FAQs on demerit points related

Guest kopikian

Click here ==> http://driving-in-singapore.spf.gov.sg/services/Driving_in_Singapore/Generated/Index/faq_index.html

Suddenly realise so many things that i do everyday can kana offences

What are the offences that carry demerit points?

There are 8 categories of offences that carry demerit points. They are grouped under 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 12, 18 & 24 demerit points according to the severity of offences.

3 Demerit Points

1) Disobeying traffic direction of Police Officer

2) Carrying excess pillion or carrying pillion sitting not astride

3) Riders failing to wear or wear insecurely on his head a protective helmet

4) Driver failing to wear a seat belt

5) Driver failing to ensure that front/rear seat passenger wears a seat belt

6) Allow a child below 8 years of age who is a front/rear passenger to be secured with an unapproved child restraint

7) Use a motor vehicle where a child below 8 years of age, who is a front/rear passenger is not properly secured by an approved child restraint when there is seat belt available for the use of such passenger

8) Parking within a Demerit Points No Parking Zone

9) Stopping within a Demerit Points No Stopping Zone

10) Parking abreast of another vehicle

11) Parking within a pedestrian crossing

12) Stopping in a zebra-controlled area

13) Carrying passengers on goods vehicle without a permit

14) Conveying load not properly secured

15) Using tyre with ply or cord carcass exposed

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$120.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$150.00

4 Demerit Points

1) Exceeding speed limit of vehicle up to 20km/h.

2) Exceeding speed limit of the road up to 20km/h.

3) Failing to give way to oncoming traffic at controlled junction.

4) Failing to give way at uncontrolled junction.

5) Failing to give way at junction.

6) Failing to give way at roundabout.

7) Crossing double white lines.

8) Crossing road divider.

9) Hindering flow of traffic.

10) Failing to give way to ambulance or fire brigade or police vehicle.

11) Driving while carrying load on a motor vehicle in a dangerous manner.

12) Driving or leaving a vehicle in a bus lane during restricted hours.

13) Stop or allow vehicle to remain at rest on shoulder of an expressway.

14) Stopping or remaining at rest on the carriageway of an expressway.

15) Forming up incorrectly when turning left or right.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$130.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$160.00

6 Demerit Points

1) Driving or riding against the flow of traffic.

2) Driving on a shoulder of an expressway.

3) Load falling off from the vehicle.

4) Exceeding speed limit of the road by more than 20km/h up to 30km/h.

5) Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 20km/h up to 30km/h.

6) Offences committed by motorists at a pedestrian crossing

a Failing to give way to pedestrian at pedestrian crossing.

b Unable to stop your vehicle before reaching a pedestrian crossing.

c Failing to allow free and uninterrupted passage to pedestrian.

d Failing to give way to pedestrian at controlled intersection.

7) Careless driving.

8) Carrying passengers on a goods vehicle in a dangerous manner.

9) Carrying passengers on a motor vehicle or trailer in a dangerous manner.

10) Reversing unnecessary along an expressway.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below) : S$150.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg) : S$180.00

8 Demerit Points

1) Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 30km/h up to 40km/h.

2) Exceeding the speed limit of the road by more than 30km/h up to 40km/h.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$170.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

9 Demerit Points

1) Driving without due care or reasonable consideration for other road users.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below): S$170.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg): S$200.00

12 Demerit Points

1) Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h.

2) Exceeding the speed limit of the road by more than 40km/h up to 50km/h.

Above offenders will be prosecuted in court.

3) Failing to conform to traffic red light signals.

Including a fine:

Light Vehicle (weight unladen 2500 kg and below) : S$200.00

Heavy Vehicle (weight unladen exceeds 2500 kg) : S$230.00

4) Use of mobile telephone whilst driving.

Including a fine:

1st time offender- Fine not exceeding $1000 or jail sentence of up to 6 months or to both.

2nd or subsequent conviction- Fine not exceeding $2000 or jail sentence of up to 12 months or to both.

Offender will be prosecuted in Court, may faced disqualification of licence and forfeiture of handphone.

18 Demerit Points

1) Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 50 km/h up to 60km/h.

2) Exceeding speed limit of the road by more than 50km/h up to 60km/h.

Offender will be prosecuted in Court.

24 Demerit Points

1) Exceeding speed limit for vehicle by more than 60 km/h.

