God speed and ride safely! Please post pictures for us to enjoy!

• Replies 22.2k

Scoobydoo ah... join us for Penang then book your own Genting or Malacca hotel on return aimai?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

penang confirm cannot le... already made plans to go select tiles for renovation.

hehe... have discussed about joining you guys at genting on Sat afternoon and ride back together; dropped the idea cos i reckoned your arrival from krabi is likely near evening.

now that you are coming from ipoh, my backside starts to itch liow :lol:

apply visa first :p

will let you know if going... gotta set off about 6am to coincide with your 11am ETA

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Will let you know arrival time at Genting or meet us at Tg Malim Toll if we wanna go cornering at Fraser Hill for a while.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hey guys any advise what shld I do if my transmission keeps giving the hoo hoo sound upon moving off? It shld be my clutch right? But I dun feel like is slipping just that is only giving the hoo hoo sound.. My clutch was service not long ago too..

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

Re: DIY Coolant Change

Date: 7 Apr 2012, Saturday

Time: 1600hrs

Venue: Bishan

Will be following these 2 excellent DIY posts:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner?p=6936672&viewfull=1#post6936672

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner?p=6967046&viewfull=1#post6967046

If you are keen to DIY, pls read the 2 posts first and bring your own distilled water for flushing and coolant.

Do also bring a 3L empty bottle to collect the old coolant for disposal.

Edited by Uncle

Cool! Finally got DIY session! But I just replaced my coolany not too long ago, perhaps can I hop by too see see and learn as well?

Uncle said:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner?p=6936672&viewfull=1#post6936672

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner?p=6967046&viewfull=1#post6967046

If you are keen to DIY, pls read the 2 posts first and bring your own distilled water for flushing and coolant.

  confusehaha said:
Hey guys any advise what shld I do if my transmission keeps giving the hoo hoo sound upon moving off? It shld be my clutch right? But I dun feel like is slipping just that is only giving the hoo hoo sound.. My clutch was service not long ago too..

Clutch bell resonance. Nothing to worry about if you've just serviced the clutch. Seems to go away after awhile. There's a post from SW9000 on new SWT clutch bell that's thicker and solves this issue.

I see, thanks uncle.. Oh that's the pigeon sound he refering to. Okie roger le! :D

Uncle said:
Clutch bell resonance. Nothing to worry about if you've just serviced the clutch. Seems to go away after awhile. There's a post from SW9000 on new SWT clutch bell that's thicker and solves this issue.

  Uncle said:

a tip to save $$

if you want to "flush", buy the big 1.5l distilled water bottles from Giant or NTUC will do, no need to buy the more expensive automotive distilled water from petrol kiosks or motorshops... same same :)

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

  scoobydoo said:
a tip to save $$

if you want to "flush", buy the big 1.5l distilled water bottles from Giant or NTUC will do, no need to buy the more expensive automotive distilled water from petrol kiosks or motorshops... same same :)

Yup, intend to do this :) Better still if they have 5L ones. I had bought a Toyota long-life coolant 1 US gallon for $23 only. Still running the original Honda coolant but nothing wrong with it. First time changing in 4years!

Seems like in the mode for maintenance these few weeks. Had ordered the Bitubo front springs and rear shocks from local agent. With Euro weakening and Yen strengthening, better to buy European options than Japanese originals. Honda oil filter costs S$18, fork seal+dust cover costs $32 for both sides, and the seat strut costs S$60 now!

Front springs: MF019 (Spring + fork oil)

http://www.bitubo.com/images/Kit MF scooter.jpg

Rear shocks: H0111WGE02 (Preload and rebound)

http://www.bitubo.com/images/WME_Scooter.jpg

Looks like I will ride the SW till 10 years!

  Uncle said:

remember to dispose of the coolant properly. can bring to shop to dispose. else all end up into the reservoir!

AN650L3 (current): All mod transferred.

SW-T400 (till oct 13): voltmeter, safety features disabled. coocase v36+remote. Adjustable, folding Brake levers. Givi AF318 windshield. on-off switch(pilot light, head light, hazard light), electrical seat unlatch,Dr pulley.

AN400K6 (apr07-dec11): side deflectors, J Costa variator, Dr pulley slider + HiT clutch.

YP250, RVF400/RS250, NSF125.

  Uncle said:
Had ordered the Bitubo front springs and rear shocks from local agent

Wow.. you ordered Bitubo? Power sia...:thumb: Can share the price for both? So far no one is using Bitubo, cos too exp leh... :sweat:

N/A (Current)

Honda Silverwing FJS 400cc (Yr2010 - Yr2012)

Piaggio X8 200cc (Yr2009 - Yr2010)

Honda CB400 Super Four (Yr2007 - Yr2009)

Honda Phantom TA200 (Yr2005 -Yr2007)

  Uncle said:
Had ordered the Bitubo front springs and rear shocks from local agent.

Looks like I will ride the SW till 10 years!

whoa!!! heavy investments sia... total >$1k right?

the last quote i got for just the rear set is $900+ liow :faint:

please remember to come back for the thurs meetups... wanna feel feel :lol:

~

Trips:

  SW9000 said:
Will let you know arrival time at Genting or meet us at Tg Malim Toll if we wanna go cornering at Fraser Hill for a while.

buay sai leh... my butt not so strong.

reach tg malim toll (>430km) already punchek liow, how to go bend corner at fraser hill :pity:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

  whyzee said:
Hmm. Car coolant? Have u checked if it contains silicates?

It doesn't say "silicate free" but also does not say it contains silicate. But says "Ethylene Glycol based".

imo, all those hype & marketing on using ONLY motorcycle products for motorcycles are crab. In terms of technology, production cars are far ahead of production motorcycles. The keyword here is "production". We are not talking about "race" models. Water-cooling has been perfected for donkey years on cars, and yet we still have air-cooled top-selling motorcycles.

When you look at water-cooling on motorcycles and on cars, they follow the same essential principles of circulating water and heat exchange. Don't see any differences except costs. So for something that is produced in millions vs in thousands, the costs will be different. Which is why our 13" / 14" tyres cost more than equivalent-sized car tyres (I think it's hard to find 14" car tyres now); and motorcycle oils cost more than car oils, etc.

MaIkEr said:
remember to dispose of the coolant properly. can bring to shop to dispose. else all end up into the reservoir!

Yes, Sir!

  TitanicLexus said:
Wow.. you ordered Bitubo? Power sia...:thumb: Can share the price for both? So far no one is using Bitubo, cos too exp leh... :sweat:

scoobydoo said:
whoa!!! heavy investments sia... total >$1k right?

the last quote i got for just the rear set is $900+ liow :faint:

please remember to come back for the thurs meetups... wanna feel feel :lol:

Ya, more than $1k. But shock are fully rebuildable / serviceable by local agent, and can use on new SWT also. So after 6 years when I sell the bike, still can de-kit and recover 30% of the costs. Not too bad bah :)

BTW, I was told the top selling Bitubo model is for Gilera at $1k+. Divide that by the cost of the bike and it is twice as expensive. But yet it's their top-selling!

  Uncle said:

Interested what coolant will you be using??? Or using water wetter....??

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

  hachi said:
Interested what coolant will you be using??? Or using water wetter....??

Toyota Super Long Life Coolant!

Edited by Uncle
  Uncle said:
Toyota Long-Life Coolant!

Pre diluted or need to mix???Tmr holiday dont know got sell a not?? Where you got it???

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

  hachi said:
Pre diluted or need to mix???Tmr holiday dont know got sell a not?? Where you got it???

Pre-diluted / pre-mixed. Same row of shops as FJT but coolant can get anywhere; even petrol stations / giant / carrefour / ntuc also have. Relax, only doing on Sat, so Sat morning still can get mah...

The problem with the silicate thing has nothing to do with technology la. It's just that bike's water pump are usually of aluminum material and silicate are corrosive to aluminum.

U do not need to use bike specific coolant, but just need to make sure it's silicate free or says, alu friendly. In fact there's several car coolant that dont uses silicate.

As for the reason y bike tires are more ex, my opinion is, good bike tires does have more r&d, and the moulding process r more complex. Bikes need the tires profile to be suitable for stable cornering, whereas car r alot more straight forward.

N of cos, the demand for car tires r alot higher, thus bigger economy of scale.