hey crazydj, so you get a YBR 125 in the end? Can share with me what makes you finally choose that bike?

I am currently in a very similar dilemma as what you were in. Ha.. I am 1.8m and 80kg as well. ha. Looking for a bike that doesn't cost too ex for machine and looks acceptable. Hopefully less maintenance...Currently keeping a lookout for phantom ta200, pulsar and Honda CBF150.

Why did I become a rider?

This is just my humble and modest attempt to live within my means.

Not to forget the wind, the freedom, the joy, the sun, the ride.

2B TP: 18-03-2009 passed

• Replies 58

your tw fc 15 only?? think typo lol . .

it is 15. shock rite. i different carb and different sprocket. So ya it is 15click. i see already also sians. BUT i still like TW. I think if dun do anything stock bike should get ard 20click/L

hey crazydj, so you get a YBR 125 in the end? Can share with me what makes you finally choose that bike?

I am currently in a very similar dilemma as what you were in. Ha.. I am 1.8m and 80kg as well. ha. Looking for a bike that doesn't cost too ex for machine and looks acceptable. Hopefully less maintenance...Currently keeping a lookout for phantom ta200, pulsar and Honda CBF150.

Actually bro. It all boils down to money. Well, for me that is. I have a problem getting a gurantor. My parents and siblings REFUSE to be my gurantors. Even worse, my own brother said this to me, "I will not FUND your DEATH." So i didnt have a choice but to pay for my bike in full cash.

I had to think far la bro. So i saved all my NS money, plus all the maintenance to last me at least 3 years. But not easy for me really. Ever since i entered NS, i saved up my money like siao. I rarely eat lunch at work and always go home. I rarely go out with my friends and even if i do, i will control my spending.

If i had the money, i would get the Yammie FZ150I or the Bajaj Pulsar 180. Up to you seriously. I learnt alot from the guys on SingaporeBikes.com and my rider friends. Think through of what bike you wanna get and how it would suit your lifestyle. Good luck on your hunt bro!

EDIT: Oh yeah, congrats on passing your 2B bro!

Edited by crazydj

5) Suit my size (1.82m, 80kg)------>suit and fit

I beg to differ, I'm 1.78m & occasionally did get cramps on the phantom.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Bro, that advice was invaluable!

My parents were , erm, rather unsupportive on my biking issue (I don't blame them, as in if i have children of my own, i most likely would be unsupportive too if they want to ride). Which literally means that I have to provide my own fundings as well. Since I am currently schooling, all my money came from NS, and the part time tuitions that I have been giving. It is hard-earned-and-saved money.

I guess that is why this dilemma of the 'first bike' is much bigger. Having too many unrealistic expectations that cannot be all realised within THE budget. Ha. I guess I will still keep a lookout for a bike, but like what you said, I would focus more on the budget. Ha. Whichever makes me feel more comfortable.

Btw, how much did you spend in total to get the YBR? Is around 2k a realistic amount of money? (I admit that I am rather skeptical of those below 1k honda SP which has too many hints of hidden repair cost ) From forum bros or shop?

Bro, that advice was invaluable!

My parents were , erm, rather unsupportive on my biking issue (I don't blame them, as in if i have children of my own, i most likely would be unsupportive too if they want to ride). Which literally means that I have to provide my own fundings as well. Since I am currently schooling, all my money came from NS, and the part time tuitions that I have been giving. It is hard-earned-and-saved money.

I guess that is why this dilemma of the 'first bike' is much bigger. Having too many unrealistic expectations that cannot be all realised within THE budget. Ha. I guess I will still keep a lookout for a bike, but like what you said, I would focus more on the budget. Ha. Whichever makes me feel more comfortable.

Btw, how much did you spend in total to get the YBR? Is around 2k a realistic amount of money? (I admit that I am rather skeptical of those below 1k honda SP which has too many hints of hidden repair cost ) From forum bros or shop?

Bro. I got it all for just below 2.9k. My insurance is $900+. NTUC. The problem is insurance for me. Way too expensive. For that price i got 2 free helmet, 1 raincoat, change of spark plug, new battery, comes with free box can fit 2 helmets. I was kinda lucky. My bike if people looked at it without looking at the plate they would have thought it was a new bike.

Just be patient man. I was. Slowly recee shop after shop till you get a good deal. And always go with someone who is experienced in the biking world. Best of luck bro!

