & replace a brand new 1 which cost thousands of $$.

Come back here,

Is it the same for intergrated HID also :?

:giddy: Fully intergrated sounds everything very light & compact, all built-in, but if certain part spoil means whole HID unit go into dustbin :?

But never be mistaken tt HIDs R on the same platform as Halogens. They are world apart as far as lumination of the dark roads are concern. HIDs are the

future platform for most lighting systems. After U have used HIDs U can never

go back to Halogens again - dark places are never the same wif HIds - cos U

can see all. All the restrictions, rules & laws against HIDs are because they are

veri veri bright - watt for watt. We just have to get it right !!

:? I abit confused now leh...... change or not to change :?

Think i gotta go nite riding with any of those guys who has install HID system 1st. Cos in the daylight see compare no use 1. Just like Mr Neo mention, brighter may not mean more efficient :smile: