do i need to bring any tools? :cool:

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Subject to Quantity 20 sets only Total

How much? - $5 to $10 ($$ are for materials)

When dude? - 12th September 2009 3pm

Who? - All are welcome

What? - List is close. maybe next year?

Where? - The Clinic ,The Bayshore Condo.tower 2b ,unit 04-01..

List below will be given a chain scrub for FREE

13 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

3. jtzx

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

13. trader7891 ( Version 2)

--

Options Available, Pick 1 and add to your name

VERSION 1.) pump and tube with 1 valve...$5.0..bring your own pump and container..or pump and cork (a tube will be used as the conatiner..see previous post and picture...

VERSION 2.) TUBE AND 2 VALVES....$6.3.. DONT HAVE TO BRING ANYTHING

the extra cost is for the additional valve.

VERSION 3) MINI PUMP/TUBES/1 VALVE.. $6.2. DONTHAVE TO BRING ANYTHING..additonal cost is for mini pump and bottle

• Replies 1.8k

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

13 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

3. jtzx

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

VERSION 1.) pump and tube with 1 valve...$5.0..bring your own pump and container..or pump and cork (a tube will be used as the conatiner..see previous post and picture...

VERSION 3) MINI PUMP/TUBES/1 VALVE.. $6.2. DONTHAVE TO BRING ANYTHING..additonal cost is for mini pump and bottle

Edited by tan_pao_wei

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

13 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

3. jtzx (V3) to be safe as i know nuts about this=)

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

13 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets (1 X V2 & 1 X V3)

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Silent Hunter's market survey for materials.

I have checked out the price of the valves they are typically around $9.90 to $12.90.

Same thing for the connecting metal hose. The cheapest I could find was $7.50.

And although the valves are not made to be connected to the 3mm plastic tube for the delivery, it is a perfect fit for the Steel Braided Hose. :)

Just need to screw it on. (Can go and see the ones connected to the toilet tank at home if you want to have a feel of the metal hose) I reckon I can wrangle up a Oiler unit based on that. And it LOOKS GOOD, very pro.

But the cost for the unit is a whooping $45.00 Min.... :sian:

So I am going with Mepkoh's low budget design. Kee! Kee! :cheeky:

What I did find worth buying is a cheap packet of wooden corks.

$0.80 for 1 packet of 6 wooden corks.

Anyone wants? :)

I have also checked out the Goldfish shop for the small little valve that was made to fit the 3mm tube.

It's perfect for our task. But the shop here is selling it at at a higher price.

$1.50 per peice. :(

do i need to bring any tools? :cool:

a pair of scissor and a pr of pliers will be best...so u can fix your own...or else everyone will be using mine...

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

hey silent get that packet of cork..how many inside each packet?? 6 u say...buy 2 packets please..

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

yeah..if need more ...will inform u lah...ok make it 3 packets...

Ok, 3 packets it is! :D

16 more days to our D.I.Y session!

And I think it will be best if someone brings along a pair of shears the type for gardening.

Those small little scissors cannot make it for cutting rubber hose.

so..who is a gardener here??not many i think...

borrow from your mum's kitchen shears..that will do just fine.

5 more sets to go and the list will be closed

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

wow... seems like ur DIY attracted a lot of ppl... i guess it will be worth the effort for mi to take leave and join you guys there on 12 sep for the great DIY session with fellow bikers... support you la....

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

--

wow... seems like ur DIY attracted a lot of ppl... i guess it will be worth the effort for mi to take leave and join you guys there on 12 sep for the great DIY session with fellow bikers... support you la....

i am honoured...by your presence.:angel:

Hey mepkoh,

Just wanne say a big thank you for taking time out to design, prototype and test this auto chain lube/scrubber. Oh and Silent Hunter too, for assisting in purchasing of materials and general admin yeah.

Getting all pumped up about the DIY session; am really looking forward to it, even though I cannot ride there. Haha!

wow..brothers glad to do this...i enjoyed the process ...

i think at the end of the day, i am the one who is enjoying the most..

bro..thank you for giving me this opportyunity.

one more item which need to be address is YOU have to decide where to mount the oiler. Give some thoughts to it...

My prefered place is to mount on the frame ..see my steed mounting, So u can admire it everyday....

seriuosly..this is done so that activation , topping up EO..and the whole system is visible and easily inspected so that you can troubleshoot easily (if required).

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

15. lycan (v3)

--------------------

VERSION 3) MINI PUMP/TUBES/1 VALVE.. $6.2. DONT HAVE TO BRING ANYTHING..additonal cost is for mini pump and bottle

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

4 more sets to go and the list will be closed

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

15. lycan (v3)

--------------------

VERSION 3) MINI PUMP/TUBES/1 VALVE.. $6.2. DONT HAVE TO BRING ANYTHING..additonal cost is for mini pump and bottle

:angel::cheeky::thumb::cheers::thirsty::cheer::popcorn::sweat::sweat::sweat::sweat:

Hey mepkoh,

Just wanne say a big thank you for taking time out to design, prototype and test this auto chain lube/scrubber. Oh and Silent Hunter too, for assisting in purchasing of materials and general admin yeah.

Getting all pumped up about the DIY session; am really looking forward to it, even though I cannot ride there. Haha!

Where do you stay? Need a ride there? :D

wow..brothers glad to do this...i enjoyed the process ...

i think at the end of the day, i am the one who is enjoying the most..

bro..thank you for giving me this opportyunity.

one more item which need to be address is YOU have to decide where to mount the oiler. Give some thoughts to it...

My prefered place is to mount on the frame ..see my steed mounting, So u can admire it everyday....

seriuosly..this is done so that activation , topping up EO..and the whole system is visible and easily inspected so that you can troubleshoot easily (if required).

I am putting mine INSIDE the Chrome cover (left side) where the Air box is. There should be just enough space between the cover and the air box.

But the switch will have to be located outside, near the chain guard. I was thinking of taking out the screws of the chain guard and mount the tube using metal brackets.

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

2. silent x2 sets (1XV2)+(1XV3)

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

15. lycan (v3)

20. ---XXX Silent Hunter is taking 2 sets remember? XXX---

--------------------

the miracle fastener in the oiler ..is the all purpose cable ties. some one to confirm the circumference of the swing arm of the phantom...need to buy correct size..so no waste.

thats a good place silent...so u want to hide it....i want to show it..hahahha

I am putting mine INSIDE the Chrome cover (left side) where the Air box is. There should be just enough space between the cover and the air box.

But the switch will have to be located outside, near the chain guard. I was thinking of taking out the screws of the chain guard and mount the tube using metal brackets.

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

15. lycan (v3)

16. superakan (V3)

--------------------

Project DIY Oiler sesson

Who? - All are welcome

15 sets in total

1. mepkoh

4. weird.username (V3)

5. caydias (V3)

6. zhi ming

7. VidaK

8. iewnuj (V3)

9. Sh3rman (v3)

10. Zai23

11. dw123

12. chuan.z

14. tan_pao_wei (v3)

15. lycan (v3)

16. superakan (V3)

17. J.C (V3)

--------------------

Edited by J.C

God in his wisdom will protect you

:pray:

2 sets to go...

those who did mot indicate the type..version.. needed, will be offered version 1.

taken off one write up ..on a commercial oiler..

Q) Can I expect any increase in performance?

A) A well maintained chain and sprocket can make a significant difference. Independent testing on a fairly worn drive set compared to a new set has shown a 5% increase in transmitted HP is not out of the ordinary (See http://www.motorcycle.com, RK 530LFO Chain and Vortex Sprockets).

Also, the HawkeOiler would allow you to convert to a non-oring race chain. If anyone has ever tried to flex a new oring chain, you will appreciate the HP gain possible by being able to use a non oring race chain which you can go to if good lubrication is maintained.

A potential 5 to 10% increase in transmitted HP to the rear wheel is not beyond a realistic realm if you presently have a worn and poorly lubricated chain and sprocket. A real bargain when you consider the cost of other accessories to accomplish the same results."

FAQ..from hawke oiler..

Frequently Asked Questions

Q) Can I connect to an existing Oiler system?

A) Yes. If you presently have a gravity feed oiler with the large reservoir installed, the metering/vacuum bottle can easily be replaced with the HawkeOiler pump and connected directly to the existing feed tubing.

Q) How often do I push the button?( hey this guy operations is exactly like my version 1 oiler...he uses xx$$$$ pump to do job..while mine DIY uses a FOC pump to do job...hahahhah didnt realise i am acopy cat)

A) I have found pushing the button five or six times after gassing up, and again with about a half full tank. The obvious thing you are looking for is keeping the chain oiled. I recommend periodically inspecting the chain so you get a feel for how much and how frequently to push the button for your riding style and riding conditions. I suggest leaning toward over oiling to start and determine what works best for your riding style.

If you ride in rain, and wash off chain lubricant; or ride at high speeds, requiring more lubricant, you can now quickly re-oil the chain to compensate. Also, you no longer have to fear the oiler losing prime and running the chain dry with a reservoir full of oil. After refilling the reservoir repriming is simply the push of a button.

I have found manually pushing a button a few times during a rally, nor cleaning up a little oil spray off the rear end, to be of little inconvenience to gain the assurance of having the chain lubricated. What was an inconvenience was to find my chain bone dry, squeaking, kinking, and close to failure during the Iron Butt because the oiler I was using stopped working.

On a recent 11,000 mile ride I had a chance to field test the HawkeOiler at length. I found it was easy to control the normal oil over spray you get from an automatic oiler when excess oil is thrown off the chain. To do this I simply oiled the chain only when I would be moving at reduced speeds inside the city speed limit areas. This gave the oil a chance to distribute itself before seeing higher centrifugal forces.

Q) Can I expect any increase in performance?

A) A well maintained chain and sprocket can make a significant difference. Independent testing on a fairly worn drive set compared to a new set has shown a 5% increase in transmitted HP is not out of the ordinary (See http://www.motorcycle.com, RK 530LFO Chain and Vortex Sprockets).

Also, the HawkeOiler would allow you to convert to a non-oring race chain. If anyone has ever tried to flex a new oring chain, you will appreciate the HP gain possible by being able to use a non oring race chain which you can go to if good lubrication is maintained.

A potential 5 to 10% increase in transmitted HP to the rear wheel is not beyond a realistic realm if you presently have a worn and poorly lubricated chain and sprocket. A real bargain when you consider the cost of other accessories to accomplish the same results.

How much does it costs???

here is the answer

The HawkeOiler is designed to provide a positive and controlable way to lubricate the chain drive system while riding. This automated system will provide extended chain and sprocket life on your motorcycle. I offer a 100% satisfaction guarantee. If you are not completely satisfied with your HawkeOiler System, I will refund the cost (less Shipping & Handling).

HawkeOiler Automated Chain Oiler System Contains:

Fuse Holder: 2 amp fuse

Push Button Pump: prewired w/ 7 ft. of wire

Oil Reservoir: 4oz.

Mounting: Quick release reservoir mount w/ stainless steel nuts and bolts.

Tubing: vinyl, 6' of 1/8" ID vinyl, 5' of 1/8"OD nylon tubing.

Nylon ties: 6

Item # Description Price

HWKOLR-01 HawkOiler Automated Chain Oiler System. $169.95

Shipping and Handling: Please select your county

Edited by mepkoh