2) Exceeding speed limit of the road by more than 60km/h.

3) Reckless or dangerous driving.

Offender will be prosecuted in Court.

• 3 years later...

Halo...

just checking with u all motorpals

if a rider is found guilty of an accident, final verdic is demerit 24 pionts.

may I koe it it means that ALL his license is suspended ?

how long is the suspension durations ?

When the suspension period ends...

will he be able to take license again ?

thy for reading....

Originally posted by tricx@Jul 31 2006, 05:45 PM

Halo...

just checking with u all motorpals

if a rider is found guilty of an accident, final verdic is demerit 24 pionts.

may I koe it it means that ALL his license is suspended ?

how long is the suspension durations ?

When the suspension period ends...

will he be able to take license again ?

thy for reading....

Depend on the judge...24 demerit pts usually court case ... the judge will read out the sentence on that day itself... if suspension less than a 12mths licsene still safe if more than tat means revoke...:goodluck:

Are monkeys allow in SBF?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=208575&d=1308762964

yup...depends...

i had a friend...caught speeding on nicholl highway....40kmh above the speed limit...

went to court, but the judge only gave him a fine & suspended his class 2 license...

the rest of his licenses intact...

Guest Nick_li

if we kena demerit point like 12 during our p-plate or 24 after our p-plate... then immediately license revoke?? if so...

does the 12 mth rule still apply?? meaning like if i 0 points liao... then suspend for a period of time(1 year)...? or once points finish liao means have to take license again... no need to wait.

anyone here can clarify?? confused...

Originally posted by Nick_li@Aug 8 2006, 01:45 AM

if we kena demerit point like 12 during our p-plate or 24 after our p-plate... then immediately license revoke?? if so...

does the 12 mth rule still apply?? meaning like if i 0 points liao... then suspend for a period of time(1 year)...? or once points finish liao means have to take license again... no need to wait.

anyone here can clarify?? confused...

yes to your 1st part...

if you get more than 12 demerit points during your P-plate days or more than 24 points after that...revoked...

not too sure whether you have to take the test again though....

no experience in that! :cheeky:

I thought during p-plate 13 points then revoke?

yah yah..sorry...12 points still keep your license...

you cannot have MORE than 12 demerit points...

apologies..

I have a class 3, 2A and 2B. I beat a red light cam and now I am curious about how many points I''m left for the 3 licences. 2A is still less than a year after passing.

is it:

a) class 3 left 12 points, class 2A and 2B left 1 point each or

b) class 3 , 2A and 2B all left with 1 point

c) Class 3 left 24 points, 2A left 1 point and 2B left 12 points.

The reason why I am confused is because the theory book says DIPs combines all classes of licenses. But then again, I have heard of people losing their 2A but still keeping their class 2B

UNHAPPY with shell?

Take your money elsewhere then. I did.

btw i read somewhere in this forum that red light cam is activated 2 seconds after the red light comes on.

I am quite sure I crossed the line 1 second after the red light came on, how come still got flash?

Has any1 read bout the 2 second thingy b4?

UNHAPPY with shell?

Based on my understanding ah,

if ur class 3 is more than one yr without any pts,it is as follows.

Class 3- left 12 pts

Class 2b- left 12 pts

Class 2a- left 0 pts.

And just to advise u ah.... be very careful. even if u commit any other offences while driving(not riding), ur class 2a will be revoked.....ur 2b and class 3 will be safe.

i learnt this from ssdc instructor last wk as i went for 2a lesson.... hope u understand it....:goodluck:

from what i understand...your points is valid for all classes...be it 2B, 2A, 2, 3,4 or 5...

24 points means 24 points for all classes of licenses...

it doesnt mean that if you have class 2,3,4 & 5...you will have 24 X 4 = 76 points...

if you kena a 12 point penalty, you are left with 0 points for all classes of your licenses(because you pass your 2A less than 12 months).

my friend once had his class 2 suspended, but kept his class 3,4 & 5 licenses...

he was caught speeding 40kmh above the speed limit..& was brought to court...

the judge was lenient with him i guess...

