Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

Relax bro, I never say I don't believe you. Probably it's just as you said - you changed a lot of things one shot so probably the shop nev charge you for labour or gave you a discount.

think he never charge the labour lo...:giddy: :giddy:

1999-2000 LC125

2003-2003 KRR150

2003-2003 RXZ135

2004-2004 RVF400

2004-2007 VTEC2

2007-2008 RVF400

2012-????? RXZ135

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

bro kenny, whats valve clearance? =X

^^

199x TZR125

199x TZR125 again

200x GSXRR400

200x CBR400

2007 RVF400

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a251/arvthon/avatar/yamaha_gen-ryu.jpg

My FuTuRe BikE !!!

Ok, this post is gonna be long but hope I can explain clear enough using what I know...

Valve clearance is usually recommended to be done approximately after 1 1/2 to 2 year after the last one. But the time may shorten if you often go track and wack your engine to the max. Reason will be explained later.

Valve clearance is basically checking the clearance between your tapper arm (not too sure of the actual term) and the valve shim on top of your valve. The gap has a specific range of measurements to meet to optimise performance. The process require you to open up the engine head, therefore very labour intensive. If you open the head, you will see as per in the below picture except that the cams are missing in the picture.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1003/569922892_96e2cdecbf_o.jpg

The top row of 4 valves (nearer to the carb intake manifolds) are the intake valves. The bottom row that is nearer to the exhaust ports are the exhaust valves. The cam runs above the tapper arm, one cam for intake, another for exhaust, and is driven by the big gear in the centre - thus gear driven (no timing chain). The V4 engine has 2 heads so total 4 cams and 16 valves.

Basically as the cams turns and presses down on the tapper arms. The tapper arm pushes down the valve and control the opening/closing. Note that there is a shim in between each tapper arm and the valve. This shim comes with different thickness. There is supposed to be a slight gap between the arm and the shim when the valve is fully closed. This is the valve clearance. When checking for valve clearance, the mechanic will use a gauge and insert into the gap to measure and replace the shims (if needed) with new shims of the correct thickness to ensure the gap is within the requirements.

Now, as the engine revs, the tapper arm is constantly hitting the shim at a very high heat environment and at a very fast rate. Over time, the shim gets wear & tear and gets thinner and the clearance becomes out of measurement. If you wack the engine frequently, the wear & tear is faster. If the clearance is too wide open, the hitting action will cause a loud noise which some of you encountered. This is because the EO is not fully pumped throughout the engine to lubricate in between the tapper arm and the shim. Once the EO flows throughout, the sound will soften as the EO will buffer this gap. If your clearance is way out, then the EO won't be able to help much in buffering the noise.

Valve clearance problem will a drop in power cos the precision of the gas/air intake amount and exhaust amount will be affected. Similarly, if the same row of valve clearance (either intake or exhaust) have very large variation, this amount of gas/air entering or exiting the different combustion chambers will be different.

Hope this can clarify your doubts

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1055/527481558_8975eefe29_m.jpg

Dec00 - Aug03 : Honda Phantom TA150

Aug03 - Feb06 : Honda CBR400RR L-model

Oct03 - Mar04 : Honda NC35 RVF400RR

Feb06 - Oct06 : Honda CB400 HyperVtec

Oct06 - Sep07 : Honda NC35 RVF400RS

Sep07 - Now : Alfa Romeo 147 1.6 T.Spark

That was really resourceful... Thanks a lot, I've PDF'ed the file for future reference :thumb:

Now for me to unveil the mystery of the clicking sound...I need a mech :p

Nice one Kenny..

Anyway, if i'm not wrong, Valve clearance is to be done every 20,000 to 24,000KM as a reference as stated by the manual..

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

...better performance than other leading air filters, yes.

Just want to add, K&N does not make air filters for RVF for quite some time already.. Couple of years.. So if you're puuting K&N now, it's been modifed from filters made for other bikes or cars.

I dont like things are force to fit or have to be customised on my bike. I even checked with Pipercross sometime back. Even they dont make air filters for RVF.

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

wow... RVF_Kenny... u really learn the engine and its movements about RVF's ah!!!!! i must SALUTE u twice!!!!! also would like to say thanks for explaining to us in details!!!! by the when is the next RVF outing???? my RVF will be out from the shop after the accident damages are done.... the shop promised me that my bike will be out by end of this week of next monday.... Hoping to join the RVF outing and be one of them.... love RVF alot!!!! Pls do keep me inform about the outing guys!!!

haha.. yeah.. i think i will go down again. but dun think it will be so soon.

lol, wait till we got proper gear den go again bahz..

at least wif a proper suit ..

(Mar05) Honda SP 150 FR9470B

(Nov05) Kawasaki KRR 150 FU8637D

(Sep06) Suzuki GSX400 FK7652

(Nov06) Yamaha Sparks135 FBB511H

(Mar07) Honda RVF400 FN4991T

(07-10) Yamaha YZF R6 FBA7370G

(08-09) Suzuki DRZ 400 FBC4821G

terry thx for the jacket ~!!

next time will plan properly wf u den we go together =)

can u guys upload u guys rvf paintwork or whatever special parts u all got? just say no pic c very sian!

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/3529/marushinfd0nh2.jpg

I love my baby more than my YZF-R1!!!

hi all rvfers!! fufu is going to part his rvf due to accident.... although my injuries not very serious.. but bike.. i see liao heart pain... i cant bear to part with it.. but the repair fee cause a bomb... at least 2k to be able to move but very very ugly... i dun wan my beloved rvf to be ugly... so i choose to push in and trade in

a pgm4. how do u guys think? i been wanting to test the 2 stroker 2A bike for a long time.. care to share ur opinion with me b4 i trade in for another bike???

i really really cant bear to part with it..... some advise pls!!!! although i wan to try a 2 stroker, but still... its really like my dearest thing on earth.... tell me wat i should do!!!!

pgm4 two carb hard to tunning>>>

not like rvf..

but i try the bike b4

very gd for pick up...

nice....

1999-2000 LC125

2003-2003 KRR150

2003-2003 RXZ135

2004-2004 RVF400

2004-2007 VTEC2

2007-2008 RVF400

2012-????? RXZ135

i really really cant bear to part with it..... some advise pls!!!! although i wan to try a 2 stroker, but still... its really like my dearest thing on earth.... tell me wat i should do!!!!

if got fix, how much it cost? pgm4 very few liao leh.. then spare parts will be alot more ex?

heard F/c also quite high .. hmmz.. maintenance should be high ba..

but the shape nice.. haha

199x TZR125

199x TZR125 again

200x GSXRR400

200x CBR400

2007 RVF400

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a251/arvthon/avatar/yamaha_gen-ryu.jpg

My FuTuRe BikE !!!

Ask yourself, do you wanna be like Andy Lau on his PGM? Then get a PGM lah!! :angel: alrite, just pullin your leg there...

Sounds like money has got the better of you eh?

I donno about you but if I were you, I wouldn't wanna part with my bike that I once dedicated my hard-earned money to -- for the reason of owning it...even if it should ever be damaged in a crash.

(Call me a freakz if you want, that's my attitude twds bikes)

haha.. yeah.. i think i will go down again. but dun think it will be so soon.

`chUn;2977795']lol, wait till we got proper gear den go again bahz..

at least wif a proper suit ..

Wah, you guys going already ah? Kool :thumb:

if got fix, how much it cost? pgm4 very few liao leh.. then spare parts will be alot more ex?

heard F/c also quite high .. hmmz.. maintenance should be high ba..

but the shape nice.. haha

lol, i think the amount of money spend ona PGM will cost more den u repair ur bike =X

everytime must top up 2T , wash carb , de carbon.. wOoooooOo

and not to forget the CDI 1k plus.. =X

but the problem is i cant fork out the money right now :( so very stress... wah like that sounds like i cant push out a pgm liao.. u all say until so scary...

Wah, you guys going already ah? Kool :thumb:

haha.. not so soon.. juz went 2 days ago.. think not so soon.

Oct 2005 - Nov 2005 : Honda NSR 150 SP

Nov 2005 - Mar 2007 : Kawasaki Krr 150

Mar 2007 - Jul 2008 : Honda RVF NC35

haha.. not so soon.. juz went 2 days ago.. think not so soon.

think in 2 weeks time i will be going again.. LOLx~!!

better go find fullface den we go again..

but the problem is i cant fork out the money right now :( so very stress... wah like that sounds like i cant push out a pgm liao.. u all say until so scary...

how bad is the dmg of your rvf? how come need 2k for repair? maybe you can try finding a 2nd hand part to repalce the part that is spoil. tell us what is dmg on your bike maybe we can help.

i had a accident not long ago. i spend 800+ for repair. dmg is left side farring crack like mad. handle bar break. mirrior and signal light gone. wind screen crack. alingment out. airduck fly dono where. the metal frame that support the mirrior bend. :faint:

2004 TA 200

2006 Comet GT 125

2006 Baby kawa 150 krr

2006 Honda RVF

2009 Honda CB 1000 R (The beast had been Release!)

2010 Yamaha FJR 1300

Next will it be BMW 1600 or quit ridding go for 4 wheel ???

END UP i drive :cry: but i really miss my fjr..

rvf is much easier to maintance than a pgm

2005-2006: RXZ

2007: Y125Z & RVF400

2008: RVF400 & African Twin

2009: African Twin, GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2010: GSX1300RK2, Renault Kangoo(A)

2011: GSX1300RK2

2012-2013: GSX1300RK2, Proton Savvy(A)

2014: Proton Savvy(A), Super 4(S1)

Present: Super 4(S1)

rvf parts are expensive right? anyway basic service is just change 4 spark plug and engine oil right? can cost up to how much huh?nearly 100?

http://img253.imageshack.us/img253/3529/marushinfd0nh2.jpg

I love my baby more than my YZF-R1!!!