hi guys, this is something i encounter.

after parking my bike overnight. when i start my bike, i will hear sounds from my engine. its not shim sounding ( not small noise like tiak tiak tiak).

its like drum beating inside the engine. khruk khruk khruk khruk. but after warming up for sometime, the sound gets lower and lower and eventually disappear.

im using ngk standard s4 spark plugs, maxima engine oil 15. its a FU spec1.

motordiam says its normal. and mechanics have told me it maybe my low idling (1rpm). which i dun think so. mechanic also says it may be the clutch housing (not clutch plate).

can anyone please advise and share with me please?

im riding all along a relax style and throttle easy wan.

respect all; peaceful rider Ride safely, be happy. :p

• Replies 27

after parking my bike overnight. when i start my bike, i will hear sounds from my engine. its not shim sounding ( not small noise like tiak tiak tiak).

its like drum beating inside the engine. khruk khruk khruk khruk. but after warming up for sometime, the sound gets lower and lower and eventually disappear.

motordiam says its normal. and mechanics have told me it maybe my low idling (1rpm). which i dun think so. mechanic also says it may be the clutch housing (not clutch plate).

this seems normal to me.

cold start... :dot:

A drum beating in your engine is a cause for concern. As melodramatic as it sounds, could you pinpoint exactly where it's coming from? Start your bike and squat beside your engine with a listening ear. Is it from the engine block itself? Gearbox?

are you using jb petrol???

i have encounter the situation once ...

i think i kena fake* petrol

Fake petrol? Then I would assume buying EO from JB would also turn out as a fake? No such thing bro..

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.

huh??? fake...got meh. I always pump petrol at JB. Caltex first link.. so far wokay leh. Btw how to noe its fake* or not fake* petrol.:confused:

eh yes i haf been using jb petrol caltex first link. does jb and sg petrol really diffres so much ???

A drum beating in your engine is a cause for concern. As melodramatic as it sounds, could you pinpoint exactly where it's coming from? Start your bike and squat beside your engine with a listening ear. Is it from the engine block itself? Gearbox?

if im not wrong, its from the engine block ! im kinda worry.

One of the funniest thing I heard.

Fake?? Unless you buy from roadside peddlers selling from used pepsi bottles, pump fuel from JB are definitely on par with SG's fuel. I presume you pump RON97 so even if the petrol is slightly contaminated, it should only be RON95-96 which is actually way too good for most bikes.

That's my personal opinion only though. Maybe there's more truth in your statement than what most of us interpreted. :)

no la it normal ba

i oso have it after a while should be ok de

It's pinking.

August 2006 - April 2008 = White Stallion V 1.0

April 2008 - Present = White Stallion V 2.0 :thumb:

http://photos-d.ak.facebook.com/photos-ak-snc1/v317/70/77/501577230/n501577230_1096539_3132.jpg

Saddlebags be cool!

There is no such thing as fake petrol but cheating on grade blending yes, that's the ron nubering. When you have this..go get a bottle of octane booster and follow the instruction what is there mising ratio.

As for the sound you describe correctly and from the engine block, its more like excessive cam chain (timing) balck lashing...about time to replace your cam chain tensional. Its that cone triangular like things with a size 8 hex bolt sticking out near the lower middle back of your engine block. Quite common for old bikes...unless your's is a new old. Cam chain is very lasting if this thing is taken care off.

Please..don't go back to the shop that the mech have told you this is normal. Should asked him how come all other S4 oso normal don't have. All I can thing is that they can't quite handle the job..may be change eo, spark plug and adjust chain can....LOL!..idiots!

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

WHAT IS PINKING?

Its pre-ignition , that is when the petrol/air mix in the cylinder ignites before top dead center , this creates the noise..oso known as "knocking".

Having the combustion occur when the cylinder is not in the correct position to deal with the small explosion (i.e. on its way back up) can knacker your cylinders, and all the gubbins that's attached to it. Don't f around with this..get it resolve.

