AT told me a guy did 320km/h on a stock RR4 and beat a guy on a modded 02 or 03 R1, not 04 as mentioned previously.

Also he kept singing praises for the RR4 when I offered him to ride it a 2nd time over a longer route. He spoke so much during a dinner and carbon clearing trip, I couldn't remember everything as I was enjoying the food. Haha.

Somethings I can remember is:

1. the short throw when shifting.

2. the superb cornering, even the center portion of my rear tire is nearly worn out.

3. the stability

4. he asked the customs officer whether he can put in his cash card 3 times as he forgot to do so for his maiden trip.

• Replies 19.4k

Originally posted by Tashi@Oct 12 2004, 12:29 PM

AT told me a guy did 320km/h on a stock RR4 and beat a guy on a modded 02 or 03 R1, not 04 as mentioned previously.

Er...

No current stock literbike is gonna hit 320kph, much less 300... Not the RR4, not the 04R1, Not the ZX10. Even a Haya is at the edge of its envelope at that speed.

Is the guy sure abt that report??

I know there was a certain news report about a "Honda 1000" hitting 205mph in the US. Everybody was speculating that it was a CBR 1000.

Turned out that the bike was an RC51 (VTR1000SP), and it was clocked by a stopwatch between 2 points on a road a quarter mile apart, from the air by a cop in a light aircraft.

Margin for error? Lots.

Cos 1/4 mile in 4.38secs is 205mph.

1/4 mile in 4 secs is 225mph (362kph)

1/4 mile in 5 secs is 180mph (290kph)

Originally posted by DeusExMachina@Oct 12 2004, 01:06 PM

Er...

No current stock literbike is gonna hit 320kph, much less 300... Not the RR4, not the 04R1, Not the ZX10. Even a Haya is at the edge of its envelope at that speed.

Is the guy sure abt that report??

I know there was a certain news report about a "Honda 1000" hitting 205mph in the US. Everybody was speculating that it was a CBR 1000.

Turned out that the bike was an RC51 (VTR1000SP), and it was clocked by a stopwatch between 2 points on a road a quarter mile apart, from the air by a cop in a light aircraft.

Margin for error? Lots.

Cos 1/4 mile in 4.38secs is 205mph.

1/4 mile in 4 secs is 225mph (362kph)

1/4 mile in 5 secs is 180mph (290kph)

i agree with u.

Below are some maths... hehehe

[stock RR4]

Tire Circumference (Bridgestone Battlax BT014 in Inches) = 77.912

Rear Sprocket = 41

Front Sprocket = 16

Primary Drive = 1.604

Internal Gear Ratio (Gear 6) = 1.16

Final Drive

= Rear Sprocket / Front Sprocket

= 41 / 16

= 2.563

Overall Gear Ratio

= Primary Drive * Final Drive * Internal Gear Ratio

= 1.604 * 2.563 * 1.16

= 4.768

Top Speed of RR4 at Gear 6 RPM 11650

= (Tire Circumference / Overall Gear Ratio)*RPM*60*/63360*1.6

= (77.912 / 4.768)*11650*60/63360*1.6

= 288kmph

2B - Yamaha TZM150, Kawasaki KRR ZX150

2A - Honda CBR400RR FireBlade

2 - Honda CBR1000RR FireBlade

3 - Mitsubishi Lancer 1.6(M)(Sports)

http://www.marketiva.com/images/banners/ENG_marketiva_468x60_1.gif

Wow, some serious maths you're doing. *Hats off*

Looks like you can't go faster without changing anything.

288km/h.

Wah!

Your calculation so accurate man.

so far i have only tried to run top twice.

once, is a straight road, but i close throttle at 288km/h, but still can throttle on.

2nd time is going upslope at the bridge from 2nd link jb custom towards sg custom, the meter is also show 288km/h and this time although i hold on and throttle more (for maybe a sec or less), the speed didn't go up anymore.

It totally fits ur calculation!~

Cheers for u man.

but anyway, the next time i will be changing my chain to front 16 and rear 42/43. I will have lower top speed and better pickup n mid range.

but to 520 or 530 conversion... should be sticking with 530 conversion bah.

Just to note, his 288kph calculations is theoretical top speed. There're 2 more factors that will affect it.

Wind resistance. See if you can redline in top gear. Usually, it's quite hard for a bike to redline it. A bike may be geared to hit 288 or 300, but even in full tuck, it's hard to achieve it.

Speedo-error. Your 288 is usually not true 288, unless u got a Speedo Healer calibrated correctly. Most of the time where the meter reads 299 (cut off), your radar/GPS recorded speed might be in the region of 270+.

