[Discussion] Technical - Clutch

What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate  

96 members have voted

1. 1. What Mileage You Change Clutch Plate

• 50K ~ 60K
    • 60K ~ 70K
    • 70K ~ 80K
    • 80K ~ 90K
    • 90K ~ 100K
    • 100K ~ 110K
    • 110K ~ 120K
    • 120K ~ 130K
    • 130K ~ 140K
    • 140K ~ 150K

Originally posted by and@Jul 18 2005, 09:21 PM

his advise is gd. :cheeky: he does his own repairs :cheeky:

I'm oso learning lar....some things u still nid a mech to do it.....I noe cos mine oso got that irritating sound....just got to live with it.....:giddy:

• Replies 267

Originally posted by humveexl@Jul 18 2005, 02:05 PM

how do you guys see or feel that your clutch plate is worn out? any way of self-diagnose? does 2nd gear kick down once became neutral, slow pick up a sign? :confused:

when your bike is stationary, u clutch in n high rev... if the bike move forward when u clutch in... means ure clutch plate botak soon.. :smile:

2002 Oct - 2002 Dec NSR125 Hornet

2004 Dec - 2008 July Super 4 PB1 (MIA in JB)

2006 Sept - 2010 Sept Yamaha Spark 135

2007 Mar - 2008 Oct Suzuki GSXR 1000 K6

2008 Nov - ??? Mitsubishi Lancer Ex 2.0 GT

2010 Sept - ??? Super 4 Version S

In Loving Memories of my Dearest Darling Candy Kwek (Hello Kitty)

http://i641.photobucket.com/albums/uu135/cyberboyboy_14/SBFSig.jpg

Thanks guys for advice. learn something new again. have the sign that james mention, going to try the "clutch in n high rev " tomolo morning. :gun: . Sorry for the noise for guys staying in Pasir Ris. :D

Originally posted by humveexl@Jul 18 2005, 10:16 PM

Thanks guys for advice. learn something new again. have the sign that james mention, going to try the "clutch in n high rev " tomolo morning. :gun: . Sorry for the noise for guys staying in Pasir Ris. :D

:goodluck: dude

you mean at a high rev clutch in and kick down to 1st gear rite?

March 2002 - Nov 2002 - Aprillia 125

Nov 2002 - Nov 2004 - Honda SP

Nov 2004 - Aug 2006 - Honda Super 4 Ver.S

Aug 2006 till now - Suzuki Hayabusa

Originally posted by taring77@Jul 20 2005, 05:23 PM

yah i'm also curious... roughly how long does a clutch plate can ast 1 yr or 2 yr? or after how many distance

Once when you find is hard to find your netural and difficult to engage gear,it is time to replace it.

Originally posted by Hell Angel@Jul 20 2005, 10:07 PM

Once when you find is hard to find your netural and difficult to engage gear,it is time to replace it.

lolz... not change EO when you have those that you mention meh?

http://img242.imageshack.us/img242/5272/spectral5oy9ch.gif
Originally posted by taring77@Jul 20 2005, 05:23 PM

yah i'm also curious... roughly how long does a clutch plate can ast 1 yr or 2 yr? or after how many distance

100k km thereabouts.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by taring77@Jul 21 2005, 10:40 AM

100 k km = very long..hehehe

16k km ~= 1yr

hmmm ...

depends on who's riding :cheeky:

20k km is probably 6months for some

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by floppy@Jul 21 2005, 10:29 AM

100k km thereabouts.

i guess mine still long way to go ah...

Originally posted by and@Jul 21 2005, 01:52 PM

u can ride till u graduate :cheeky:

yah ah quite true. got money then i go Combine ah. now nid to find screw for my bike. lost one ah.

Originally posted by newbie@Jul 21 2005, 02:00 PM

yah ah quite true. got money then i go Combine ah. now nid to find screw for my bike. lost one ah.

go lab coffee shop behind lor. there gt all sorts of screws :smile:

Originally posted by and@Jul 21 2005, 02:02 PM

go lab coffee shop behind lor. there gt all sorts of screws :smile:

will try there after i go to a shop at ubi ave 2... forummers say ubi there oso got...

for those staying east side and lazy to go LAB to buy screws, i got it from Yong Seng at Ubi Ave 2, Blk 3026...

Originally posted by spectral77@Jul 21 2005, 10:11 AM

lolz... not change EO when you have those that you mention meh?

Not neccessary must be EO to have these symptons....

The most evitable would be the sliding of the clutch whereby the discs slipped one against another and the clutch is not reconciled totally. In simple term u'll feel that the motor works but not transmitting the total power to the wheel.

Other symptoms are mentioned b4 like sliding of bike ahead with the clutch lever totally pressed, difficulty in engaging gear, difficulty in the search of neutral...

there r a total of 6 clutch plates. 1 is abt $15 like that...

then there's a paper gasket u need to change oso cos dismantling the casing will damage the gasket.

i changed b4... cost me $150 like that... its better to change oil together oso... use new EO on new clutch plate... sounds so good...

if u troubleshoot in changing gear...or

1st gear fully clutch in...if still move means wore out liao....

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son