Originally posted by gilakia@May 8 2005, 08:59 AM

Hey guys! Need some of your expert advice - My bike (RS 125) broke down at the CTE last night as the battery died out. I had just changed the battery that morning, but it still died...... ANd I just got the bike out of the workshop yesterday. Sigh.

Anyway, more importantly, my rectifier was changed by the previous owner, now using the RVF one. COuld it be because its not compatible, that's why its draining the battery?

Lastly, where can I get a 2nd hand RS 125 rectifier?

(Sigh, it was so nice to ride my baby out that day, then battery died on me....... very sad.....)

Awaiting your reply guys! Thanks~!

a second hand rectifier cost $50 .... or u can get from scrapeyard will be cheaper , actually u open up ur back seat ,and check the wiring first, maybe one of the wires melted... it very easy to change...

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by CMYRS+-->
QUOTE (CMYRS)
Im very interested in your findings. Ive seen many gimmicks on the market trying to make a quick buck. How long does this one tablet last? Please keep us posted, tks Muser! [/b]

As berukblue mentioned, it's supposed to last for the life of your engine -

website says 250,000 miles! I have lots more to say about this, will give an update soon.

Originally posted by eyz@May 8 2005, 05:58 PM

oh man... more importantly did ya get the bugger no. plate??

are ya able to claim anything this time??

wat bout the previous time?? ya claim anything from the cisco guard?

eh ya really suey with that client...

mayb in order to curb the sueyness, ya need to marry her!!!

wahahaha

still waiting to evaluate the cost of the repairs...so not quite sure will it be claiming from private or from insurrance yet... yes, i'm slightly more experience in the face of accidents now :eek: i took down the number plate, nric name and contacts blah blah... :thumb:

the cisco guard, now is waiting for his pay day, so outcome still in the balance...hopefully he dun pay punk. perviously had threaten to report to the police, cos he didn't pickup his phone... :angry:

married? :puke:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=13389&dateline=1217487583&type=profile

Dec 04 - Apr 07 : APRILIA EXTREMA RS125 FN 3690 T

Sept 05 - 07 : VESPA ET8 125 FQ 1422Z

Oct 05 - CURRENT : CAGIVA MITO EVO II 125 FS----R

Apr 07 - Stolen in JB on Sept 09 : GILERA RUNNER VXR 200 FX 8573 M

i tell ya... most probably the pick up belong to the company.. claim it from the insurance company.. claim as much as ya can...

if the ownership of the pick up is a private owner.. then mayb claim from him privately if he doesn't want his premium to increase..

ya sooOOooOOoo lucky... umm i mean unlucky...got so many chances to get new paint job n new parts on ya bike... muahahaha

lawrence will be so happy if he's the involved party!! (don't ya deny it dude, can't imagine wat ya thinking when we're riding along the X'pressway) wahahahah

married?? think ya shud marry her!! haha

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3007/2652402314_eb7483892a_o.jpg

Karmatrix> Hate to tell you this but it sounds as though one of your rings might have seized....

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

The Story: Woke up late this morning and flew down the CTE to work. In the rider's highway when the Super 4 in front suddenly brake. I notice too late, hit the brakes hard, and feel the wheel start to lock. Not funny as the back slides all over the place, the bike in front looks nearer and nearer, and there's nowhere to go but straight in the morning traffic.

The Outcome: Nothing happened! Wheel-locked and skid for what seemed like an eternity, legs flailing to keep balance. But i managed to stop just 1cm from the bike in front AND keep upright. Phew!

Lessons Learnt:

1) Pray always.

2) Don't hit the 'snooze' button on your alarm clock so many times lah!

3) Don't speed. It could kill you!

4) Keep a safe following distance.

5) My brakes work!

6) Aprilia is the best!

I can imagine myself splattered on the expressway on a lesser bike. It's all about physics, no? Broader tires, better weight distribution. Damn, everyone should ride an Aprilia.