second i wanna say

its 12 pts left

for yr class 3 and 2b

0 points for yr 2a

and if u get a point more on top of yr 12 point

yr 2a will be revoked

i was damn gan cheong like u

so i eamial TP

and they give me a reply stating what i have told u

lastly

appeal via yr MP

if strong enough

u will get a fine $150 and minus 6 demerit point

i rode till 1 aug and stop

as my 2a ends on 30aug

dun wan anuything to happen jus in case

and oh ya

if u manage to get the appeal

yr points will be reset if u do not commit any more offence from the date of yr offence

if u do , than it will accumlate from ther.

and a joke from the i/o > if u see zig zag line and have a urge to park, park on the pavement , safer

Originally posted by wait4me@Aug 12 2006, 03:30 AM

second i wanna say

its 12 pts left

for yr class 3 and 2b

0 points for yr 2a

and if u get a point more on top of yr 12 point

yr 2a will be revoked

i was damn gan cheong like u

so i eamial TP

and they give me a reply stating what i have told u

lastly

appeal via yr MP

if strong enough

u will get a fine $150 and minus 6 demerit point

i rode till 1 aug and stop

as my 2a ends on 30aug

dun wan anuything to happen jus in case

thanks pal,

was flipping thru my old issue of e theory book, like 5 yrs ago and i saw that they said new riders have 13 points...so based on red light offence (12 pts), shldnt it be 2A left 1 point? anyway 0 points or 1 point no diff, damn!

so wats ur outcome: 6 points gone or 12 points?

thanks xa_fi too

UNHAPPY with shell?

u cannot get more than 12 points

so is left zero points

and i appeal

got 150 fine and 6 dermerit points

as stated above

good luck....

and best if road says 80 u jolly ride 80

in case u sway sway meet mr TP

Anyone kena summon on Rule 3(a) "parking of vehicle on common property except in parking place".

Wanna know how much is e summon

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

Will really appreciate if anyone can help.

Was riding about 120km/hr on a 60km/h stretch of road. Still within 12 months of getting my Class 2A.

My license likely to be revoke as I only have 12 pts while the demerits is 24.

Question is if they'll revoke all my licenses (Class 2B and Class 3)?? Or just Class 2A?

What do I need to do at court?

Thanx guys.

Hi, I wld like to ask if let's say I got a number of demerit points within 1 yr of my class 2B.. So i go and take my 2A and class 3 aft 1 yr of my Class 2B probation.. Can I ask if the number of demerit points I got during my class 2B probation will be brought over to my Class 2A and 3 probation points?

Summary: For example,

Jan 2006 - Got class 2B licence

Jun 2006 - 6 demerit points

Jan 2007 - Probation over, left 18 pts

Mar 2007 - Got Class 2A and Class 3 licence

Hence, wat will be the final points of my class 2A and class 3 licence, will it be 12 pts or 6 pts?

Thanks..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Originally posted by go5@December 16, 2006 09:00 am

Anyone kena summon on Rule 3(a) "parking of vehicle on common property except in parking place".

Wanna know how much is e summon

$100 bucks... :goodluck:

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by Technician III@January 31, 2007 06:32 pm

Hi, I wld like to ask if let's say I got a number of demerit points within 1 yr of my class 2B.. So i go and take my 2A and class 3 aft 1 yr of my Class 2B probation.. Can I ask if the number of demerit points I got during my class 2B probation will be brought over to my Class 2A and 3 probation points?

Summary: For example,

Hence, wat will be the final points of my class 2A and class 3 licence, will it be 12 pts or 6 pts?

Thanks..

Jun 2007 - Nothing Happen get back ur 6 points from 2B.

Mar 2008 - 24 points for 2 years after Probation from Class 3.

There is no Probation for Class 2A n 2, 4 n 5.

P/S: from my Own Knowledge.

All you need to know about GSR 400/600, be it buying, maintaining or modding, please refer to GSR 600 Thread FAQ page 281 and 282

Originally posted by Blues@December 27, 2006 07:53 am

Will really appreciate if anyone can help.

Was riding about 120km/hr on a 60km/h stretch of road. Still within 12 months of getting my Class 2A.

My license likely to be revoke as I only have 12 pts while the demerits is 24.

Question is if they'll revoke all my licenses (Class 2B and Class 3)?? Or just Class 2A?

What do I need to do at court?

Thanx guys.

The problem u r facing is not 12 pts or 24 pts.. for 2A u hav 24 points for 2 years.. but the Offence is u over speed limit of 60KM/HR. Confirm its a court case... so good luck Pal :smile: