Hi all,i feel when strong vibrations on the throttle on my Shadow ACE when i m travelling on the highway at abt 90km/h(agar agar speed coz my speedometer nt wking)to the extent tat my right hand feels numb from it.Is it normal?

"Life is just a cycle, what comes around go around."

• Replies 55

Bro I'm riding a steed, which is approx a shadow. strong vibrations to the extend of numbness at just 90km/h is not normal.

Possibly, check your front wheel bearings. Jackup you bike and spin the front wheel while holding the fork. If the fork feels 'smooth' on the spin, no prob. If you feel vibrations, it might be a sign the front bearings need to be changed.

well, my bike IS a tourer. hahaha. So that's normal speed. No leh, I used to be able to do 160-180 easily and no vibrations. Ever since I changed my tires to semi off-road, this problem happened. So been trying to trouble shoot. Changed steering cone, both sprockets and chain and all (anyway due to change. hee) still same. Only thing left is wheel bearing (which when checked seemed ok) and last resort change tires back to normal ones.

Funny thing is, all my friends who also changed to semi off road had no problems. Grrr...

w y x m m

Woww!!!U guys can do speeds up to 100++ km/h on ur Shadow??!! Mine can oni do up to 90 or 100km/h max..serious prob liao..Where can i find a gd mech for my bike?

"Life is just a cycle, what comes around go around."

90 km/hr shd not have vibrations effect that bad.

My Steed VSE handlebar vibrations only numbs my hand if I go at 120km/hr & above for more than a few minutes....a few minutes is all I can as the next traffic congestion comes up after that liao..

I am a Honda bike lover:-

Honda CRM 125, Honda Cub C70, Honda Steed 400VSE

Honda Shadow Slasher 400, Honda XR125L, Honda XR400RW

Honda SuperCub C90 single seater (vintage ride - 43km/l)

Honda NC700X (Smooth tourer around Indochina)

Honda CRF250L (Enduro - 30km/L)

Woww!!!U guys can do speeds up to 100++ km/h on ur Shadow??!! Mine can oni do up to 90 or 100km/h max..serious prob liao..Where can i find a gd mech for my bike?

How old is your Shadow? If you gave been pumping 92 for years, then try Shell Vpower for about 800 km. Or its time to replace your air filter. If after doing these two and your engine power nv improve, then consider looking for mech.

When I took over my Steed from the ex-owner, I believe he was using the minimum for eveything, lowest grade of fuel, EO and nv change anything. I changed the oil filter and air filter and pump Vpower.

Then after Vpower for about 800 kms, the power improved and became smooth. The exhaust also sounds different (louder base tone). Guess all the years of carbon or dirt was cleared.

I am a Honda bike lover:-

Honda CRM 125, Honda Cub C70, Honda Steed 400VSE

Honda Shadow Slasher 400, Honda XR125L, Honda XR400RW

Honda SuperCub C90 single seater (vintage ride - 43km/l)

Honda NC700X (Smooth tourer around Indochina)

Honda CRF250L (Enduro - 30km/L)

Shadow can do 120 easily and can hit 140. I think you need to do full servicing for yours. My ex Shadow was the same. After I did it up no problem. Do a carb wash, spark plug change, all the filters etc. Try Rosli at Eunos Industrial. He's done plenty of Shadows.

w y x m m

hmm u talkin abt class2a or? if 2b den i doubt dere's any dat can do 120 smoothly ba.. if 2a my dragstar is doing just fine.. but my handlebar is much higher n wider den stock.. but it also feels best just after EO change oso la.. haha class2 den i dunno liaoz.. but most shld be able to do 120 smooth ba..

but that being said, if u wanna cruise in sg w 2a cruiser better be alert ar.. cruiser brakes arent made for hard braking..

No such hard rule which one has less vibration and smoother etc. 'Cept the Valkyrie. hee. Most cruisers are smooth. Well, they're cruisers. Meant for chill riding. Even the Harleys with their vibrations and all ain't that bad.

cos wifey complaining of numbness after a "long" local ride. So looking for a smoother ride for my next bike so can plan a trip up north... what ya all suggest? preferably 2A. if cl2 then need to wait longer liao

Liverpool revival has started....

on the subject of washing the carb to improve engine performance & reduce vibration,

is washing the carb advisable for old bikes? say 11 yrs old? I hear say from pple before that the dirt in the carb seals the carb nicely. and washing it might make the carb overly clean, causing the 'unsealed' parts to start wearing out.

Any basis to this claim?

cos wifey complaining of numbness after a "long" local ride. So looking for a smoother ride for my next bike so can plan a trip up north... what ya all suggest? preferably 2A. if cl2 then need to wait longer liao

2B bikes, sure not comfortable one. Try the Shadow or Dragstar if you're looking for a 2A cruiser? Pillion seat though small but I'm sure the ride will be smoother.

on the subject of washing the carb to improve engine performance & reduce vibration,

is washing the carb advisable for old bikes? say 11 yrs old? I hear say from pple before that the dirt in the carb seals the carb nicely. and washing it might make the carb overly clean, causing the 'unsealed' parts to start wearing out.

Any basis to this claim?

Rubbish. When you wash your carbs, the whatever seals there are, you replace them with a new one not old one. If your mech uses old ones then he's trying to cheap your money cos he'll still charge you the price of a new one. Even if he helps you save money and charges you the 2nd hand price, that few dollars isn't gonna bring you a long way. It's like trying to wash your oil filter and re-using it.

Same goes for whatever O rings and rubber seal and bearings and whatever parts you can think of.

w y x m m

2B bikes, sure not comfortable one. Try the Shadow or Dragstar if you're looking for a 2A cruiser? Pillion seat though small but I'm sure the ride will be smoother.

Thanks... anyone have experience with both bikes can give comments on which has less vibration?

Sigh... why cant we bikers have a test ride without breaking the law?

Liverpool revival has started....

All need to cover backside la. heee.

I've ridden a Shadow before. I like the feel of it even though it's slightly heavy and under powered. But hey...it's a nice ride.

My friends ride or rode Dragstars before. More or less same. Can do 140 easily :)

But cruisers, don't expect lots of power or speed compared to bikes like Super 4 etc. Prepare to take your time at traffic lights.

Hope that helps.

w y x m m

Thanks... anyone have experience with both bikes can give comments on which has less vibration?

Sigh... why cant we bikers have a test ride without breaking the law?

Hi, I own a 99 model Dragstar Classic before. It's cruise well at 120km (can go some more but rider me no Balls..) No vibration felt at all at 120km very stable. Sold it quite sad..:giddy:

Now I just collected my 98 model COE paid Shadow ACE from bike shop, I started to feel vibration at speed of 80 - 90 km. Send to doctor, he pointed to me on the Tyre wear on one side due to under inflate by previous owner. Got tyre changed. Dun feel the vibration now at 80-90 km. Not use to the bike yet so not going to do 120km yet.:cheeky:

Past:

GP125,RXK 135,LC125,RD350,CB360Four,CB 750,CG125,NV400,CB 400,PB1 400,Dragstar Classic, Shadow ACE,Dragstar Classic ,PB1, ST1100, PB1, R1100RT, R1150R, R1100RT

Mini Clubman 1275, Mazda GT 1500, Justy, Proton, Mit Lancer, Nissan Sunny, Corolla Aitis 2006,Toyota Corolla Altis 2008.BMW 320i, Nissan Presage 2.5,BMW 320i

Now:

Mercedes Benz C200 and Suzuki Boulevard 400M :cheeky:

shadow ACE 400 usually (mine too) have no prob with vibration ard ard 80-120km/hr

tried once in Msia.. vibration kick in ard 150km/hr

that was one cool ride with KRUZERS..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v47/herculie/Valky_Siggy.jpg