EDIT: Oh yeah i forgot to mention. Don't forget to get the blessings from your parents. Most of my friends who secretly ride without their parents knowledge has gotten in some serious accidents. Because of the fact that your ride is a secret, that could mean that you cannot ride with a clear conscience and mind. My mum actually offered to GIVE me half of the money for a first hand bike because she didnt want me to be on some cheap and unrealiable machine. But i refused because i know she will use it against me one day.

And also, if you ever decide to go for installments, pay as much downpayment as you possibly can. Or even better, borrow from your parents or something. Better to pay them back than the financial company with interest!

Edited by crazydj

My insurance is $900+. NTUC.

Wow. How come your insurance is $900+? I thought normal 3rd party is around $300-400? Is yours 3rd party? I haven't check it out myself though, so i am very noOb regarding insurance.

But I agree with you that having my parents approval at least would be much better than without. ha. oh.. and, did you have to bargain for the helmets, box, etc yourself? Or did they include it in for you?

just to use ur thread;

Is it advisable to get a KRR150 or SP or pulsar for me.

on the obese side, getting for a transport bike, thinking of changing to class 2A when I get 2A licsene, which is very long from now.

and where to get quotes for insurances.

just a student, hoping to get a bike once i grad.

Road hogger @ 50km/h on 4th lane :cool:

A bike can go up till 200km/h, can the rider go up till 200km/h o_O

Wow. How come your insurance is $900+? I thought normal 3rd party is around $300-400? Is yours 3rd party? I haven't check it out myself though, so i am very noOb regarding insurance.

But I agree with you that having my parents approval at least would be much better than without. ha. oh.. and, did you have to bargain for the helmets, box, etc yourself? Or did they include it in for you?

Third party. That's all. I wanted to go for AXA but i was one month too young.

And the helmets and raincoat of course have to bargain. The bike come with box already then my friend help me ask for raincoat and 2 helmets.

just to use ur thread;

on the obese side, getting for a transport bike, thinking of changing to class 2A when I get 2A licsene, which is very long from now.

If i were you, i would go for the pulsar. Looks and feel like a big bike. I was actually considering to get it myself. And you wont look so weird on it. I've seen fat dudes on a KR, and its not a pretty sight... Just my 2 cents worth!

just to use ur thread;

the insurance for sp and kips will be enough to get you another bike esp for new p plater like you.

and even so, machine price for the two bike might be $800 - $2000 (based on what i see in the used bike section), but what about the hidden cost? need any repair anot? need to top up 2T regularly. most are old bike that have been whacked and quite a petrol drinker.

肥仔七åƒå·

the insurance for sp and kips will be enough to get you another bike esp for new p plater like you.

and even so, machine price for the two bike might be $800 - $2000 (based on what i see in the used bike section), but what about the hidden cost? need any repair anot? need to top up 2T regularly. most are old bike that have been whacked and quite a petrol drinker.

I remember i went to two different shops along the stretch of Changi Rd. I was quoted 3.8K plus nearly 4k plus for a 10 year old RXZ for both shops. I don't know whether the shopw were trying to chop my carrot but they both quoted my 3rd party insurance to be about 1.3k plus. I might as well wait and save up for a new bike. Madness man.

Hi may i know around how much does a second hand pulsar 180, with 3-4yrs COE left, cost? i seriously know nuts about bike, need help. And around how much is the insurance for a 19yr old P plate like me?

pulsar only reach singapore shore for 4-5 years leh. unless is transferred plate, i dont think got any pulsar with COE expiring liao.

肥仔七åƒå·

pulsar only reach singapore shore for 4-5 years leh. unless is transferred plate, i dont think got any pulsar with COE expiring liao.

oh thanks:). so the oldest i can get is left with ard 5-6 yrs COE?

around how much for bike shop anyone know, and the insurance for 19yr old.

i see online roughly ppl sellin 2.5-3k. will shops be the same?

should be there lah. most pulsar i see on the road is fba to fbd. oldest plate i see is fz and that should be registered in 2005...

shop should be selling from 3k-4k range. plus insurance, transfer fee, road tax etc... might add up to 5k +/-.

insurance if you are getting 3rd party, should be 500-600? i not too sure about this. either you check with someone around your age to estimate or call up the insurance company for a quotation.

hope that helps. :cool:

肥仔七åƒå·

Since you are trying to get a 2nd hand pulsar, i believe budget is 1 of your key areas of consideration? Honestly, imHo, getting a 2nd pulsar might not be a good choice. Coz the machine price is more or less around 2k-3k range. plus insurance, road tax and stuff, can easily be 3k - 4k. Somemore sometimes you need to change here change there... With the same amount of money, you can get another bike like YBR or Phantom or kup and do up until real nice.

Unless you are a pulsar fan, you should seriously consider other bikes as well. Don't limit yourself too early =)

should be there lah. most pulsar i see on the road is fba to fbd. oldest plate i see is fz and that should be registered in 2005...

shop should be selling from 3k-4k range. plus insurance, transfer fee, road tax etc... might add up to 5k +/-.

insurance if you are getting 3rd party, should be 500-600? i not too sure about this. either you check with someone around your age to estimate or call up the insurance company for a quotation.

hope that helps. :cool:

Thanks alot dude.

that's actually quite ex for me. actually izit safe to buy frm other ppl. Because i know nuts about bike. any advise wad to look out for when buyin frm individual instead of shops? Possible to get under 3.5k not?

sory for so much questions.

Since you are trying to get a 2nd hand pulsar, i believe budget is 1 of your key areas of consideration? Honestly, imHo, getting a 2nd pulsar might not be a good choice. Coz the machine price is more or less around 2k-3k range. plus insurance, road tax and stuff, can easily be 3k - 4k. Somemore sometimes you need to change here change there... With the same amount of money, you can get another bike like YBR or Phantom or kup and do up until real nice.

Unless you are a pulsar fan, you should seriously consider other bikes as well. Don't limit yourself too early =)

Thanks for the advice, u made me more open to other bike, one of the main reason for me lookin for pulsar is because of its f/c and big in size. Anway i heard pulsar parts are ex, m i right?

i'm not really into kup. But my aim is nice lookin and f/c. any suggestions?

really thanks for the great help guys!

Thanks alot dude.

that's actually quite ex for me. actually izit safe to buy frm other ppl. Because i know nuts about bike. any advise wad to look out for when buyin frm individual instead of shops? Possible to get under 3.5k not?

sory for so much questions.

risk is perceived differently by people so safe to me might not be safe to you? but anyway if the owner is bad, he might wack his bike before selling, and change all the good part with his friends. but likewise, bike shop also can do up the exterior until nice nice but inside abit "chui" liao. then they say give you warranty, so you have no choice but to go back to them. then they come out with some pattern then make you pay and pay. BUT of cos, not every owner and shop behave that way. that might be scaring you off, but of cos this is the minority lah. it's better to get to know the worst case scenario first.

things to look out for ah... look at the exterior, see got any tell tale sign of being in accident etc anot. then on the engine, see if it has any problem starting from cold, sit on the bike, go for a test ride or ask him pillion you, get a feel of the bike. other than that, i dunno how to check also. most of the things that are important are not very visible to our eyes and need time to tell.

the two most important and costly when purchasing the bike is the insurance and the machine price itself. so you need to roughly know what is your expected insurance premium first, then from there you can gauge how much you should look at for the bike itself.

Anway i heard pulsar parts are ex, m i right?

no doubt it is slightly more costly, but those part are original parts...

i rode my pulsar for the past 1 year plus, and i have yet to change any part from their official distributor cos most of the things like spark plug, spocket, chain can be replaced by aftermarket 1.

i would say pulsar is a good bike, like a good wife always trying to save money for you. but by doing that, she become a bit yellow faced (cos it lack of top speed, so cant give you the thrill)

phantom is another good bike as well. that was the bike i wanted to get initially but couldn't find any nice 1 and i end up walking past pulsar and its look attracted me.

肥仔七åƒå·

pruss 1! :angel:

The information contained in this post, including any attachments,may contain confidential information Copy of this post for any purpose other than viewing for entertainment is not allowed & shall encur a fine of no less than $500 & any court costs required. The courts take copyright violations seriously. Think twice.

Thanks for the advice, u made me more open to other bike, one of the main reason for me lookin for pulsar is because of its f/c and big in size. Anway i heard pulsar parts are ex, m i right?

i'm not really into kup. But my aim is nice lookin and f/c. any suggestions?

really thanks for the great help guys!

If you want to buy from people, I suggest you try to get a price that is below your budget by around $200. Coz with $200 you can actually change quite a lot of small parts already. Else you should try to get someone who knows at least a bit about bikes to go with you.

When I was buying, I avoided sportsbike and those zhng-ed yamaha x1. You might want to get phantom. $1400 can get most good conditioned 6-7 yr old phantom, if not all. If you are lucky, below $2000 you can get a good and working phantom otr.

Don't mind me asking, but are you a girl? Beucase there was this one girl from my school 2 years back names Jing Wen. Haha.