[Technical] Engine Oil - All related matters in EO

jtzx

Can anyone advise me where to get cheapest Motul 300V (DIY) ?

Btw can i have the address for Planet?

Address 3007 Ubi Road 1, #01-430 (S)408701

Phantom TA200 2012, Vara 125 2013 (Betong)

TZR 125 (HatYai) 2013 & 2018 (Tak Bai)

CB400SF PB1 (Danok, HatYai, Yala, Betong and Su-ngai Kolok) 2014

CB400SF PB1 Iron Butt SaddleSore 1600k 25th Feb 2015

NT650V Deuville (Pattani) (Solo SG-MY-TH-LS)

ST1100 Pan 3 mountain ride in 24hr , MHS 1864 2017

http://tripdrive.blogspot.sg

• Replies 849

Can anyone advise me where to get cheapest Motul 300V (DIY) ?

Btw can i have the address for Planet?

Mxtradings at ubi selling for $28 per bottle. I tink shop at least $33 but i tink inclusive labour la. better check 1st.

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

My fav Agip no more stock so I switch to EIF 10w60.

EIF 10w60 (I love thick oil)

100% synthetic

Base 100% PAO

10W-60

JASO MA

I change at JB @SGD$24.

Much cooler and less vibration after hash drag at 1st gear compare to 20w50 or 15w50.

Reason invest on higher grade EO due to planing for long trip hopefully can last 3000km.

I know engine oil is an interesting and complex stuff I only can explain how my riding feel :cheeky:

10W60.jpg

Edited by osxunix

My fav Agip no more stock so I switch to EIF 10w60.

EIF 10w60 (I love thick oil)

100% synthetic

Base 100% PAO

10W-60

JASO MA

I change at JB @SGD$24.

Much cooler and less vibration after hash drag at 1st gear compare to 20w50 or 15w50.

Reason invest on higher grade EO due to planing for long trip hopefully can last 3000km.

I know engine oil is an interesting and complex stuff I only can explain how my riding feel :cheeky:

[ATTACH=CONFIG]259057[/ATTACH]

not too thick meh? ur fuel consumption got increase?

I was surprise not thick leh compare to 20w50 or 15w50:P

Just change 2 days not sure about the FC yet.

Handle bar had not much vibration also. :cheeky:

not too thick meh? ur fuel consumption got increase?

Interesting. I was expecting it to be really boggy and restrict the engine's ability to rev quickly. Surprising hw it reduces vibes. Enjoy ur ride!

obviously u do not understand multigrade oils and how they work....

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

Hi Bro,

If I'm not wrong I buy the exhaust wrap from you at Tampines.

Agree I know nothing about multigrade oils and don't understand what is the Winter grade mean as Singapore is summer all the time year but Singapore and Malaysia are selling multigrade EO is the "extreme cold temperatures cold start" necessary?

obviously u do not understand multigrade oils and how they work....

when you understand the use of multigrade oils...you will understand how the oil seem to have no impact on your ride.

here is a write up for your perusal...it is self explanatory...

Multi-gradeThe temperature range the oil is exposed to in most vehicles can be wide, ranging from cold temperatures in the winter before the vehicle is started up, to hot operating temperatures when the vehicle is fully warmed up in hot summer weather. A specific oil will have high viscosity when cold and a lower viscosity at the engine's operating temperature. The difference in viscosities for most single-grade oil is too large between the extremes of temperature. To bring the difference in viscosities closer together, special polymer additives called viscosity index improvers, or VIIs are added to the oil. These additives are used to make the oil a multi-grade motor oil, though it is possible to have a multi-grade oil without the use of VIIs. The idea is to cause the multi-grade oil to have the viscosity of the base grade when cold and the viscosity of the second grade when hot. This enables one type of oil to be used all year. In fact, when multi-grades were initially developed, they were frequently described as all-season oil. The viscosity of a multi-grade oil still varies logarithmically with temperature, but the slope representing the change is lessened.[8] This slope representing the change with temperature depends on the nature and amount of the additives to the base oil.

