If you are into Vtec..go for Spec 1..if into non Vtec..go for PB1 (hard to find a good one) or Ver S..never "R"...IMHO. If your budget allows and you prefer the "chio" look, Vtec III.

Plse do not asked me for detail unless you want to come on down one of the weekend over Korpee-Orh.

Thinks to look out for:

No Coolant leakage.

No rattlering sound inside engine after 5-10 mins warm idling.

When you rev to 13 krpm...make sure sound from end can is constant..no blabbling effects.

Left/right lever tip do not have sign of bike drop..oso tell tale sign from back view mirros.

Squeeze the coolant hoses and feel for biscuit cracking feelings..if there is, get them to replace hose or change coolant system using chemical flush or clear the rust inside.

Avoid getting one with "Sai-Tow" and preferably no alarm system installed.

Get as "Stock" as you can.

Make sure meters are working, no cracks etc..on the external.

If end can is 3rd party product, make sure the price comes with approved cert for it.

Check front and bak wheels for bearing wear and tear..also the steering cone bearing. If they can't advise you, at least asked them to have these under a short warranty.

The list goes on...good luck.

ah pek wat do u think of the Samco Sport Silicone Hoses?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143235

• Replies 7.7k

buy from motoshop is it? how much they selling? 5k wif one yr COE not worth it IMO

If brought for the price of 4K then worth or not cos I need to renew my COE next year...

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Class 2B 21/05/2008 (BBDC)

Class 2A 18/08/2009 (BBDC)

Yamaha RXZ 135 FS xxxx D since 04/06/2008 till 12/06/2010

Honda Vtec 1 FS xxxx K since 29/12/2009

Its ok provided the bike is in great condition internally. Among the Vtec Specs..IMHO, this just about the best vtec I tried. But if you can get slightly cheaper, it be great! I knew for somene who jsut bought one for $5+ K.

The problem is that the 5K tag is for machine price not inclusive of insurance so I am aiming for 4K but I still find it ex lor.

Class 3 28/02/2003 (CDC)

Class 2B 21/05/2008 (BBDC)

Class 2A 18/08/2009 (BBDC)

Yamaha RXZ 135 FS xxxx D since 04/06/2008 till 12/06/2010

Honda Vtec 1 FS xxxx K since 29/12/2009

ah pek wat do u think of the Samco Sport Silicone Hoses?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143235

IMHO - I think nothing of it really. Should be a good product and believe its more reliable and aesthetic too. if you got $$$s to spare and it put a smile on your face after installation..it's ok I guess. :cool:

But think carefully what b4 u part with that lots of $s unnecessarily. The original coolant hose last easily 10 yrs (mine been 13 liao)..as long as your coolant system is taken care of.

The product cost 3 times or so more for a full setup and asked yourself how long you are keeping your bike. It makes good sense to pay for something that works just as well at much lower cost and covers the duration of your bike ownership.

May make a good selling point for your bike when come to resale..but a buyer like me won't want to pay for it if you up your selling price..I'm buying a bike, not coolant hose.:sian:

Stupid Hurts!.:giddy:Speed doesn't kill, mistakes does :faint:

BEER!...it's cheaper than fuel now! DRINK!..DON'T RIDE!

enquiries: volt meter reading 12.8v. spec 3 with alarm installed and voltmeter. Issit normal ? by installing alarm can cause battery to drain faster?

As long as a battery has that kind of reading, it's healthty. On the move in rpm, it should go higher than that but below 14-14.2 vdc...provided with voltmeter is a good one and for outdoor installation usage.

"alarm can cause battery to drain faster?.." anything that uses supply from the battery of course loads the battery. But "faster"..I don't understand..unless your alarm is a heavy current consumer.

hi, does anyone here try operating the header? how is the fc?

What u mean by operate huh?:sian:

hi, does anyone here try operating the header? how is the fc?

What u mean by operate huh?:sian:

i think what he meant was removing the cat. at the midpipe area just before its connected to the exhaust pipe..

i am using decat. headers.. my bike fc is about 20-23+km/l..

i not sure if sound of pipe will be louder or not.. if you want to louder pipe then the pipe lor..

hi there guys..i just bought my s4 vtec2..i experience dat every morning wen i start my bike for warm up theres dis ticking sound comes from the engine area..izit common??

n i also experience wen riding theres dis sort of loss in power of my bike.. need some advice here..

haha, i aready using yoshi endcan. just felt itch to mod the header. as wan to compare for e fc and the performance.

just better air flow, definity better performance

As long as a battery has that kind of reading, it's healthty. On the move in rpm, it should go higher than that but below 14-14.2 vdc...provided with voltmeter is a good one and for outdoor installation usage.

"alarm can cause battery to drain faster?.." anything that uses supply from the battery of course loads the battery. But "faster"..I don't understand..unless your alarm is a heavy current consumer.

thanks ah pek.... dats clear my doubts.... :cheeky:

qus , i had fren who's selling fuel addictive "power-z"

he told me very very good , but i never use fuel addictive before , just wanted to know will it shorten the life of my 9year old spec 1 ???

cos i heard like good spark plug like "iridium" will shorten life of engine .... old bikes better dont use etc .....

ta200 2003-2007

cb400 spec1 2007-now

i am using decat. headers.. my bike fc is about 20-23+km/l..

hi dragonforce, did the decat headers improve performance? how abt passing inspection? i was quoted $200+ for smth similar @ seng kwang and am considering going for it.

since i bought my bike it have been like this.. haha.. yes pass inspection.. if you interested i am intending to sell mine..

but i never use fuel addictive before , just wanted to know will it shorten the life of my 9year old spec 1 ???

cos i heard like good spark plug like "iridium" will shorten life of engine .... old bikes better dont use etc .....

i dunno who tell u all these nonsense de:faint:

how abt passing inspection? i was quoted $200+ for smth similar @ seng kwang and am considering going for it.

yeap can pass, but remember dun do anything to ur endcan or else can forget about passing inspection

hi.. can other version of super 4 tank fix onto version S? because i want to respray my bike but the bike shop doesnt have ver s tank..

It's Just A Matter of Want it or Need It?

i have someting to ask for the battery -ve if there is like white wax surrounding it is consider wat?cos now mine bike cant be start.

can i ask Yuasa YTZ10S-MF and the 7A wat the different.....

and as well as the price?

n oso is it a muz to change the rectifier n battery together?

Hi guys, need to ask some question about S4. Im quite new with this so i hope there are some out there that could help me. So here goes...

1) Heard that Vtec1 has some problem with rectifier. Is it true? Or some other S4 model that has that kind of problem. How much does it cost to repair it?

2) Heard/read about S4 owners doing 'grounding' on their bike. What does it do and if its good how much will cost?

3) What other stuff can you do to make S4 ride good again, let say if its been running almost to its COE life?

Thanks in advance. Cheers...:cheeky: