dun forget iridium plugs will burn ur piston oso :X

*too much firing...

LoL.. the myth of iridium plugs, spitfire plugs and other performance plugs burning a hole into piston been around so long, even before internet was widely used in Singapore.. LoL.. Totally crap reasoning... All these myths pass down from fathers, brothers, mothers, cousins and even bike shop mechanics and boy racers of the 80's-90's

Only way to get hole in piston is thru sustained pre ignition... Also can occur if spark plug gap not set correctly. Pre-ignition occurs when the fuel/air mixture ignites prior to the set ignition timing-mark. Hot spots in the combustion chamber may cause this to happen. Hot spots occur due to high compression, low octane fuel, a spark plug that is too hot, lean air/fuel mixture, carbon in the combustion chamber, or insufficient engine cooling. When pre-ignition occurs, the electrodes of the spark plug can melt, and the valves and pistons may get burned through. Pre-ignition usually leads to detonation.

Another possibility is detonation.. That only occurs if your jetting/mapping to lean... Also can occur if spark plug gap not set correctly. Detonation is an uncontrolled explosion after the spark event occurs. When the detonation flame strikes the top of the piston, stopping it from moving up or down, it remains in place and creates a rattling sound in the cylinder. This is what people refer to as a “ping” or “knocking”. Detonation can burn the end of the spark plug and ultimately cause engine damage. Typical causes of detonation are pre-ignition, too low octane fuel or advance timing. If “knocking” occurs, it is important to take care of it before serious engine damage results.

Most likely the lean mixture also caused by wrong spark plug heat range..

Another possible cause is the plug wrong type, too long too near to the piston...

Most likely reason is the spark plug gap not set correctly.. From the day i start riding till now, i have never seen any mechanic adjust the sprak plug gap to each bikes manufacturer recommendation.. All just put in new one then ok liao... Lucky even before i started riding i already had a spark plug feeler gauge... Most bike shop also know nuts about the sprak plug heat range.. I tested a few shops before and some reputable shops... Told them my plug too hot, they recommend me a lower number NGK plug, lower numbers on NGK plus means its hotter.. LoL, crapz!

All the reason above is not cause by iridium plug, can happen on any plug...

read on how to read ur plug ( i have a better copy in paper form, will scan and upload one day):

http://www.dansmc.com/spark_plugs/spark_plugs_catalog.html

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/techinfo/spark_plugs/faq/faqread2.asp

Spark plug gap:

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/techinfo/spark_plugs/faq/faqpregap.asp?nav=31200&country=US

another gd info, spark plug heat range ( most people associate high number with hotter plugs.. Its actually the other way around for some plugs, some tink its the size of plugs.. LoL:)

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/techinfo/spark_plugs/overviewp2.asp

How to choose ur plug size?

Denso:

http://www.pvl-zuendungen.de/fr/fb_densokodierung.htm

NGK:

http://www.ngksparkplugs.com/docs/tech/partnumberkey.pdf

http://www.speedtest.net/result/855609689.png
  • Replies 38

so, must a spark plug be hot, warm or cold?

depends on your bike setup lor... ur jetting, read the plugs.. already posted links on how to read your plug...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/855609689.png

for normal 2b, just go for normal spark plugs. if you are riding class 2, definitely go for the best. 22 dollars per plugs iridium

2002~Cagiva Mito (FS)

2003~SP (FS)

2003~RVF (FP) Powered by 2 brother

2008~KR (FY)

2008~K7 (FBB) Powered by arrow

2009~SPARK (FBB) Powered by GPR

2009~SUPER 4 spec 1 (FR) Powered by yoshimura

2011~ SUPER 4 spec 1 (FT) powered by yoshimura titanium BLUE

2011~ yamaha FZ6 (FBD)

2011~ yamaha R1 (FBB) powered by Arrow

yes..

i tried once on my sp..

the iridium plugs can make ur sp more responsive..

n kinda save alil more on petrol consumption..

i only need to kick start once for my sp..

no matter after rain or in the morningz.

n my plug i used ard 12k b4 the plug became wasted.. haa

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

been using my OWS size 8 (cr8Eix compatable) on my cygnus.

good cold starts , good throttle response.

but thats abt it.

3HP gain on my 10 HP scooter? fat chanc.

actually I read about the 3 hp increase article before.

It's actually base on percentage. That bike total HP was like 150hp. Some 1000cc sports bike.

So 3hp out of the total 150hp is like less than 1.5% increase over stock.

His theory is kinda make sense but on the lighter side of life.

He did mentioned that in a competition, every HP and second inprovement does effect the race out come.

So the theory of the twin leg plug is simple. There is mass increase in the plugs compare to single leg. thus given that the combustion chamber remains the same, Increase mass in the plugs will kind a increase compression by a tiny weeny bit. something like 1%+ increase.

That's what the article is all about

actually I read about the 3 hp increase article before.

It's actually base on percentage. That bike total HP was like 150hp. Some 1000cc sports bike.

So 3hp out of the total 150hp is like less than 1.5% increase over stock.

His theory is kinda make sense but on the lighter side of life.

He did mentioned that in a competition, every HP and second inprovement does effect the race out come.

So the theory of the twin leg plug is simple. There is mass increase in the plugs compare to single leg. thus given that the combustion chamber remains the same, Increase mass in the plugs will kind a increase compression by a tiny weeny bit. something like 1%+ increase.

That's what the article is all about

liddat in that sense.. juz put in a giant plug.. 10 legs.. then can increase compression by alot liao ma.. kinda ridiculous theory lo..

For me i use iridium plugs and i changed then every 3 ~ 4 oil changes.. Works well.. though can use for 4 oil change but i mostly change at 3. Btw my oil change is 4.5k to 5k km.