Will you use non PSB approved helmets?  

271 members have voted

1. 1. Will you use non PSB approved helmets?

• Yes, I will.
    • No, I will not use non PSB approved helmets.
    • Not sure I will use, due the possibility to get "caught"

I kanna san ko to the Arai Tour Cross helmet... but non PSB approved and hear from season rider the followings:

1) They (LTA) will not bother lah... cause it is Arai

2) No leh... never kanna ask before when kanna stop

3) If bike not too hiong they will not bother

4) Kanna caught before, helmet was sieze on the spot, Shoei somemore and they anyhow handle your helmet and by the time pay fine $70 and take back the helmet... scratches everywhere

Sigh.. so should I stay with helmets with PSB approved only?

• Replies 222

eh cannto fark them for anyhow handling ur helmet meh... wah piang..

Life is not the amount of breath u take, but the moments that take ur breath away.

It is not how hard you fall, its how fast you get up.

nsr150 : december 2004 - 16th March 07

S4 Vtec1 : March 2007 - March 2008

cbr1000rr '04 : March 2008 - June 2011

wave125 '03 : July 2009 - ????

how much do u know about the "dot " and "snell" approval?

do u know how they conduct the test to approve

do u know who issues the approval?

if u do, pls enlighten me, cos i do not, and want to learn.................

jus like some ppl say that some PSB stickers are "chiong" type, how do u know that the "dot" or "snell" waas not :chiong" one from the manufacturer?

or is it the everything from ANG MOH are always better???????

It's not that everything from ang moh is good la.. sumtime also got bad 1 right.. it's just that ah.. the way DOT and Snell test the helmet, u wish ur head wun suffer that kind of impact.

They put the helmet on a headform. den crash test the helmet on all sides. meaning the front, back, top and both sides. they are using the same helmet for the tests. u just imagine ur head in the helmet la.. den at the speed of let's say 100km/h, bang into a concrete/steel wall. den from there they will evaluate how much the helmet can protect ur head from any injuries. of course those helmets that won't pass doesn't make it into production la.. Try searching for Dot and Snell on googles.

As for PSB, i dunno how they test the helmet la.. so quite hard to compare. how bout buying a 800+++ almost 900 dollars titanium FF helmet? sounds good huh?

かたつばさのてんし

ありがとうかみ

GPR helmet best, super cheap compare to other brand & got PSB sticker :thumb:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Current ride: Harley Wide Glide, Aprilia Tuono V4R

i remember some instructor said before.

If you think your head worth 50 dollars, then you buy a 50 dollars helmet.

If you think your head worth 500 dollars, then you buy a 500 dollars helmet.

From safety purposes la.. our head most impt right? i'm going to buy a HJC FF soon.. love my jaws and teeths. dun wanna lose them if i do get into accidents.

かたつばさのてんし

ありがとうかみ

Originally posted by Roadwiniac@Feb 10 2006, 11:15 PM

like i got hear that one before ley..

but from where hor~ :confused:

The tree-lined avenue

Begins to fade from view

Drowning past regrets

In tea and cigarettes

But I can't seem to forget

When you came along

Ingenue, I just don't know what to do

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/joe_007/bikerchick2.jpg

-KENANGAN MOTO TERCINTA-

Originally posted by cs_kup_oh@Feb 10 2006, 09:05 PM

how much do u know about the "dot " and "snell" approval?

do u know how they conduct the test to approve

do u know who issues the approval?

if u do, pls enlighten me, cos i do not, and want to learn.................

you'll find most of what you're asking here:

http://www.webbikeworld.com/motorcycle-hel...-helmet-faq.htm

there's also an article comparing the DOT and Snell standards, debating whether softer or harder is better for rider survivability (actually it depends on the type of impact, which of course we can't predict beforehand!).

He who hesitates is lost!

so far I still wear open face, can talk & not so hot, hehe :D

But my open face is an Arai cost me S$600++ :faint:

At first treat the helmet like king, then after a while hack care & now throw here throw there. :dot:

Now I think my helmet only worth S$60 since so many scar on it, not because of accident but by throwing around :giddy:

Lucky the PSB sticker still on my helmt :thumb:

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv331/5ton/57259_471404029449_5144815_o12.jpg

Thanks for all the sharing folks.... Cheez.... whether Snell or DOT... I have not heard much about, and whether or not PSB test procedures are just as good or not... also fine, why? Cause all are recognise bodies,/system just as ARAI, SHOEI, RGV, OGK, NOLAN, BELL or which other established brands... are also recognised for their quality.... but LTA no is no leh.

"eh cannto fark them for anyhow handling ur helmet meh... wah piang.. "

Hahaha, Night Phantom... I like this, wah piang I would also like to flute them if it ever happen to me... but there is this word L L leh... flute them later tai ci kou ka zuei.

Looking at the poll.... looks like YES and NO is equal at this point of time as I am typing here....