Pinging or knocking noise sometimes heard during acceleration indicates detonation is occurring inside the engine . Spark knock can be caused by low octane fuel, over-advanced ignition timing, too much compression (often due to a buildup of carbon in the combustion chamber) or by too much heat. If switching to a higher octane fuel doesn't cure the problem, the cause should be investigated because prolonged or heavy knocking can damage the engine. Imagine its like taking a hammer and whacking it on your piston head direct and asked yourself how long that piston is gonna last..know play play.

WHAT IS PINKING?

Its pre-ignition , that is when the petrol/air mix in the cylinder ignites before top dead center , this creates the noise..oso known as "knocking".

Having the combustion occur when the cylinder is not in the correct position to deal with the small explosion (i.e. on its way back up) can knacker your cylinders, and all the gubbins that's attached to it. Don't f around with this..get it resolve.

Pinging or knocking noise sometimes heard during acceleration indicates detonation is occurring inside the engine . Spark knock can be caused by low octane fuel, over-advanced ignition timing, too much compression (often due to a buildup of carbon in the combustion chamber) or by too much heat. If switching to a higher octane fuel doesn't cure the problem, the cause should be investigated because prolonged or heavy knocking can damage the engine. Imagine its like taking a hammer and whacking it on your piston head direct and asked yourself how long that piston is gonna last..know play play.

wahh.. is there any reliable shops that you can rcm me to find out the exact problem and resolve it?? when i say reliable, its suppose to have quality guaranteed. and wont TOK you like carrot. hahaha.

Suggest you go around the advertiser here and talk to them the problems and asked them to "quality guaranteed" and "wont TOK you like carrot" lor :)

now i found out something about the sound. in neutral, the sound thruk thruk thruk sound very loud.

HOWEVER, once gear in engaged, the sound instantly disappear.

what does this mean?

clutch plate problem?

guys,nid help...we start my bike,my rpm seems to be at 1 or below...den can feel like petrol not goin into the carb...when throttle,like the valve is choke...den it keeps dying...after dat it off itself den having trouble to start back...sumtimes when moving off,like no power n the sound coming from the engine like "klacking" sound...eventually it dies off...any bros can help

Its Totally Not About The Bike,But its Totally Bout The RIDER!!:angel:

i having tick tick sound come from the engine when ever i start bike in the morning anyone know where the problem liess??

Must pinpoint where is sound is coming. You mention the engine but which part?. Cylinder head cover,cylinder block,clutch housing or etc?.

http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/582610_512257702123995_1975741852_n.jpg

now i found out something about the sound. in neutral, the sound thruk thruk thruk sound very loud.

HOWEVER, once gear in engaged, the sound instantly disappear.

what does this mean?

Bro, very likely its ur clutch basket..... Normal to hear that esp when in neutral or not in clutch..... should disappear when u clutch in.... Due to the amt of abuse the clutch is put thru in every day use..... BUT not normal if u still hear it after u engage gear or clutch in.......

same, when i clutch in, my bike has no more weird sound...

isit the clutch cable???

in the morn when i start my bike, it sounds like its coughing... -.-''

maybe i should send my bike for svcing soon... ...

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr17/her-melancholic-smile/banner.jpg

magic 110r - 2007

nsr sp 150r - 2008

s4 spec2 - 2009

Phanthom - 2009

Finooo - 2009

Vespa - 2015

same, when i clutch in, my bike has no more weird sound...

isit the clutch cable???

in the morn when i start my bike, it sounds like its coughing... -.-''

maybe i should send my bike for svcing soon... ...

clutch basket is a lil seasoned. No performance issues for this.

Time to get your carb serviced.

clutch basket is a lil seasoned. No performance issues for this.

Time to get your carb serviced.

okie! =) thanks.

http://i465.photobucket.com/albums/rr17/her-melancholic-smile/banner.jpg

magic 110r - 2007

nsr sp 150r - 2008

s4 spec2 - 2009

Phanthom - 2009

Finooo - 2009

Vespa - 2015