[Technical] Engine Oil - All related matters in EO

jtzx

I still like to know how come no bikers used grade - weighttage 30 as in 5w30 ?

wouldnt that be too thin? u cud seriously damage ur engine if u always rev high.. plus sgp hot weather.. wen too hot, ur EO thin even more... nt gd ah.. at least wif 40wt or 50wt, u can rev like crazy and knw that ur engine is protected..

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

• Replies 849

Dear Naim and Hydher,

Thanks for sharing. Indeed i check with a lot of bike shops, Shell marketing do not really market their EO in bike shops, but they have already made a name for themselves i guess.

I have been using Shell Advance 10-40W Full Syn since with VPower ever since bike under my care. Power is there if you really need to sprint to avoid a near-end incident. But i guess everthing comes at a price. The EO is good at start up especially early morning dew period. I always get my ride startup at one time push of the crankstart button.

But recently they have change the engine oil feature again. Going to try the new type tomorrow by changing out the EO.

I would like to post pictures of the oil. How can i upload photos here?

Thanks a lot

Create an account at photobucket.

Used the image code and paste here.

I still like to know how come no bikers used grade - weighttage 30 as in 5w30 ?

Because of the manual recommendatory. Cant go wrong with whom made them.

Does diffcengine oil makes alot of diff. I thought fully is fully, semi is semi. Just brands makes the price tag.

Sent from my GT-P1000

fully synthectic??/

many ways of making this fully synthectic...and there is no standardisation..

some fully syn is very cheap..and some really cost....

change whatever eo u need..i always use motul esther mineral basic oil....i am happy with it..

some swear chex is best..now no lopnger available it seems..

i first came across this semoi from germany...cant recall...now it ids gone too..

so i use motul..cost a bit more always available...

old bikes used mineral basic oil....change eo regularly...use full synthectic on an old engine is a waste of money...in my opinion...

i love my ezzyoiler

experience the miracle...

where chain cleaning is history...

call 91797182..

:cheers::cheer:

As really, i change my engine oil every 5000km. If i go with the ex fully 4t then it will burn my pocket. My ride is my transport. I easy get 15 000 - 20 000 km per year minimium.

Sent from my GT-P1000

wow...your bike change eo every 5000km

mine change every 3000km...bike comes with filter too...

the last change of eo..tell mech to change filter..haha..his reply on taking out filter...ho your filter looks good dont need to change....haha most probably the 3000km eo change has this efect on my bike..

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

3000km too early lar bro. Really

wow...your bike change eo every 5000km

mine change every 3000km...bike comes with filter too...

the last change of eo..tell mech to change filter..haha..his reply on taking out filter...ho your filter looks good dont need to change....haha most probably the 3000km eo change has this efect on my bike..

Sent from my GT-P1000

If you ride a phantom 200 and use 1l of eo as reccomended by the manual,

3000 km without top up i would call you crazy.

5000 km without top up i would call you insane.

Have you seen the rate the engine oil depletes on it?

Also, I dont know why you are talking about oil filters in a phantom knights eo discussion thread.

No offence just my two cents.

I hope that this discussion would turn out useful.

cheers and ride safe.

yep.. i agree wif bro hydher.. in a super hot air-cooled engine wif just a mere 1L and NO oil filter, the breakdown on the EO is really high.. i suggest no more than 2000km... for me, 1500km or earlier... ur bike will thank u for it...

i change every 2k. or earlier if i can feel the engine has already broken down. gear shift is clunky, sticky. engine is heavy.

If you ride a phantom 200 and use 1l of eo as reccomended by the manual,

3000 km without top up i would call you crazy.

5000 km without top up i would call you insane.

Have you seen the rate the engine oil depletes on it?

Also, I dont know why you are talking about oil filters in a phantom knights eo discussion thread.

No offence just my two cents.

I hope that this discussion would turn out useful.

cheers and ride safe.[/quote

i see..so need to ride phantom... to commend..noted..

so sorry that i caused you to become uncomfortable..

have to figure out where in this thread discussion that you need to ride phantoms now or own phantom before or just...anything phantom...if may quote thread starter ..post no 1 ..term of reference..

quote....post 1

[Technical] Engine Oil - All related matters in EO

Here's the thread related on all Engine oil matters.

Qus: fully or semi EO?

Price range?

where can get it from?

what's the different between both Engine oil.

How to change EO? ( in the manual le)

..unquote

so sorry my bad understanding of the term o reference..

Edited by ezzyoiler

i love my ezzyoiler

call 91797182..

