your bike is brand new, probably why need to depress harder; think it'll somewhat "loosen" after some time. you'll get used to it and also start to feel the "click" when start mode is activated. dun have to depress so hard, just enough to activate the mode.

there're a few safety features in SW which prevents the bike from starting, e.g. when side stand is down, when start mode is not activated, when bike is "sleeping" on its side (not sure but dun suggest you try). we're not talking about the HISS which is a security feature.

left brake is liked with CBS which activates both front n rear brakes when depressed. the "start mode" thingy is a safety feature in case engine is accidentally started with high rev, causing clutch to engage (SW has no neutral gear) and bike to move when rider is not ready. what's next? peng lor :faint:

for those who usually/always start the bike at main stand, this start mode thingy may not be as useful.

like bigcow said, it can be easily disabled if you prefer the convenience.

additional safety features are always like that, always with a trade-off and while some likes it there, some don't. imagine all cars requiring drivers to put on seat belt before engine can start; most new cars now have reminders (light indicator and/or ting ting sound buzzer). bet there'll be pp who'll hate it and disable or circumvent the system.

to each their own :cheeky:

wow... Thanks manz.... cos i was thinking will i damage the brake pump if depress too hard.. hehee... : )

For every Minute you are angry.. :angry:

U lose 60 seconds of happiness.. :cheeky:

2007 - 2010 Aprillia Sportcity 200

2010 - 2012 Honda SW-T400 TYPE RR

• Replies 22.2k

wow... Thanks manz.... cos i was thinking will i damage the brake pump if depress too hard.. hehee... : )

something will give way if depressed too hard... whahahaha

btw, some SWingers prefer to have the "start mode" thingy deactivated for convenience and also to preserve the brake pump assembly. its a matter or individual preference ^_^

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

You got the ABS model?

nope.. is a non ABS model.. is the price too high for a non ABS model??

something will give way if depressed too hard... whahahaha

btw, some SWingers prefer to have the "start mode" thingy deactivated for convenience and also to preserve the brake pump assembly. its a matter or individual preference ^_^

Yes... yes... thats wat i am thinking... i am afraid that the brake pump seal at the side that is for the brake level to depress in will give way and maybe leak due to frequent of depressing hard.. Its either depressing hard or deactivate only issit? cant adjust to depress it lighter??

hmm i guess with Insurance should be around that price ba, cos have to depend on age and type too.

cant adjust to depress it lighter??

this one dunno... cos i didn't bother to try mod it :p

purpose of depressing the left brake (with CBS) sufficiently hard is to make sure bike will stay still even if clutch comes on, else defeat the purpose liow. but if comfortable without, heard disabling it is only a few minutes job :D

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

hmm i guess with Insurance should be around that price ba, cos have to depend on age and type too.

hmmm.. that plays a part too... but if juz machine w/o insurance, IU everything is $13,500...

this one dunno... cos i didn't bother to try mod it :p

purpose of depressing the left brake (with CBS) sufficiently hard is to make sure bike will stay still even if clutch comes on, else defeat the purpose liow. but if comfortable without, heard disabling it is only a few minutes job :D

yup yup agree... will try to get use to it... :)

hmmm.. that plays a part too... but if juz machine w/o insurance, IU everything is $13,500...

Wow your insurance 2k plus ah?

my few yen's recommendations on insurance...

(1) strongly recommended to go Comprehensive, especially if you go touring cos many road conditions in boleh and tongyum land are not as good as local ones; expect sand/pebbles, potholes, etc.

some of us are already on comprehensive, cheapest quote i got is from AXA,

(2) do check with the insuring company on the coverage area and excess (usually $500). most insurers cover whole of s'pore and west m'sia, plus a small part of southern thailand from the southern border. while some cover within 50miles (about 74km), some cover only 50km from the border. bukit kayu hitam m'sian customs to lee garden plaza is about 58km, thus may still enjoy coverage inside many parts of hatyai city, but songkhla is outside liow... this could be important for pp who go hatyai for songkran :p

in any case, travel insurance is highly recommended when touring.

