stoner: just some opinions' date=' try to join another point, across the 2 side racks behind, to prevent wobbling of the boxes when riding.[/b']

Stoner: Yap, could'nt agree more... What you mentioned above is taken into consideration during construction, in the 2nd picture, you could see a white cable-tie acting as a temp. holder (The rack is still under construction as we speak.)

Each side pannier has four mounting points, mounted indivually & not hinged to the existing GIVI top rack mounts.

a) Mounting point to the Rear handle Bar

b) Mounting point to the Rear Shocks (Top part)

c) Mounting point to Lower pinnion foot rest.

(Left side ~ Endcan point & Right Side ~ Customize made clamp onto Pionnion foot rest.)

d) A Cross Mounting point securing both Pannier mounts, right behind the rear number plate. This is to prevent the both pannier to move towards the rear tyre under load.

*Basically, the side panniers holds it's own weight and I'm able to remove the GIVI Top rack shoud I want too...:cheeky:

can see its abit too behind & high.

things to note is that, @ high speeds, yr steering may feel light & wobble due to loads behind.

Stoner: Noted & Understand, my shocks has been rebuild 2nd time round last week to handle the extra weight. Paying attention, to both the rebound and spring compression rate.

I'll be heading up north with my wife with the GIVI E21 mounted to have a feel and has already made a appointment my friend (Mechanic) to give him another round of feedback. See whether is there a need to have the shocks rebuild (again / change spring rate).

Plus...... A steering damper is next on my list... :p

if possible, shift your rear signals out also, as the boxes may obscure the view when the signals are activated.

Stoner: Great man think alike! :thumb: Yap... have though of that too... There will be an extra pair of rear signal lights mounted right under the Top GIVI Mounting plate.

This enables others to see the Rear Signal light even standing 90* to both side of my bike. The funny part would be seeing double signal lights light up every time I switch them on....

Ha...ha...ha...:cheeky:

Will post more pictures, upon collection of my ride...:cool:

just my 0.02¢.

Stoner: On no... Please don’t say that…. Your input is very much appreciated… It holds its weight in GOLD! I always welcome feedbacks and inputs… Thanks!

Hi Kev,

Many thanks for the input, my replys are in blue...:thumb:

To Me....

It's not How fast you go... It's how FAR you Travel...:thumb:

It's the Rider! Not the Bike! o_O

• Replies 2k

Fork brace would help a lot. Try it first before you mount steering dampers.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

Fork brace would help a lot. Try it first before you mount steering dampers.

Been hunting one for the longest time... The one offer by Motorworld is....a bit "weak" if you know what I meant.

Another other lobangs as where to get a good engineered set?

To Me....

Hi Kev,

Many thanks for the input, my replys are in blue...:thumb:

Stoner: Yap, could'nt agree more... What you mentioned above is taken into consideration during construction, in the 2nd picture, you could see a white cable-tie acting as a temp. holder (The rack is still under construction as we speak.)

Each side pannier has four mounting points, mounted indivually & not hinged to the existing GIVI top rack mounts.

a) Mounting point to the Rear handle Bar

b) Mounting point to the Rear Shocks (Top part)

c) Mounting point to Lower pinnion foot rest.

(Left side ~ Endcan point & Right Side ~ Customize made clamp onto Pionnion foot rest.)

d) A Cross Mounting point securing both Pannier mounts, right behind the rear number plate. This is to prevent the both pannier to move towards the rear tyre under load.

*Basically, the side panniers holds it's own weight and I'm able to remove the GIVI Top rack shoud I want too...:cheeky:

Stoner: Noted & Understand, my shocks has been rebuild 2nd time round last week to handle the extra weight. Paying attention, to both the rebound and spring compression rate.

I'll be heading up north with my wife with the GIVI E21 mounted to have a feel and has already made a appointment my friend (Mechanic) to give him another round of feedback. See whether is there a need to have the shocks rebuild (again / change spring rate).

Plus...... A steering damper is next on my list... :p

Stoner: Great man think alike! :thumb: Yap... have though of that too... There will be an extra pair of rear signal lights mounted right under the Top GIVI Mounting plate.

This enables others to see the Rear Signal light even standing 90* to both side of my bike. The funny part would be seeing double signal lights light up every time I switch them on....

Ha...ha...ha...:cheeky:

Will post more pictures, upon collection of my ride...:cool:

Stoner: On no... Please don’t say that…. Your input is very much appreciated… It holds its weight in GOLD! I always welcome feedbacks and inputs… Thanks!

Glad that you've had those covered. :thumb:

I had mine, wingrack, firstly mounted high, the bike handling was light & wobbling when in high speeds with all the boxes I'd.

Unless I dismount all & going bare, otherwise its crap.

Until I went SK to redo the mountings & had it lowered, all seems better.

What I counter the lightness & wobble is, get a budget fork brace from LAB, already has a Bitubo steering damper in medium selection, & heavier bar ends of ST13's OEM bar ends.

There's still abit wobble & lightness if I hit 150 & above, but then, that's only for occasional clearing of carbon.. :cheeky:

For the rear suspensions, if re-built correctly, it shld last the loads for sometime.

Que ah Pek's...

As for the rear signals, I've come out a way to re-use them w/o much modifications yet extendable and still be able to re-fit back them incase u decide to sell the bike.

very budget & DIY.. :angel:

aey.. dont put me on cloud 9 leh, I aint no saint, just sharing some points, can be ignored.

Been hunting one for the longest time... The one offer by Motorworld is....a bit "weak" if you know what I meant.

as abv post, LAB.

more than good enuff if mounted correctly..

but that's up to individual.

oya, forgot to add, as our S4 is not specifically design to additional loads behind, you do really have to tk note of the rack being mounted too far behind.

Glad that you've had those covered. :thumb:

I had mine, wingrack, firstly mounted high, the bike handling was light & wobbling when in high speeds with all the boxes I'd.

Unless I dismount all & going bare, otherwise its crap.

Until I went SK to redo the mountings & had it lowered, all seems better.

What I counter the lightness & wobble is, get a budget fork brace from LAB, already has a Bitubo steering damper in medium selection, & heavier bar ends of ST13's OEM bar ends.

There's still abit wobble & lightness if I hit 150 & above, but then, that's only for occasional clearing of carbon.. :cheeky:

For the rear suspensions, if re-built correctly, it shld last the loads for sometime.

Que ah Pek's...

As for the rear signals, I've come out a way to re-use them w/o much modifications yet extendable and still be able to re-fit back them incase u decide to sell the bike.

very budget & DIY.. :angel:

aey.. dont put me on cloud 9 leh, I aint no saint, just sharing some points, can be ignored.

as abv post, LAB.

more than good enuff if mounted correctly..

but that's up to individual.

LAB? Oki Doki, will be going over there later to purcase new cam-locks for the E45s...

To Me....

oya' date=' forgot to add, as our S4 is not specifically design to additional loads behind, you do really have to tk note of the rack being mounted too far behind.[/quote']

Yap... thus, compression spring rate is some thing I'm looking into. During the next trip up north, only be fixing up the E21. Have a feel 1st.

With the E45s on, should the front be too light for my liking. I'll have the rear box removed and have a plain back rest fitted instead (Cutomisze).

Well, spring rate is som thing I'm worried about... ... Wonder does Bikelab have replacement springs? On a higher and harder spring rate?

To Me....

LAB? Oki Doki, will be going over there later to purcase new cam-locks for the E45s...

dont put the brace too low and near the fender, may trap mini debris and it'll be hard to clear whilst leaving scratches also.

slightly higher w/o compromising the fork seal guard is ok.

oya, I went to Planet to fix cos Im nt comfortable with LAB's mech and then DIY to raise it slightly.

Yap... thus, compression spring rate is some thing I'm looking into. During the next trip up north, only be fixing up the E21. Have a feel 1st.

With the E45s on, should the front be too light for my liking. I'll have the rear box removed and have a plain back rest fitted instead (Cutomisze).

Well, spring rate is som thing I'm worried about... ... Wonder does Bikelab have replacement springs? On a higher and harder spring rate?

Wana try David @ Teck Thye?

ah Pek reccommends him..

saving my mula for that soon.

dont put the brace too low and near the fender, may trap mini debris and it'll be hard to clear whilst leaving scratches also.

slightly higher w/o compromising the fork seal guard is ok.

oya, I went to Planet to fix cos Im nt comfortable with LAB's mech and then DIY to raise it slightly.

Wana try David @ Teck Thye?

ah Pek reccommends him..

saving my mula for that soon.

Hmmm... Thanks for the heads up with regards to the Brace. Care to advise the cost?

David @ Teck Thye?

Care to PM me his contact number? Thanks!

To Me....

Hmmm... Thanks for the heads up with regards to the Brace. Care to advise the cost?

David @ Teck Thye?

Care to PM me his contact number? Thanks!

sorry i saw this late, brace shld be 60-70ish...

installation, satu kopi/rokok... :angel:

& PM sent. :smile:

sorry i saw this late, brace shld be 60-70ish...

installation, satu kopi/rokok... :angel:

& PM sent. :smile:

Got your PM!

Kopi will be on me than.... Just collected my bike but too tired to take any photos. Rode back with the GIVI E21 mounted. Did'nt find any difference in handling, but it's not really loaded after all.

Will be picking up the E45 tomorrow, need some TLC to it before useage as they are quite old. But on a lighter note... I got them for a song! :)

To Me....

The purpose of the fork brace to add additional secure points for our fork. LAB fork brace is good enuff in my opinion. It serves its purpose well. Ppl who know me very well know what kind of rider I am and the LAB ones are really good enuff.

Thanks Mate!

I totally forgot about the Fork Brace when I was at LAB earlier this afternoon to purchase new cam-locks for my GIVI Boxes... $12 each...!

To Me....

Bro fazli does it require to remove the dust cover if wanna fix rhe fork brace?

No, the brace is fitted above the front fender...

To Me....

Got your PM!

Kopi will be on me than.... Just collected my bike but too tired to take any photos. Rode back with the GIVI E21 mounted. Did'nt find any difference in handling, but it's not really loaded after all.

Will be picking up the E45 tomorrow, need some TLC to it before useage as they are quite old. But on a lighter note... I got them for a song! :)

Maybe try hitting 160 and above with your current settings with ur boxes loaded

see how ur handling and get it tweak from there

Got your PM!

no nid kopi la.. ;)

the kopi treat the mech can liao. :thumb:

once you start to load them up... :sweat:

sama sama :thumb:

Bro fazli does it require to remove the dust cover if wanna fix rhe fork brace?

Just push the fork dusk cover protector up, affix brace whilst bike is straighten up, put back protector.

oya, just to add on, best is to ask someone to depress the rear so the front wheel is lifted.

this is because to let the fork suspensions to be relived of the tension, and a better acurate fit for the brace to be effective.

Edited by Kev's

Yes... I just shifted the protectors up a bit and install the brace. I used to have my panniers setup and cleared 190km/h loaded. No wobbling issues. Just that it takes a longer time to reach the 190. My setup is a pair of Givi E36 and Coocase 48L on WingRack lowered, with pillion and all 3 cases loaded with a 3-day stayout load. Never go touring but just load up for testing purpose.

:thumb: for Seng Kwang.

Faz, u still riding yr Bol d'or or?

Anyone on a spec1 wit a modded spec 3 tail succesfully fixed a rack??

Most shops i gp to cant do it.

Anyone on a spec1 wit a modded spec 3 tail succesfully fixed a rack??

Most shops i gp to cant do it.

If im not wrong, the sub tail frame needs to be shaved for a good fit?

the mounting points of pre-spec 3 & pro Ver S are mostly the same.

x1 point @ the rear shocks, & x1 under the tail where the bungee cord hook point is.

Only suitable for rear case racks.

Any other type of racking system, i.e. WingRack or H & B, may have to look for more or create reinforce points.

If im not wrong, the sub tail frame needs to be shaved for a good fit?

the mounting points of pre-spec 3 & pro Ver S are mostly the same.

x1 point @ the rear shocks, & x1 under the tail where the bungee cord hook point is.

Only suitable for rear case racks.

Any other type of racking system, i.e. WingRack or H & B, may have to look for more or create reinforce points.

The problem is the one under the tail. Its covered by the tail. Will habe to cut a huge chunk of the plastic to access it.

hhmmm.... how abt this:

1) try to roughly measure/gauge where the point is, use a marker to mark out the area, preferably a circle.

2) remove the tail, by using a small Dremel, drill small holes near each other along the marked circle;

3) using a modeller's cutter, or any other sharp cutter, carefully cut out the the circle via the holes;

4) using the Dremel again, with a round head file, begin smoothing the rough edges to the circle shape.

5) & Voilà, there you have it, openings for the mounting nicely done.

will take abit of niffty fingers for the work.

hope this helps.

p.s. Dremel tool maybe useful but expansive, so I use tamiya handy electric drill...

Cheaper alternative can get the Black & Decker RTX Rotary tool. I got it for my birthday. Its very useful and handy. ldslds can vouch for that. I just finished help him shave off some of his hugger that hits his suspension canister.

Yes... I just shifted the protectors up a bit and install the brace. I used to have my panniers setup and cleared 190km/h loaded. No wobbling issues. Just that it takes a longer time to reach the 190. My setup is a pair of Givi E36 and Coocase 48L on WingRack lowered, with pillion and all 3 cases loaded with a 3-day stayout load. Never go touring but just load up for testing purpose.

:thumb: for Seng Kwang.

He..he.. Got my Lim Ah Boy Fork Bace installed today.... Good stuff... Much better engineered than I thought.

To Me....