Originally posted by karmatrix@May 8 2005, 05:15 AM

guys, urgently need ur help...sorry for asking so many questions lately but it's driving me crazy...last night when i rode my baby(rs250) hard for a while...suddenly the idling become very weak..then DIE OFF..after that, very hard to start back, have to maintain at high rev or the engine die again...at low rev will have a few misfire at the top exhaust only and then die off...is it foul sparkplug??

my question is

1) the sparkplug at the front is for the front cylinder? meaning it's link to the top exhaust?

2)at ard 7k rpm when the valve about to open, is the clicking sound very loud? cause mine is..

you can try changing 2 new sparks plug....using size 9 is fine...

http://home.graffiti.net/crescentgsxr:graffiti.net/rs250.jpg

Once A Punk,Always A Punk!!!Who says Punk don ride Aprilia!!???

Originally posted by gilakia@May 8 2005, 04:52 PM

RaceWerkz is in Alexandra, Bukit Merah Lane 2. behind HKL.

Anyway, William is the Mechanic there, he's not the Aprilia expert, but he knows more than enough and has a lot of experience with 'em. Do give him a call if you want.

William Tan - 62730130

since its at back of HKL,you can go to Pang Scooter,look for Kent...the shop is behind that lane too....

Originally posted by Divine^ponytailz@May 9 2005, 11:43 AM

The Story: Woke up late this morning and flew down the CTE to work. In the rider's highway when the Super 4 in front suddenly brake. I notice too late, hit the brakes hard, and feel the wheel start to lock. Not funny as the back slides all over the place, the bike in front looks nearer and nearer, and there's nowhere to go but straight in the morning traffic.

The Outcome: Nothing happened! Wheel-locked and skid for what seemed like an eternity, legs flailing to keep balance. But i managed to stop just 1cm from the bike in front AND keep upright. Phew!

Lessons Learnt:

1) Pray always.

2) Don't hit the 'snooze' button on your alarm clock so many times lah!

3) Don't speed. It could kill you!

4) Keep a safe following distance.

5) My brakes work!

6) Aprilia is the best!

I can imagine myself splattered on the expressway on a lesser bike. It's all about physics, no? Broader tires, better weight distribution. Damn, everyone should ride an Aprilia.

:thumb: :thumb: :thumb: well said!:thumb: :thumb:

Originally posted by gilakia@May 8 2005, 04:52 PM

RaceWerkz is in Alexandra, Bukit Merah Lane 2. behind HKL.

Anyway, William is the Mechanic there, he's not the Aprilia expert, but he knows more than enough and has a lot of experience with 'em. Do give him a call if you want.

William Tan - 62730130

Heh...

Yeah. William has a lot of experience in dealing w/ Aprilias.

What he said to me that day when I was in the shop and he was doing up an RS125.

Aprilia is the best 2B sportbike. Best handling, good for track. Comes with racing parts all in already. Trouble is that a lot of owners dunno how to take care of it, then complain it's a lousy bike and bla bla bla.

Heh... He used to do my bike after Black disappeared. So now U guys have a choice of 2 mechanics.

Racewerkz in Alexandra, Black in Sin Ming.

Hey Dues, perhaps the one you saw was mine! hehe!

Anyway, I'm asking him to take a look at my bike due to the rectifier. Don't think that there are any problems with the wiring, if not he would've told me. Just hoping for the best right now...........

Geez, ride it for one day and then must wait another week to ride it again. Oh well, that's life for you!

Bike History

Aprilia RS125

SYM GTS 200

Honda VFR800 (2003)

Kawasaki Z900 ABS (2017)

Was at Ideal over the weekend and spotted a 2001 aprilia with the same graphics scheme as mine though it was an FU plate with only 2km on the clock. Apprently the guy bought it and has kept it INSIDE his house for the last two years.

AMAZING!

My ride for 2012 - Yamaha WR250X 2008

Previous rides:

ROAD/FUN: Honda Sonic, VTR250, Kawa Z1000 & Kawa KSR110, Suzuki Savage

SPORT: Kawa ZXR400, Suzuki SV650, Honda CBR600F3 & CBR929RR, Aprilia RS125 & RS250,

DIRT: Honda XR200 & XR600L, DRZ-400SM, DRZ-400-S, GasGas EC200, KTM 200 EXC & 250EXC-F, Tricker

Pics @ http://www.bikepics.com/members/axxis/

Originally posted by Axxis@May 9 2005, 05:51 PM

Was at Ideal over the weekend and spotted a 2001 aprilia with the same graphics scheme as mine though it was an FU plate with only 2km on the clock. Apprently the guy bought it and has kept it INSIDE his house for the last two years.

