[Technical] Engine Oil - All related matters in EO

• Replies 849

yes yes!! my engine now is like roaring at only 90kmh, gear changing very stiff. OWS so expensive yet so not suitable for our phantoms.

Anyone can inform us where got the chex9000 somewhere in the west please? :angel: Called many bikeshops no have .... :dozed:

bro... maybe u wanna go lian hup brother... this shop is at yew tee industrial park... is along woodland rd... very old shop but got sell this EO for $15...

Ex bikes ~ Yamaha X1, Honda Phantom TA150

Bajaj Pulsar 200 ~~~ 14/09/11 - ???

http://img19.imageshack.us/img19/1871/dsc0087zjc.jpg

Blue Pulsar with Orange sprocket.. Cool???

Guys S.O.S.... I added 2T oil to my engine... I tot I got engine oil... But it was not... What must I do now???

drain all the engine oil. refill fresh engine oil. ride for 500km. change this engine oil... hope this helps...

and dun delay! dun let the 2t eat your engine!!

yes yes!! my engine now is like roaring at only 90kmh, gear changing very stiff. OWS so expensive yet so not suitable for our phantoms.

Anyone can inform us where got the chex9000 somewhere in the west please? :angel: Called many bikeshops no have .... :dozed:

Change your 4T. Get something thick and gluey. Like 20W50 or 15W50 or or 10W50 or 10W60. Usually air cooled engine have larger gear clearance in the engine so if using thicker oil is better for air cooled engines.

Usually if engine is roaring at 90km/h is the engine oil sheared off already the viscosity also gone down already.

previously i used MOtul 300 and the smoothing is damn song!

den i changed to Motul 5100 and the bike doesn't feel like it went for a EO change at all........

Sians

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k129/ckoonyin/ThenandNowver2a.jpg

Usually if engine is roaring at 90km/h is the engine oil sheared off already the viscosity also gone down already.

For me, the change in engine sound from 80 to 90kmh is quite significant. But it is not like very very "roaring" but can hear clearly the engine making extra effort to run.

So how you determine the engine is going at the speed/noise which would spolit the engine hence its time to change engine oil? Phantoms engine should not make significant change in noise from 80 to 90 kmh?

For me, the change in engine sound from 80 to 90kmh is quite significant. But it is not like very very "roaring" but can hear clearly the engine making extra effort to run.

So how you determine the engine is going at the speed/noise which would spolit the engine hence its time to change engine oil? Phantoms engine should not make significant change in noise from 80 to 90 kmh?

Last time when i use my Honda Wave also same. Honda Wave is air cooled engine. After i use for quite some time it will roaring. I tried changing engine oil and it solve my problem. No more roaring sound. Instead smooth sound. Haha.

Try to get thick engine oil for air cooled engines. 10W60 and 20w50 is good.

Lets get things organised. Please add on to the list. Try to keep it alphabetically arranged thank you! :smile:

Strictly for TA200 riders reviews only

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Bel-Ray-96262-Thumper-20W50-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Belray thumper 20w50(Unique motorsports/hkl) $18

Hydher - After 1000k,gear shifting was slick 4.5/5

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_malaysia/STAGING/local_assets/images/products/mco_power14t_malaysia_375x253.jpg

Castrol Power 1 15w40 (Thailand) 100 baht / S$4.26

VidaK - Gear changing is a little stiff, engine sounds rough and top speed is much lower than before 2/5

jianping - worst EO on my bike, engine feels less powerful,noisy and rough.. need to throttle alot more to attain 90km/hr on expressway.. avoid this.. i bought at $12.. 1/5 :nono:

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_IHSFI5DXqm4/ShF8-VdH1fI/AAAAAAAADmQ/rMjBbBzoXdw/s512/DSC00359.JPG

Chessa Chex 9000 10w50 (planet) $16

VidaK - No gear changing problems, or other problems. Although there is more vibration then quality oils, it is good value for your money 4/5

jtzx- Great fully syn Eo. which is value for money which can last at least 2.5k millege 5/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to FUCHS brand.

FUCHS [Which series?]15w50 (planet) $10

Hydher - I hated it after 1k, gear changing was rough as hell and stuck at neutrals 2/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to CHEX brand.

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-32901-Maxum4-Extra-100-Synthetic-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-15W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 15w50 extra (planet) $21

VidaK - no problems with the bike, but compared to the chex, this oil lost outright since its much more expensive... 3/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-35901B-Maxum4-Synthetic-Blend-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-20W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 20w50 synblend (planet) $15

Hydher - Was used for long distance travelling. Was soso. 4/5

nuttybing - can feel the roughness in changing gears after around 1300km, so so only 3/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-36901-Maxum4-Ultra-100-Synthetic-High-RPM-Formula-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-5W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 5w50 ultra (planet) $23

VidaK - No doubt it is a good oil, but it is a little expensive 3.5/5

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_0237.jpg

Mobil 20w50 $7

Pending reviews

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/300V_4T_FACTORYLINE_15W50.jpg

Motul 300v 15w50 (planet) $28

VidaK - The smoothest is unreal. In fact top speed increased. 4.5/5

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/5100_4T_15W50_1L_A.jpg

Motul 5100 15w50 (semi)

nuttybing - Gear changing is really smooth, can feel the power along with the throttle, around 2000km can feel it deteriorating 4/5

http://www.motorcycle-road-and-race.co.uk/catalog/images/7100-full-synthetic-ester-motul-4l.jpg

Motul 7100 10w40 100% Syn Ester $22

lycan - still trying it out. feels smoother than Motul 5100.

NASA [Which series?]10w40 (planet) $10

Hydher - Not bad in all rounders even price. 4/5.

jtzx - pick up quite bad but over all good.. 3.5/5

armani123sg- acceleration faster, nicer sound, better than the FUCHS and CHEX but my FC decrease from usually 40km/hr on FUCHS/CHEX to 37km/hr on NASA... :)

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_9969.jpg

Putoline SUPER DX 4 SEMI SYN $8 LAB

Rating 2.5/5. Useable for 2k and you get what you pay for.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_0242.jpg

Total 15w50 $8.90

jtzx - Bought this at carefour for only $5.90 for my DIy oiler.

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd246/tosco1122/HR50white.jpg

Verity 15w50 fully synthetic (planet) $26

VidaK - It is very good, but not the best. Quite expensive also... 3.5/5

Lets get things organised. Please add on to the list. Try to keep it alphabetically arranged thank you! :smile:

Strictly for TA200 riders reviews only

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Bel-Ray-96262-Thumper-20W50-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Belray thumper 20w50(Unique motorsports/hkl) $18

Hydher - After 1000k,gear shifting was slick 4.5/5

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_malaysia/STAGING/local_assets/images/products/mco_power14t_malaysia_375x253.jpg

VidaK - Gear changing is a little stiff, engine sounds rough and top speed is much lower than before 2/5

jianping - worst EO on my bike, engine feels less powerful,noisy and rough.. need to throttle alot more to attain 90km/hr on expressway.. avoid this.. i bought at $12.. 1/5 :nono:

http://lh6.ggpht.com/_IHSFI5DXqm4/ShF8-VdH1fI/AAAAAAAADmQ/rMjBbBzoXdw/s512/DSC00359.JPG

Chessa Chex 9000 10w50 (planet) $16

VidaK - No gear changing problems, or other problems. Although there is more vibration then quality oils, it is good value for your money 4/5

jtzx- Great fully syn Eo. which is value for money which can last at least 2.5k millege 5/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to FUCHS brand.

FUCHS [Which series?]15w50 (planet) $10

Hydher - I hated it after 1k, gear changing was rough as hell and stuck at neutrals 2/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to CHEX brand.

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-32901-Maxum4-Extra-100-Synthetic-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-15W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 15w50 extra (planet) $21

VidaK - no problems with the bike, but compared to the chex, this oil lost outright since its much more expensive... 3/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-35901B-Maxum4-Synthetic-Blend-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-20W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 20w50 synblend (planet) $15

Hydher - Was used for long distance travelling. Was soso. 4/5

nuttybing - can feel the roughness in changing gears after around 1300km, so so only 3/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-36901-Maxum4-Ultra-100-Synthetic-High-RPM-Formula-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-5W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 5w50 ultra (planet) $23

VidaK - No doubt it is a good oil, but it is a little expensive 3.5/5

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_0237.jpg

Mobil 20w50 $7

Pending reviews

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/300V_4T_FACTORYLINE_15W50.jpg

Motul 300v 15w50 (planet) $28

VidaK - The smoothest is unreal. In fact top speed increased. 4.5/5

ckoonyin - very smooth; last me until 1000km before it started to get rough 4/5

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/5100_4T_15W50_1L_A.jpg

Motul 5100 15w50 (semi)

nuttybing - Gear changing is really smooth, can feel the power along with the throttle, around 2000km can feel it deteriorating 4/5

ckoonyin - roughness was similar before i did EO change from Motul 300 3/5

http://www.motorcycle-road-and-race.co.uk/catalog/images/7100-full-synthetic-ester-motul-4l.jpg

Motul 7100 10w40 100% Syn Ester $22

lycan - still trying it out. feels smoother than Motul 5100.

NASA [Which series?]10w40 (planet) $10

Hydher - Not bad in all rounders even price. 4/5.

jtzx - pick up quite bad but over all good.. 3.5/5

armani123sg- acceleration faster, nicer sound, better than the FUCHS and CHEX but my FC decrease from usually 40km/hr on FUCHS/CHEX to 37km/hr on NASA... :)

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_9969.jpg

Putoline SUPER DX 4 SEMI SYN $8 LAB

Rating 2.5/5. Useable for 2k and you get what you pay for.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_0242.jpg

Total 15w50 $8.90

jtzx - Bought this at carefour for only $5.90 for my DIy oiler.

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd246/tosco1122/HR50white.jpg

Verity 15w50 fully synthetic (planet) $26

VidaK - It is very good, but not the best. Quite expensive also... 3.5/5

got this when i did a search....motul 300v is infact pretty good...:thumb:

10W40-motorcycle-oil-shearstability.gif

Bajaj Pulsar 180 - May 2006 - May 2007

Hyosung Comet GT125- June 2008 - January 2010

Honda Phantom TA 200- January 2010 - 2012

Honda CB 400 Ver S - 2012 - Jan 2016

Adiva AD2 200 - Jan 2016 - July 2016

sorry if it's been mentioned before.

Does engine braking eats engine oil?

i just gotten my bike 2 weeks ago. seller told me can change EO at 78k. when i took over the bike, the mileage was 777xx, now 77850 nia. but maybe due to my riding style( engine braking a lot and wrongly =p), my dip stick cant even touch the EO liao. so i got this impression that engine braking eats ur eo like free de.

dun think so. EO is more to lube the engine and also on the gear box (depending on type of bike).

nothing of this sorts...EO will leak into the combustion chamber irregardless of wat stage it is in, be it intake, compression,combustion, or exhaustion stroke EO will leak in in minute amount which is commonly known as blowby gas...

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan

jianping - worst EO on my bike, engine feels less powerful,noisy and rough.. need to throttle alot more to attain 90km/hr on expressway.. avoid this.. i bought at $12.. 1/5 http://172.31.254.242/www.singaporebikes.comm/forums/images/smilies/icon-nono.gif

Castrol is that bad!?

I'm using Castrol mineral 20W40 and while it's adequate for general purpose use I haven't had the confidence in this oil to go beyond 100 as it feels like the motor is over-revving.

Someone tell me that switching to Motul or Chex for my next change will let me keep up (magically!?) with the Phantoms that appear to be capable of 130kph top speed without blowing into pieces :3

Castrol is that bad!?

I'm using Castrol mineral 20W40 and while it's adequate for general purpose use I haven't had the confidence in this oil to go beyond 100 as it feels like the motor is over-revving.

Someone tell me that switching to Motul or Chex for my next change will let me keep up (magically!?) with the Phantoms that appear to be capable of 130kph top speed without blowing into pieces :3

switching to fully synthetic oil would probably make the bike function smoother...

maybe you can just pick a fully synthetic oil and try it out...?

switching to fully synthetic oil would probably make the bike function smoother...

maybe you can just pick a fully synthetic oil and try it out...?

yeap i agree.

I tried Motul fully syn before..and the smoothnes is addictive.

But the price is kinda on the ex side and Planet dun have leh.

yeap i agree.

I tried Motul fully syn before..and the smoothnes is addictive.

But the price is kinda on the ex side and Planet dun have leh.

lol planet sure have... I just gotten myself a bottle of 300v yesterday... :clap:

eh?! they do?! Tot only Unique had 'em.

Ok, next stop, Planet for EO change.

Any idea if they are open this coming friday?

eh?! they do?! Tot only Unique had 'em.

Ok, next stop, Planet for EO change.

Any idea if they are open this coming friday?

hmmm... just call ah chong tml and ask! :cheeky:

just beside Serangoon stadium. Near the SPC patrol station. For shop name, i better don't say. They used to charge me for a Metz tires for $200, and too claim their cost is already $150. Now i guess, i better change my service over there next time. Maybe planet from now onward.

my famous black pu ki mak shop...none other the yuh l00ng...really gotta go down and teach them a lesson...since im so f***ing free can someone pls lent me a phantom with a shiny big p-plate???im dead serious let me know the time and date if u can....

Go as far as you can see; when you get there, you'll be able to see farther.

J. P. Morgan