• Replies 7.7k

anyway first shipment is already sold out... probably have to wait for 2nd shipment... and as for the excel rims part... for DRZ-400-S it is quoted to be SGD$1,335.49 dunno whether is ours priced at that price heh...:cheeky: previous post was done without proper research

Hi all, I'm planning to get a DRZ SM and i could use a little help here.

1) Where can i get the most reasonably priced DRZ SM and how much does it cost?

2)I'm planning to get the black one and would like to change the tank to a 4 gallon type (IMS or Acerbis). Does those aftermarket tanks come in black and how much does it cost?

3) What's the maintenance of the bike like and it's petrol consumption?

4) Are they LTA approved Yoshis for this bike?

5) What is the most optimal way of breaking in the bike?

Much appreciated if the lao jiaos here can advise. Thanks.

Have bike will wheelie!

http://fapomatic.com/1030/papadum_bw.jpg

i'm not a lao jiao but this is the most i can answer for you

1) Where can i get the most reasonably priced DRZ SM and how much does it cost?

you have to shop around, maybe normalaspirated will be able to give you a better idea of where to get from the agent as it will be cheaper as said by him. normally it will be 13k OTR :goodluck:

2)I'm planning to get the black one and would like to change the tank to a 4 gallon type (IMS or Acerbis). Does those aftermarket tanks come in black and how much does it cost?

this one i don't know but erm... the bike is quite heavy already, putting a bigger tank means more weight... anyway to each of its own :smile:

3) What's the maintenance of the bike like and it's petrol consumption?

based on my little knowledge, change of engine oil and oil filter, lube the chain and it's relatively good to go. it's not a race ready machine. think DRZ-S with motard rims. consumption is about 22-25km/l if riding normally and not always going above 100km/h, nowadays speeding penalty is insane!

this one i don't know but why would you want to get one where it doesn't improve much performance except it'll probably cut weight only. is it because to compensate for the weight for the fuel tank? :D

5) What is the most optimal way of breaking in the bike?

some say follow the owner's guide, i personally feel, don't baby the bike. just rmeember to always give it time to warm up before riding during break in period. i think that's the most essential

kudos bugo for the insightful info. i think i go agent now take a look and ask around. :goodluck:

Have bike will wheelie!

http://fapomatic.com/1030/papadum_bw.jpg

oh yea.. and the stock pipe is really heavy, trust me.. R.C help me took it out to see whether is there still french fries inside and boy it was really like delivering a baby!

2) I'm planning to get the black one and would like to change the tank to a 4 gallon type (IMS or Acerbis). Does those aftermarket tanks come in black and how much does it cost?

Yes both brands are available in black. Incidentally, I have a fren letting go his excellent condition IMS 4gal tank in BLACK! :thumb:

Though not confirmed, ah tiang mentioned a road legal Pro Circuit full system for the DRZ. Juz have to wait and see I guess.

Originally posted by bugo@Jun 10 2005, 03:54 PM

oh yea.. and the stock pipe is really heavy, trust me.. R.C help me took it out to see whether is there still french fries inside and boy it was really like delivering a baby!

You forgot to mention that everyone got to carry your little baby b4 mounting it back on! :lol:

Guest rookie517
Originally posted by bugo@Jun 10 2005, 03:54 PM

guess u guys muz b hungry boy

i know i know... has anyone read about any ingenious ideas to remove the emission control system?

refer to this link in other words, this is also called the PAIR system

just remove it la

seems useless.. save some weight..haha

any idea where to get KTM hubs?

it fits the DRZ right? no need any mods or spacers?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-8369.gif

DRZ 400E 2000 model Rocks!

of course wanna remove lah.. it causes popping during deceleration... ok here is the procedure but need some advice on where to get the materials

Cut a piece of aluminum to match the PAIR's gasket and bolt it to the head and sealing the opening. On the carb side just cut the pipe and use a apropriate plug used in sprinkler systems.

what sprinkler system they are referring to over here? and then where to get such DIY stuff? ah biao? fulin? ah seng?

Originally posted by bugo@Jun 12 2005, 08:45 PM

of course wanna remove lah.. it causes popping during deceleration... ok here is the procedure but need some advice on where to get the materials

Cut a piece of aluminum to match the PAIR's gasket and bolt it to the head and sealing the opening. On the carb side just cut the pipe and use a apropriate plug used in sprinkler systems.

what sprinkler system they are referring to over here? and then where to get such DIY stuff? ah biao? fulin? ah seng?

I think you better ask the guys @ TT first before taking it out

ask what materials you will need too those

If I am riding a DRZ SM probably can help u..hahhaa :D

Originally posted by R.C.@Jun 10 2005, 04:40 PM

2) I'm planning to get the black one and would like to change the tank to a 4 gallon type (IMS or Acerbis). Does those aftermarket tanks come in black and how much does it cost?

Yes both brands are available in black. Incidentally, I have a fren letting go his excellent condition IMS 4gal tank in BLACK! :thumb:

Though not confirmed, ah tiang mentioned a road legal Pro Circuit full system for the DRZ. Juz have to wait and see I guess.

IF PC system can, then can try Big gun, FMF also :D

Got lobang for the Cycra Tank 2.6 Gal boh?

expensive to shipped them in:giddy:

ask liao.. waiting for reply.. maybe there might be a genious here already removed... still wondering what is that disturbing thing on the mikuni carb...

Originally posted by souldead81@Jun 12 2005, 08:52 PM

IF PC system can, then can try Big gun, FMF also :D

Got lobang for the Cycra Tank 2.6 Gal boh?

expensive to shipped them in:giddy:

Bo lobang lah. I buy 2nd hand unused one leh. Cheap cheap haha. BTW KTM hubs you'll need to machine spacers. Rook, give advise pls! :D

KJ.... the dark side calls.....

Good news is that KTM wheels do exist in the local 2nd hand market.

A skilled wheel builder will be able to balance the wheels nicely. Only thing that bothers me is got to use different sprocket and brake rotors.

you mean KJ is gonna be the sith lord's new apprentice? just an idea for those who's riding SM. it's totally stolen from R.C

if you realised, R.C had pasted some rough sticker on his frame to protect it from scratches from the boots. this is effective for boots only.(that's what i feel) if the frame comes in contact with asphalt, it's gonna be really "sweet"! so for just boots protection. maybe those kinda tank protector carbon fibre stickers will be able to do a good job and it's cheaper than carbon fibre frame guards which surely, there will be people stealing it from you... sticker.. if not the choice of alloy frame guards is still available. ah tiang have bought it from him. for me, i think i'll get the sliders for the forks and swingarm first and the carbon fibre stickers up first...

anyone have any idea where to get sliders for DRZ?

just for those who are interested in sliders!

sliders!

it's not cheap.. going for USD$79.95 front and rear.

maybe should replace the bar end with sliders as well...

hahha probably turn into darth vader end of the year or next LOL!!

spent too much time on road

btw Alan do you get Backfiring or pops after u remove CE and put PJ38 and PAS 5/8 turns?

They say slight popping is sign of a well tuned thumper

dunno mine is consider slight

High rev close throttle it will POP! follow blue flame and sometimes orange..hahahha wicked!

check plug no white only brown to black

KJ, normal riding hardly any pop on decel. When whacking hard the chop throttle... POP!!! Problem is I don't remember how much I opened the PAS. I estimate 70. Anyway the PAS so small, margin of error should be on the high side. Flame??? Wah how hard you revving??? I wanna see! I once saw an R1 using Yosh free rev until blue flame... the rev was HIGH. See? Street legal yosh also no spark arrestor hahaha

Ryan: I don't think frame guards were ever really meant to protect from impact/asphat. For off road riding, they increase surface surface are for the rider to "grip" the bike. The width of the bars and footpegs should prevent the frame from coming into direct contact with the road, in the event of a spill. (TOUCH WOOD)