AMAZING!

If I had a spanking new one I'd keep it in my house on display like the batmobile. But then I'd need money to get a spanking new one.. and I'd need more to get a house big enough. ;(

William's gonna have to buy me coffee after recommending him to you guys! haha!

Anyway, yup, I bought the bike over from a friend's friend and then sent it for re-spray. I totally didn't agree with the purple/silver.... I still like to original black paintwork though.

Yup! He's one of the guys distributing Maxima Oils. They're really good. I intend to go there next week to stock up (provided I can get my bike's rectifier done up in time. William's still looking out for one for me)

Bike History

Aprilia RS125

SYM GTS 200

Honda VFR800 (2003)

Kawasaki Z900 ABS (2017)

Oh yes, one more thing, guys, just wanna ask -

I got my piston changed and how do I go about "running in" the piston? What exactly is "running-in"?

Bike History

Aprilia RS125

SYM GTS 200

Honda VFR800 (2003)

Kawasaki Z900 ABS (2017)

running in:

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by gilakia@May 9 2005, 07:15 PM

I got my piston changed and how do I go about "running in" the piston? What exactly is "running-in"?

Basically dun over rev the bike for the 1st 500-1000km.

try to change gear before 8000rpm and accerelate slower...

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

Originally posted by Bonkers@May 9 2005, 06:01 PM

If I had a spanking new one I'd keep it in my house on display like the batmobile. But then I'd need money to get a spanking new one.. and I'd need more to get a house big enough. ;(

i saw that bike too!!

and guess wat... the owner of the bike came to collect the bike today..

and he's a middle age uncle.. came down with another fren of his age in a BMW M3!!

Originally posted by gilakia@May 9 2005, 07:15 PM

Break In....

try at ya own risk!

Originally posted by Axxis@May 9 2005, 09:00 AM

Karmatrix> Hate to tell you this but it sounds as though one of your rings might have seized....

yes axxis, you're right..just brought my rs for a check up, from the engine sound...the mech says one or both pistions is 'loose'...sian man...looks like have to replace the pistions and rings liao...can only pray that the block are still usable...

i need to get a quotation for overhauling my rs250, anyone!!...if it's more than 1k most likely i push to shop liao :cry:

there goes my short-lived happiness with aprilia...

Hi all! Its me again.

Something just came to mind - my RS125 tends to heat up pretty quickly. I'm just hoping that this doesn't affect performance in the long run. Is there any way of slowing rate of heating down? (Already using coolants in my radiator.....)

-ED-

Bike History

Aprilia RS125

SYM GTS 200

Honda VFR800 (2003)

Kawasaki Z900 ABS (2017)

hei... anyone scraped bike b4? only the chasis n the engine cover wif serial no. needed right? heard it from ah boon, LTA.. but a scrap yard mention need the block n some pple mention need the whole bike.. wtf... blur.....

Originally posted by gilakia@May 9 2005, 10:04 PM

Hi all! Its me again.

Something just came to mind - my RS125 tends to heat up pretty quickly. I'm just hoping that this doesn't affect performance in the long run. Is there any way of slowing rate of heating down? (Already using coolants in my radiator.....)

-ED-

wat's ya stock end can dude?

if it's the milo tin.. then it's normal..

ya can tong ya pipe or use a arrow to solve the problem...

Originally posted by gilakia@May 9 2005, 05:02 PM

Hey Dues, perhaps the one you saw was mine! hehe!

Anyway, I'm asking him to take a look at my bike due to the rectifier. Don't think that there are any problems with the wiring, if not he would've told me. Just hoping for the best right now...........

Geez, ride it for one day and then must wait another week to ride it again. Oh well, that's life for you!

Black color, with the Aprilia logo on the side and the gunmetal side panels?

Must be yours. Heh.