Alvin & MJ I know you have installed a DIY Oiler and I think I will make one as well before my trip.

I looked up past threads, and found very useful info Alvin posted here and MJ here and here on where to get the necessary accessories. More photos here.

I have a few questions:

1. If you use a brake fluid reservoir, how often do you fill it up ? Is it possible to fill it without a funnel ?

2. What kind of oil do you use, is it gear oil ? If you tried several types of oil, can you recommend one ? EDIT: Noticed Alvin you say you use ScottOiler oil, I assume from Motoworld ? How much is it ?

3. Does it splatter much on the rim or elsewhere ?

4. In the DIY list of things, there's silicone sealant. Can I use the one for bathrooms, the white one ? If not, where to get the right one ?

5. Where beside Ah Boy is the "valve shop" : I know MJ is going to laugh at me again, but .. :lol: I know left side of Ah Boy there's the key shop, right beside it. Is the valve shop on the left further down or on the right, nearer to Kelatan Lane ?

6. I nooticed MJ you have a tube inside a tube : a transparent one inside a yellow one, why is that (see photos link above) ?

7. What do you guys put at the end of the tube to act as a pointy end that will drip the oil ?

8. How do you make sure the dripping is at the right frequency ? Is using a 4mm tube the valve enough to ensure the frequency is right ? How many drops/min roughly do you have ?

i have the name of the shop...

but its at home...

will post when i get home later tonight...

the shop is under a hdb block opposite the shop selling bolts and screws...the valve and tubing can get from the shop...

the valve with use of a 4mm tube is good enough for on/off and flow control...

the oil both of us using is the scott oiler oil...

can buy from unique or motoworld...

it comes with a refilling plastic tube...

so no need funnel to refil...

fling wise its not much sine we position the tip near the sproc and control the drip rate...

the extra wire inside is to further reduce the drip rate...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Bajaj Service & Spare Parts List #51601,Pg 1033

SBT Members List #49950,Pg 999

Pulsar Enhancement Info #39332,Pg787

Thanks Alvin, you're extra helpful as always :thumb:

I was wondering, you guys don;t leave the valve open all the time do you ? Otherwise it will drip when parked ? Or do you close the valve everytime you park ?

I would choose to let the valve open when I am riding long distances, or i know I won't stop for long.. and maybe only 2-3 days per week? (all depends how many km you ride of course..)

What do you think ?

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Thanks Alvin, you're extra helpful as always :thumb:

I was wondering, you guys don;t leave the valve open all the time do you ? Otherwise it will drip when parked ? Or do you close the valve everytime you park ?

I would choose to let the valve open when I am riding long distances, or i know I won't stop for long.. and maybe only 2-3 days per week? (all depends how many km you ride of course..)

What do you think ?

for ezzyoiler,you pump out a certain amount of oil before your ride and then open the valve when you ride...

for our diy ones,you have to off the valve everytime you stop...

if not you will find a pudde of chain oil on the ground...

having 1 or 2 cable tie at the end also will determine if the flow is slower or faster...

anyway for normal riding in SG personally i will oil every about 300km or 2 weeks...

so for your case maybe every 2 days or 3 days...

just open slightly and have a thin layer of oil cover your chain will do...

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Alvinyansg_Siggy.jpg

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

I went to hou heng at Ah gua lane in JB and it cost 90RM to fix a new pair of sprockets.. not bad if you're on a budget. i dropped to 15 36.. but maybe u can op for 15 38.

I feel like diying that too! but i've just ordered a can of DuPont Teflon chain lube from ah_xian in the mass order section.

you can have both...

sometimes you need to oil your chain but you won't be riding...

so the can of chain lube will come in handy...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Gotcha Alvin, thanks !

I think I'll give the DIY oiler a shot.. :shy:

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

Gotcha Alvin, thanks !

The clear tube is is meant for the flexible wire to have the main oiler tube to flex to where you wanna bend to your specific direction/ location.

Our DIY oiler is not perfect but naturally it does the same as other oiler ... kekekekee

After looking at the ezzyoiler system (thanks to yenyu), basically it is the same as Loobman oiler http://www.chainoiler.co.uk/ .. the only difference is the valve.

Respect to ezzyoiler no offense here but I think his weakpoint is the valve which he used a plastic valve which eventually can leak.

Using the type that we are using, the valve is very good but the weakpoint is the tube is too small for the tip to have a split tongue for better drip on both side of the chain but the good point is the flow of the oil is much slower and the drip so far is just nice.

