OTR, ever get challenges from cars and other bikes?

Not that I can remember cos if I am on the front of the junction, I am

usually the one to dash off first, unless there are is a larger CC bike

picking up fast transmission or an old smaller cc bike moving off slowly.

In those kind of situation (sandwiched between cars), I have to smell

their exhust... :faint:

** sounded like you met up with challenges :D

I love to ride my bicycle, I love to ride my bike.

• Replies 4.1k

guys

I noticed on the XJR 1300 - there's the words "Ohlin" printed on the springs of the rear suspension units.

Are those words also printed on the springs of the 400cc XJR ? Or are the springs just plain yellow without words ?

Do the Right Thing and the Rest will follow

guys

I noticed on the XJR 1300 - there's the words "Ohlin" printed on the springs of the rear suspension units.

Are those words also printed on the springs of the 400cc XJR ? Or are the springs just plain yellow without words ?

Those are the brand of the shock absorber.

Yamaha uses Ohlins shocks, and Honda uses Showa.

One thing is Ohlins is better, dunno why cos heard from alot of ppl.

Ohlin logo will be printed on the absorber itself.

No exception even for the XJR400R :p

thanks for the reply Drumx

The words Ohlin would naturally appear on the nitro-charge can and the arm of the absorber.. but the target of my question is the actual coil of spring itself.

Is Ohlin printed on the yellow coil of spring ?

Do the Right Thing and the Rest will follow

thanks for the reply Drumx

The words Ohlin would naturally appear on the nitro-charge can and the arm of the absorber.. but the target of my question is the actual coil of spring itself.

Is Ohlin printed on the yellow coil of spring ?

No, don't think so.

The spring is unprinted...from my own XJR :D

Guest dInG DaNG

Guys...any idea wat's our recommended tyres pressure (both front & back) for our XJR400.... :confused: :confused:

I think the right side swing arm got one sticker pasted there,right? I tear it out when newly bought :cry: :cry: ...Dunno wat the contant of it liao...did it mention the tyres pressure???Thx..... :cheer: :cheer:

Guys...any idea wat's our recommended tyres pressure (both front & back) for our XJR400.... :confused: :confused:

I think the right side swing arm got one sticker pasted there,right? I tear it out when newly bought :cry: :cry: ...Dunno wat the contant of it liao...did it mention the tyres pressure???Thx..... :cheer: :cheer:

the tyres itself have its own range, sorry but i could rem the recommended pressure. every rider has its own feel in the range lah...

just try on your own loh, not happy let go a little bit of air or pump some more...

anyway the air pump at pertrol kiosk is free, no need to pay...

do whatever u want...hahahaha :D

Guest dInG DaNG

the tyres itself have its own range, sorry but i could rem the recommended pressure. every rider has its own feel in the range lah...

just try on your own loh, not happy let go a little bit of air or pump some more...

anyway the air pump at pertrol kiosk is free, no need to pay...

do whatever u want...hahahaha :D

Quite true also...everyone got different opinion about this matter..bt recently I found out that tyres pressure do affect the bike performance, fuel consumption and the life of the tyres... then i came to know that most pressure pump in the petrol stations is not well maintain so the readings is questionable..recommended to have a own tyre pressure guage...not expensive anyway...beneficial in the long run... :confused: :confused:

But the way, you guys still got keep the owner' manual of the bike...I think i thrown that away also...all in jap, dun understand oso,..I understand it contain impt information on the maintance of the bike...can be handy...

Anyone still have the manual???Izzit all in jap, any idea how to understand it??? :giddy: :giddy:

the sticker put front 225 kpa back 250

Huh?

I am using 230 for the front, and 275-280 for the rear.

So far so good. The tire takes quite a while to warm up and become sticky. But it ain't as sticky as 090...as it is more for sportstouring usage afterall.

Considering to change rear to 090 150/60 to have a better grip and more stable cornering (I like to play cornering...kekeke). Well, wait till I change then feedback the outcome.

Remember to adjust the rear suspension to 2 if u always pillion pple above 55kg...else it will be too soft wif the default setting of 1.

OpenSource...Empowering the users to freedom of choice......http://www.spreadfirefox.com/community/images/affiliates/Buttons/80x15/white_1.gif

Quite true also...everyone got different opinion about this matter..bt recently I found out that tyres pressure do affect the bike performance, fuel consumption and the life of the tyres... then i came to know that most pressure pump in the petrol stations is not well maintain so the readings is questionable..recommended to have a own tyre pressure guage...not expensive anyway...beneficial in the long run... :confused: :confused:

But the way, you guys still got keep the owner' manual of the bike...I think i thrown that away also...all in jap, dun understand oso,..I understand it contain impt information on the maintance of the bike...can be handy...

Anyone still have the manual???Izzit all in jap, any idea how to understand it??? :giddy: :giddy:

I always keep the manuals properly and safely...even if it's in foreign language.

Well, u can always get someone's help to translate it but basically, the user manual ain't that handy coz alot of information not available, plus it mentions only very basic stuffs that as a 2A rider, u shld already noe by now if u hv own a 2b bike b4.

The service manual is in jap too....so maybe until I get it translated, then I share wif u guys lor. The parts manual abit better, it's in english if I recall correctly or rather, comes in multiple languages within the same booklet.

OpenSource...Empowering the users to freedom of choice......http://www.spreadfirefox.com/community/images/affiliates/Buttons/80x15/white_1.gif

wah 230 front 280 back huh

no noe i follow the sticker on the swing arm

-5 from the stated for me hehehe

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299588_10150540759024129_659464128_11616498_236846498_n.jpg
wah 230 front 280 back huh

no noe i follow the sticker on the swing arm

-5 from the stated for me hehehe

The swing arm stated 290 for the rear leh....ur 250 is too low.

For me, I minus abt 10. Anyway, I still testing out what pressure is gd for wat kind of performance, and mileage is check too.

290 is for with pillion :p

anyway its just a reference at the end of the day just pump in watever suit u :p

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/299588_10150540759024129_659464128_11616498_236846498_n.jpg
290 is for with pillion :p

anyway its just a reference at the end of the day just pump in watever suit u :p

:bow:

wow! 290 kpa! what's the tyre size of xjr400?

my Hornet's using 180 sized tyre and it needs only 250 kpa. That's for rear. Front is 130-sized using 225 kpa.

But i like my tyres fat! ha :D that's one of the many reasons i chose a Hornet!

http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/67/navybluehornet900lp7.jpg
Guest dInG DaNG

hi...Chaicka....so how the development for the K&N air filter liaoz.......??? :confused: :confused: :confused:

just got a piece of news to share ....

my friend went down to Hong Leong this afternoon to check out the price of a new XJR.....

the salesman told him that it cost $12500 OTR with 1st party from AXA (age: 25) ....

but currently they got only 2 bikes left.... one silver and one blue ...

new XJRs will only come in next year around april...

hope this can be a rough guide for those thinking of buying new XJR :D

just got a piece of news to share ....

my friend went down to Hong Leong this afternoon to check out the price of a new XJR.....

the salesman told him that it cost $12500 OTR with 1st party from AXA (age: 25) ....

but currently they got only 2 bikes left.... one silver and one blue ...

new XJRs will only come in next year around april...

hope this can be a rough guide for those thinking of buying new XJR :D

Standard reply from Hong Leong....kekeke. Nothing new...

Dun go Hong Leong to get the bike lah....sure can find below $12k one...even Hong Leong, if u got "liao", can get lower than 12.5k too....kekeke :D

Standard reply from Hong Leong....kekeke. Nothing new...

Dun go Hong Leong to get the bike lah....sure can find below $12k one...even Hong Leong, if u got "liao", can get lower than 12.5k too....kekeke :D

:D :D

my friend show me the XJR leftlet he got from HL ....

the white colour ones look damn chio man ....

see liao can get high :eek:

Does anyone here knows where to get a 1998 XJR400R? It is actually a mixed btw the old and new XJR. The obvious difference is the engine colour - only version with a silver paint on the engine. I got a pic here. My contact is 92411011.

can check yahoo classifieds..

i tink a few wks back i happened to chance upon a 98 one...

but tons of 96 & 97 on sale...

can anybody riding the older versions comment on it?

Yo fellow XJRiders, :weep:

I just met with an accident this afternoon at 1230noon along braddell road. My XJR....lost its exhust. I was fortunate to be alive. FX XJR....

I was sitting on the road staring at my XJR laying in the bushes...imagine

I just gave it a nice polishing/cleaning the night before....

The exhust was rolling on the road, my Givi box cant be closed anymore.

Sad scene.....

I was conveyed to the hospital by an ambulance, stucked in the A&E for hours. But luckily the bills are covered by SAF.

Anyway, just want to let you guys know, becareful on the road. I suffered a hip injury and some abrasions. Dunno how the investigation outcome will be like....its a complicated accident, I guess I am at fault also. Maybe fine 200 bucks with 6 demerit points.

I am resting at home now, 8 days MC. See hows the outcome...

Ride safely man.... :cry: