COE shot up as expected and bike COE bidders still have appetite for higher prices. Current comfort level seems to be around 8K.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/COE_Successful_Bids_2017.pdf

And those that need to renew COE in the next 2 months better do it now before the next COE bidding exercise.

PQP will go up by about $500 after end of March bidding and more in subsequent months as the 6kish COEs will replaced with the higher COE prices for the moving average calculation.

Liverpool revival has started....

• Replies 128

:puke: coe

:puke: arf

Its time! Skate Scooter Leg Push Powered (Battery no mony buy , Bopian use leg lor ) , awesome post guys made me laugh too "kena stroke stroke issue hahahaha"

http://www.animatedgif.net/flags/-flags-uncat/singapore_gs_e0.gifYamalaya Selamanyahttp://www.animatedgif.net/flags/-flags-uncat/japan_gs_e0.gif

91'ahamaY zxR 331Cc **819*

2011'SX 1000Z ikasawaK *819*

lai lo lai lo

10k coming liao

Bo bian, bike shop just bid nia... Sure got ppl willing to pay, so long its not them...

See those bike shop failed to get the COE, how they sell new bike?

Moreover, high COE = high loan... At 4% per year, easily another few k in their pocket... :clapping:

See the bids distribution know already, which bike owner will bid until like that :angry::angry::angry:

I will always maintain its the bike shop who bid this high.

the question is which one?

I think what is going to make it even harder to swallow, and give you an indication that this is nothing more than a government mandated mafia style shake down scam, is that motorcycles are still not eligible for rebates when they deregister before 10 years even after the ARF increase, while cars have had it all the while.

this is further proof that CPF is half empty, there will be more withdrawals than deposits now when the baby boomers are all retiring,

the 30% water increase etc etc,

why oil price dropped by half and yet we pay even more now?

why car park charges need to increase,

the reserves are dwindling for sure

btw don't you guys think that coe bidding both for cars n bikes are somehow like fixed?

the greenhorn buyers will be advised by the dealers roughly what price to bid every month and this price range will be more or less the same ….

if it really is a free market then coe bidding will be very volitare and not be so stable…..

so in a way, the car dealers and bike dealers are helping LTA to keep coe at this high levels

the consumers suffers ultimately,

i may be wrong

any comments?

Edited by james bomb

I HAVE always got my suspicion. i have no trusted them for many years now especially when I met some of them in my course of work.

One thing i will never understand is why suddenly 30% water increase. I read somewhere the more feasible one would be the household that use more water should be charge more just as one houshold has more than 2 cars therefore coe should be more for them.

the last GE many of the 70% voted them thinking they will bring us out of this economic clout. well i hope for them they are right but meanwhile we ALL suffer

the higher they bid, the more u all need to pay

the more u all need to pay , the more u will loan if you cannot pay ..

intererst gao gao earn .. buy from them , loan from them

dealers won't bid high if there are no buyers. It seems many are still willing to pay the current prices.

yes dealers wont bid IF there are no buyers,

now they bid high high , become take it or leave it.

yes dealers wont bid IF there are no buyers,

now they bid high high , become take it or leave it.

n we choose to take it. While the bike prices are ridiculous like our cars, housing and water prices, clearly it remains affordable for the general public. Sure there are people who has been priced out, but there are enough demand to sustain the current prices.

the problem is no one will want to wait to get their bike. many dealers will still bid to keep the price hover around that price so that previous bidded COE does suffer loss. Imagine they bid 2 pieces of motorcycle COEs at S$8081/- next moment COE became S$1/- who will want their S$8081 COE...

Sigh...That why should limit COE bidding to 1 per IC even for company.

Thats why they group together and call themselves MOTOR TRADER ASSOCIATION. Basically its a union which benefit themselves. while the nitty gritty like advertisement, loan, PR and such each company handle themselves, big things like this the companies will work together

For now, don't give in to the temptation of buying a new bike. You know the price is unfair, don't buy it.

There are so many used bikes in the market to choose from if you're not super picky on a particular new model that run very well and are in good condition.

I originally wanted to get my hands on the new 2017 Kawasaki Ninja 650 but after seeing the ARF hike and the current COE prices that is 2k over my previous expectation, I decided to just buy a 2005 ZX-6R from direct seller with 7 years COE left on it, for less than 1/4 of what I'd pay to get a new bike.

If we the poorer people stop buying new bikes, the motorcycle industry will respond. There are more of us poorer dudes than the actual rich guys who can afford high COEs. Those few people are not enough to prop up an entire industry. The only reason things are as they are is because we are shooting ourselves in the foot and acting against our own interests by buying both new and used machines from dealers when we should just be buying and selling among ourselves as long as the market prices are unreasonable.

Check out my Website for freelance design and marketing services! : www.reizeprimus.com

Or watch my Youtube channel for more Motovlogs and Motorcycling Content! : www.youtube.com/ReizePrimus

u can check the LTA stats to see registration by makes and also bike population by CC to make ur own conclusion if delivery services are the reason for COE increase.

my conclusion is that bikers are more willing to pay higher prices for new bikes models now. u can also hang around at driving centres and hear what those taking lessons plan to buy when they get their new licenses

Tried looking at their facts and figures, but still can't draw any conclusions.

4 dealers were called up by LTA for speculative COE trading... doubt they will be charged for any wrongdoings. Let's see

but hopefully this will lead to some policy changes in our favour

COE drop !! $7589

Question here is, will it stay, will it drop further, or is this just like pre-election GST pack, and then it shoots back up like MRT and Bus fare after election season as usual.

Check out my Website for freelance design and marketing services! : www.reizeprimus.com

Or watch my Youtube channel for more Motovlogs and Motorcycling Content! : www.youtube.com/ReizePrimus