I think I likely go for PSB approved ARAI helmet lah... cos 'P' plate rider leh.... thinking about it ah... knn seems to be in a lagi no position to negotiate with the zheng hu leh..... if ever meet them on the road.

Sigh.... o_O

Originally posted by tein228@Feb 11 2006, 01:11 AM

Thanks for all the sharing folks.... Cheez.... whether Snell or DOT... I have not heard much about, and whether or not PSB test procedures are just as good or not... also fine, why? Cause all are recognise bodies,/system just as ARAI, SHOEI, RGV, OGK, NOLAN, BELL or which other established brands... are also recognised for their quality.... but LTA no is no leh.

"eh cannto fark them for anyhow handling ur helmet meh... wah piang.. "

Hahaha, Night Phantom... I like this, wah piang I would also like to flute them if it ever happen to me... but there is this word L L leh... flute them later tai ci kou ka zuei.

Looking at the poll.... looks like YES and NO is equal at this point of time as I am typing here....

I think I likely go for PSB approved ARAI helmet lah... cos 'P' plate rider leh.... thinking about it ah... knn seems to be in a lagi no position to negotiate with the zheng hu leh..... if ever meet them on the road.

Sigh.... o_O

Arai helmet is quit expensive but the quality is there :thumb:

And must carry around after riding so that nobody can steal it from the box, some more can show off to other people while carrying, hehe :D

You may wish to check out Chiap Lee at Serangoon area, they sell all Arai kits & helmets

Thanks, Chiap Lee was the place I went to where I saw the TourCross and that is the shop I got the a ARAI full face road helmet for my wife too.

I just found out that Chong Aik carries a similar design to that of TourCross, a Shoei helmet, Shoei Hornet and it is PSB approved, I will be going for that helmet.

Great, the helemt in your attachment photo is nice, saw it at Cheong Aik :thumb:

But to me its more like for offroad useage :cheeky:

I went to a shop yesterday to request to repair my Arai Helmet, but the uncle said it can't be repair, only can go for respray :cry:

End of the day never repair :sian:

Gee... the last time I repaired my Shoei XV-8 as the inner lining no longer in production :mad: , checked with Cheong Aik then. Wasted man... the exterior was still so good, I used that helmet for track with my car 2 years back, then I send it for re-lining but no good leh. No more ventilation in the helmet after that, even use it in the night... the rear part of the head will be like water fountain leh. So now... just let it sit on the shelf or reserve for friends whom may ride with me.... for short distance lah, else they kanna sauna.

Is there a difference in threshold level for Road helmet or Off road helmets?

Originally posted by tein228@Feb 12 2006, 01:52 AM

Gee... the last time I repaired my Shoei XV-8 as the inner lining no longer in production :mad: , checked with Cheong Aik then. Wasted man... the exterior was still so good, I used that helmet for track with my car 2 years back, then I send it for re-lining but no good leh. No more ventilation in the helmet after that, even use it in the night... the rear part of the head will be like water fountain leh. So now... just let it sit on the shelf or reserve for friends whom may ride with me.... for short distance lah, else they kanna sauna.

Is there a difference in threshold level for Road helmet or Off road helmets?

I had never repair inner lining before, Arai quality is still good :thumb:

I only can tell the difference from the look of the helmet between off road and road usage, really no idea for threshold level :cheeky:

Originally posted by Roadwiniac@Feb 10 2006, 11:15 PM

That's often quoted but actually quite simplistic.

I think my head is worth $10,000... then how? stud my helmet with diamonds?

I had a long long discussion on this 3 years ago on this forum. Maybe someone can dig it up.

Expensive= Good, is not always true.

Example A: Remember, the top helmet companies spend million of dollars sponsoring racers, and NOT ONE CENT of that money goes into making your helmet better, BUT THE COST OF THE SPONSORSHIP is included in the price of your helmet.

Example B: A painted "pattern" helmet can cost $200 more than a plain helmet of the same model. Does that extra $200 make the helmet better? Answer is a flat "NO".

There is in fact one study that says mid priced helmets may be better than the most expensive ones. Its a long technical read, but if you can plough through it, it will give you a different view.

The DOT helmets we had were all plastic-shelled, and none cost more than $100. How did they do? They kicked butt. In what must be considered a head-impact Cinderella story, the DOT-only helmets from Z1R delivered less average G force to the headform through all the impacts than any others in the test.

The other helmets in the test included brand names like shark, AGV, Suomy and Arai.

http://motorcyclistonline.com/gearbox/hatz/

<span style=\'font-family:Ariel\'>The Difference between Men and Boys is that the Boys think the size of their Motorcycles has something to do with being a man.

Iron Butt Association#23842

Yep, remember reading this a long time ago.

The most expensive helmet may not be the best. But of course being in Sillypore, there are other factors to consider as well...... such as availability of the brand/model, cost of shipping to SG, Not approved(the most irritating part), etc.