Dear all PK bros,some pointers/experience to share here.If u really wanna make ur engine last,u may wish to use thicker eo like 20w-50.15w-40 kinda to thin for my engine thou it give u faster pick up.if u buy castrol from lab bout 2-3 or every 1 mth u need to change cos is gets thin very fast.Thats wat i did for the past 3yrs.and when the mechanical removes my piston block,he ask did i overhaul recently n i told him it was 3years back.he was amazed that gasket seal everyting is in gd condition.

One most impt experience i must share is never never use STP oil lubricant.it makes ur engine run v smooth but ur engine overheat too fast.running 80 all the way from bedok to jb one run,engine overheat n stall at causeway

so far the reviews, dun tink so.. basically.. EO if starting to go, means ur gear change starts to be sluggish.. u might also easily get into neutral wen u are actually changing from 1st to 2nd (false neutral).. engine oso sounds rough n probably more vibration.. advisable to stick to 1500km to 2000km per oil change...

Well, I'm new to the riding scene and have only been riding for close to 3months. I've heard a few friends talk about "smoothness" of gear changing and engine, but i can't really seem to feel it?!?!?! D:

As for the false neutral, well, it rarely happens, but there ARE instances where it happens.

Guess I'll stick to changing by EO by the mileage method. Thanks for the heads up!

Phantom ta200 need thicker eo like 20-50 or thinner eo like 10-40?

on d safe side, use thicker ones.. better protection since ta200 engine runs pretty hot.. though some guys like to use w40 ones, cux makes the engine feel revvier and helps in FC.. if u wanna use w40, stick to well-known synthetics...

Thank you!

alright, im riding a Honda Tiger 200, which basically runs on the same engine as the TA200, thou on a different chassis. hence i figured it would be useful to contribute what i know as well. if theres any objections, please voice it out.

added reviews:-

- BlueSky 4T 10w40

- Fuchs Silkolene 15w50

- Castrol Power 1

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Bel-Ray-96262-Thumper-20W50-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Belray thumper 20w50(Unique motorsports/hkl) $18

Hydher - After 1000k,gear shifting was slick 4.5/5

TheChosenX - I loved it to the end. Only after 1000k++ that the throttle is smoother and engine has lesser vibration. 4.5/5

http://www.castrol.com/liveassets/bp_internet/castrol/castrol_malaysia/STAGING/local_assets/images/products/mco_power14t_malaysia_375x253.jpg

Castrol Power 1 15w40 (Thailand) 100 baht / S$4.26

VidaK - Gear changing is a little stiff, engine sounds rough and top speed is much lower than before 2/5

jianping - worst EO on my bike, engine feels less powerful,noisy and rough.. need to throttle alot more to attain 90km/hr on expressway.. avoid this.. i bought at $12.. 1/5 :nono:

nbk3 - used it for running in, around 200-300km, sticky gears. $7. wudnt recommend for long term usage. 2/5

http://img227.imageshack.us/img227/3716/dsc00359e.jpg

Chessa Chex 9000 10w50 (planet) $16 (UM) $18

VidaK - No gear changing problems, or other problems. Although there is more vibration then quality oils, it is good value for your money 4/5

jtzx- Great fully syn Eo. which is value for money which can last at least 2.5k millege 5/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to FUCHS brand.

naim - awesome value for money. the smoothness is remarkable considering the price. but felt it become a little rough wen hitting the 2k mark

TheChosenX - Didnt like it at all. Was very rough all the way. And even in my new bike it evaporated almost 20% of it. But then again is value for money. 2/5

http://img401.imageshack.us/img401/5391/photodw.jpg

FUCHS Silkolene 15w50 (planet) $10

byon - very good at start, throttle on and i can feel the pull from my bike never before. significant performance degraded after 1k.

Hydher - I hated it after 1k, gear changing was rough as hell and stuck at neutrals 2/5

armani123sg- gd, no problems but didnt feel any diff comparing to CHEX brand.

icearmour- gear changing was very hard..too much vibration as well..changed after 500km...1/5

nbk3 - very good at the start, smooth gear change, rev ups, masks sound/vibrations rather well, after 1k km, sticky gear, hard to engage neutral, at 1.5k km, impossible to engage neutral unless engine off, cheap. 2.5/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-32901-Maxum4-Extra-100-Synthetic-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-15W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 15w50 extra (planet) $21

VidaK - no problems with the bike, but compared to the chex, this oil lost outright since its much more expensive... 3/5

icearmour - no problems, speed, smoothness, vibration etc all are at decent levels...but not the best in anything so 4/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-35901B-Maxum4-Synthetic-Blend-4-Stroke-Motor-Oil-20W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 20w50 synblend (planet) $15

Hydher - Was used for long distance travelling. Was soso. 4/5

nuttybing - can feel the roughness in changing gears after around 1300km, so so only 3/5

http://www.cbxmanmotorcycles.com/Aftermarket-Motorcycle-Products/Chemicals-Lubricants/4-Stroke-Motor-Oil/Maxima-36901-Maxum4-Ultra-100-Synthetic-High-RPM-Formula-4-Stroke-Racing-Motor-Oil-5W50-1-Liter-Bottle.jpg

Maxima 5w50 ultra (planet) $23

VidaK - No doubt it is a good oil, but it is a little expensive 3.5/5

http://img210.imageshack.us/img210/9615/img0237e.jpg

Mobil 20w50 $7

naim - using this cheap mineral EO for running-in.. so far so good.. using it at 500km intervals (kiasu! haha!) but actually not dat bad.. quite value for money.. just shorter OCI is recommended.. good gear change and tolerable vibrations..

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/300V_4T_FACTORYLINE_15W50.jpg

Motul 300v 15w50 (planet) $28

VidaK - The smoothest is unreal. In fact top speed increased. 4.5/5

ckoonyin - very smooth; last me until 1000km before it started to get rough 4/5

ckoonyin - 2nd time using it again, damn smooth, gear changes are very positive. engine vibration is noticably muted compared to Motul 7100

icearmour- overall smoothness increased nicely:thumb:vibration still there but slightly lesser....4/5

http://www.amsoil.com/StoreFront/images/MCF_900.jpg

Amsoil 10W40 (UM) $28

TheChosenX - Really like this oil. Used it for 3k before i change the next and still smooth. A little expensive but i like the smoothness of it. 4.8/5

http://www.motul.com.sg/product_line_up/4stroke/images/product_images/5100_4T_15W50_1L_A.jpg

Motul 5100 15w50 (semi)

nuttybing - Gear changing is really smooth, can feel the power along with the throttle, around 2000km can feel it deteriorating 4/5

ckoonyin - roughness was similar before i did EO change from Motul 300 3/5

http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/9716/7100fullsyntheticesterm.jpg

Motul 7100 10w40 100% Syn Ester $22

lycan - still trying it out. feels smoother than Motul 5100.

ckoonyin - not much diff between Motul 5100

TheChosenX - Trying it out for the first time. Throttle is so much smoother and more responsive. But nosiy compared to my thumper 20W50.

NASA [Which series?]10w40 (planet) $10

Hydher - Not bad in all rounders even price. 4/5.

jtzx - pick up quite bad but over all good.. 3.5/5

armani123sg- acceleration faster, nicer sound, better than the FUCHS and CHEX but my FC decrease from usually 40km/hr on FUCHS/CHEX to 37km/hr on NASA... :)

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_9969.jpg

Putoline SUPER DX 4 SEMI SYN $8 LAB

Rating 2.5/5. Useable for 2k and you get what you pay for.

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff37/hydher/bike/IMG_0242.jpg

Total 15w50 $8.90

jtzx - Bought this at carefour for only $5.90 for my DIy oiler.

http://i227.photobucket.com/albums/dd246/tosco1122/HR50white.jpg

Verity 15w50 fully synthetic (planet) $26

VidaK - It is very good, but not the best. Quite expensive also... 3.5/5

Amsoil 10w40(25$)

icearmour- gear changing is the smoothess among all..less vibration and as good as motul 300v..top speed not so great so 4/5

http://i16.photobucket.com/albums/b35/adiknaim/liquimoly.jpg

Liquimoly 10W50 Fully synthetic (Equipment Extreme) $24

naim - very smooth. very slick gear changes. doesn't get rough at full throttle. vibration is strong due to its thickness, but u can feel that its smooth. though abit expensive. 4.5/5

http://www.honda2wheelersindia.com/images/honda-genuine-oil.gif (Thai version) $12

Original Honda Motor Oil 0W20 Similar to the picture except the words are all Thai.

Icomeforyou - Loved this motor oil, cheap and good. Smooth, and gear is smooth. The oil once changed you can feel its thickness. My vehicle was "growling". Top speed okay, not much improvement, but riding is smooth. Best utilized at 85 - 95 there abouts. Can feel it starting to break down around the 1k~1.5k mark

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=218300&d=1315147274

$10 from a forummer

nbk3 - its a 10w40 which meant its relatively light. doesnt mask vibrations or sounds as well as thicker oils.fully syn. so far so good. on expressways u can sorta makeout the engine churning the oil away.hmmm. so far so good. 3/5

Personally any fully syn ester based oil of 10W40 to 15W50 wt works well for me. Hard pressed to find or feel any diff. I've tried Motul, Maxima, Agip and Ipone and they all work equally well.

A lot of things are marketing hype. And IMO, I say any perceived diff tt u "feel" in diff brands of oil of the same class or weight is usually all in yr head.

Edited by DeusExMachina

anyone tried rockoil?

thinking of getting it for next oil change.