what model you got? sometimes when the GPS trying to zero in on the position will show you moving a bit.

I noticed zumo's location accuracy is not that precise (maybe it's accurate to 30m or something), sometimes when I'm starting out on an unmapped road it but later get onto a mapped road, it still thinks I'm on the sidewalk.

• Replies 2.6k

IKER;4391315']Hello guys,

I just laid my hands on my GPS..

totally gong gong about what issit about..

Stand still also moving... lol....

hope to learn more from you guys... :cheeky: :cheeky:

what model you got? sometimes when the GPS trying to zero in on the position will show you moving a bit.

I noticed zumo's location accuracy is not that precise (maybe it's accurate to 30m or something), sometimes when I'm starting out on an unmapped road it but later get onto a mapped road, it still thinks I'm on the sidewalk.

it the earth that's moving lah

IKER;4391315']

Stand still also moving... lol....

This is known as drifting whereby the GPS shows you are drifting back and forth although you are stationary.

However, if you have street level maps loaded, and you enable the "follow road" mode, then the GPS will 'glue" you on the road and you will not be drifting.

ohhh.... now ah...

still reading the vista HCx manual... but sitting down here, no chance to hands on... read also blur blur...:cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=67030&d=1214533391

Phantom TA150 ----- Gone

CB400 Spec2---------Gone

Yamaha X-1----------Gone

CB400 Spec1.||| -------- Gone

Honda Silverwing 400 - FOR SALE

hi guys.. juz gt myself a garmin legend cx.. how do i get it started...

v blur..

and i cant set e time..

do untill v tulan..

btw i gt it from ebay..

Normally gpsr do not need to set time, when you start the gpsr it will lock onto the satellite and recieve time from them.

Time is very accurate.

my gps screen show "searching the sky" but for a long time nth happens leh..

someting wrg?

or do i need to load map into it?

ok get my gps wrking..

but how do i load map into it?

been looking into MSM and see till blur..

got patchimg and mapsource.. tried both also cant get it into my gps..

any1 using garmin legend cx can help me wif it?

You need to have :

1) micro SD card (at least 64mb),

2) micro SD card reader,

3) computer (if your PC/notebook can read the micro-SD card, then you don't need item (2)

Go here to download and save this file "GM-MySin.exe [14.89 MB]" http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=23

once you have saved this file, execute it, and it will self-extract.

In the process, you will see this screen, and remember the location.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/captured-24.jpg

Once the installation process is completed, it would have created a file by the name of "gmapsupp.img", in the location you noted earlier.

Now, create a folder by the name of "Garmin" in your micro-SD card, and copy the "gmapsupp.img" into that folder.

Stick the micro-SD card back into the GPS, and boot-up. Done.

thanks for e info..

i once tried connect my gps to usb and it does read my card from there.. can i juz throw e file inside or i need to use card reader?

and and i able to browse e file in e card?

cos after i throw e file in, i dun seems to read e file anywhere in my gps..

its lik invisible..

will there be extra folder in my gps having e "Garmin" folder visible?

thanks for e info..

i once tried connect my gps to usb and it does read my card from there.. can i juz throw e file inside or i need to use card reader?

and and i able to browse e file in e card?

cos after i throw e file in, i dun seems to read e file anywhere in my gps..

its lik invisible..

will there be extra folder in my gps having e "Garmin" folder visible?

Ok, that way also can. However that will depends whether your PC has the necessary drivers to detect the presence of the GPS as a new hardware. That is why I didn't suggest doing it this way earlier.

Go to MENU > SETUP > INTERFACE, click on USB MASS STORAGE. This will enable your PC to read the GPS, and treat it like a removable disk drive. If everything is working well, a window pop will appear :

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/captured-25.jpg

Mine already has a GARMIN folder, create one if there isn't one in yours.

If you open the GARMIN folder, this is the location where the "gmapsupp.img" should be in. Don't worry about other GPX, POI folders.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/captured-26.jpg

The folder has to be GARMIN, and the file in it has to be "gmapsupp.img". wrong spelling, wrong place, other names, the GPS will not recognise them.

demon bro.. how to i get my gps to read e map lik dis?

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/2538/57128656if7.jpg

do i need to install anyting xtra?

demon bro.. how to i get my gps to read e map lik dis?

http://img117.imageshack.us/img117/2538/57128656if7.jpg

do i need to install anyting xtra?

That looks like a screen from Colorado.

The Legend does not support 3D map view. Among all the Garmin handheld, only the Colorado is capable to display 3D map view.

Personally, I do not like the 3D map view, I prefer the classic 2D plan view. :)

oh.. i tot it does.. haa thanks..

juz brought my gps for rounding today.. e 2d view seem alright to me alrdy..

btw e link u gav me include whole of malaysia map?

or juz some parts?

cos i see in map viewer seem lik it covers whole of msia..

btw e link u gav me include whole of malaysia map?

or juz some parts?

That link is for map of Singapore, and entire of west malaysia.

Here is the link to East Malaysia, ie. Sabah, Sarawak, and Brunei :

http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=169

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/captured-27.jpg

Using the method you just learned, you can only load one mapset at a time ie. it will override the previous mapset in your GPS.

There are other ways that you can load a few mapsets into the GPS, subject to the maximum capacity of the SD card.

hmm so how do i load e west msia maps into my gps?

cos e mapsource cd dat was wif my gps cant open img files.

any prog able to combine e 2 maps u gav me tog?

i stil dunno wat can i do wif map source.. haa..

dunno how to use also..

hmm so how do i load e west msia maps into my gps?

Read Post #1175

cos e mapsource cd dat was wif my gps cant open img files.

IMG files cannot be opened by Mapsource.

any prog able to combine e 2 maps u gav me tog?

There are a few programs available :

- Sendmap20

- PatchIMG

- Gmaptool

- DIY program - http://www.malsingmaps.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=9812

i stil dunno wat can i do wif map source.. haa..

Mapsource is like an organiser of all your GPS maps. Before your trip, it can also be used to plan your routes and waypoints. After your trip, it can be use to review your route (if your GPS has this feature), and transfer any POI, waypoints which you marked during the trip.

Mapsource is also the defacto program for submission of waypoints, POI, errors to malsing.

dunno how to use also..

It's very user friendly, spend a few days, and you will be an expert

i've been wanting this sh|t for sometime now, haha. dunno if pda types are better or those purpose-built gps are better?

anyone got opinions, suggestions, recommendations?

http://img366.imageshack.us/img366/9907/albumpicvr3.jpg
i've been wanting this sh|t for sometime now, haha. dunno if pda types are better or those purpose-built gps are better?

anyone got opinions, suggestions, recommendations?

Answer these few questions, and you will have the answer.

- Is the PDA rugged enough for bike use especially the rain.

- Does the PDA come with a daylight readable screen. ie, can you view the display under strong sunlight ?

- Does your PDA accepts garmin or mapking maps ?

If the all the answers are "NO", then i would suggest you get a real GPS. For a biker, a GPS without road level maps is useless, and maps with frequent updates, will also render the GPS useless in time to come.

Then there are other concerns such as

- battery endurance, as PDAs have really short battery life. of course you can rig it so that it takes power from the bike.

- Mounting accessories. Without it, the PDA may not be secured, and esthetically non-appealing as some bikers are particular about these.

Att to: Bro DEMON,Thanks For all the help n instruction given for my etrex-legend,Finally able to load maps to set.Just one more query,does the latest free map have an installer coz the link given (dwl both) i think its only for those transfer to their sd card? i think i'm using last year version map.

The happiest people don't have the best of everything.

They just make the best of everything....yaaa. Right