The SAE designation for multi-grade oils includes two viscosity grades; for example, 10W-30 designates a common multi-grade oil. The two numbers used are individually defined by SAE J300 for single-grade oils. Therefore, an oil labeled as 10W-30 must pass the SAE J300 viscosity grade requirement for both 10W and 30, and all limitations placed on the viscosity grades (for example, a 10W-30 oil must fail the J300 requirements at 5W). Also, if an oil does not contain any VIIs, and can pass as a multi-grade, that oil can be labelled with either of the two SAE viscosity grades. For example, a very simple multi-grade oil that can be easily made with modern base oils without any VII is a 20W-20. This oil can be labeled as 20W-20, 20W, or 20. Note, if any VIIs are used however, then that oil cannot be labeled as a single grade.

The real-world ability of an oil to crank or pump when cold is potentially diminished soon after it is put into service. The motor oil grade and viscosity to be used in a given vehicle is specified by the manufacturer of the vehicle (although some modern European cars now have no viscosity requirement), but can vary from country to country when climatic or fuel efficiency constraints come into play.

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

Noted with thanks.

That mean a 10W/60 oil is actually made from 10W base oil with add in additives to achieve extremes temperature to meet SAE60 standard in order labelled as Multi-grade oil?

when you understand the use of multigrade oils...you will understand how the oil seem to have no impact on your ride.

here is a write up for your perusal...it is self explanatory...

Multi-gradeThe temperature range the oil is exposed to in most vehicles can be wide, ranging from cold temperatures in the winter before the vehicle is started up, to hot operating temperatures when the vehicle is fully warmed up in hot summer weather. A specific oil will have high viscosity when cold and a lower viscosity at the engine's operating temperature. The difference in viscosities for most single-grade oil is too large between the extremes of temperature. To bring the difference in viscosities closer together, special polymer additives called viscosity index improvers, or VIIs are added to the oil. These additives are used to make the oil a multi-grade motor oil, though it is possible to have a multi-grade oil without the use of VIIs. The idea is to cause the multi-grade oil to have the viscosity of the base grade when cold and the viscosity of the second grade when hot. This enables one type of oil to be used all year. In fact, when multi-grades were initially developed, they were frequently described as all-season oil. The viscosity of a multi-grade oil still varies logarithmically with temperature, but the slope representing the change is lessened.[8] This slope representing the change with temperature depends on the nature and amount of the additives to the base oil.

The SAE designation for multi-grade oils includes two viscosity grades; for example, 10W-30 designates a common multi-grade oil. The two numbers used are individually defined by SAE J300 for single-grade oils. Therefore, an oil labeled as 10W-30 must pass the SAE J300 viscosity grade requirement for both 10W and 30, and all limitations placed on the viscosity grades (for example, a 10W-30 oil must fail the J300 requirements at 5W). Also, if an oil does not contain any VIIs, and can pass as a multi-grade, that oil can be labelled with either of the two SAE viscosity grades. For example, a very simple multi-grade oil that can be easily made with modern base oils without any VII is a 20W-20. This oil can be labeled as 20W-20, 20W, or 20. Note, if any VIIs are used however, then that oil cannot be labeled as a single grade.

The real-world ability of an oil to crank or pump when cold is potentially diminished soon after it is put into service. The motor oil grade and viscosity to be used in a given vehicle is specified by the manufacturer of the vehicle (although some modern European cars now have no viscosity requirement), but can vary from country to country when climatic or fuel efficiency constraints come into play.

yes...in another words...the oil is engineered to behave as 10w in cold weather and sae 60 in hotter weather...

so the viscosity stay within a targetted figure..whatever the operating temperature..

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

I just bought a Phantom 200 (10 year old). I need to change the oil now.

The 1st owner said he was using Castrol 20W40. The bike performance is ok with gear shift and revs etc.

Now reading this thread I am confused, whether to go for Motul/Cheka/castrol and also whether mineral/snyth/fs as people have suggested mineral for older bikes and phantoms (the piston-cylinder has been worked upon a year back.)

Any suggestions

Use semi type.

Would suggest to change regularly at 2000km.

