install a voltmeter - it helps to monitor the rectifier condition while moving & battery condition when engine is off.

Also install a headlight switch. When battery is too weak to start engine, switch off the headlight & try starting.

You can get all these done in Motorworld.

How much would it cost to get all these done in motoworld ?

22 August 2005 - August 2006 - Phantom TA 200

August 2006 - April 25 2007 - X9- Almafi

May 2007 - Feb 2008 - S4 Spec III

Feb 2008 - Dec 2012 - Silverwing Euro 400 (longest ride)

July 2009 - Oct 2012 OPC - Sold

Dec 2012 - Jun 2013- paggio x10

Jun 2013 -?????? - Silverwing SW-T400 ABS (Euro ver)

http://s46.photobucket.com/albums/f138/flamingangelz/th_DSC00702.jpg

• Replies 1.5k

Thank for all the replies.

Any idea how much does a voltmeter cost? I already have a switch for the head light.

Guess left is to check the starter carbon and rectifier.

Yesterday evening I went to my mechanic and he point out that this is a carbon issues. Either I changed the carbon for $120 or change the whole thing that contain the carbon(sorry, I don't know what it call) for $300 to $350). He advise to change the whole thing as it will last a whole 10 years plus.

What do you all think? Should I change the whole thing?

Go planet, I changed 3 year ago for less than $60 or so...dont get rip off....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

maybe its ur starter relay.

hey guys need help here..

while i was riding..there a squeking sound from the from part of the wheel..as if a mouse is nesting inside..hehe...

when i throttle the sound no so visible but when i clutch in the sound very loud leh...

1) could it be the fork seal as the rubber is hardening as its rubbing against each other and make noise...

2) could it be steering cone?

3) could it be the wheel bearing?

can u guys pls advice the price for the stuff i listed n shop also..

any idea wats the prob guys?

thanks a million..

skazuz

do u lube ur chain frequently? mine tat time also got this prob..but lube liao den nono :cheeky:

Could it be the brake caliper? High speed or low speed?

Crazy

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1022863475.png

i think its ur wheel bearing..

aiyah, u ask ah tee larh skazuz..he should know!

slant ur bike and make sure wheel is off the ground, shake the wheel from side to side, see if the sound is created from there. if so, time to change ur wheel bearing. i had a very bad experience myselg, worn and torn wheel bearing, bike's tail went like snake. do something bout it fast bro

Patience, A Virtue

thanks for the fast reply guys.. its my wheel bearing just as i suspected..wen the mech open up my bearing becomes dust already scary....

front wheel bearing $30 at mah motor parts

skazuz

i think its ur wheel bearing..

aiyah, u ask ah tee larh skazuz..he should know!

ehhe.. ah tee? i dun do my S4 at his place only my cubs...

skazuz

Go planet, I changed 3 year ago for less than $60 or so...dont get rip off....

Thank bro...Will consider that once I faced the same issues cos right now after the mechanic use a screw driver and give it a light knock...until now I don't face the issues anymore...wondering is it bcos of the carbon jam rather than used up

I will only walk on the path choosen by none but myself

Hi to all pros..

for my 7mth old specIII, theres a strange rattling sound coming out from the area of my speedo meter... not exactly came from within the speedo meter.. but i just feel that the sound is coming from that area.... it only happens at or near 2.5rpm-2.6rpm and only in gear 1. anywhere below or above 2.5 rpm-2.6rpm the sound is gone... therefore whenever im in carpark using gear 1-2 to move ard.. the sound emitted out @ 2.5rpm-2.6rpm is damn irritating... and i have checked that the sound isnt caused by my keys...

this prob start about 2 mths ago le... was wondering any1 encountered this? any suggestion would be great... tks in advance guys...

Did u check the screws n nuts holding ur front licence plate to the frame? If it's loose, u here the rattling sound, it happens to mi. Just a quick tighten will do the trick...

yes jerry, try screw ur front licence plate tightly , maybe loose le, UR IU unit if can screw also screw, woman can aslo be screw, be careful dont screw wrong . this world got so many to screw haha hard to choose..

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
yes jerry, try screw ur front licence plate tightly , maybe loose le, UR IU unit if can screw also screw, woman can aslo be screw, be careful dont screw wrong . this world got so many to screw haha hard to choose..

Wahahaha :thumb:

lmao.. ok i'll check them out... tks Hodaha.. & bro for e screwing tips...

muhahaha

the most expensive part for the meter is the circuit board, casings costs abt 50-60..

new meter abt 500plus? so circuit board abt 300plus? yours only speedo? maybe it's the cable.. cable is cheap but it's the labour, cuz needa remove carb to change new speedo sensor..

do the other shops test your bike before quoting the price..?

does anyone has encounter this problem :cry:

the problem is when i was riding my bike at 5th gear my throttle and speed was constant when RPM was going to 4-5 and 6-7 when it comes to RPM 4 to 5 and 6 to 7. RPM 4 will be like no power like that then it jump to RPM 5, same goes to 6-7 its like jerking. worst still after 8 it will be jerking non stop.

only 5th gear is like this 1st-4th gear no problem.

i just wash carb and tune and change 4 sparkplug.

but its not that problem.

can anyone tell me whats the problem and how much will it cost?

er, i dun really understand wat u trying to say..catch no ball..

She waits for me patiently downstairs, thru rain and shine..Yet she never complains and serving me with loyalty..a true beauty that u will not regret...

u got wash yur carb n tune recently?

if not maybe theres micron particle or debris?those needle maybe?

we can never say never i guess..or yur airfilter..but i suspect yur carb lei

but like u said only gear 5..but 1-4 okay nia

Thanks arsonist