• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

am still trying to sell my pair of new tuono mirrors.......anyone interested? pls PM me. orginals.......one side is brand new, the other side is fr the bike

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Mar 19 2005, 11:40 AM

Got your license already ah?

$650 for a 7 year old bike? I would say that is a steal... Maybe even suspiciously so... FP or FQ plate? Replica model right?

First, fuel indicator.. Not impt. Y2K model doesn't even have that. Works perfectly fine. Just take note of how far you travel after each top up, and go pump before it's dry.. Can count one lah...

Lap indicator... Not impt either, unless you going to track.. Or you're one crazy kid who takes timing around the carpark... Hmmm... Gilakia... Ok, maybe impt for you..

Valve keeps detaching??? I have no idea what that means, but that can't be good. At all.

Suspension... Can be adjusted, i think..

All in, $650 is good value.. Think even if you do repairs for the above, still come up to quite cheap..

But are those the only problems? How does the engine feel?

Not true.

I accompanied amonamarth to view an Aprilia being sold by Kaizer's friend. The condition was so bad, restoration work itself would cost over $2,500.

Full fairing set ($550), stock Aprilia rear shock ($350), clocks (speedo, tacho, digital readout all dont work - $600), clutch and pressure plates, chain & sprockets, brake pads, tires, rebleeding of brakelines, rebuilding front fork, rewrap of seats, and a lot of other details....

Guess what was the seller's asking price - a ridiculous $1,400. No bike shop would even offer him $400 if he traded in.

That would come up to about $4,000 for a bike that has 3 years left on the road.

Be wary about dodgy deals like that. Everyone will always try to paint a rosy picture, but you gotta dig deep and find the dirt. It will save you a lot of money and heartache.

A seller can tell you things like, "oh, it was like that when I get the bike..."

That's stupid. If it was already broken, fix it. If he was the one who broke it, fix it. Else he should have gotten a lower price for something broken. If you're dumb enough to get ripped off, dont try to rip someone else off.

I dont mince my words and I call a spade a spade. I expect to be treated the same way, with brutal honesty and no patronising. Buying a bike is serious business. Something faulty could cost you your life. Make sure you get what you're looking for, dont compromise.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Originally posted by lacrimosae@Mar 19 2005, 09:39 PM

Not true.

I accompanied amonamarth to view an Aprilia being sold by Kaizer's friend. The condition was so bad, restoration work itself would cost over $2,500.

Full fairing set ($550), stock Aprilia rear shock ($350), clocks (speedo, tacho, digital readout all dont work - $600), clutch and pressure plates, chain & sprockets, brake pads, tires, rebleeding of brakelines, rebuilding front fork, rewrap of seats, and a lot of other details....

Guess what was the seller's asking price - a ridiculous $1,400. No bike shop would even offer him $400 if he traded in.

That would come up to about $4,000 for a bike that has 3 years left on the road.

Be wary about dodgy deals like that. Everyone will always try to paint a rosy picture, but you gotta dig deep and find the dirt. It will save you a lot of money and heartache.

A seller can tell you things like, "oh, it was like that when I get the bike..."

That's stupid. If it was already broken, fix it. If he was the one who broke it, fix it. Else he should have gotten a lower price for something broken. If you're dumb enough to get ripped off, dont try to rip someone else off.

I dont mince my words and I call a spade a spade. I expect to be treated the same way, with brutal honesty and no patronising. Buying a bike is serious business. Something faulty could cost you your life. Make sure you get what you're looking for, dont compromise.

haha.. very well said... alot of ppl spoil their bikes and when selling off time, it automatically becomes "the prev owner spoilt it"

Originally posted by afiqmufc86+-->
QUOTE (afiqmufc86)
Wat 2T to use for RS125[/b]

Don't you know? The secret to clean power valves is Unil-Opal Titanium 2T, available from lacrimosae (Lawrence).

Law, so how many stickers do I get for that free promotion? Heheheh

Originally posted by fibre@

not really, if you are free enough to source and experiment with new needles u could get the best of both worlds

That sounds promising enough to invest time in; thanks for all the info fibre.

Originally posted by gilakia@Mar 19 2005, 09:07 AM

Hey guys! I'm gonna be taking a look at this 7 yr old RS 125 later. Just need some of your wise input on these issues:

The bike is being sold at $650, but with some items spoilt.

The Items are as follows :

a. Spoilt fuel indicator

b. Lap button spoilt

c. Valve keeps detaching

d. Suspension needs to be less stiff

I'm just wondering whether this one would be a good buy and it'd be cheaper to get these things fixed rather than look at another bike from a dealer / owner that is perfectly fine......

Dude, the best is call one of the guys who have an aprilia to go down and view the bike with you. Anyway, good luck in finding one, do not rush into buying a bike, take your time and slowly look around for a good one. You pay so much, you deserve a bike thats in good condition.

Always be prepared.

ahh. so Ben and Chris, see ya guys 2pm @ Ah Boy tml for the tire change..

anyone wanna change tire, just come along ba..

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Thanks Chin Guan aka eyz for coming down with us(me & muser) and helping us to bargain with ah boy about the tyre prices.

Chris, relex man.. at least you had the punctured tire changed, i hope ah boy gave you a freebie or something when u went back to **** him up(i heard he waited for you outside the shop for you to come back :thumb: ).

PS:marcus(fspider), it was nice meeting you , though din't have much time to talk to you...another time perhaps.

Always be prepared.

Originally posted by SafetyCar@Mar 19 2005, 02:55 AM

william is a good mech....

he did some stuff for me when he was at sin ming....

==============================

Hi..... I second your opinion.... I send my bike to William tooo.......:thumb:

yah about william u guys can go to him for stuffs he gd in his skill but as he workin solo u cant expect him to rush things up.. :cheeky:

he working from 11am++ till 10++ pm i went to him only last few wk cheers for him !!! :cheer: :cheer:

2002-2003 -->aprilia Rs125

2002-2005 -->honda Ta200

2003-2008 -->aprilia Rs250

2006-2008 -->honda ta150

15 jan2008 - 5 Apr 2012 --> x8 400ie

5 Apr 2012 - now --> busa the falcon..

Hie ppz... juz need to ask abt my bike.... Todae encounter a major problem.... while goin up steep slope with 1st gear.... throttle full already but still loose power.... wat might be the problem??? When Moving Off also.... the throttle fuill already but still not much power... i usually close throttle n throttle again... den sumtin sudden surge of power.... Need ur guyz help? wat should i do???

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j64/afiqmufc86/BIKES.jpg

03/2005 -08/2005 Aprilia RS125 (RIP)

04/2006- 08/2006 GSXR400 RR FM*2*2Z (SCRAPED)

09/2006 - 01/2010 Super Four CB400 VTEC I

01/2010 - 12/2011 RXZ Yamaha 135

03/2012 - 06/2015 Suzuki DL1000K8 V-Storm

06/2015- Present Honda VFR1200x CrossTourer

Originally posted by amonamarth

Chris, relex man.. at least you had the punctured tire changed, i hope ah boy gave you a freebie or something when u went back to **** him up(i heard he waited for you outside the shop for you to come back).

Even better than a freebie, I got my money back. Now that I've been minimally compensated for my time - ie, got refund - I'm happy and chilled out.

But in case there are others out there who are considering both buying tyres from Ah Boy and getting them fitted at his workshop, and are looking for some advice, I'd like to share my experience today. Those of you who either already know, don't care, or disagree, this is not for you:

Ah Boy's workshop is more poorly equipped than my old NS army workshop. Bike stand? Forget it- they use brick or plank to prop up your side stand a bit, then use flimsy portable jack, not wheeled jack, to raise your bike.

Everything is also filthy: Yes, bikes are greasy machines but there are plenty of clean workshops out there. A clean workshop reflects a mechanic's pride in his work. It's also about safety- not just for people but for your bike. Slip, slide, bang... sssorry hor? I don't think so.

Go there are your own risk. I don't recommend it.

In case you're wondering why I wanted a refund: Ah Boy's style is pay upfront, then collect goods. I was there to buy front and back tyres. He said tyres got stock, so I pay. At his workshop, my rear wheel already dismantled, he says front tyre no stock.

So I made sure I got a refund for the cost of the front tyre. And perhaps part of the reason Ah Boy parted with the money is that I obviously pissed off. But I got pissed of knowing that it was the only way I'd get a refund. It's a small issue, after all; no stock then no stock lor. But I simply don't appreciate having my time wasted, especially when I'm asked to pay upfront, and it's unfortunate in the world that often, only mad customers get their way.

Originally posted by afiqmufc86@Mar 20 2005, 10:35 PM

Hie ppz... juz need to ask abt my bike.... Todae encounter a major problem.... while goin up steep slope with 1st gear.... throttle full already but still loose power.... wat might be the problem??? When Moving Off also.... the throttle fuill already but still not much power... i usually close throttle n throttle again... den sumtin sudden surge of power.... Need ur guyz help? wat should i do???

Better get your clutch checked out.

Chris,

I saw you hulking towards the LAB shopfront and thought you were about to have yourself a mega smashfest....

Ha! I'm not the only one who's got anger issues around here!!! hahhaaha

I can talk a lot of trash and spew a lot of angry words, but my bark is bigger than my bite.... However, Chris today was.... WOAH.

When you see the biggest nice guy blow his top, you know things are gonna get real nasty....

I think Ah Boy is psychic or something... Even before muser reached the shopfront, Ah Boy was there to pacify him already.... Think the negative energy emanating from Chris was too overwhelming it could be felt from across the island....

Chris, now you know how I usually get my way all the time. And no one dares to say otherwise, except for behind my back and when I'm not around. F*cking pussies... Got a problem with me say it to my face.

I'm worried my back might hurt your knife.

Originally posted by akapovic1@Mar 21 2005, 08:39 AM

Hey guys,can I join in the conversation here?Not riding an aprilia but luvs it..:smile:

Of course!

We welcome Aprilia riders and non-Aprilia riders alike.

As long as you stick to the normal forum etiquette - Keep to the topic, its ok to be off-topic sometimes, but remember this is a forum, not a personal chatroom. If you wanna chat with someone here, you have the PM function and other chat programs on the market.

Hope to see you on our next outing. Most probably the next Aprilia outing is to catch a movie and have a pool session.... then of course - ROUNDING.

Enjoy your stay here.

Originally posted by xxes123@Mar 18 2005, 04:19 PM

i selling my valve for $50... i got 2 actually.... both used .. condition quite nice..

no choice lately in need of $$ ...

efferverscence, this is for ya~

Originally posted by muser+Mar 21 2005, 12:18 AM-->
QUOTE (muser @ Mar 21 2005, 12:18 AM)
Originally posted by akapovic1@Mar 21 2005, 12:50 PM

Just curious,any1 of u here brin ur baby to track?

I last time ever do that...:smile:

bro, welcome.. Your signature pic very big leh! Consider make smaller a bit can?

And ya, a lot of us here were dying to go track, but it got cancelled... You want to bring us?

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Mar 21 2005, 12:59 PM

bro, welcome.. Your signature pic very big leh! Consider make smaller a bit can?

And ya, a lot of us here were dying to go track, but it got cancelled... You want to bring us?

Can!Hw bout this Sat?Got a few ppl jio me go,I aso knw them throu this forum,havnt seen them b4.:smile:

Btw,to tell u the truth,I dun knw hw to make it smaller leh,hw ah??:confused:

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@Mar 21 2005, 12:59 PM

Jude, Galen still damn keen to go...so msg him or something...he is looking for peeps to go with him

Always be prepared.

Originally posted by eyz@Mar 21 2005, 10:36 AM

efferverscence, this is for ya~

thanks..i asked him already..it's sold..so u wanna exchange pipe?

Dec 04 - Nov 05 : Aprilia RS 125

Feb 06 - May 07 : Honda CB400 Spec III

July 07 - Mar 08 : Honda CBR1000RR 04

Jun 08 - Mar 10 : Vespa GT200

Jun 14 - ? : Honda RVF

umm.. not really.. i only intend to change my pipe with the person who purchase my size 34mm carb..

Originally posted by eyz@Mar 21 2005, 03:08 PM

umm.. not really.. i only intend to change my pipe with the person who purchase my size 34mm carb..

how abt plus top-up?

Dec 04 - Nov 05 : Aprilia RS 125

Feb 06 - May 07 : Honda CB400 Spec III

July 07 - Mar 08 : Honda CBR1000RR 04

Jun 08 - Mar 10 : Vespa GT200

Jun 14 - ? : Honda RVF

Just when you though it had gone away... it's back! It's the:

1st-ever Aprila Owners' Club Gearing Survey

1. muser '04 RS125 (front sprocket: 17, rear sprocket: 38, chain: not sure yet)

2. kink '04 RS125 (front sprocket: 17, rear sprocket: 40, chain: not sure yet)

3. amonamarth Y2K RS125 (front sprocket: 17, rear sprocket: 40, chain: not sure yet)

P.S. If you have no idea what I'm talking about, please PM me.

By the way, I've officially become the AOC's guinea pig for the Superione fuel-saving/efficiency device. Just had Ah Boon put it on for me today. Expect to hear my report on it soon.