thanks for the info. i really dont know how they can get my number?? maybe, they saw my bike ads in sbf?

For me, I know more or less how they got hold of my number and how the number was spread. (It only take a nasty employee of any or group company to do that.)

Another way is by selling your number.

ie. Some randomly calls your number from an unknown number. You picked up and maybe even spoke with that person or not. They know that your number is live. They sell your number to persons that does this kind of telemarketing. And they all just call or sms or whatsapp from random disposable numbers to heavily bombard you enough to psycho you to want to borrow.

Anyway, even money lenders actually do tolerate this kind of loanshark fellas. Most of them are free lancers, while those managing the shop fronts are not allowed to do telemarketing calls. These loansharks will call, and if you only insist on working with legal moneylenders, they merely refer you to one, earn a commission and subsequently they got you hooked and eventually lure you into the bigger amounts, and loansharking in the end, with you thinking they are legit.

its all business.

Edited by ViciousKitty74
  • Replies 8k

Hi Fellow bikers, I’m posting this to warn all local riders to veer clear of a lemon bike dealer (Wing Fuat at Sims Place and his workshop at Blk 3020A, Ubi Ave 1). He’s a full on liar and a conman (Ng). Here’s my story;

I’ve been a rider for many years and recently made the decision to upgrade to a class2 bike. I visited his shop after seeing an ad for this class 2 bike online. He assuranced that this bike is in decent condition and not one that would break down. I even told him if minor issues I don’t mind as expected for 2nd hand bikes and he confirmed this. I asked for discount but he didn’t reduce from asking price. That is okay as long bike runs okay, I told him. So I went on to buy this 2nd hand bike, paying 12k in total. He asked to collect the bike a few days later from his workshop outlet, which I did. One would expect the bike to be serviced up to ridable condition as if the bike is not in good condition, it’s a risk to the rider, correct or not!

Just days after talking ownership of the bike, the bike started smoking from the engine area just 3 mins into warming up the bike at carpark, brakes were almost non –existent, and suspension was highly sketchy. So I go back to the workshop to tell of the issues as I was given 1 month come back if bike got problems. When I went to the shop and explained to the workshop, the mechanic, under the instruction from the “pretend to be sleeping on chair” boss at he shop and tells me to let the brakes to wear in for some days. And just nodded his head when I told him about the smoke/steam coming from the engine area and that was it. So I carry on riding the bike in the hope that these issues will go off from daily use. After another 3 days, it was getting worse, more smoke, brakes bloody useless and suspension to precarious to even consider slightly bending around corners. So again I bring the bike to the workshop. This time, the mech takes out the brake pads, go in and than come back to put back the brake pads. And than he says give 1 monthfor the brakes to kick in effectively. 1 MONTH !? Use my legs to brake isit in the meanwhile? Riding a big CC bike, you would expect the brakes to be an important factor in your safety and to have a 85% off deficient brakes could cost my life in case of emergency. Another few days passed and while riding around town, the bike started to over heat and when I stopped to let the bike cool down, the radiator burst, spewing extremely hot fluids all over my legs. Bike was out. I had to have the bike towed. So enough was enough, I sent the bike to another workshop, recommended by fellow biker friends.

After talking to this recommended workshop, I found out that the bike’s inside is all very bad condition. A lot of efforts were taken to hide/mask problems with bike. Front forks seals gone plus severe metal to metal contact damages, radiator out, coil gone, engine top warp, instead of using gaskets to seal, the bloody dealer had used rubber sealant to temporarily stop the smoke from coming out so when potential buyers test start the bike, the smoke will be contained till sold. The list of repairs were literally 1 full page long. All in all the damages/repairs cost me another $5k, on top of having paid 12k for the bike. And the dealer didn’t evening give discount while buying the bike. I talked to a few other very well respected bike mechanics and all said that this was blatant and low ball by the dealer. So pls beware of this and other such vermit of a dealers. Peace out.

Hi Fellow bikers, I’m posting this to warn all local riders to veer clear of a lemon bike dealer (Wing Fuat at Sims Place and his workshop at Blk 3020A, Ubi Ave 1). He’s a full on liar and a conman (Ng). Here’s my story;

I’ve been a rider for many years and recently made the decision to upgrade to a class2 bike. I visited his shop after seeing an ad for this class 2 bike online. He assuranced that this bike is in decent condition and not one that would break down. I even told him if minor issues I don’t mind as expected for 2nd hand bikes and he confirmed this. I asked for discount but he didn’t reduce from asking price. That is okay as long bike runs okay, I told him. So I went on to buy this 2nd hand bike, paying 12k in total. He asked to collect the bike a few days later from his workshop outlet, which I did. One would expect the bike to be serviced up to ridable condition as if the bike is not in good condition, it’s a risk to the rider, correct or not!

Just days after talking ownership of the bike, the bike started smoking from the engine area just 3 mins into warming up the bike at carpark, brakes were almost non –existent, and suspension was highly sketchy. So I go back to the workshop to tell of the issues as I was given 1 month come back if bike got problems. When I went to the shop and explained to the workshop, the mechanic, under the instruction from the “pretend to be sleeping on chair” boss at he shop and tells me to let the brakes to wear in for some days. And just nodded his head when I told him about the smoke/steam coming from the engine area and that was it. So I carry on riding the bike in the hope that these issues will go off from daily use. After another 3 days, it was getting worse, more smoke, brakes bloody useless and suspension to precarious to even consider slightly bending around corners. So again I bring the bike to the workshop. This time, the mech takes out the brake pads, go in and than come back to put back the brake pads. And than he says give 1 monthfor the brakes to kick in effectively. 1 MONTH !? Use my legs to brake isit in the meanwhile? Riding a big CC bike, you would expect the brakes to be an important factor in your safety and to have a 85% off deficient brakes could cost my life in case of emergency. Another few days passed and while riding around town, the bike started to over heat and when I stopped to let the bike cool down, the radiator burst, spewing extremely hot fluids all over my legs. Bike was out. I had to have the bike towed. So enough was enough, I sent the bike to another workshop, recommended by fellow biker friends.

After talking to this recommended workshop, I found out that the bike’s inside is all very bad condition. A lot of efforts were taken to hide/mask problems with bike. Front forks seals gone plus severe metal to metal contact damages, radiator out, coil gone, engine top warp, instead of using gaskets to seal, the bloody dealer had used rubber sealant to temporarily stop the smoke from coming out so when potential buyers test start the bike, the smoke will be contained till sold. The list of repairs were literally 1 full page long. All in all the damages/repairs cost me another $5k, on top of having paid 12k for the bike. And the dealer didn’t evening give discount while buying the bike. I talked to a few other very well respected bike mechanics and all said that this was blatant and low ball by the dealer. So pls beware of this and other such vermit of a dealers. Peace out.

What model is it?

Sent from my E2353 using Tapatalk

I hope you guys know what you are recommending him..

Pray gets better*

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

Let's see.

Its more or less confirmed. I am starting Menopause.

Again, doctors does not believe me when I say I am starting, as they feels I am too young. The symptons are all there lah.

Generally, I have started on earlier shorter period cycle. (Too much info yet?)

Night sweats at around 4/5am. Woke me up and makes it harder to sleep where I have to wake up at 6am for work.

Hot flushes are still rare. But happens, and its not because of our hot humid weather. It happens strangely in the day and I even have heat rashes on my face, behind my knees and some portion of my skin on my hands went ultra thin.

But my nastiness are nowadays more pronouced. :p (Perfect excuses!)

I finally caught the hint of it starting when I complained to a TCM Practitioner which advised me to double check. (the TCM was for something else.) And I did. Menopause is officially recognised as happened when period has stopped for more then 6 months. But the whole process where the body adjust to it, may take about 5 years prior and thats when this auntie are now showing symptoms.

Coupled with the HRT earlier that I injected for eggs donations. And the brushes with cervical and womb cancer. Yup. It's probably coming earlier.

And remembering how my mother does the horrific one cry, two make fuss and three sucidal moods when she was under stress with my dad infidelity, no money and her bf troubles.....or that one time where she was admitted to hospital at age 39 due to womanly troubles. (Oh yah...that comes with a boyfriend trouble which pissed us off no end.)

There probably is genes involved.

No wonder my dieting is not working. Body is desperately retaining the fats, dunno for what. (Another perfect excuse for not losing weight!)

Dieting is useless if you dont move. Did you finish your daily 5 click(under 45mins)? Back in BMT, almost every single one of my BMT mate who is relatively siao on lose weight.

This is taking into consideration the weekly fast food gorging at every book out. I remember my first book out, I glupped 2 500ml of coke almost instant and went on to order the 10 pc KFC delivery for $19(Promotion over) and finish everything myself. I enlisted 58 kg, 1.7 I finished BMT at 55kg. Because I went PTP(4 months version BMT) one where we are relatively weak in IPPT, some of my friend are quite near obese state as well, like 70kg 1.7m. Now some are looking way better than me (in figure only, nt face).

And I properly have bad gene as well because 3 years after BMT, im 65 (+10 of my BMT times). And I dont eat much except for during BMT.

If you do 5 click everyday like us did back in the days and you still cant lose weight. then i will finally agree its the gene prob. to me most of the time the gene factor isnt significant enough to make one simply obese.

good figure is for hardworker, its a reflection of good health, active lifestyle, cool personality.

not self-pain inflictor like starving and dieting yourself of good food. life too short not to eat nice

If you dont run. its reasonable you dont lose weight.. and if you cant do 5, you start of 1 and then 1.5 then 2, then slowly 5 and you must press faster as well.

for starter u can wake at 4 and do 1km(6min) everyday for the next 2 week, it is cooling to and easier to run and it will also keep u awake in ur office.

then move on to 1.5km(9min) everyday for another 2 week. weigh again, i confirm u got result. of course watch what you eat cus u aren't really workingvery hard yet.

maybe u can fix menopause too. go google health benefits of running

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

I wanna increase my running intensity too. Getting stuck at 75kg for a long time. More than 10 years no exercise

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

I wanna increase my running intensity too. Getting stuck at 75kg for a long time. More than 10 years no exercise

whats your height? if 1.7m above should be ok. its just you need to exercise . of course losing weight will be a bonus

1.67m only 😢

Started going gym close to a year but results r showing very slowly

Yamaha TZR > Kawasaki KIPS >> Suzuki GSX-K >>> Honda NSR >>>> Yamaha RX-Z >>>>> Honda CB400 Ver S >>>>>> Kymco X400i

1.67m only 😢

Started going gym close to a year but results r showing very slowly

Monitor your calorie intake? Usually its due to consuming more calories than whatever was burned. :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

Monitor your calorie intake? Usually its due to consuming more calories than whatever was burned. :cool:

Subconsciously monitoring it, not actively doing it

I stopped most sugar intakes, avoid titbits n drinks plain water most of the time. Also been avoiding fast food for more than 2 years, occasionally my manager will treat us then bo bian have to eat but that is like once or twice in a year

On weekends, i try to fast for 16 hours. Might not b useful to fast only weekends but this is the least i can do to show my efforts

I will try running more frequently. Needs a significant breakthrough

The Menopause is really upsetting my body hormonal balance.

I was cramping and spotting for last four week. And I completed my period cycle before the CNY. The cramps are much more painful because the cells are trying to dispel out whatever womb lining, that is not there, because its was already cleared out the previous week. The period of spotting is supposed to be 2 weeks after the cycle, but I am earlier and started the spotting one week after my cycle.

Its all female body plumbing. I know its confusing for you guys. But just note, that I am always been biatchy....and I now have PMS to credit for the next five years. :p

thanks for telling us " it confuses us". MENopause is clearly misgiven to ladies I feel for you VK. Hope you get a good rest

Darn period cramps are bugging me now.

Yesterday was roll in bed and sweated cold sweat till my mattress and pillow was soaked kinda pain.

Now its starting again. And I am at work.....

lets have a friendly debate

Agree or not agree

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/bike-licensing-where-theres-a-will-theres-a-way

Mr Lim Tong Wah ("LTA's stance on bike licensing disappointing") and Dr George Wong Seow Choon ("'Too difficult to do' should not be reason to dismiss idea") made strong arguments in their letters last Saturday on the need for bicycle licensing.

This is especially urgent now, as the cycling population has grown rapidly and is set to grow even more given the Government's push for a "car-lite" nation.

Since 2011, I have written seven letters to the Forum page, which highlighted the danger cyclists pose when invading common spaces meant for pedestrians, and have urged the authorities to rein in dangerous cycling behaviour through education, public campaigns, punitive measures and legislation.

Many readers have also written on this subject.

It has been more than four years and I have not discerned any improvement. In fact, the situation has worsened, given the influx of faster and more powerful bicycles and motorised bicycles.

The Land Transport Authority's Ms Tan Shin Gee ("LTA: Bicycle licensing not practical"; last Friday) supported her argument by making reference to the Netherlands' absence of a licensing regime even though it has a very large cycling population.

It is fallacious to compare Singapore with the Netherlands, which has the necessary infrastructure and proper cycling behaviour, given its long cycling culture.

In contrast, Singapore's cycling culture is a fledgling one. We have not developed infrastructure for cycling, and many of our cyclists are inconsiderate and irresponsible, and lack civic-mindedness and graciousness. Hence, until and unless we are ready to fully embrace the cycling culture, we need interim measures - educational, punitive and legislative - to ensure that pedestrians' safety is not compromised. Cyclists have a responsibility and duty of care to ensure the safety of pedestrians, instead of expecting pedestrians to constantly look out for them.

While I agree that bicycle licensing is not easy, it is possible, with political will. Like the saying goes: "Where there's a will, there's a way."

The civil service has a very large manpower resource, with a generous dose of scholars. Given this, it would not be impossible to develop a workable licensing regime.

Pedestrians deserve the safety and security of a sanctuary which belongs to them. This is even more crucial now, given our rapidly ageing population.

Lawrence Loh Kiah Muan

lets have a friendly debate

Agree or not agree

http://www.straitstimes.com/forum/letters-in-print/bike-licensing-where-theres-a-will-theres-a-way

Mr Lim Tong Wah ("LTA's stance on bike licensing disappointing") and Dr George Wong Seow Choon ("'Too difficult to do' should not be reason to dismiss idea") made strong arguments in their letters last Saturday on the need for bicycle licensing.

This is especially urgent now, as the cycling population has grown rapidly and is set to grow even more given the Government's push for a "car-lite" nation.

Since 2011, I have written seven letters to the Forum page, which highlighted the danger cyclists pose when invading common spaces meant for pedestrians, and have urged the authorities to rein in dangerous cycling behaviour through education, public campaigns, punitive measures and legislation.

Many readers have also written on this subject.

It has been more than four years and I have not discerned any improvement. In fact, the situation has worsened, given the influx of faster and more powerful bicycles and motorised bicycles.

The Land Transport Authority's Ms Tan Shin Gee ("LTA: Bicycle licensing not practical"; last Friday) supported her argument by making reference to the Netherlands' absence of a licensing regime even though it has a very large cycling population.

It is fallacious to compare Singapore with the Netherlands, which has the necessary infrastructure and proper cycling behaviour, given its long cycling culture.

In contrast, Singapore's cycling culture is a fledgling one. We have not developed infrastructure for cycling, and many of our cyclists are inconsiderate and irresponsible, and lack civic-mindedness and graciousness. Hence, until and unless we are ready to fully embrace the cycling culture, we need interim measures - educational, punitive and legislative - to ensure that pedestrians' safety is not compromised. Cyclists have a responsibility and duty of care to ensure the safety of pedestrians, instead of expecting pedestrians to constantly look out for them.

While I agree that bicycle licensing is not easy, it is possible, with political will. Like the saying goes: "Where there's a will, there's a way."

The civil service has a very large manpower resource, with a generous dose of scholars. Given this, it would not be impossible to develop a workable licensing regime.

Pedestrians deserve the safety and security of a sanctuary which belongs to them. This is even more crucial now, given our rapidly ageing population.

Lawrence Loh Kiah Muan

I do not agree. Licensing it means must pay them. Its just another way for them to suck more from us. What next? Bicycle also must go yearly inspection? Pay road tax? Pay parking? :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..

JUST this morning. got this ah beng who rides the electric bike at the traffic light and he nearly missed hitting me at nearly 30-40km/hr while riding head on even when the light was against us at the traffic. now if he had knocked me and cause serious injury to myself or even himself, what insurance does he have to cover me?

Its these ebikers that are of concern rather than the usual cyclists for me. These ebikes are used like motorcyles pillioning people to and fro. No regards to the traffic lights and ride like they own the roads. They should ban having pillions on these ebikes. :cool:

KRGT-1

vk!!!! what hot afternoon??? its cooling here at tanjung pagar. must be you know what , right??

Is not really cooling at boat quay

ehh....how you guys know I am located at Boat Quay area?

Actually i was referring to myself, just now i was eating at boat quay 😂