(3) applicable only for comprehensive insurance: heard from some friends/motortiams that NTUC's policy in a "self-claim" is open tender. i.e. let workshops bid for the job and we can easily guess who'll get the deal... lowest cost tender gets the deal lor... then we get "job-to-cost" deal repairs lor 一分钱一分货.

i would prefer to avoid being in this situation.

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

no ar... insurance $520.. plus IU, reg, this n that plus here plus there 2k plus lo...

bro, u mis-read his sentence le. :lol:

its only the machine price. excluding IU, GST, insurance, etc.

@DRK: i dun mean to interrupt and i dun own a SW but i juz happen to find out the price and some brief info on it recently.

the price is kinda ok but slightly more than wat i'm quoted. anyway, once bought, dun look back & compare anymore. enjoy the ride ^_^

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

Present :thumb: --> Yamaha Tmax 530 Iron Max, Perodua Viva 1.0L

Last time insurance covers only up to Malaysia. Thai also cover?

i dun know about bike's coverage for msia but juz for info, my car got "bang" by a msia car in year 2007 and when i called bck to sg, they say i can only claim under my own even mine is comprehensive. so my point is even it covers up to other countries, oso gotta find out wat kind of cover they provide.

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

i dun know about bike's coverage for msia but juz for info, my car got "bang" by a msia car in year 2007 and when i called bck to sg, they say i can only claim under my own even mine is comprehensive. so my point is even it covers up to other countries, oso gotta find out wat kind of cover they provide.

get Comprehensive cover so that at least you can claim for repairs. Premium loading for the next year will apply. That premium won't hurt if your repairs gonna cost a few thousands.

With only 3rd party, you have to pay all repairs by yourself. This is a problem especially claiming from drivers in other countries.

2nd party generally is about $300-$400. *My age lah... 40+.

1st party about $500 to $600. *Some companies can be below than $400.

The premium difference is not much (for 365 days) but imagine the $$ saved when big things happen.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

bro, u mis-read his sentence le. :lol:

its only the machine price. excluding IU, GST, insurance, etc.

@DRK: i dun mean to interrupt and i dun own a SW but i juz happen to find out the price and some brief info on it recently.

the price is kinda ok but slightly more than wat i'm quoted. anyway, once bought, dun look back & compare anymore. enjoy the ride ^_^

no problem no problem.. always welcome to give feedback... i also feel that this price is quite ok already, because i'hv been to few shops to compare price and finally settle on this, so its quite a good deal for me.. : )

get Comprehensive cover so that at least you can claim for repairs. Premium loading for the next year will apply. That premium won't hurt if your repairs gonna cost a few thousands.

With only 3rd party, you have to pay all repairs by yourself. This is a problem especially claiming from drivers in other countries.

The premium difference is not much (for 365 days) but imagine the $$ saved when big things happen.

hanor hanor... bo tai chi heng heng lucky, chut tai chi then http://smileys.on-my-web.com/repository/Unhappy/brick-wall-017.gif

divide the the additional premium over 365 days, cost

~

Trips:

dis i agree with u. if i sell my car away and get a SW in the future, i oso will seriouly consider in getting the ins cos i need to accompany my wife back to seremban ma...

no problem no problem.. always welcome to give feedback... i also feel that this price is quite ok already, because i'hv been to few shops to compare price and finally settle on this, so its quite a good deal for me.. : )

for me, i rather go to the bikeshop nearer to my hse (and of cos the shop dat i know) than go to the other side of sg to get the same thing cheaper by abit nia. consider for the next few yrs i need to go down to pay my installment... me lazy la. hehe

I think our 2x Genting Highland Riders should be on the way back by now.

Hope they win big big so that Thursday we can eat for free.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

i wish to diy my brake pads, anyone can advise?

I see u stay Punggol ya, can help u out if u wan. But during weekend when i wanna wash my bike..

Very simple task. 5 mins done liao..let me know if u wanna change, usually i wash my bike on saturday or sunday beside the church mulitstore carpark. Church opersite punggol park. :)

2 roads diverged into a wood, and I-I took the road less traveled and that makes all the difference!

Wrong post

Edited by Atlantic 200

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155