Originally posted by speedkills@Sep 12 2005, 03:31 PM

chris, my block when i looked at it....the scratch i think removed a little bit of the nicosil coating.. and to what the mech says, he said theres a "drain". but then he told me that i could still take the block to polish...maybe make my bike slightly louder thats all and maybe eat a little more petrol. :weep:

so what do you say..now i really have phobia for piston seizure already :giddy: :cry:

I see what you mean - the scratch was a depression that would have prevented the O-rings from sealing completely. The question now is whether or not the polishing managed to get rid of the scratch completely, and if it did, whether or not it means your nicosil coating is completely gone too. If the scratch hasn't been completely been removed and there's still blow-by (the blowing - or leaking - of gases from the combustion chamber area below the piston to the area above the piston), that means you'll most likely experience some loss of compression.

But as long as your top overhaul was done properly, your jetting's correct and your 2T flow is properly adjusted, there's really no need to be paranoid about piston jam. That's a lot of "ifs" though.

• Replies 50.9k

• Sub Zero

• lacrimosae

• eyz

• quikslvr

Originally posted by muser@Sep 12 2005, 03:59 PM

I see what you mean - the scratch was a depression that would have prevented the O-rings from sealing completely. The question now is whether or not the polishing managed to get rid of the scratch completely, and if it did, whether or not it means your nicosil coating is completely gone too. If the scratch hasn't been completely been removed and there's still blow-by (the blowing - or leaking - of gases from the combustion chamber area below the piston to the area above the piston), that means you'll most likely experience some loss of compression.

But as long as your top overhaul was done properly, your jetting's correct and your 2T flow is properly adjusted, there's really no need to be paranoid about piston jam. That's a lot of "ifs" though.

i only know that my 2T jetting is very rich now. was advised to switch back to normal when i clock 500km. i was thinking of tuning my bike to make F.C less rich. but after a piston seizure...abit scared now... :giddy: dunno what will happen the next minute.

when can i feel the power of my bike again :cry: :cry:

overhual seems to be the latest craze among aprilians... first chris ,then me , then vinesh,samual,andrew and latest victim shane.... :pity: :pity: :pity:

within a short span of 1 month plus 6 RS125 overhual..... :lol: :lol:

our run-in outing group is now recruiting more members.... who next :confused: come come dun shy:cheeky:

Originally posted by xxes123@Sep 12 2005, 06:29 PM

overhual seems to be the latest craze among aprilians... first chris ,then me , then vinesh,samual,andrew and latest victim shane.... :pity: :pity: :pity:

our run-in outing group is now recruiting more members.... who next :confused: come come dun shy:cheeky:

hahahahaha... dun go out like dat....isa suay...all racing bikes then all move at top 70km/hr!! hahahaha... but guess i will be the first out of the league..aahhahaa... as of now...180km clocked! hahaha

wad happened to shane bike? i tot he long ago overhauled le?

Originally posted by speedkills@Sep 12 2005, 03:31 PM

chris, my block when i looked at it....the scratch i think removed a little bit of the nicosil coating.. and to what the mech says, he said theres a "drain". but then he told me that i could still take the block to polish...maybe make my bike slightly louder thats all and maybe eat a little more petrol. :weep:

so what do you say..now i really have phobia for piston seizure already :giddy: :cry:

where is the scratch located? above the exhuast port? by how much?

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by spiderman@Sep 12 2005, 06:38 PM

where is the scratch located? above the exhuast port? by how much?

haiyoh....not so sure lei....i look at the cylinder block, dun even know which is which... anyway now starting to run in le.....guess will start to find out if there are any probs in due time.. :giddy:

rainy day....ride safe :cheer:

Originally posted by xxes123@Sep 12 2005, 06:29 PM

Hey bro.. It's Viknesh, not Vinesh la! :mad:

Anyway, I agree.. Alot of our bikes seem to be taking a break in motortiams.. Dunno who will be the next victim liao!

Hey Samuel, do you mind sharing with us the price of ur parts etc of your overhaul? Atleast we'd able to compare and know where are the best deals for the cash strapped.. You say Arai helmet, which one liao? got so many, from 200plus to 800 plus.. :cheeky:

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

By the way, Mr Edwin.. Pls refrain from using so many emoticons.. I wanna quote your post and add reply also cannot!! :mad: :mad: :mad:

ANY FOOL CAN HOLD A TIGER BY THE BALLS, BUT IT TAKES A HERO TO KEEP ON SQUEEZING. And I am that f*cking hero...

http://img254.imageshack.us/img254/1827/march1vl5.jpghttp://img141.imageshack.us/img141/3057/march5el6.jpg

Originally posted by gonggong@Sep 12 2005, 06:02 PM

Andrew, why you need so many things? What happened to your bike?