I'm still thinking of a way to improvise the tip but not so soon... idea have time no at the moment .....

but still at present the oiler does the job!! LUBING THE CHAIN !! .... kekekee

and oh btw .. I too keep a small can of chain lube as back up vice versa with the oiler ... so far PZ1 at Ah Boy the best chain lube in terms of splatter imho... kakakka

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_sdTrs8yd7AQ/TTuCAfshogI/AAAAAAAACOI/az-QrQmCRS0/s320/DSCN3133.JPG

High performanche chain lube - heavy duty

"WONT FLY OFF"

Chain run smoother

Conforming to the highest Europe standards

CHHERS!!

Edited by mjbs64

21335_10151769662906654_1436797672_n.jpg

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

" No Sacrifies No Victory " [/size]

mjbs64 : 97821440 P200 SplitFire2010aza Not for Sale!

Gotcha Alvin, thanks !

do plan and visualise where your container and tubing will run before you go buy your spares...

so you will have an idea of what to get...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

Base jumping.. like not even on my list of things to do if I was paid millions and millions for it. It's amazing how Michael Bay never stops trying to push things into reality..Can't wait !

Thanks for the advice MJ & Alvin about the DIY :thumb:

Yep, I want to do it myself, learn and see if it's sturdy and can last. If not I can always buy the ezzyoiler at the last minute...

So. Answers? :cheeky:

Just spent 3h washing, sponging, bathing, shining, waxing, de-rusting my bike :lovestruck:

Washed the chain too, then WD40-ed it and put on the Maxima Chain Lube.

It comes in a small spray can too and sprays White foam that turns into liquid oil.

Hopefully it will work well so I can take the small sized can with me :cheeky:

Read good things about the dupont Teflon lube, how much is it?

Awww. i did the same today too! rode in the rain back after work, and decided to give the bike a little polish. we should organize a DIY/Bike appreciation outing!

As for the Dupont lub, It's $18 for a 14oz can. i think ah_xian has spares go check out the mass order section if u you're interested :)

Just something to ponder about:

If the chain and sprocket cost like 90RM = 38$, even if you use cheap used EO to lube the chain every week, how long is it going last? My bet definitely more than 20,000 kms.

Using expensive chain lube how much longer will the chain last? Is it worth the total cost of the lube when you can get replace the whole chain and sprockets for so cheap? :cheeky:

HAHA EXACTLY. perhaps it's not even worth the time and the effort to lube when u can just replace them every 20KKMs.

On my previous UG2, with sprockets fixed from JB, it lasted pretty good. And mind you. i dont even lube my chains ever :X.. perhaps cos the UG2 has a chain cover so it's not very convenient, but that's a good thing cos it helps alot in keeping dirt off the chain and i've done about 20KKMs on them.

It's very different when u have to replace the chains n sprockets on a Class 2 bike. Without the luxuary of extremely cheap options, The figures would usually ballpark at $250. then, a $18 can of chain lube would be peanuts compared to that..

BTW u should use higher SAE oils for lubing. not the thin viscosity engine oils.

Edited by -Gu0Zz-

@oren: DIY chain oiler is simple. Go to an aquarium shop and buy some clear rubber tubes, metal valve to fit the tubes, and a small plastic container to fit the same tube size. The tube if I remember is only 2mm hole max. Get some cable tie and you can figure it all out. Cost I think $10 for everything.

Thanks Mobile, anything that involves me "creating" something always has a certain amount of uncertainty to it haha :cheeky:

But I'll give it a go soon, probably will go shopping for the stuff this WE.

Now that the bike has been washed and pampered down to each and every single bolt, it is time to put on the new coils !

I will also redo my disco switch box to better waterproof it (hello liquid electrical tape!) :clap: :clap:

@oren: DIY chain oiler is simple. Go to an aquarium shop and buy some clear rubber tubes, metal valve to fit the tubes, and a small plastic container to fit the same tube size. The tube if I remember is only 2mm hole max. Get some cable tie and you can figure it all out. Cost I think $10 for everything.

tried and tested...

my ver 1.0 is all these...

good point is its cheap...

bad point is the tubing will get soft after 2 weeks and the valve will leak after 2 weeks also...

cause they are built for water and not oil...

my current version the valve is built for oil and has o-ring inside and the tubing also for oil and thicker plastic...last way longer...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

The clear tube is is meant for the flexible wire to have the main oiler tube to flex to where you wanna bend to your specific direction/ location.

Our DIY oiler is not perfect but naturally it does the same as other oiler ... kekekekee

After looking at the ezzyoiler system (thanks to yenyu), basically it is the same as Loobman oiler http://www.chainoiler.co.uk/ .. the only difference is the valve.

Respect to ezzyoiler no offense here but I think his weakpoint is the valve which he used a plastic valve which eventually can leak.

Using the type that we are using, the valve is very good but the weakpoint is the tube is too small for the tip to have a split tongue for better drip on both side of the chain but the good point is the flow of the oil is much slower and the drip so far is just nice.

I'm still thinking of a way to improvise the tip but not so soon... idea have time no at the moment .....

but still at present the oiler does the job!! LUBING THE CHAIN !! .... kekekee

and oh btw .. I too keep a small can of chain lube as back up vice versa with the oiler ... so far PZ1 at Ah Boy the best chain lube in terms of splatter imho... kakakka

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_sdTrs8yd7AQ/TTuCAfshogI/AAAAAAAACOI/az-QrQmCRS0/s320/DSCN3133.JPG

High performanche chain lube - heavy duty

"WONT FLY OFF"

Chain run smoother

Conforming to the highest Europe standards

CHHERS!!

original my is twin tip...

but flow too slow...

also got idea to mod to twin tip...

but a bit lazy to go mod...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

aleardy 2 week i ride my lov pulsar 200. oh my the gear shift gdm so so smooth compare to my prev **** r15. so happy me no choice wrong baby even before me stil suspect of the brand of bajaj. now wan to change my 1st eo of my baby. wat kind of eo suitable for tis bike? my headlight too high. how i wan to adjust it?

if you not sure where to adjust the headlight

head down to UM when you do your next servicing then adjust

its on the lower right of your head cowling

need to move away some wires to see the flat screw

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

DongYi !! .... :thumb::thumb::thumb:

Warning Alert! .. Don't start to watch the first episode cos once you completed watching the first episode , you will get addicted and hooked to it till the very last 60 episodes!! ... kakakakakaa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFsb9b9imOg

I've WARNED you!! ... kekekekekee

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

" Hmmm .. Old does not mean ... old ideology, old fashion and old mindset ... hehehe "

DongYi !! .... :thumb::thumb::thumb:

Warning Alert! .. Don't start to watch the first episode cos once you completed watching the first episode , you will get addicted and hooked to it till the very last 60 episodes!! ... kakakakakaa

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GFsb9b9imOg

I've WARNED you!! ... kekekekekee

you really poisonous sia...

Ride Safe

Arrive ALIVE

if you not sure where to adjust the headlight

head down to UM when you do your next servicing then adjust

its on the lower right of your head cowling

need to move away some wires to see the flat screw

I think only Alvin can understand what you type 888cct. Ok English is nobody's mother tongue around here, but you just take the prize home with one line ... :lol:

you really poisonous sia...

mj kena racun already by my sister...i'm already hooked

WKWKWKWKWKWKWKWHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHHAAKAKAKAKAKAKKA!! !! ...

If you have completed watching DongYi which they focus on classical music elements in the royal palace...... do go for another Blockbuster which they focused on classic portraits paintings in the royal palace !!

YiSan :thumb::thumb::thumb:

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_apCJhCuK-xg/R-SLwnyn1NI/AAAAAAAADBg/OebAn9wAR-g/s320/yi_san-korean_drama-1.JPG

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FtNt9_Fskg4

kekekekekekekekeke :cheers:

Edited by mjbs64

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

Jewel in The Palace :thumb::thumb::thumb:

which focused on Food and Herbs in the royal palace.

http://rachelwongsy.files.wordpress.com/2010/03/l_p1003964128.jpg

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=91sUwGeBxpw

Edited by mjbs64

PULSARIANS SINGAPORE

dong yi? or don key?

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=870074&id=100000025846104

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=670258&id=100000615742085

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?pid=670251&id=100000615742085

http://sphotos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/603859_3802371097427_2134347937_n.jpg

http://a6.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/s720x720/534363_3998392523188_157059301_n.jpg

1.can i know which page dicuss about the first servis for pulsar p200, which engine oil suitable for 1st ,2nd ,3rd sevice . can i hav the brand of e.o ?

2.which another way method for running-in except in user guide?

3.1 thing make me so worry is - y my rpm not stabily at idling speed wen stop at traffic light? my previous r15 also same leh.:cry: it is all the bike same like tat?

i wil so appreciate tat some 1 wil help me to solve tis problem. so thanks.:faint: