Originally posted by hardrider@May 21 2005, 10:11 AM

Caught the sickness... Suspect it's a terminal case.... :lol:

I agree man! Its sick! StarWarsII™ and sKy1iNE will agree with us as well. Short ownership of a month or two and they've splurged! Not to mention bugo, gasgasx and ah tiang already bought their 1st accessory! :D

The spending juz keeps going on from here my friends! :thumb:

• Replies 7.7k

Originally posted by gasgasx@May 21 2005, 10:25 AM

i was thinking of changing the handlebar for the drz sm. the present bar doesn't suits my height at 1.8. was thinking of either Tag metal or maybe Renthal bar.

care to give some suggestion?

No preference for bars but I'm using a Taper. SM riding doesn't make the bars take tough punishment like offroad rides so would guess any oversized bars (aka 1 1/8" fat bars) will work for you. Juz get a matching bar clamp set. Tag T2 would be value for money. They have a box set that includes both + a bar pad.

talking about bars since it affects maybe a bit of handling as well.. is it neccessary for triple clamps? i'm quite satisfied with the current handling actually.. maybe few months later i might beg to differ...

Originally posted by bugo@May 21 2005, 10:35 AM

talking about bars since it affects maybe a bit of handling as well.. is it neccessary for triple clamps? i'm quite satisfied with the current handling actually.. maybe few months later i might beg to differ...

Usually ppl change triple clamps to get a certain offset. Not cheap to juz look cool! :D Oversized bars are known to be tougher.

BTW bugo, what is your fuel consumption like? Interested to know.

the grip sucks!

after riding arnd last nite, my palm hurts man!

http://i11.photobucket.com/albums/a158/ronnyz/img4632dd74849fe.jpg

Not sure abt the new S or SM but the E model has a one piece throttle & grip. You have to either slice the rubber portion off with a pen knife or replace the whole throttle tube so you can fit regular grips next time.

Originally posted by R.C.@May 21 2005, 10:45 AM

Usually ppl change triple clamps to get a certain offset. Not cheap to juz look cool! :D Oversized bars are known to be tougher.

BTW bugo, what is your fuel consumption like? Interested to know.

the last time i measured was 25km/l but now i think it's bad... after that night at kayu.. i tend to whack it a bit more... like faster throttling and maintaining higher rpm before shifting to higher gear.. i realised whatever the owner's manual recommended to shift the gear at a certain speed makes the engine cough... ithink now it's pretty high.. maybe about 20km/l will let you know from my next refuel

Originally posted by ah tiang@May 21 2005, 10:55 AM

the grip sucks!

after riding arnd last nite, my palm hurts man!

ok lar... it's a bit rough... virgin mah...

just for your info as what rookie517 shared with me.. if you realised, the clutch cable and the throttle cable, tend to stress your brake hose a bit.. especially the throttle cable, both are lying on top of the brake hose... so rookie517 asked me to switch the throttle one to the bottom of the brake hose... meaning the throttle cable will be nearer to you rather than between your headlight cover and your brake hose.

then as for the clutch one is i anyhow whack with his theory about it... because i realised everytime i clutch in, the cable will push the brake hose down.. so i don't want anything to happen to either one of them so i decided to shift the layout of the clutch cable as well...

therefore, the layout of the throttle cable and the clutch cable is below the brake hose and nearer to the rider instead of the brake hose then the respective cables then the headlight cover. got it? dunno.. then maybe we should have an outing soon! ahahahahaha

Guest rookie517
Originally posted by bugo@May 21 2005, 01:00 PM

the last time i measured was 25km/l but now i think it's bad... after that night at kayu.. i tend to whack it a bit more... like faster throttling and maintaining higher rpm before shifting to higher gear.. i realised whatever the owner's manual recommended to shift the gear at a certain speed makes the engine cough... ithink now it's pretty high.. maybe about 20km/l will let you know from my next refuel

just run in like there is no tomolo

then ya piston will seat in better.

just dun baby it.

Originally posted by rookie517@May 21 2005, 01:03 PM

just run in like there is no tomolo

then ya piston will seat in better.

just dun baby it.

got lar... got baby a bit.. then got whack a bit also... especially when overtaking lor.. i find that it's impossible to overtake those lorry carrying gravel and sand... wah lao.. i'm like their target board when i rode behind them and they were roosting me! what makes it worse... it's an everyday affair....

Originally posted by bugo@May 21 2005, 09:52 AM

this is a general gentle warning to all that's intending to get a suzuki drz400sm. please don't buy this bike.... it has this.....

sick effect that makes you wanna fork out more money from your wallet to mod the bike because it's like there's so many things that can be done and it's driving me crazy! (not saying that the bike is problematic, just that it unleashes your imagination of "if i add this, i can get this etc etc." and it's more than just changing pipes) have anyone caught that sickness yet?

haha... not onli drz but SM makes you want to spend more $$$. just payed $2200 for mywheels without tires yet. and have spend like $1500 for my brakes system. and exhaust .....etc. and all dis is done under table so that my wife dont find out.... if not sure kena slaughter ALIVE man!!

oh yes one more thing, if you wish to try out more tires choice just back it in on every corner (slide in, drift in) sure within 2 months you can change you tires!!:cheeky: :cheeky: :cheeky:

i fergot to take the manual! :giddy:

ok lar... it's a bit rough... virgin mah...

just for your info as what rookie517 shared with me.. if you realised, the clutch cable and the throttle cable, tend to stress your brake hose a bit.. especially the throttle cable, both are lying on top of the brake hose... so rookie517 asked me to switch the throttle one to the bottom of the brake hose... meaning the throttle cable will be nearer to you rather than between your headlight cover and your brake hose.

then as for the clutch one is i anyhow whack with his theory about it... because i realised everytime i clutch in, the cable will push the brake hose down.. so i don't want anything to happen to either one of them so i decided to shift the layout of the clutch cable as well...

therefore, the layout of the throttle cable and the clutch cable is below the brake hose and nearer to the rider instead of the brake hose then the respective cables then the headlight cover. got it? dunno.. then maybe we should have an outing soon! ahahahahaha

really dun understand.. :sweat:

Originally posted by hardrider@May 21 2005, 10:11 AM

Caught the sickness... Suspect it's a terminal case.... :lol:

hahahhaa I caught it too 2 yrs ago

till now havent recover!!!!

my jets are on the way

and I got the P-38 lightning...hahaha

hotcams Stage 2 intake next up!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/av-8369.gif

DRZ 400E 2000 model Rocks!

Originally posted by R.C.@May 21 2005, 10:27 AM

I agree man! Its sick! StarWarsII™ and sKy1iNE will agree with us as well. Short ownership of a month or two and they've splurged! Not to mention bugo, gasgasx and ah tiang already bought their 1st accessory! :D

hahhaa better dont visit thumpertalk more often if not more mods..whahah :D

Guest rookie517
Originally posted by bugo@May 21 2005, 01:08 PM

got lar... got baby a bit.. then got whack a bit also... especially when overtaking lor.. i find that it's impossible to overtake those lorry carrying gravel and sand... wah lao.. i'm like their target board when i rode behind them and they were roosting me! what makes it worse... it's an everyday affair....

why cannot overetake?

just drop a gear, rev it up and overtake the truck!

Originally posted by ah tiang@May 21 2005, 01:43 PM

i fergot to take the manual! :giddy:

please collect it from the bike shop.. got some valuable information... :D

Originally posted by rookie517@May 21 2005, 04:24 PM

why cannot overetake?

just drop a gear, rev it up and overtake the truck!

i trying to ride a fast bike slow ma....

Originally posted by souldead81@May 21 2005, 03:39 PM

hahahhaa I caught it too 2 yrs ago

till now havent recover!!!!

my jets are on the way

and I got the P-38 lightning...hahaha

hotcams Stage 2 intake next up!

KJ, P38 = taffy mod!!!!

But the taffy mod is damn leceh to do.

Originally posted by R.C.@May 21 2005, 10:27 AM

p.s: KJ, whats the p38 thing abt?

Originally posted by bugo@May 21 2005, 08:33 PM

please collect it from the bike shop.. got some valuable information... :D

they misplaced the manual :giddy:

gonna collect it frm them next week.. :sian:

Originally posted by hardrider@May 21 2005, 11:28 PM

KJ, P38 = taffy mod!!!!

But the taffy mod is damn leceh to do.

ya, must get the collar all those I dont know where to find

must as well spent the $$$ and get P-38 :D

somemore red color nice!

I think Foxracing has it on his carb

Starwars ah - like hardrider has say P-38 = Taffy mod but not adjustable

The P38 came with the bike leh. Didn't do anything abt it. And I think its time for you to consider changing to smaller wheels since you travel everyday on the bike? :D