SBF Silverwings / HOM Cafe 2012

scoobydoo

• Replies 22.2k

Thank you for your comment. I did notice that there is 4 holes below. But the base plate of the box has got to be fixed on the top hence I guess that is why they drilled holes to it. I guess it's better than using a rack which makes no sense. :-)

I am moving off at about 2.8 - 3k. Quite light with the throttle. My mileage is now about 31k. Is it possible to have clutch slip? If yes, do we need to change it? If we don't change, will it cause other stuff to break down soon?

Sometimes, I think I am over paranoid.

Don't meant to rub in your pain but there are 4 mounting holes on the SW rack if you look underneath it. That should be the holes to secure the box base plate.

For pigeon sound, try not to over-rev when moving from stationery, especially when riding 2-up or up-slope. Else, there's some clutch slip and that resonants the clutch bell to produce pigeon sounds. 3-3.5k rpm should be fine for moving off.

I can actually bear with the sound if it's a common issue and will not have any other affect on the general performance of the bike and other parts.

common issue, just bear with it lo.. it will goes off sooner or later.. if not u can replace to a thicker bell which the SWT are using which will actually eliminate the pigeon sound..

credit to SW9000 :D

Thank you for your comment. I did notice that there is 4 holes below. But the base plate of the box has got to be fixed on the top hence I guess that is why they drilled holes to it. I guess it's better than using a rack which makes no sense. :-)

I am moving off at about 2.8 - 3k. Quite light with the throttle. My mileage is now about 31k. Is it possible to have clutch slip? If yes, do we need to change it? If we don't change, will it cause other stuff to break down soon?

Sometimes, I think I am over paranoid.

If they drill through using the 4 holes, it's the correct way. Maybe you should try to align the base plate yourself and see if you can use all 4 holes for the mounting since they are already there. Better support.

Everytime we move off, there's a bit of clutch slip until the clutch fully engages.

Since you've just serviced the transmission and they didn't mentioned about clutch wear, don't need to worry about it. We're at about the same mileage.

too light on the throttle may be a problem as well... insufficient grip.

the clutch works by using centrifugal force (created by the spinning clutch assembly) to push the clutch pegs outwards, clutch pads then use friction to grip the inner face of clutch bell in order to turn it, bell turns and rear wheel turns.

i.e. insufficient rpm produces insufficient centrifugal force, insufficient centrifugal force produces insufficient friction, insufficient friction produces insufficient grip... thus slips.

but it doesn't mean that whacking the throttle open is best; there is a optimal moving off "throttle rate" for each SW, you need to feel it.

"you must feel the force" :smile:

btw, brand new clutches are prone to slippage too, until they are mated with the bell... similar to the mating of brake pads with brake rotor plates.

I can actually bear with the sound if it's a common issue and will not have any other affect on the general performance of the bike and other parts.

yes, its a common issue with SW, all versions.

why other scooters dun really have this problem since they also use similar CVT system? becos their clutch is not trying to push a >¼ tonne monster :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

RODALINK JURONG KECHIL

110 Jalan Jurong Kechil #01-02 Sweebi House, Singapore 598606

Most bicycle will have cages and different brand but price will be different.

thks Your bottle cage got adjustable base???

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Yeah, ultimately I think its the weight of the bike. Thank you for your explanation.

too light on the throttle may be a problem as well... insufficient grip.

the clutch works by using centrifugal force (created by the spinning clutch assembly) to push the clutch pegs outwards, clutch pads then use friction to grip the inner face of clutch bell in order to turn it, bell turns and rear wheel turns.

i.e. insufficient rpm produces insufficient centrifugal force, insufficient centrifugal force produces insufficient friction, insufficient friction produces insufficient grip... thus slips.

but it doesn't mean that whacking the throttle open is best; there is a optimal moving off "throttle rate" for each SW, you need to feel it.

"you must feel the force" :smile:

btw, brand new clutches are prone to slippage too, until they are mated with the bell... similar to the mating of brake pads with brake rotor plates.

yes, its a common issue with SW, all versions.

why other scooters dun really have this problem since they also use similar CVT system? becos their clutch is not trying to push a >¼ tonne monster :p

They used 4 holes. They drilled 4 holes and then decided that 2 of them cannot be used and drill another 2. So got 2 extras.

If they drill through using the 4 holes, it's the correct way. Maybe you should try to align the base plate yourself and see if you can use all 4 holes for the mounting since they are already there. Better support.

Everytime we move off, there's a bit of clutch slip until the clutch fully engages.

Since you've just serviced the transmission and they didn't mentioned about clutch wear, don't need to worry about it. We're at about the same mileage.

Are they selling it cheaper than Unique Motor?

I bought it from Unique Motor at $101 and they had stock. Just FYI.

I was quoted 85 from the MO.

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

They used 4 holes. They drilled 4 holes and then decided that 2 of them cannot be used and drill another 2. So got 2 extras.

Whoa. Doesn't sound like a professional job. =(

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

Oh, heart pain. Just make sure it includes installation. Really good price. $26 cheaper.

this MO is cash-n-take if i don't remember wrongly.

so if your +$26 includes installation, ok lah.

think i paid abt $120 few years back :faint:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Yeah, did not feel very good about that but no point arguing. Sometimes, a lot depends on your luck.

unless the mech has done a SW before, they will aga aga do.

that's the reason why most of us stick to the same few mechs most of the time :p

~

Trips:

Tsunami evacuation activated in Krabi for about 3hrs. Left the hotel for higher ground. After stand down, many shops not opened. Workers took a few hours off.

Still on alert but i'm staying.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Tmr gonna visit Krabi town centre and also laze around the hot spring.

Some will separate for own itinerary and meet up in Ipoh on Friday.

was wondering how come you guys didn't check in... dunno if its due to electricity cut or what. read that tsunami warning activated in a few countries but luckily no big water came... heng ah.

everyone ok? bikes ok?

~

Trips:

Everyone ok, except for a bit of accident on the way to krabi. Bike drop 2x chain accident on the ferry during embarkation, one bike skidded on the road.

But good thing is everyone is safe n sound together. Quite an experience evacuating, squeezing through traffic n riding off w/o helmet searching for high grounds. Definitely be in my memories for a long time...

was wondering how come you guys didn't check in... dunno if its due to electricity cut or what. read that tsunami warning activated in a few countries but luckily no big water came... heng ah.

everyone ok? bikes ok?

Wasted a few hrs waiting but better be safe than sorry. All safe and sound.

wah... glad that all's well.

none of the guys involved in the chain accident right? and hope the dropped and skidded bikes can tahan till return to sinkapor.

~

Trips:

Oh, heart pain. Just make sure it includes installation. Really good price. $26 cheaper.

85 is diy bro...

Sent from my HTC Sensation XE with Beats Audio Z715e using Tapatalk 2

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

wah... glad that all's well.

none of the guys involved in the chain accident right? and hope the dropped and skidded bikes can tahan till return to sinkapor.

Everyone is fine and will b back safely. Next week TCSS many stories to tell. Hahaha.