• Replies 15

y give away ur details unnecessarily?

There is no requirements to register anything. And no one knows when VEP will be implemented if at all. The only we know now is that Road Charge for cars will start from 1 Nov. Just need to pay per entry, no registrations required. No update on VEP at all.

y give away ur details unnecessarily?

There is no requirements to register anything. And no one knows when VEP will be implemented if at all. The only we know now is that Road Charge for cars will start from 1 Nov. Just need to pay per entry, no registrations required. No update on VEP at all.

I don't see any problem with giving details... anyway they can anytime check your bike details if required.

if u don't see any problem then go ahead.

I have concerns on what they will use and how secure their system is when I give out my full details including contact details & address, what car & bikes I own, chasis numbers etc. Y do they even need such info?

Imagine when u're in Malaysia, these info are leaked to criminals who can contact your family members for extortions or whatever reasons...

and by the Msia govt departments, summon letters being sent to you even if you have sold ur car/bike if the new owner do not register...

I'm sure u can think of more scenarios where information will be misused.

if u don't see any problem then go ahead.

I have concerns on what they will use and how secure their system is when I give out my full details including contact details & address, what car & bikes I own, chasis numbers etc. Y do they even need such info?

Imagine when u're in Malaysia, these info are leaked to criminals who can contact your family members for extortions or whatever reasons...

and by the Msia govt departments, summon letters being sent to you even if you have sold ur car/bike if the new owner do not register...

I'm sure u can think of more scenarios where information will be misused.

Hi, I feel that you think too much into this. I had registered my bike as I always travel to JB. Felt that its better as they are already building gantry for the bike lane.

Don't wish to do it the last min and having to wait 2 weeks before being approved (their efficiency). Anyway, when they build the gantry, you also die die have to register and all those concern that you have will resurface again.

I rather they send me the summon letter and ask me to pay, which I can immediately action on it, than having to pay like 10k accumulated fines or they lock me up in Malaysia. Anyway, these twice a year spot check is very common and target SG vehicles only.

I'm not against your choice but I really see no harm registering. If people can register for their genting card, giving all the particulars, I don't know how much more security are needed to be implemented by the Malaysia government for this system.

wat do u mean by "when they build the gantry, you also die die have to register ". They have gantries for cars all this while... no VEP registration required. Just tap to pay and go.

Anyway, just sharing my thoughts and more importantly to let others know its not compulsory now (if ever at all). Its up to individual whether to register now or not. u will not be asked to turn back if u don't register. That's for sure.

dont wait till last min to register, their web site always cock-up last min.

after register, print out the slip keep in your bike, put can together with your logcard, insurance.

very-very useful when travel to Thailand.

new gantry, so far NOT related to this VEP yet.

So VEP started in 1987 n need to register thru the online portal? There's Internet in boleh land in 1987 ah? Wahaha... it's getting funnier everyday

No lah, that's not what it meant.

It is the Road Transport Act that was started in 1987. The VEP stuff is add in later under Section 66H of the Act.

I read a few pages of the website and to be fair, the English is up to standard.

Yamaha Power Valve, Suzuki scrambler, Honda Scrambler (1992 - 1998)

Suzuki Swift : 2001 - 2003

Honda City : 2003 - 2011

Honda Civic VTI : 2011 - 2015

Suzuki Impulse GSX400V 2014 - 2017, extend till Oct 2022 (Scrap in Nov 2020) 😢

Honda Vezel : 2015 - Nov 2025

No lah, that's not what it meant.

It is the Road Transport Act that was started in 1987. The VEP stuff is add in later under Section 66H of the Act.

I read a few pages of the website and to be fair, the English is up to standard.

so when is VEP introduced? It also says :

" It is MANDATORY that all foreign registered vehicles entering Peninsular Malaysia be registered online for VEP through this portal."

wat does mandatory means in Malaysia? I've been going in without any registration and so did millions others

out of those who have registered, how many have been given the RFID tag?

When its finally implemented (not sure if we will still be alive by then) how many bikers do u think wud paste that hideous looking RFID sticker on our headlamp?

so when is VEP introduced? It also says :

" It is MANDATORY that all foreign registered vehicles entering Peninsular Malaysia be registered online for VEP through this portal."

wat does mandatory means in Malaysia? I've been going in without any registration and so did millions others

out of those who have registered, how many have been given the RFID tag?

When its finally implemented (not sure if we will still be alive by then) how many bikers do u think wud paste that hideous looking RFID sticker on our headlamp?

The RFID tag is only given to car now as I think the infrastructure are not ready for bike...

Actually it's really up to you... I'm not going to convince anyone here to register anymore... But if one day, anyone here tio U-turn after 2 hour jam because never register, try not to announce here... Because "don't say I never say"...

They might be slow, but they can be god damn inflexible at times... I ever tio U-turn because I don't have the insurance paper in my bike, anyone heard of that before? I went in on the same bike countless time, only that one time they require my insurance... That guy might be new, he might just want to cause trouble for me, I still got U-turn in the end... Wasted 1 hour going there and lucky got enough petrol for the return journey... Explain also no use, he say needed, I also LPPL... Now I always print my insurance after renew but they never check again...

Really? :cool:

KRGT-1

I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride my bike..I want to ride my bicycle I want to ride it where I like..