ORD LOH

Bikes i've owned:

NSR150SP June 2001 - May 2002

NSR250 PGM IV April 2003 - 07 June 2004

2004 CBR1000RR 160704 - 19 March 2005

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Gilera Runner VXR 2006 19/01/07 - 22/07/08

anyway , wats the uses of knowing the top speed of the bike . How often do we use it anyway ? i buy my bike not for its top speed . Its for me liking it . :cheeky:

Originally posted by Speedpass@Oct 13 2004, 10:35 PM

anyway , wats the uses of knowing the top speed of the bike . How often do we use it anyway ? i buy my bike not for its top speed . Its for me liking it . :cheeky:

Yeah. That's why wanna change the spocket to 43r.

want top speed, busa or ZX12R bah.

think for every teeth up in the rear will decrease 6.+++km/h in top speed.

top speed... its been a long time since i did that.

Yo speedpass, after my exams we all go out leh.

think too long lah, this friday go 2nd link pump petrol guys?

Deus, hows ur bike liao, remember that time u wanna do something rite?

Forgot whats that liao.

Gone down to Sporting liao boh?

Petrol Outing

Venue: 2nd link GP ESSO

Date: 15 OCT 04 (friday)

Time: 830pm ( for late comers will be 8pm. )

Participants:

1) Ken

* Hope it's not too late for guys that need to apply leave.

Ride Safe!~

Originally posted by Ken@Oct 14 2004, 12:25 AM

That's My Line!~

Copyright!

ORD LOH!~

Izzit?

I ROD LOH!

HAHA!

Honda NSR 150 SP - FT4977D (June 01 - March 03)

Honda CBR 400 RR- FL2119U (Dec 02 - Jan 04)

Honda CBR 929 RR - FS4382A (Feb 04 - Dec 04)

Susuki Hayabusa 1300- FX9524Z (April 05 - Oct 05)

Susuki Bandit400- FL3540D (Mar 03 - Dec 05)

Honda Super 4 Spec 3 - FZ9528C (Dec 05 - Jan 07)

Honda Walve125S - FW8025J (Aug 06 - June 07)

Yamaha Spark135 LE - FBB4..7C (March 07 - ???)

Originally posted by Ken@Oct 14 2004, 12:18 AM

Forgot whats that liao.

Oh. Suspension setting.

Nvr mind. I had a friend help me. Going down one click on rear rebound damping. Should reduce the whipping sensation I'm getting.

See if it helps with the vague feeling in front too. If it doesn't then I'll go one click down on front rebound damping too.

Originally posted by kata_killer@Oct 14 2004, 03:08 AM

Izzit?

I ROD LOH!

HAHA!

haha dun care ORD or ROD, as long as out of the service can liao.......hahaha

Bikes i've owned:

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Originally posted by Ken@Oct 14 2004, 12:18 AM

Yeah. That's why wanna change the spocket to 43r.

want top speed, busa or ZX12R bah.

think for every teeth up in the rear will decrease 6.+++km/h in top speed.

top speed... its been a long time since i did that.

Yo speedpass, after my exams we all go out leh.

think too long lah, this friday go 2nd link pump petrol guys?

Forgot whats that liao.

i can onli meet up locally now leh . :weep:

ppassport expired n no time to get new one . :cheeky:

Originally posted by hideto09@Oct 14 2004, 10:37 AM

haha dun care ORD or ROD, as long as out of the service can liao.......hahaha

woh

so many pple ORD with me also

keekee

pink IC!!!!

Originally posted by Cool79@Oct 14 2004, 12:05 PM

woh

so many pple ORD with me also

keekee

pink IC!!!!

when u ORD? i ORDed yesterday 13th Oct..

Bikes i've owned:

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Petrol Outing

Participants:

1) Ken

2) Jerry (hershey7855)

1999 - YAMAHA TZR 125

2000 - YAMAHA RX 125

2001 - SUZUKI DR 200

2002 - YAMAHA WR 200

2003 - HONDA CB 400 VTEC I

2004 - HONDA TELEFONICA MOVISTAR CBR 1000 RR4

2005 - SUZUKI GSX 1300RX HAYABUSA

2006 - SUZUKI GSR 600

2007 - HYUNDAI GETZ 1.6 FL

2014 - YAMAHA FZ 6 S1

Originally posted by Cool79@Oct 14 2004, 11:01 PM

mi also 13 oct 04

u last time bmt is which company?

i BMT K coy, sispec D coy...

Bikes i've owned:

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206

Originally posted by hershey7855@Oct 14 2004, 04:01 PM

Petrol Outing

Participants:

1) Ken

2) Jerry (hershey7855)

There's supposed to be some dinner outing on the same day meeting at 9pm. Shld be going for that one.

Hmmm... maybe I'll get a chance to see your Ceebs over there.

Originally posted by hideto09@Oct 15 2004, 12:13 AM

i BMT K coy, sispec D coy...

woh is it..... u r in which platom?

mi also K le... i think u got see me liao....

i am the 1st in K.... bed 1.... mi shake hand with the officer to take the don know wat thing

keekee

Originally posted by Cool79@Oct 15 2004, 12:12 PM

woh is it..... u r in which platom?

mi also K le... i think u got see me liao....

i am the 1st in K.... bed 1.... mi shake hand with the officer to take the don know wat thing

keekee

i'm in platoon 3

Bikes i've owned:

RVF NC35 280906 - 191206