I'm alright...just a 'lil bit stiff, that's all.

Popcorn, TV, and recovery time would be the next best thing to heaven right now.

Cheers :smile:

• Replies 836

Originally posted by redbeacon@May 06, 2007 11:58 pm

I'm alright...just a 'lil bit stiff, that's all.

Popcorn, TV, and recovery time would be the next best thing to heaven right now.

Cheers :smile:

What happened to you dude?

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg

Messed up in the middle of Turn 2.

Originally posted by redbeacon@May 07, 2007 01:48 am

Messed up in the middle of Turn 2.

Care to share your experience of what you did to screw it up? So that the rest of us can learn from it?

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg

I can only remember vaguely what happened, but anyway, here it goes:

For the last few laps leading to the crash, I had built some confidence in tackling Turn 2 with a speed that was higher than my first few laps at the beginning of the track session.

Approached Turn 2 with my instincts indicating to me that it was approaching fast and it was time for me to decide what to do with that turn. I had 3 weapons of skills to use and to modulate: Physical braking, engine braking, or to drop gears and let strong engine braking do the work.

Mistake Step 1: With the agreed-upon fast entry speed, I wasn't prepared for the turn as I (think) I had slightly lost my concentration. Maybe it was due to extreme target fixation at T2's exit point that caused me to forget about generating a mental "cornering line" that would have made me started my corner way before the track started curving. Or maybe there was a mental "cornering line" but I simply forgot to begin banking early as prescribed by it.

The resulting late initiation to corner meant that my bike went closer and closer to the edge within the T2 corner.

Mistake Step 2: Midway through the corner, I realized that due to the abovementioned cornering setup, I imagined that I would eventually veer off course once I exited the turn unless I did something to correct it. "Correcting it" at that day meant using the front brakes (instead of the rear); a choice that I foolishly made.

Mistake Step 3: Panic soon ensued and because of that, I made another mistake of straightening up slightly instead of banking more. The continued application of the front brake aggravated the situation. As a result, my bike effectively veered off-track and into the gravel.

As all of you would have known, spinning tyres do not like gravel very much and as such, a lowside crash was produced.

The result? Bike's front, left-side fairings, as well as the handlebar bore the brunt of the crash. Left-side handlebar and mirror broke off. Front and left fairings cracked.

As for me, upon separation from my bike, I fell chest-first into the gravel, flipped around a few times as the gravel scrubbed my leathers as well as my full-face. In my mind, I was shouting "Sh*t, stop, stop, stop!" much to the disobediance to the laws of inertia. Chest injury resulted from that impact. My bike, which stopped a few meters before where I halted obviously became unrideable after that.

Any extI can only remember vaguely what happened, but anyway, here it goes:

For the last few laps leading to the crash, I had built some confidence in tackling Turn 2 with a speed that was higher than my first few laps at the beginning of the track session.

Approached Turn 2 with my instincts indicating to me that it was approaching fast and it was time for me to decide what to do with that turn. I had 3 weapons of skills to use and to modulate: Physical braking, engine braking, or to drop gears and let strong engine braking do the work.

Mistake Step 1: With the agreed-upon fast entry speed, I wasn't prepared for the turn as I (think) I had slightly lost my concentration. Maybe it was due to extreme target fixation at T2's exit point that caused me to forget about generating a mental "cornering line" that would have made me started my corner way before the track started curving.

The resulting late initiation to corner meant that my bike went closer and closer to the edge within the T2 corner.

Mistake Step 2: Midway through the corner, I realized that due to the abovementioned cornering setup, I imagined that I would eventually veer off course once I exited the turn unless I did something to correct it. "Correcting it" at that day meant using the front brakes (instead of the rear); a choice that I foolishly made.

Mistake Step 3: Panic soon ensued and because of that, I made another mistake of straightening up slightly instead of banking more. The continued application of the front brake aggravated the situation. As a result, my bike effectively veered off-track and into the gravel.

As all of you would have known, spinning tyres do not like gravel very much and as such, a lowside crash was produced.

The result? Bike's front, left-side fairings, as well as the handlebar bore the brunt of the crash. Left-side handlebar and mirror broke off. Front and left fairings cracked.

As for me, upon separation from my bike, I fell chest-first into the gravel, flipped around a few times as the gravel scrubbed my leathers as well as my full-face. In my mind, I was shouting "Sh*t, stop, stop, stop!" much to the disobediance to the laws of inertia. Chest injury resulted from that impact. My bike, which stopped a few meters before where I halted obviously became unrideable after that.

Time was spent at the pits wondering whether it could have been worse. Whaddaya think?

so how is ur chesT?

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

Still feeling some pain but I guess less strenuous activities and some rest would do.

I'll catch up with you guys later!

Vesak Day Special.. 10am - 12pm. 70RM onli.. whilst stock last

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

Vesak Day Special.. 10am - 12pm. 70RM onli.. whilst stock last

hi wayne. what do u mean by whilst stock last? must book in advance?

Oct 05 - Dec 06: HONDA Phantom

Dec 06 - May 08: HONDA CBR400RRR

Jul 08 - Jul 09: HONDA CBR600RR8

hi wayne. what do u mean by whilst stock last? must book in advance?

haha no la.. i was joking la.. but its a sure thing tat there will be hell lot of peeps there! :dozed:

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

haha no la.. i was joking la.. but its a sure thing tat there will be hell lot of peeps there! :dozed:

:sian: chey. haha. thanks for the info though! :)

no probS!!

r u going??

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

no probS!!

r u going??

i should be going. finding kaki lor. hope alex is free to go down too. :cheeky:

when is the next trackday..

bro from wad i see there is none coming up!!

this vesak day come la.. its a self proclaim track day!

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

hey bro wus up..hows the race?feelin great?its me lah saiful motoworld..maybe might be goin down but ma bike stil under repair..2bad den..

Hope my Bike ready.....been so free but TMD, no bike to go track....the feeling is very very lousy.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

i should be going. finding kaki lor. hope alex is free to go down too. :cheeky:
Count me in bro. I guess there is other of my frenz goin 2.

Md Alseri aka asjunior

TSK 55

NOTHING LAST FOREVER

http://i142.photobucket.com/albums/r109/asjunior/bersamaMSF5.jpg

wanna go but forgot the way there ! who can help?

I only remember go straight, look for pasir gudang highway then turn right

Was there today..Damn rain..

Anyway, saw a date in June mark as Track Day..Forgot which date is it..Maybe u guys can call and check it out..

hi bikers anyone going pg 2moro?heard tat 2day there r a few crashes

crashes today? who went sia?

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

hey bro wus up..hows the race?feelin great?its me lah saiful motoworld..maybe might be goin down but ma bike stil under repair..2bad den..

i know u from motoworld la... see ur avatar!! haha..

the race was fun.. very well organised!!

Burn Rubber & UR Soul