great mod. came back in midnight?

Where is the air filter located in the bike ? Want to change it. Pls help. Thanks again.

Yesterday just mounted a voltage stabilizer "px axxx" onto the bike.

It was mounted in my ex-phantom.

I was wondering where the hack is the battery until I curiously took out the container under the seat and found it.

It is a very simple job, just hook and screw the + - wires onto the battery + - terminals.

However, the bikeshop which sold me the thing, quoted $25 to do this simple job.

To save $ better DIY nowadays.

To locate the air filter, you need to remove the fuel tank, then remove the metal plate where the fuel tank is resting onto. Then you will see the air filter, its bolt down by 4 screws. Does the voltage stabilizer work?? I added one grounding wire, using audio cables to ground the engine to the -ve terminal of my battery, no significant effect, its to ensure the grounding is good, just in case the original one break or contact no good.

Edited by S750WP

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

• Replies 1.1k

Changed both fork seal and dust cover. Also changed bearings for the front tire.

Cost of 2 x fork Seat = SGD$26

Cost of 2 x Dust Cover = SGD$26

Cost of Wheel Bearings = SGD$30

Also fitted Hella blow horns = SGD$45

Labour Charges at HLC UBI = SGD$60

total Damage SGD $ 187.00

CB750 RC42 Rocks!

To locate the air filter, you need to remove the fuel tank, then remove the metal plate where the fuel tank is resting onto. Then you will see the air filter, its bolt down by 4 screws. Does the voltage stabilizer work?? I added one grounding wire, using audio cables to ground the engine to the -ve terminal of my battery, no significant effect, its to ensure the grounding is good, just in case the original one break or contact no good.

Is it safe to just remove the fuel tank without fear of leaking fuel? My concern is that there should be a fuel pipe or outlet connecting to engines to secure the fuel transfer.

The effect of voltage stabilizer on my previous phantom is bit noticeable. But now after transferred to the impulse, hardly to feel for the effects liao (engine brake,responsiveness). A bit disappointed.

Thanks for the tips of DIY grounding. I have been wondering if my thick spare audio cables could be grounding cables. BTW how do you connect the cable to engine? I thought just connect cable from any metallic frame in the bike to battery -ve terminal will do?

On last sunday, for the first time, I encountered the fuse burnt on my ex-phantom just after I entered the woodland custom. A 70 yrs old cub biker then offered to help me to troubleshoot it after the custom. When he parked his bike aside, he walked very slowly as his one leg was seriously broken in a road accident. He was hit on the road shoulder by a car when he parked his bike there. "Sg drivers just know how to accelerate but don't know how to brake", he said. His box is full of tools and slowly he guided me to find out about the fuse. It took me some time before I realised phantom's fuse hide under the right chrome cover. After he shorted the fuse with a metallic wire, I was able to start the bike. Before I moved away, the old man told me to always learn to the fix bike myself. That's why now I start to DIY the impulse's wear-and-tear parts.

Still feeling the ache on my back after pushing the heavy phantom up and down slope. However it was a good lesson to me. Now i put many tools in the impulse to stand by, and to help people when applicable.

great mod. came back in midnight?

Where is the air filter located in the bike ? Want to change it. Pls help. Thanks again.

Battery and air filter are easy to change. the air filter is located infront of that plastic container above the battery. Half of it is under the back most portion of the tank. Actually, you should see part of the air filter when you removed that container to access the battery.

The best way to console a depressed girl: Offer your shoulder.

The best way to console a depressed guy: Suck Thumb la Brother.

1998 Suzuki GSX 400 Impulse - June'07 to ?

2001 Phantom TA200 - Aug'06 to June'07

On last sunday, for the first time, I encountered the fuse burnt on my ex-phantom just after I entered the woodland custom.

would push-start have helped to start the bike?

Is it safe to just remove the fuel tank without fear of leaking fuel? My concern is that there should be a fuel pipe or outlet connecting to engines to secure the fuel transfer.

The effect of voltage stabilizer on my previous phantom is bit noticeable. But now after transferred to the impulse, hardly to feel for the effects liao (engine brake,responsiveness). A bit disappointed.

Thanks for the tips of DIY grounding. I have been wondering if my thick spare audio cables could be grounding cables. BTW how do you connect the cable to engine? I thought just connect cable from any metallic frame in the bike to battery -ve terminal will do?

Its perfectly safe to remove the fuel tank, if you know how. I think that is the first step every DIYer should learn, because once you remove the fuel tank you can do whole lots of other maintenance yourself i.e changing of spark plugs, changing coolant, removing the carburetor, changing the air filter. Of course the fuel hose and the vacumm hose needs to be pulled off before you can remove the tank. :p

I connected the grounding wire by removing one of the bolts on the engine then pass the engine bolt through the ring connector crimp to the grounding wire and tighten back the engine bolt and then the other end of the wire with the ring connector is bolt to the -ve terminal of my batt and that's it.

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

Battery and air filter are easy to change. the air filter is located infront of that plastic container above the battery. Half of it is under the back most portion of the tank. Actually, you should see part of the air filter when you removed that container to access the battery.

Air filter can be changed without removing the fuel tank if there is an extra person to help lift up the fuel tank for you. Normally I work alone and its pretty easy to remove the fuel tank so I took if off to have full access to the air filter with no hindrance.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

would push-start have helped to start the bike?

Push start the phantom wouldn't help as the fuse was broken.

Spark plug won't fire without electricity.

Tried it when pushing downslope, heard the engine "grrr grr..." try to fire but no surprise.

Edited by byte77
Its perfectly safe to remove the fuel tank, if you know how. I think that is the first step every DIYer should learn, because once you remove the fuel tank you can do whole lots of other maintenance yourself i.e changing of spark plugs, changing coolant, removing the carburetor, changing the air filter. Of course the fuel hose and the vacumm hose needs to be pulled off before you can remove the tank. :p

I connected the grounding wire by removing one of the bolts on the engine then pass the engine bolt through the ring connector crimp to the grounding wire and tighten back the engine bolt and then the other end of the wire with the ring connector is bolt to the -ve terminal of my batt and that's it.

Will the fuel flow out if I pulled off the hoses? And the exact location of the hoses?

Went in last night to AGL to paste the rim sticker on my Impulse, not exactly the one which I am looking for but anyway I am happy with the result. The seat wrapping they could not do what I asked for so I did not proceed.

Washed my bike for RM9, they did a good job to remove most of the grime on my bike, it looks much cleaner now. I did not wax, because my paintwork not so nice, anyway it cost another RM6 to do so.

I am pissed with myself, wasted RM100 on the sticker job on my impulse, which the sticker shop boss promote to me an customize RXZ retro design. I feel it look f***ing ugly after its done, immediately I tear them off at the pump station. Could have spend the $$ on engine oil change instead.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Will the fuel flow out if I pulled off the hoses? And the exact location of the hoses?

Make sure the fuel petcock is put to on if not fuel will gush out if it on prime. Then look behind the petcock, there are 2 hoses, shorter hose for vacumm , longer hose leading to the carb is for petrol. Remember where the hose are connected on the petcock.

Check if there is any clip, holding the hose to the petcock, use a long nose pliers to grip and move it away. After that use a flat blade screw driver to push out the hose, There will be slight fuel flow out from the fuel hose but nothing to worry about, make sure you are not smoking while pulling off the fuel hose. Once both hose are off the petcock, remove the 2 bolts fastening the tank, lift up approx 45 degree check if there are any wire or cable obstructing, free them if there is any. Kindly note it will be heavy if tank is full, so watch your back. Then pull the tank away from the handle bar direction till you feel the tank slightly drop down, whereby the thank groove is out of the bobbins, and you can lift the tank away and rest it on a safe place.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Make sure the fuel petcock is put to on if not fuel will gush out if it on prime. Then look behind the petcock, there are 2 hoses, shorter hose for vacumm , longer hose leading to the carb is for petrol. Remember where the hose are connected on the petcock.

Check if there is any clip, holding the hose to the petcock, use a long nose pliers to grip and move it away. After that use a flat blade screw driver to push out the hose, There will be slight fuel flow out from the fuel hose but nothing to worry about, make sure you are not smoking while pulling off the fuel hose. Once both hose are off the petcock, remove the 2 bolts fastening the tank, lift up approx 45 degree check if there are any wire or cable obstructing, free them if there is any. Kindly note it will be heavy if tank is full, so watch your back. Then pull the tank away from the handle bar direction till you feel the tank slightly drop down, whereby the thank groove is out of the bobbins, and you can lift the tank away and rest it on a safe place.

Thanks for the detailed steps. Will try it.