If I'm not wrong, Andrew suffered a piston jam.. His 2T flow was most prob not enough as his 2T gear teeth were broken. Piston jam before he could replace it..

Haiz.. so many Aprilias in workshop now.. Including mine..

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Sep 12 2005, 07:40 PM

His 2T flow was most prob not enough as his 2T gear teeth were broken. Piston jam before he could replace it

Aprilians, whenever anything seems to be wrong with the 2T flow from your 2T pump/tank, immediately pour 2T direct into your petrol tank to premix it with your petrol. Don't care whether 2T gear teeth spoil, 2T tube torn, 2T rocker cable snapped, or even as simple as 2T tank level hardly going down - play it safe, immediately premix first, then bring to mototiam.

Too much 2T won't harm your engine - at most lots of smoke and throttle response sluggish only - but not enough 2T is a disaster :giddy:

Originally posted by muser@Sep 12 2005, 08:11 PM

Aprilians, whenever anything seems to be wrong with the 2T flow from your 2T pump/tank, immediately pour 2T direct into your petrol tank to premix it with your petrol. Don't care whether 2T gear teeth spoil, 2T tube torn, 2T rocker cable snapped, or even as simple as 2T tank level hardly going down - play it safe, immediately premix first, then bring to mototiam.

Too much 2T won't harm your engine - at most lots of smoke and throttle response sluggish only - but not enough 2T is a disaster :giddy:

Amen to that... Better to be safe then sorry.. Poor Samuel and Andrew fell victim to this.. I'd like to add on to this..

If you think something wrong with your bike.. Bring it to shop asap.. Dont delay and be complacent and endanger your bike and your life..:smile:

A piston ring is like an o-ring

but cannot be an o-ring

and an o-ring

cannot be a piston-ring

so,

a piston ring, is not an o-ring :sweat:

for sale :

rotax 122 clutch basket - very low wear, see to believe!

25 piece cdr - brand new $8

17" monitor - flickers when cold $10

castrol chain wax & chain spray - still a lot left $5

Originally posted by fibre@Sep 12 2005, 09:59 PM

A piston ring is like an o-ring

but cannot be an o-ring

and an o-ring

cannot be a piston-ring

so,

a piston ring, is not an o-ring :sweat:

Then wat is an o-ring?

Where is it located and wats the uses for o-ring?

i guess the 2 metal rings that clips onto the side of the piston are piston rings, right? so, the job of the piston rings are to expand so it will form a good seal between the top of the piston and area below the piston?

I am not a mechanic, I might be wrong. So, please check with others!

wah..

so many overhaul..

i might doing my top overhaul end of the year or 50000km which ever comes first..

hope its end of the year..

hari raya coming up need money..

haiz..

anyway...

experience a bad one last 2 days..

with my bro over at 2nd link and after the customs, i whacked my bike until 180km/hr till i felt something wobbled...

slowed down and stopped and saw my back tyres actually burst and i actually heard a pooping sound before..

rode home with a flat tyre..

best part..

its with my gal..

haiz..

changed whole set for 220 at LAB..

money money money...

must be funny..

in a rich man's world...

When you have walked my path of pain and suffering

you will understand my need for revenge and to inflict pain on those who have betrayed me

As a scorpion bides its time to strike so shall I wait for that moment to obtain my vengeance

And my mocking laughter shall be the last thing they hear. In The End, We Remember Not The Words Of Our Enemies, But The Silence Of Friendships

Originally posted by gonggong@Sep 12 2005, 10:07 PM

Then wat is an o-ring?

i guess the 2 metal rings that clips onto the side of the piston are piston rings, right? so, the job of the piston rings are to expand so it will form a good seal between the top of the piston and area below the piston?

Bro..

If i'm not wrong, the O ring is the metal ring that fits nicely into a groove in your engine block when you remove the cover to your block..

By right, you're supposed to change it every time you open up your block.. This is what i heard..

It is not in the cyclinder..

Originally posted by gonggong@Sep 12 2005, 10:07 PM

Then wat is an o-ring?

yes piston rings r the one that is responsible for the compression in yr engine... yr 2t also plays a part in forming the seal.... compression will start from the time yr piston ring pass yr exhuast port... original aprilias come with double rings piston to ensure good seal so that u will have better low to mid range power... :smile:

wah so many ppl servicing bike ah ... i still haven get bike yet knn.... donno still got how long . ... my bike hor is premix wor [ is it ok ? ? ? hahaha ] den hor my piston hor is [ single ring piston , ah boon tell mi ] gd ma ? i heard quite hard to find huh izzit ?

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/07/16/2726170/31361028839571l.jpg

2005 = NSR 150 FS **00 G

2005 = Aprilia RS 125 FS **** L

2007 = Spark 135 FBA **0 D

2007 = Yamaha R6-06 FV **22 K

2009 = Runner ST 200 FBD **

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Sep 12 2005, 10:20 PM

Bro..

If i'm not wrong, the O ring is the metal ring that fits nicely into a groove in your engine block when you remove the cover to your block..

By right, you're supposed to change it every time you open up your block.. This is what i heard..

It is not in the cyclinder..

chris meant it to be the piston ring...

Originally posted by OnceEarth@Sep 12 2005, 10:56 PM

wah so many ppl servicing bike ah ... i still haven get bike yet knn.... donno still got how long . ... my bike hor is premix wor [ is it ok ? ? ? hahaha ] den hor my piston hor is [ single ring piston , ah boon tell mi ] gd ma ? i heard quite hard to find huh izzit ?

if u know where to find then its not hard to find lah....

Originally posted by OnceEarth@Sep 12 2005, 10:56 PM

Your bike premix wat? You mean 2t is usually poured into the tank is it?

And single ring piston? I think it's a racing piston.. Dont worry about finding parts bro.. got money sure can find one..

bro, wat the changes Ideal is doing to your bike before you can ride it? you better find out.. dont get screwed out of your WP shocks... :cheeky:

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Sep 12 2005, 11:09 PM

Your bike premix wat? You mean 2t is usually poured into the tank is it?

And single ring piston? I think it's a racing piston.. Dont worry about finding parts bro.. got money sure can find one..

bro, wat the changes Ideal is doing to your bike before you can ride it? you better find out.. dont get screwed out of your WP shocks... :cheeky:

means i got no 2t box i think have to carry 2t ard when refuelling petrol den premix to gether ... haha ... ya its a racing piston ..... if they dare screwed my tat WP suspension i will gonna screwed them up .... hehee .... becos all the wiring r for racing den now he have to change back to road bike ma so wiring all have to change ...

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/07/16/2726170/31361028839571l.jpg

2005 = NSR 150 FS **00 G

2005 = Aprilia RS 125 FS **** L

2007 = Spark 135 FBA **0 D

2007 = Yamaha R6-06 FV **22 K

2009 = Runner ST 200 FBD **

Originally posted by Sub Zero@Sep 11 2005, 12:07 PM

Any idea of the top speed of the 03 models with the rs pipe?

On a '03 stockie, at least 180km/h on a relatively flat stretch of road with revs to spare........

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Originally posted by OnceEarth+-->
QUOTE (OnceEarth)
.. my bike hor is premix wor [ is it ok ? ? ? hahaha[/b]

Premix is the most reliable way of making sure your engine gets the amount of 2T it needs. Just make sure you always mix in the right amount.

Originally posted by spiderman@

chris meant it to be the piston ring

Yup, very paiseh, piston ring I mix up with O-ring, next thing I'll be mixing up 2T tank and petrol tank :giddy: Tonight, before I sleep, I will repeat to myself:

"A piston ring is like an o-ring

but cannot be an o-ring

and an o-ring

cannot be a piston-ring

so,

a piston ring, is not an o-ring"

Originally posted by OnceEarth@Sep 12 2005, 11:17 PM

means i got no 2t box i think have to carry 2t ard when refuelling petrol den premix to gether ... haha ... ya its a racing piston ..... if they dare screwed my tat WP suspension i will gonna screwed them up .... hehee .... becos all the wiring r for racing den now he have to change back to road bike ma so wiring all have to change ...

Bro..

Why dont you get a 2t reservoir pump in? Sia la, one time forget to premix that's it.. Piston jam liao.. It's more safer..