5 Oct 2005 - Jun 2007(SP) FS6059X

18 Jun 2007 - 26 Nov 2007 -> CBR400, L model problematic FJ532*S

26 Nov 2007 - 12 Nov 2011 -> TA200, FV2X2G

12 Nov 2011 - 12 Nov 2012 -> SYM GTS200, FZ99*0D

29 Nov 2012 - 13 July 2015 -> KIA Rio HB 1.4M, SFY*

13 Jul 2015 - 28 Apr 2018 -> Kia Cerato V2 SKT*

28 Apr 2018 till current -> Hyundai Elentra S_trim SLZ*

Hello,

EO interesting and complex stuff.

What is your budget?

The review of many EO oil with picture on this thread have many great advise.

I change few EO brand since the day I brought my bike and I keep trying until one suit me.

I just bought a Phantom 200 (10 year old). I need to change the oil now.

The 1st owner said he was using Castrol 20W40. The bike performance is ok with gear shift and revs etc.

Now reading this thread I am confused, whether to go for Motul/Cheka/castrol and also whether mineral/snyth/fs as people have suggested mineral for older bikes and phantoms (the piston-cylinder has been worked upon a year back.)

Any suggestions

Hi osxunix

Sorry couldn't reply earlier. Well my budget is not unlimited, but 20- 30$ is fine with me.

Hello,

EO interesting and complex stuff.

What is your budget?

The review of many EO oil with picture on this thread have many great advise.

I change few EO brand since the day I brought my bike and I keep trying until one suit me.

Hi osxunix

Sorry couldn't reply earlier. Well my budget is not unlimited, but 20- 30$ is fine with me.

You could try Schaeffer 20w50 v-twin($12/quart) or 5w50($13/quart) engine oil, both are pretty popular with biker guys.

http://mxtradings.com/Schaeffer/Schaeffers20W50.jpg

http://www.schaefferoil.com/cmss_files/attachmentlibrary/TD%20Sheets/707%20Logo.pdf

http://mxtradings.com/Schaeffer/9000%205W50.jpg

http://www.schaefferoil.com/cmss_files/attachmentlibrary/TD%20Sheets/9001.pdf

I use Schaeffer 9000 before not bad :p

You could try Schaeffer 20w50 v-twin($12/quart) or 5w50($13/quart) engine oil, both are pretty popular with biker guys.

http://mxtradings.com/Schaeffer/Schaeffers20W50.jpg

http://www.schaefferoil.com/cmss_files/attachmentlibrary/TD%20Sheets/707%20Logo.pdf

http://mxtradings.com/Schaeffer/9000%205W50.jpg

http://www.schaefferoil.com/cmss_files/attachmentlibrary/TD%20Sheets/9001.pdf

Anyone else using Belray thumper 15w50?

Seems like its semi-synthetic, does this mean it last shorter compared to other fully synthetic oils? I've heard some good reviews about it, so any extra opinions?

its pretty good. semi-synthetic is definitely advised to have shorter oil change interval than fully synthetic. cheaper than FS also. it all depends on ur OCI actually. if u have short OCI, a semi like belray thumper is good value since you wont be making full use of the FS properties anyway.

Ooo I see, I've just change engine oil today, so now trying out this oil, gear changes seems very smooth, light taps can flick already!

erm, has anyone used shell eo those from the kiosks before? haven got time to do eo change at my fav place so thinking of just grabbing some eo from the petrol kiosk to do quick change..

operate a vehicle in a way that you benefit other road users pls - and meanwhile, stop whining! be responsible and be safe.

Hi I wanna ask if Phantom TA200 needs 1.2L of engine oil right? reading on the dip stick should be at the correct level or slightly above the xx markings?

Honda Phantom TA200 2013-2016

Yamaha RXZ 2016~Current

Ducati Monster 821 Dark Stealth 2016~current

Hi I wanna ask if Phantom TA200 needs 1.2L of engine oil right? reading on the dip stick should be at the correct level or slightly above the xx markings?

1 litre s enough...

unless overhaul...need 1.2 l

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..