Went in last night to AGL to paste the rim sticker on my Impulse, not exactly the one which I am looking for but anyway I am happy with the result. The seat wrapping they could not do what I asked for so I did not proceed.

Washed my bike for RM9, they did a good job to remove most of the grime on my bike, it looks much cleaner now. I did not wax, because my paintwork not so nice, anyway it cost another RM6 to do so.

I am pissed with myself, wasted RM100 on the sticker job on my impulse, which the sticker shop boss promote to me an customize RXZ retro design. I feel it look f***ing ugly after its done, immediately I tear them off at the pump station. Could have spend the $$ on engine oil change instead.

Should try sport bike's type of stickers next time.

Maybe will join u next time to see see look look at AGL.

Changed engine oil for impulse at 2nd link bukit indah last week, 4 x RM15 20w50 Yamalube + RM4 EO addictive = RM64 = S$28. Take back 0.8 litre for next change. Will install new oil filter at next change too. The boss advised that best to change on every 3000km regardless of the quality of EO.

Edited by byte77
Should try sport bike's type of stickers next time.

Maybe will join u next time to see see look look at AGL.

Changed engine oil for impulse at 2nd link bukit indah last week, 4 x RM15 20w50 Yamalube + RM4 EO addictive = RM64 = S$28. Take back 0.8 litre for next change. Will install new oil filter at next change too. The boss advised that best to change on every 3000km regardless of the quality of EO.

I am using Mobil 1 fully syn 10w40, bought at the Esso petrol station, it cost only RM28.90 per bot (1L) compare to SG bike shop which sells at over S$20. I feel its worth the $$, engine and gear shift is still smooth after 4,000KM, I will change at 5000km or every 6 months whichever comes first. The oil filter is good for 10,000KM so every 2 oil change, the oil filter will be replace.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Yesterday wanted to pump at JB after hitting reserve at 230km. Fuel consumption is about 23km/l, ok for this class of bike. At 9pm reached woodlands custom and was stucked in motorbike queues for 45 mins. Didn't expect to jam at that hour, sigh...

Then headed to JB ah gua lane for first time and finally found the place. Actually it is very easy to get there lah. The exact main road name is Jalan Tun Abdul Razak, side lane name is Susur 4. Have been passing by the place for many years since taking 170 bus sometimes. Btw where are those 'ah gua'? I will post the exact route with pictures for new forumer soon.

So many bikeshops opened there didn't know which one to choose. As advised by forumers, went to Kok Seng (phone: +60167460809). Installed handgrips (RM15, sg bikeshop offered me at S$30++), chrome nudget bar type mirror (RM50), chrome rider foot rest (RM30), carbon-fibre-look airhorn (RM85, sg bikeshop sell for S$45), 2 x front wheel bearing (RM25 for 2, sg bikeshop quoted S$20+ each), 4 x fuse for spare (RM2 for each, sg bikeshop sell at S$2). While fixing the bike, I went for teh tarik at mamak stall besides and ate a ramli double special burger (RM5). Finally can feel the true night life that has long gone since living in singapore.

The original S4 oil filter which shd be suitable for impulse is sold at RM25 only. There is a cheaper and normal airhorn sold at RM50 but too bad slightly bigger to squeeze between the forks. Everything there is much cheaper if can find it. And no 'labour charge'.

Will go there again to service carburetor at RM100++.

Edited by byte77
Air filter can be changed without removing the fuel tank if there is an extra person to help lift up the fuel tank for you. Normally I work alone and its pretty easy to remove the fuel tank so I took if off to have full access to the air filter with no hindrance.

thats true. actually it's just as easy to pull out the tank and rest it on the bike frame a little closer to the handle bar to access the air filter. so far i've not done much diy, besides changing battery, air filter and checking the spark plugs.

how are your plug covers? are they original? mine is not and tends to let in water during heavy downpour, which shorts the plug.

thats true. actually it's just as easy to pull out the tank and rest it on the bike frame a little closer to the handle bar to access the air filter. so far i've not done much diy, besides changing battery, air filter and checking the spark plugs.

how are your plug covers? are they original? mine is not and tends to let in water during heavy downpour, which shorts the plug.

I have bought 4 new spark plug covers (red) for $20 from KS motorcycle and replace them all myself, I guess they should be original as its packed in Suzuki wrapping. As I suspect one of my old one did not seal properly and rain water seep into the spark plug recess hole during heavy rain which resulted one of the plugs not firing. After replace no more issue.

Also I intend to replace the fuel tank cover rubber, suspect it has worn and not seal properly, sometimes I can smell petrol fumes from there, worried water may seep into my fuel tank and corrode.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Yesterday wanted to pump at JB after hitting reserve at 230km. Fuel consumption is about 23km/l, ok for this class of bike. At 9pm reached woodlands custom and was stucked in motorbike queues for 45 mins. Didn't expect to jam at that hour, sigh...

Then headed to JB ah gua lane for first time and finally found the place. Actually it is very easy to get there lah. The exact main road name is Jalan Tun Abdul Razak, side lane name is Susur 4. Have been passing by the place for many years since taking 170 bus sometimes. Btw where are those 'ah gua'? I will post the exact route with pictures for new forumer soon.

So many bikeshops opened there didn't know which one to choose. As advised by forumers, went to Kok Seng (phone: +60167460809). Installed handgrips (RM15, sg bikeshop offered me at S$30++), chrome nudget bar type mirror (RM50), chrome rider foot rest (RM30), carbon-fibre-look airhorn (RM85, sg bikeshop sell for S$45), 2 x front wheel bearing (RM25 for 2, sg bikeshop quoted S$20+ each), 4 x fuse for spare (RM2 for each, sg bikeshop sell at S$2). While fixing the bike, I went for teh tarik at mamak stall besides and ate a ramli double special burger (RM5). Finally can feel the true night life that has long gone since living in singapore.

The original S4 oil filter which shd be suitable for impulse is sold at RM25 only. There is a cheaper and normal airhorn sold at RM50 but too bad slightly bigger to squeeze between the forks. Everything there is much cheaper if can find it. And no 'labour charge'.

Will go there again to service carburetor at RM100++.

My Impulse can hit reserve at 260-270km approx 25-26km/L, previously when I first bought 220km will hit reserve, the root cause was the petcock leaking. After I take out to clean and seal with silicon, the FC improves. Also I have change the floats and adjusted the float height and tune the air/fuel mixture screw from 3.5 turns out to 2.5 turns out.

I think the super4 oil filter and cleaning of the carb in JB is overprice, the original Suzuki oil filter only cost S$12 at KS and the cleaning and balancing of carburetor is only S$35 at Guan Hoe.

FYI, the balancing at JB the mech has no experience, one ex forumer came back and ask me to balance his carb again after he service his G4 carburetor in JB, because the bike lost power after the service.

When I check the carburetor balance with my carbtune, I show him the tuning was all out and I had to balance the carb for him again.

Edited by S750WP

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

After wash at JB and stickers on the rims, fuel tanks and fork tube.

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2010%5C04%5C16%5Cbikepics-1952672-800.jpg

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2010%5C04%5C23%5Cbikepics-1958828-800.jpg

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2010%5C04%5C16%5Cbikepics-1952682-800.jpg

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2010%5C04%5C16%5Cbikepics-1952685-800.jpg

http://p1.bikepics.com/pics/2010%5C04%5C16%5Cbikepics-1952680-800.jpg

Edited by S750WP

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

any idea, where to get crash bar for Impulse 400. Seng Kwang is very expensive. Any suggestions Guys?

02042010255_01.jpg

CB750 RC42 Rocks!

any idea, where to get crash bar for Impulse 400. Seng Kwang is very expensive. Any suggestions Guys?

Can get from Lim Ah Boy then customize to fit.

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

Planing to purchase this GSX1400 K&N air filter for my impulse to save on the cost of replacing the filter. Still negotiating with the seller for price. Hope I can get it. :angel:

http://www.gsx1400.org/gsx1400_board/index.php?app=core&module=attach&section=attach&attach_rel_module=post&attach_id=36218

http://www.gsx1400.org/gsx1400_board/index.php?app=core&module=attach&section=attach&attach_rel_module=post&attach_id=36217

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification

My Impulse can hit reserve at 260-270km approx 25-26km/L, previously when I first bought 220km will hit reserve, the root cause was the petcock leaking. After I take out to clean and seal with silicon, the FC improves. Also I have change the floats and adjusted the float height and tune the air/fuel mixture screw from 3.5 turns out to 2.5 turns out.

I'm not sure if the petcock is leaking. Look a bit oily there.

I thought if you seal the fuel hose to the petcock with the silicone (gasket silicone sealant? can buy at any auto repair shop?), are you able to remove the hose next time?

No idea about the float setting and where the float is. Can tell me where is it located? Want to try.

I've read that if air/fuel ratio is too lean (more air less fuel), the temperature could be higher and the pistons may melt as a result. So far so good the temperature?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Air-fuel_ratio

"Lean mixtures produce hotter combustion gases than does a stoichiometric mixture, so much so that pistons can melt as a result. Rich mixtures produces cooler combustion gases than does a stoichiometric mixture, primarily due to the excessive amount of carbon which oxidises to form carbon monoxide, rather than carbon dioxide. The chemical reaction oxidizing carbon to form carbon monoxide releases significantly less heat than the similar reaction to form carbon dioxide. (Carbon monoxide retains significant potential chemical energy. It is itself a fuel whereas carbon dioxide is not.) Lean mixtures, when consumed in an internal combustion engine, produce less power than does the stoichiometric mixture. Similarly, rich mixtures return poorer fuel efficiency than the stoichiometric mixture. (The mixture for the best fuel efficiency is slightly different from the stoichiometric mixture.)"

I think the super4 oil filter and cleaning of the carb in JB is overprice, the original Suzuki oil filter only cost S$12 at KS and the cleaning and balancing of carburetor is only S$35 at Guan Hoe.

FYI, the balancing at JB the mech has no experience, one ex forumer came back and ask me to balance his carb again after he service his G4 carburetor in JB, because the bike lost power after the service.

When I check the carburetor balance with my carbtune, I show him the tuning was all out and I had to balance the carb for him again.

Noted. Will not go JB to service the carb. Will try at Guan Hoe (autobay at kaki bukit) first.

I noticed my impulse is leaking the EO a bit. A few drips noticed after each parking of few hours. No thorough tracing on it yet but seems to be from the nut around gear pedal. Is that normal?

I'm not sure if the petcock is leaking. Look a bit oily there.

I thought if you seal the fuel hose to the petcock with the silicone (gasket silicone sealant? can buy at any auto repair shop?), are you able to remove the hose next time?

No idea about the float setting and where the float is. Can tell me where is it located? Want to try.

I've read that if air/fuel ratio is too lean (more air less fuel), the temperature could be higher and the pistons may melt as a result. So far so good the temperature?

Noted. Will not go JB to service the carb. Will try at Guan Hoe (autobay at kaki bukit) first.

I noticed my impulse is leaking the EO a bit. A few drips noticed after each parking of few hours. No thorough tracing on it yet but seems to be from the nut around gear pedal. Is that normal?

I did not seal the fuel hose to the petcock, I took out the whole petcock, disassemble to clean and seal the gasket on the petcock as the source of the leak is at the petcock. It seems your petcock is leaking like mine, try to clean off the oil and observe if it still oily and wet then confirm leaking, you can purchase the sealant(Three Bond high temp grey sealant, $5) from KS, its quite good actally, as its resilient to petrol and seal very well. Also I use it to seal my old thermostat gasket and engine cam cover gasket after service and no leak at all.

The float assembly is inside your carb, you can ask Guan Hoe to check for you. When I check mine its sagging and does not spring up as fast when I push down compare to the new ones which I bought a few years back previously for my ex ride (it cost $45 ea per float assembly inclusive of the needle valve). The picture of the old float assembly as follow

http://i184.photobucket.com/albums/x97/S750WP/SNC00185.jpg

I have tried to experiment with various setting, result as follow

1.5turn out its too lean, bike cannot idle properly, and the exhaust fume has a burning smell(lean), rev meter is sticky (rev needle come down very slowly to idling speed) when rev at idle.

3.5 (original setting) turns out, exhaust fume can smell incombustible petrol (rich), rev meter needle dip below ilding speed when rev at idle.

2.5 turns out, work nicely for my bike, bike idle smoothly, the rev meter needle is responsive, the needle rise and dip to the idling speed instantaneously. And the exhaust fume smells just right :angel:

I think its not normal to leak engine oil, are you using chain oiler? Because I observe a few drips of oil stain under my bike when park overnight too, but its due to the oil from my chain oiler lubricating the chain. And there is none if I stop lubrication my chain for a week.

Edited by S750WP

My Z750 DIY Page

04 Z750 Specification