the 1st time i got my bike i went to top up shell 95 till full and only manage about 180 miles but the 2nd time round i went into malaysia and top up shell V Power but only manage a mere 145 miles. is there something wrong with the bike??? :weep: :weep: :weep:

can all the big brothers enlighten me????

pocket big big hole liao.:cry: :cry: :cry:

Let's keep our ass safe on the road and live to ride another day....

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Originally posted by nickyeow@Sep 11 2005, 02:31 PM

the 1st time i got my bike i went to top up shell 95 till full and only manage about 180 miles but the 2nd time round i went into malaysia and top up shell V Power but only manage a mere 145 miles. is there something wrong with the bike??? :weep: :weep: :weep:

pocket big big hole liao.:cry: :cry: :cry:

I'm assuming that ur 145miles is till reserve. If so that is way too high.

Most buggers managed ard 190-210miles till reserve depend on petrol grade and riding style.

I once elaborated on some reasons why, a few pages ago. Perhaps u can go look it up and make ur diagnosis accordingly.

Anyone using a 10W-40 synthetic oil(forget wat brand)? I've recently tried that and less than 700miles the engine feels damm rough and the engine sounds darn loud. So much so that i think i'd wanna change my oil again.

Guess iafter this 'll stick to my usual 15W-50(Motul) instead.

Originally posted by jleo@Sep 11 2005, 10:23 PM

Anyone using a 10W-40 synthetic oil(forget wat brand)? I've recently tried that and less than 700miles the engine feels damm rough and the engine sounds darn loud. So much so that i think i'd wanna change my oil again.

has same experince on my TDM once. was using motul all the while then once i change to Castrol travel ~3,000 km it engine noise increase & became very rough. maybe yammies r made to run smoother on Motul oil :confused:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by jleo@Sep 11 2005, 10:23 PM

jleo,

when u change from a thicker oil to a thinner one, the engine sound will increase. this is normal.

Our divvy recommed 10W40 in the manual so it is fine.

Ur complain is due to changing from a thicker oil to a thinner one. This is the effect.

It'll be opp effect when u change from thinner to thicker one.

In fact, our divvy comes with 10W40 when 1st delivr to us.

Adv of thinner oil is

pickup is faster;

easy to start in e morning;

all components will get lub due to a faster flow(oil pump works faster) and

a drop in operational temperature(e engine oil can remove e heat faster n therefore u will feels cooler)

but in exchange

it is more noise(damping effect is lesser as oil is thinner) and

it will "disappear" faster than as it's flashing point is lower.

Try any 15W50 fully Synthetic(same grade as Motul) will let u understand tat all oil are the same. The only different is it's boiling or flashing point which coz them to be different in price.

Read the below MO link will let u understand more.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....showtopic=77179

Below is my experiance with fully synthetic oil

When I change from 10W40(esso) to 15W50(motul), like the quiteness of e engine but only to realise that engine is hotter. As a result, I change it back to 10W40 within a week coz I'm afraid that e engine gasket will shorter life span due to the higher heat being generated.

Now, using 5W50(red liner) which having the "in-between" of 10W40 n 15W50 and r happy w it until I find a better one.

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Sep 11 2005, 12:00 PM

Hi Yob_rekib,

First Bro- we are no sifus, just call us buggers will do...he,he,hee! :smile:

For a Semi-Synthetic Engine oil 5500-6000km, if it is an ordinary engine oil it should have been change every 4000km, for a fully synthetic you can use up to 8000+km. The other thing to take note of is to know the bike performance like sometime it is difficult to engage the gear or return to neutral or engine is heavy(rough)...this are all the indication for the engine oil need to be change but remember always record the mileage of the last changed use it as a guide.

I give you a suggestion buy those (envelope address sticker roughly about 1"+ by 3"+ stickers from bookshops/IT marts it cost about $2+ for a few dozen stickers) write the mileage, date (oil changed) on it and stick it under your seat...where you can use it as a refferrence/guide for next oil change.

There are other ways to delay engine oil change, is not to let the Engine Over Heat, if this regularly takes place then your oil change will be shorter then the general suggested guide line.

One more thing last not least- buy the oil filters and other yamaha spares from Automachinary Pte ltd (yamaha parts/supply's) behind mustafa verdun rd, you will save alot of $$-use OEM filters don't let wkshp bluff you into using honda filters...

Silverghost... o_O

Hi SG,

Thanks again for the clear info... didnt know that semi-syn can last up to 4-5k++ a lot ppl say must change below 3k lah...etc... so confusing man...:giddy: btw, i'm using motul 5100 10W-40... so i guess changing at 4k would be ok just nice.... so far been buying my stuff(s) from auto cycle; will try auto machinery which is near my house too...:smile: and yes... i've been tricked into using honda oil filters :cry:

Hi Bro SG and OMD,

Thanks alot for your pointers.

Gloves for gym use, I know quite well.

Gloves for bike use, I am not into this. Time to read and learn....

mctan

Originally posted by nickyeow@Sep 11 2005, 02:31 PM

1st time i got my bike i went to top up shell 95 till full and only manage about 180 miles but the 2nd time round i went into malaysia and top up shell V Power but only manage a mere 145 miles. is there something wrong with the bike???

pocket big big hole liao.:cry:

Hi nickyeow,

I think you forget that you have 5th gear on your bike or WHAT!!! maybe you are riding on 4th gear all the while thinking it is on the 5th gear because of the Vpower's smooth delivery or WHAT!!... :confused:

Bro have the chance pump petronas 98 you can feel alot different...better then Vpower...this is bikers choice!... ask around~ If they are given to choose between petrols..:smile:

You should remember that our bike odometer readings are in miles so you need to convert it into KM by (multyplying) X1.6.

Jleo,myself and others have discuss about this matter before - it is quite reasonly only ~ please refer back for more information on this matter.(check page 127)

Me like to pump at our neighbour but lazy to go thru all the hassle to get passport stamped and waiting in the Q breathing in fumes from burning 2T's more then oxygen.:giddy:

I pump locally my mileage is roughly around 175+/- miles uses 15.5 litres of octane 95 petrol mostly contribute to my riding habit usually maintain around 4200 to 4500rpm hitting around 70 to 90 km/h sometimes breaking the law for a short burst...I can get around 17.5 to 18 km/L...

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Sep 12 2005, 09:07 PM

Bro have the chance pump petronas 98 you can feel alot different...better then Vpower...this is bikers choice!... ask around~ If they are given to choose between petrols..:smile:

Priced at RM$1.61 per litre...smoothest petrol..jus pumped last sat with swift.

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Originally posted by nickyeow@Sep 11 2005, 02:28 PM

hi guys, it's me again.

having problems withmy bike. To all the divvy riders out there, how much is ur milege per tank and wat type of petrol u all using???:help: :help: :help:

think mine got something wrong.:cry: :cry:

recently I carried a bottle of "spare" petrol and then ride my bike until Bone-dry condition.

My riding style are of those conservative type. And usually I use Caltex's.

Bone-dry condition when the bike start to splutter was at 265miles.

Usually I hit the 1/2 tank mark at 120miles.

Hi Palary,

We old buggers Know that No one can ride like you or even have the patience -Palary.

He really sqeeze out every drop of petrol.

If I'm not wrong- he maintains around 3400~3800rpm.

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

This weekend any meetups :hungry: coming saturday say about 2230hrs. :confused: ..

Can meet some new buggers...please reply so we know how many is turning up..?

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

This weekend any meetups :hungry: coming saturday say about 2230hrs. :confused: ..

1. new buggers / mctan / ok

mctan

In regards to the question i posted the last time, i went thru the postings in the previous pages. Very "chim" ah.....

thanks alot for the advice. i'll slowly go thru the suggestions and also check again. those i know and understand one i'll try to rectify but those i dun one, may need to meet up with u guys then need ur help liao...:confused: :confused:

Let's keep our ass safe on the road and live to ride another day....

Originally posted by mctan@Sep 13 2005, 12:45 PM

2. Palary

This Saturday morning will be going for the F1 powerboat. Anyone interested boh?

The stormriders was invited FOC...got special seats somemore..hehe

anyway, wil meet up with u fellas!

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Sep 13 2005, 11:50 AM

Hi Palary,

We old buggers Know that No one can ride like you or even have the patience -Palary.

He really sqeeze out every drop of petrol.

If I'm not wrong- he maintains around 3400~3800rpm.

Silverghost...o_O

Petrol Expensive nowadays lah...haha

Originally posted by nickyeow@Sep 13 2005, 06:49 PM

Hi SG,

sorry i cannot make it. Outfield again....:cry: :cry: :cry:

Will try to make it for the next one.

Yo nickyeow,

Time to feed mosquito again. :angel:

mctan

Originally posted by nickyeow@Sep 13 2005, 06:49 PM

Hi SG,

sorry i cannot make it. Outfield again....:cry:Will try to make it for the next one.

Hi Nickyeow,

Tell the your CO that the dengue(mosquito) is a very serious problem now a days, tell him that (out field) can be postpone for another day when the dengue mosquito is down...he,he,hee..!

Or asusual (army always learn after someone or somethings happened) when somebody got the bite and get admitted in Hospital for dengue fever- it's already too late to be postpone -the out field.

Silverghost...o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by mctan@Sep 13 2005, 12:45 PM

2. New Buggers 2/vtec666, pending (MOSTLY CAN!! HE HE !!)

Count me in ...... :cheer:

any suggested place to meet up ??

Dont Think ... FEEL the Wind ,Safety is always the first !

Originally posted by Custom@Sep 2 2005, 11:57 AM

Any1 know where to order bigger fuel tank?

If there is, $ n ? liter?

thx

Custom, is this 45 litre tank ok?

http://www.ydcn.nl/pics2/ronnie_001.jpg

http://www.ydcn.nl/pics2/ronnie_002.jpg

Originally posted by BackOFF@Sep 15 2005, 11:14 PM

Custom, is this 45 litre tank ok?

http://www.ydcn.nl/pics2/ronnie_001.jpg

http://www.ydcn.nl/pics2/ronnie_002.jpg

Er.... can't c lar....

can post again?

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Wah, That is damn power .....

A Ah Pek bike, transform into a cross country, wild looking bike. Look like a dinosour :thumb:

The tank is much much more bigger than the OEM one....Woaooo....

Whole body can lean on the tank and ride man....

I think if this tank is full, I will have problem putting it on main stand...:help:

Got to raise the handle bar.

If possible, Mass Order....

mctan