I wanna know if i should wait and get a class 2 bike or do i get a class 2a bike. I am a Fan of cruisers/roadbike. but with requirement speed. not those speed demon. but at least able to go 140 - 150 km/hr should suffice. i am now riding a honda phantom. and besides that. is there a very big difference between class 2 and 2a cruiser bikes?? i cant afford a harley so thats 1 reason off.

And from your experience i want to see if its worth the wait of jump straight to a 2a bike.

Your 2 cents will definitely help.

Used to ride: TA200 -02, WR 200DT -94, VXR 200 -04, CB400 Spec 2 -02, GSXR400RN -92, CB 400 Spec 3 -04, VLX 400 -94, DRZ400SM -06, FZ6 S2 -09

Current bikes : YZF R1 -08

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_0q3ABoj3LSY/TLPfCj6Q3zI/AAAAAAAAAAo/FSnw64_eo48/s1600/Calvin+and+Hobbes.png

• Replies 34

2a also got some nice cruiser ma... like shadow, steel and the like.

i think from phantom jump to a class 2 bike next time, the significant difference in power (and weight maybe) will make it hard for you to control in the beginning.

maybe upgrade to a 2a cruiser and ride it for a few years, meanwhile check for the used bike section. once in a while got people selling off their harley. if price n time is right for you, then change again?

anyway just my 5c opinion. now give me back my change. :cheeky:

肥仔七åƒå·

I used to ride a phantom & skipped 2A straight to a Sportster 1200. Felt 2A was a waste of time & $$. As long as you respect your ride & yourself. Jumping from 2B to 2 is manageable.

nice. sportster. i would like it.. but financially strain. studying in poly and havent go army yet.. cannot afford!! i scared my phantom ride ride. den 1 day gear lever fly off. den get stuck in highway.. sian!

Used to ride: TA200 -02, WR 200DT -94, VXR 200 -04, CB400 Spec 2 -02, GSXR400RN -92, CB 400 Spec 3 -04, VLX 400 -94, DRZ400SM -06, FZ6 S2 -09

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_0q3ABoj3LSY/TLPfCj6Q3zI/AAAAAAAAAAo/FSnw64_eo48/s1600/Calvin+and+Hobbes.png

2a also got some nice cruiser ma... like shadow, steel and the like.

i think from phantom jump to a class 2 bike next time, the significant difference in power (and weight maybe) will make it hard for you to control in the beginning.

maybe upgrade to a 2a cruiser and ride it for a few years, meanwhile check for the used bike section. once in a while got people selling off their harley. if price n time is right for you, then change again?

anyway just my 5c opinion. now give me back my change. :cheeky:

wahh. singapore no more producing 1 cent coins. so round up 5 cents.

times are bad. inflation is everywhere. even thoughts become 5cents:cheeky:

YAMAHA FZ1S ABS 2K12

nice. sportster. i would like it.. but financially strain. studying in poly and havent go army yet.. cannot afford!! i scared my phantom ride ride. den 1 day gear lever fly off. den get stuck in highway.. sian!

That could happen to any bike, including Harleys (& servicing prices will be many many many times of a Phantom). Be patient. I waited until I was 30 before I felt I was financially confident to pamper myself with a HD.

Well since you're not a speed demon and cannot afford a harley or have serious touring needs, A 2A cruiser will suffice.

A Harley or equivalent cruiser will set you back big bucks man and since you haven't go NS, you don't want a major financial commitment. My advise would be get a cheaper alternative.

The Steed and shadows are a good alternative. Simple to maintain and still very cool. Can customise as well.

But remember one thing... 400cc, 600cc, 1000cc and higher are all 4 stroke. That means your basic servicing will be about the same cos all use 3 or 4 btl of engine oil, 4 spark plugs etc.

You might want to consider a 600cc like shadow but then do you want to jump from a >200cc so fast.

There are many people who have jumped from 2B to 2 but not all with positive experiences. A class 2 or even 2A cruiser will be a lot heavier and alot more powerful. One may not be able to handle the big difference which is why we have the 2A license in the first place.

Just a few thoughts.. good luck man.

Its not about hard you can hit, its about how many times you can take a hit and remain standing

I wanna know if i should wait and get a class 2 bike or do i get a class 2a bike. I am a Fan of cruisers/roadbike. but with requirement speed. not those speed demon. but at least able to go 140 - 150 km/hr should suffice. i am now riding a honda phantom. and besides that. is there a very big difference between class 2 and 2a cruiser bikes?? i cant afford a harley so thats 1 reason off.

And from your experience i want to see if its worth the wait of jump straight to a 2a bike.

All Class 2A cruisers/road bike can cruise 140-150km/h easily. Its the matter of how fast to reach that speed.

Not in NS, no stable job...then dun have to think so much. Get the licenses first then decide later in life.

You muz also consider maintenance costs, petrol consumption, road tax, insurance, installments, repairs, etc. Too much hassle if you cannot support these. The higher CC and rare the bike, the more it will suck from your pockets.

No point getting a 1.2k cc bike and in the end sold off at the end of the year coz cannot afford to pay for the miscellaneous. My thoughts.

Thanks everyone for your 2/5 cents of thoughts. it worths more than that to me. i guess i should stick to a cheaper alternative till i am financially stable to pamper myself with a HD.

Most cruisers, 2A or CL2 are not too comfortable doing 150 over the long haul. You'll be riding the rev range at the upper limit.

Just curious, which cruiser has good brakes?

I am wondering a cruiser typically low and heavy, the brakes system should be better. But I see single discs and rear drum brakes.

Most cruisers don't have very good braking systems. Oftentimes, they're made to.... cruise! Cruise the boulevards around town, look good, chrome shiny and all that. Not for scrubbing off massive speed in the shortest time possible. That's not cruiser territory.

Only a few performance oriented ones may come with better braking... The Rocket III, the new VMAX, maybe the Star Warrior, the HD XR1200, V-Rod and similar types of power cruisers will prob have them.

Most cruisers, 2A or CL2 are not too comfortable doing 150 over the long haul. You'll be riding the rev range at the upper limit.

what u mean? i somewhat dun understand by rev range at the upper limit?

he means your needle at you rpm meter would likely be at the red zone by the time it hits 150km/h

rpm also means

the Revolution of your piston Per Minute

I used to ride a phantom too and recently swapped to a steed.

I would say that it depends on how many years > till u can comfortably afford a nice class 2 bike like a harley. If it isn't anytime soon, I would recommend upgrading to a class 2A. My reason for this is because I feel that the phantom's fish-tail tendencies make it very dangerous to ride, especially in the rain.

I feel that the steed I'm riding is much more stable in terms of balancing, cornering and braking. It's easier to balance. I have not experienced fish-tailing as of yet.

Why must class 2 cruisers definately be HD leh? So many other bikes. No need to only own harley to be class 2 wat. Abit stereo rite. Honda Suzuki Kawa Yamaha all got class 2 cruisers and i find it better than HD. Im sorry but i do feel this way.

It is simple, HD is one of the oldest bike company around, and they "rule" the cruiser territory, the japs companies want a piece of the cruiser section as well.

Not I discriminate metric cruiser riders as I have friends who ride them.

And it is not stereotyping. HD has proven himself all over the world. I have seen some chaps in this forum swear blind they wouldn't ride a HD, yeah, NOT.

http://www.suzuki-hayabusa.org/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/2010-suzuki-hayabusa-black1.jpg

2010 GSX1340R - HAYABUSA

I'm also one of those ride a 2B and jump to class 2 straight. The problem with this is the handling of the bike in the beginning part. It takes a little while before you get use to a class 2 bike.

Give a choice again, I will still go for this option. Dun waste time and money for a 2A unless you dun intend to ride a class 2 soon. There are also cheaper option for class 2, just need to look around.

after 2b i was convinced that i did not want anything but a HD...even tho i could barely imagine myself affording one haha...got a 2b 125cc Virago to get used to riding and the roads...but i saved and saved and saved...finally got a Sportster...and now i have sold it...still wanna ride nothing but HD...save and save and save again... :cheeky:

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301627_10150300464615267_702800266_8095265_1305808511_n.jpg
It is simple, HD is one of the oldest bike company around, and they "rule" the cruiser territory, the japs companies want a piece of the cruiser section as well.

Not I discriminate metric cruiser riders as I have friends who ride them.

And it is not stereotyping. HD has proven himself all over the world. I have seen some chaps in this forum swear blind they wouldn't ride a HD, yeah, NOT.

Hmmmm i see now i understand. :) thanks for your explaination. Mabbe must try one then will knw.

after 2b i was convinced that i did not want anything but a HD...even tho i could barely imagine myself affording one haha...got a 2b 125cc Virago to get used to riding and the roads...but i saved and saved and saved...finally got a Sportster...and now i have sold it...still wanna ride nothing but HD...save and save and save again... :cheeky:

what was the reason for u selling ur HD? was it cause of the cost?

Sept 06 - Feb 08 = TZM

Feb 08 - April09= CB 400 Version S

May 09 - Oct 10 = Harley XR1200

Oct 10 - Oct 12= KTM SMT 990

Oct 12 - Oct 13 = Tmax 500

Mar 13 - Jul 13= SYM maxsym 400

Jul 13 - Sep 15 = Getz 1.4

Oct 15 - Now = Burgman 650

Never ride faster then ur guardian angel could fly

All Class 2A cruisers/road bike can cruise 140-150km/h easily. Its the matter of how fast to reach that speed.

Not in NS, no stable job...then dun have to think so much. Get the licenses first then decide later in life.

You muz also consider maintenance costs, petrol consumption, road tax, insurance, installments, repairs, etc. Too much hassle if you cannot support these. The higher CC and rare the bike, the more it will suck from your pockets.

No point getting a 1.2k cc bike and in the end sold off at the end of the year coz cannot afford to pay for the miscellaneous. My thoughts.

This statement is not very correct. Most 2A cruisers' max speed will be 140-150 km/h. To maintain this speed for long distance will mean that you go to the work shop sooner rather than later.

learning to be a better rider.