Wad to do? Wait for ah boy to bring in lor.... lol

Mid range helmets overseas dun cost a bomb and i'm pretty sure they will provide better protection den some of those from our friendly neighbourhood boy boy.

Disclaimer: The poster may be suffering from verbal diahorrea. He/She may be talking rubbish and for all you know may lead to serious brain injuries if taken seriously.

Well, I think if the helmet is good, it will leave your body totally crushed flat 2D and your helmet/head intact, perhaps still conscious of what has happened?

Anyway, have got an incident in which the a THH helmet worn did not prevent

damages to the brain and inevitably caused death to the rider. Some might say it prevented further damage?

Personally, I have my helmet hit by another bike from behind me when it was air-born and some part of the bike hit my helmet and I didn't suffer any head injury though my neck was sore.

Anyway, I think luck/fate do play a part.

Just my 2c. :sweat:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by scooterer@Feb 14 2006, 02:28 AM

That's often quoted but actually quite simplistic.

I think my head is worth $10,000... then how? stud my helmet with diamonds?

I had a long long discussion on this 3 years ago on this forum. Maybe someone can dig it up.

Expensive= Good, is not always true.

Example A: Remember, the top helmet companies spend million of dollars sponsoring racers, and NOT ONE CENT of that money goes into making your helmet better, BUT THE COST OF THE SPONSORSHIP is included in the price of your helmet.

Example B: A painted "pattern" helmet can cost $200 more than a plain helmet of the same model. Does that extra $200 make the helmet better? Answer is a flat "NO".

There is in fact one study that says mid priced helmets may be better than the most expensive ones. Its a long technical read, but if you can plough through it, it will give you a different view.

The other helmets in the test included brand names like shark, AGV, Suomy and Arai.

http://motorcyclistonline.com/gearbox/hatz/

I've said this before also.

Posted a good link to read:

http://motorcycleinfo.calsci.com/Helmets.html#Helmets

There is an important source of crash data, the U.S.C. Hurt Traffic Accident Survey. Dr. Hurt has attended over 900 motorcycle traffic accidents and analyzed over 3600 motorcycle accidents from reports. He found that all Snell certified helmets offer the same level of protection in a crash, independent of price. Dr. Hurt was a bit disappointed by this result: he was hoping to be able to tell people that you get what you pay for. The truth is, any Snell and DOT approved helmet offers you as good protection as you can buy. Unfortunately, the Hurt report made no effort to collect information on the brand or type of helmet worn, only if a helmet was worn at all. There is a clear need for a study relating head injuries to accident type and helmet worn. No such study has ever been done. In the absence of such a study, we don't actually know for certain how effective DOT or Snell standards are at protecting people.

Well there is no mention of particular brand, it is a good myth-breaker that your head is worth the price of your helmet.

Personal experience, I have been involved in an accident where I became Superman for a split second from my bike and landed face-first before proceeding to slide on for abt a metre.

True enough, my helmet protected my head from the landing impact and the visor did its job to shield my face from the tarmac long enuff to prevent my face from being permanently attached to the road before breaking off later. I only ended up with abrasions to my body but nothing on my head or face.

I kept on wearing the helmet for a while as a sign of good luck before getting my hands on a new one.

What helmet?

A cheapo Nova helmet I got from Ah-Boy.

Originally posted by scooterer@Feb 14 2006, 02:28 AM

Yeah, I also remember your discussion. Partially because of this discussion ended up buying Snell approved HJC. In total, I paid less for the helmet and boots than I would have paid for a top branded helmet. And with speeds I ride I really don't think more expensive helmet would be better.

The only problem - HJC helmet I've bought does not have PSB sticker. But so far nobody cared. Including BBDC guys when I was taking 2A. They actually noticed that it does not have PSB sticker but then saw that it is Snell approved and the problem was over.

Great insights that I read here for what has been a query to me...

Whether Snell, DOT or PSB approved... what would it be like in the eyes of ROV or TP when you are stopped at road blocks? PSB, I am sure they leave you alone for that... but if it is not, I wonder how many of you experience riders out there has kanna "disturb" before??? Is this on the high or is it on the low?

Wanted to get a Shoei X11.

However it seems to me like all e Shoei in Singapore are not PSB approved right?

Went to Regina, Chong Aik and Louis.

Why four strokes when all you need is two?

Has one HJC and it's not PSB approved but is thinking of getting another one. What will happen if kena caught?

"In the depth of winter, I finally learned that within me there lay an invincible summer."

Albert Camus

French existentialist author & philosopher (1913 - 1960)

04.09.06 *d@y i got my LicenSe *

09.10.06 *d@y i got my Y125Z *

10.03.07 *d@y my Y125Z is goin' for inspection and passed the inspection*

When did I pass my 2nd and 3rd inspection?