Mine is a 2 yr old spec3 , recently when change battery for my spec3, tat mechanic told me is time to change fork oil le, he recommed maxima brand tat cost $40. He say every 6 mth by right need to change fork oil de , is tat so, cos mine is a new b ike leh, only 2 yr nia, where got so fast need to change de.

mechanic said if never change fork oil it will be very soft when u brake each time and thus willl wear out front tyre very fast. This is wat i worry, so guys how often u all change ur fork oil and wat brand u all change , Price also???

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
  • Replies 19

| thought of changing 2, mine a 3 also...

Find the forks kinda soft...:giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

http://img219.imageshack.us/img219/9092/transformeryc8.jpg

HAte My Gold Rims and Red shocks~!!!

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/4070/img0143cv.jpg

every 6mths change fork oil???!!!!

siao ah!

  anric79 said:
Mine is a 2 yr old spec3 , recently when change battery for my spec3, tat mechanic told me is time to change fork oil le, he recommed maxima brand tat cost $40. He say every 6 mth by right need to change fork oil de , is tat so, cos mine is a new b ike leh, only 2 yr nia, where got so fast need to change de.

mechanic said if never change fork oil it will be very soft when u brake each time and thus willl wear out front tyre very fast. This is wat i worry, so guys how often u all change ur fork oil and wat brand u all change , Price also???

wah, your maxima fork oil so ex ah, i brought my for $30 and later i found out that unity sells much cheaper, dun know is it the same or not..

http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i261/operationfd/torture.jpg

1 2 3 4 5 TESTING TESTING .......HELP STOP ANIMAL TESTING..1 2 3 4 5....TESTING TESTING.. ONE LIFE GONE

  Qrisx said:
i think i heard yearly or every 10000km liddat... anyone can consperm?

By right fork oil should change every 2~3 yrs. Depends how you ride and how agressive u are with road humps.

If you are the type go fast fast, then stand on peg, close throttle without braking and go over hump. (2A lessons. after e-brakes bumpy course ) fast and furiuos.

Then chances is slightly 3 years should change already.

The tell tale sign is that when u corner, u feel ur front abit jumpy. or go over hump, u bike a got bit of see saw effect.

Another danger signs is u find oil stains at the fork stungen tube. That means ur fork oil seal is gone.

rebuilding is the thing to do. But giving it to any bike shop to do. I don't quite like the ideal unless u are sure that the mech is skillful enough.

In a event I were to do fork service. I would rather give bikelab to do. Ultimately, they are still the suspension specialisst.

Also take note, ur rear suspension is also servicable type.

Should change every 2 years..

Cannot understand why mech recommends 6 months change oil,plugs,fork oil,coolant...bha...earn money....Haiz..

Just change fork oil on my R6, improvement is better damping..Is not really hard and soft..Braking better even better.

Fork oil degrade very slowly over time even slower than engine oil, so rider dont even notice it some handling problems but as like I said it rally degrade slowly.

But is best change every 2 years. I changed mine at planet maxima $40 as well...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

fork oil have different brands & grades too, and thus the different prices.

in a event where u feel that your fork is soft already

or when u want to "service" your fork it is recommended to replace the oil seals as well.

http://i181.photobucket.com/albums/x74/FN98Z/SERVER.jpg
  Qrisx said:
i think i heard yearly or every 10000km liddat... anyone can consperm?
power sia ur siggy! nice pic! i like!
  BLACK COMET said:
By right fork oil should change every 2~3 yrs. Depends how you ride and how agressive u are with road humps.

If you are the type go fast fast, then stand on peg, close throttle without braking and go over hump. (2A lessons. after e-brakes bumpy course ) fast and furiuos.

The tell tale sign is that when u corner, u feel ur front abit jumpy. or go over hump, u bike a got bit of see saw effect.

Another danger signs is u find oil stains at the fork stungen tube. That means ur fork oil seal is gone.

rebuilding is the thing to do. But giving it to any bike shop to do. I don't quite like the ideal unless u are sure that the mech is skillful enough.

In a event I were to do fork service. I would rather give bikelab to do. Ultimately, they are still the suspension specialisst.

where is bike lab?? addresess pls

hachi said:
Should change every 2 years..

Cannot understand why mech recommends 6 months change oil,plugs,fork oil,coolant...bha...earn money....Haiz..

Just change fork oil on my R6, improvement is better damping..Is not really hard and soft..Braking better even better.

Fork oil degrade very slowly over time even slower than engine oil, so rider dont even notice it some handling problems but as like I said it rally degrade slowly.

But is best change every 2 years. I changed mine at planet maxima $20 as well...

where is planet address pls also, may i noe change maxima fork oil plus all the 2 front fork seal how much ah??

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg

i rode my spec2 and only change fork oil when the gasket gave way. b4 dat, no issue with riding it.

Planet changed oil seal,dust cover and fork oil is about $85...

Some are sensitive to their bikes some are not...I have friends can rode their bikes with low tires pressure but when I rode it...it felt wooden and when I ask them to check their pressure..Is only 50% of the recommended pressure..

So up to individuals....

Some changed R1 to CBR1000 and told me CBR1000 is better and bounced the rear suspension and tells me it is sofer and more comfortable...

To me is he dont know how to ride a bike...cos he dont even know R1 got fully adjustable suspension...Just a few clicks he problem resolved...

He solved his problems by changing bikes...hee hee

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

  anric79 said:

Bro i tink that mechanic see u drive BMW b4 to their showroom they wana chop u lah.. far far see u coming go n sharpen their axe liaoz.. heheh.. :lol: I guess u just change new set of tyres so u wana set things right yah? update me on the cost n "after effects" after u change yr fork oil ah.. :cheers:

  BLACK COMET said:

Great Info bro :thumb:

it near mah motor area(b4 mah motor)

  Meat Eater said:
anybody there have the address?

Bikelab

Showroom / Workshop : 1122 Serangoon Road Singapore 328206

TEL: +65 6291-0121

FAX: +65 6291-0181

Email: info@bikelab.com.s

Opening hours from 10am to 7pm