hi all..may i know the difference between the types of aftermarket exhausts available in terms of performance, sound and pricing? i.e. leovince, delta, etc...

• Replies 7.7k

hi all..may i know the difference between the types of aftermarket exhausts available in terms of performance, sound and pricing? i.e. leovince, delta, etc...

what kinda aftermarket exhaust you looking for?? street legal or race systems??

street legal systems does offer a certain HP increase but dun expect too much.. a placebo effect with the sound increase just being able to justify your money worth..

race systems offer a decent amount of HP increase but daily usage poses potiential wallet lightening issues..

for DRZ, there's 2 race systems that offer decent power delivery: Yoshimura TRC titanium selling at abt S$1.4k and MRD SSW stainless steel selling at S$700 (shipping not included)..

Lastly, let's talk abt street legal exhausts.

Full systems are available in the following brands:

• Leo-Vince ($1.3k)
  • Delta ($1k)
  • Scorpion ($850)
  • GPR ($850)
  • Yoshimua ($1.8k)

lightest in weight will be Yoshimura as it's made of titanium.

IMO, will be the best st legal system for DRZ as Yoshi had been developing exhaust for Suzuki bikes.. sound wise, would be decent if you are talking abt the others having baffle in.. Yoshi does not have a baffle, less "hand-itchiness" issue for tempering the baffle for louder sound..

still dunno which one to get? do join the outings and ride outs to decide..

guys dont mind if i ask a few questions?

1) does drz break down often ?

2) whats a jd setting ah?

3) when do jd settings better to do togehter with 3x3 as well as changing the air fiter?

4) if buy 2nd hand, how to check if the above mods are done or not?

thanks in advnace !

as bro john mentioned. join the outings n u can make ur choice in 1 night with all the choices laid out n waiting for u to test it. or even see it being tested....:faint:

"when you open your mind to the impossible, sometimes you find the truth........" - Walter Bishop

thumb-yamaha-semakin-di-depan.jpg

btw does drz have any storage space? hahaha

mine hv, in a form of kappa box...:angel:

"when you open your mind to the impossible, sometimes you find the truth........" - Walter Bishop

1) does drz break down often ? not as far as i know2) whats a jd setting ah? it's ur carburator main jets that supply petrol n air to ur chamber.

3) when do jd settings better to do togehter with 3x3 as well as changing the air fiter? this is highly advisable as it's the optimised setup n combination otherwise no point doing half transformation.

4) if buy 2nd hand, how to check if the above mods are done or not? only way to find out is open up the carburator for jd jettings, open up sit for 3x3 n open up side board for air filter...

thanks in advnace !

hope this helps....

3) when do jd settings better to do togehter with 3x3 as well as changing the air fiter?

thanks in advnace !

the most common breakdown reason for DRZ would be the tube tyres i pressume.. other than that, rarely..

loctite the counter-spocket nut and stator bolts, grease the swingarm and steering cone as suggested at ThumperTalk to prevent any of these from failure..

do read back the pages to find out for ans to qns 2 and 3..

for qns 4, it's very hard to explain over the forum, do read up pages from Thumpertalk for the pictures for the mentioned mods..

else look out here for outings so that we can show you 'live' what does it looks like..

as bro john mentioned. join the outings n u can make ur choice in 1 night with all the choices laid out n waiting for u to test it. or even see it being tested....:faint:

haha.. now you know it..

all are lurking quietly here..

with regards to qns 3, the main reason is because you dun wanna waste time, money and effort to tune the bike.. so doing everything together would be wiser..

Go to Tuas track on a Sunday morning... can hear all the pipes and see their perfomance. Then ask the owners about the prices.

Everything you want to know about performance parts... and whether they work... can be seen at the tracks.

Go to Tuas track on a Sunday morning... can hear all the pipes and see their perfomance. Then ask the owners about the prices.

Everything you want to know about performance parts... and whether they work... can be seen at the tracks.

Uncle.. it's the rider not the bike..

i ride your 470, you taking your stock Z.. confirm still cannot catch up..

so mean the stock exhaust is most powderful meh?? haha.. :angel:

haha.. now you know it..

all are lurking quietly here..

with regards to qns 3, the main reason is because you dun wanna waste time, money and effort to tune the bike.. so doing everything together would be wiser..

true true bro. that's y i accidentally chg those n yes, less effort to retune n tune....its plug n play rather than plug n pray....:cheeky:

i also contribute a bit.

1) No, nv given up on me yet:cheeky:

2) Its a set of jettings for your carburetor, i using normal jets btw:angel:

If u willing to pay for JD, go for it

3) Re-jetting of carb should be done wif 3x3 to maximise the bike performance and balance the A/F ratio, u dun wanna let ur bike running too lean:sian:

Remember to remove ur pair valve if u have it.

4) 3x3 easy to see, jetting wise u go service carb n ask the mech to check lor

bro, hvn't do jetting ah? like me, after done, i think nvr regret cos feel shiok until can't remember how much it costs......:cry:

no la i havent even get the bike hahah! how much is the above mods den? rough fgures?

stock jettings works well with stock exhaust and filter..

if you changing jettings, filter and exhaust, it'll minus abt $1.5k (JD jettings, K&N filter and Scorpion FS)..

Insurance/safety accessories: MCCT, Sliders and case savers.

Abt $300 for the full set..

Kindly check the advertiser thread for actual prices..

oh thanks! 3x3 mod how much den? wa lidat get 2nd hand better deal hor.

3X3 mod is free if you DIY..

just simply enlarge your airbox inlet to 3inch by 3inch, using cutter..

stock jettings works well with stock exhaust and filter..

bro,

currently my bike has been tuned for a yoshi pipe. its got K&N filter, 3x3 done (If im not wrong) and Yoshi jettings. Im not intending to change my pipe anytime soon however.

so shd i change my jettings back to stock, or would you reccommend going for the JD jettings ? cos right now the bike feels awful letting too air much air thru...

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20

bro,

currently my bike has been tuned for a yoshi pipe. its got K&N filter, 3x3 done (If im not wrong) and Yoshi jettings. Im not intending to change my pipe anytime soon however.

so shd i change my jettings back to stock, or would you reccommend going for the JD jettings ? cos right now the bike feels awful letting too air much air thru...

if i'm not wrong, there's no Yoshi jettings..

or you meant had done jettings for Yoshi..?

IMO, Yoshimura is the best street legal exhaust for DRZ already.. you shouldnt be changing unless you talking abt race systems..

how do you know that you have too much air(running lean)?

a lot of backfiring during deceleration and closing throttle??

exhaust very hot, melting the exhaust slider??

as mentioned, JD jetting is a plug and play set.. rather than a plug and pray..

using other jettings needs to play abt with the MJ sizes and changing to #25 PJ..

JD kit jets are precise cuz they're machined properly.. other brandless jets may serve the same purpose but may not be exact 160 as printed..

it's really up to yourself if you wanna do it good.. JD jettings, IMO is still quite value for money.. comparing to $80 normal jettings which you may or may not be spending more when you have problems after jetting..

so far, most if not all JD jettings users only needa play with the air/fuel ratio needle after installing it..

if i'm not wrong, there's no Yoshi jettings..

or you meant had done jettings for Yoshi..?

IMO, Yoshimura is the best street legal exhaust for DRZ already.. you shouldnt be changing unless you talking abt race systems..

how do you know that you have too much air(running lean)?

a lot of backfiring during deceleration and closing throttle??

exhaust very hot, melting the exhaust slider??

as mentioned, JD jetting is a plug and play set.. rather than a plug and pray..

using other jettings needs to play abt with the MJ sizes and changing to #25 PJ..

JD kit jets are precise cuz they're machined properly.. other brandless jets may serve the same purpose but may not be exact 160 as printed..

it's really up to yourself if you wanna do it good.. JD jettings, IMO is still quite value for money.. comparing to $80 normal jettings which you may or may not be spending more when you have problems after jetting..

so far, most if not all JD jettings users only needa play with the air/fuel ratio needle after installing it..

The most impt thing in the JD jet kit is the needle jet...the mainjets are normal jets.

haha.. yes.. i forgotten.. you cant buy these needles anywhere..

thanks for the advices guys.

cos i got the bike with the stock exhaust. but according to teh owner it has been tuned for Yoshi. and since im not intending to get an aftermkt pipe anytime soon i tot of going back to the stock jettings. cos teh ride jus doesnt feel good at the moment.

im jus wondering if to get the OEM jettings for the DRZ or invest in JD straight way.

yup... moolah is obvoiusly an issue. not looking for other aftermkt jetting brands actually.

btw, any good shop to reccommend for gettings the jettings done ?

SH*T HAPPENS!

Pick It Up. Start It. Ride It.

picasaweb.google.com/nineh20