In light of the current case where whisperer's pouch got snatched at JB whilst riding his bike, this thread is to inform everyone here of what to do if such a thing happens to you.

What actually happened:

extracted from Snatch Theives on bike

====================

jus had a bad experience at 1st link. this thread is not for me to ######, but to warn everyone.

i was returning back to singapore via 1st link along jalan wong ah fook, at around 2220hrs. traffic was slightly heavy, and noticed alot of malaysian bike riding alongside us. as i was filtering right and turning up to the roundabout which leads back to singapore, i felt someone fumbling with my waist pouch. before i realised what was going on, my pouch snapped and i saw 2 malaysian chinese escaping on a kup kia to the right exit leading to jalan tebrau. due to the road condition and traffic, i was unable to give chase nor take down their number plate. immediately, i alerted my group who were ahead and we made our way to make a police report. i had lost my handphone, wallet containing ic and driving license, atm cards, and my passport. the pouch strap was still intact, which means the robbers had used something extremely sharp to cut away my pouch in less than 5 seconds.

the trip back to singapore was a long one, as i had to go thru customs explaining what had happened. i also met this malaysian chinese, who told me the same thing happened to him at the exact spot. it was then i realised that the place is a hot spot for such robberies. they probably had trailed me along jalan wong ah fook, and striked at that exact spot, where they could make their escape to a dark road with alot of small lanes.

i can only curse them for their deeds. perhaps, as my friends hav said, nothing had happned to me let this be a lesson, an expensive one, to everyone who frequents that area. don't let your pouch hang where it can be easily reached by someone riding beside you. keep your valuables in different places to minimise loss in the case of such events. it was the first time i had used that pouch to contain all my valuables. it was also my last.

=========================

1. Make a police report at JB Police station. or you can call this no. 072212999 (got the no from SG news)

2. Request for a copy of the report. (Some have encountered the policemen asking you to pay them 5RM for the copy. Be firm with them and say I have made several reports before and I know I don't have to pay.)

3. You can then use the police report to show at the Customs to explain that you lost your passport and other belongings. (at malaysia custom, usually you can just ride thru since there is nothing to chop now)

4. When you reach SG custom, you need to show them the JB report, may need some explaining to indentify u as Singaporean. Afterwhich you have to proceed to the nearest NPC to make a local police report again, just once will do as the system is link to other govt agency expect for your credit card or such.

The subject matter is that you can use the police report to get thru customs. Unlike many years ago where you have to go to Singapore Embassy in KL to obtain some kinda temporary pass to get thru Customs.

I hope whisperer can share further on part 3 so that we know what to do at the customs.

All in all JB is like any other country/state. It has its fair share of crime rates. The crimes are not particularly targeted at Singaporeans so we must never be biased against Msians.

Instead, we must step up our own precautions when we enter JB. Prevention is better than cure.

• Replies 19

Thanks for the info...I had an incident where my wife forgot to chop her passport when gog in and when gog out asked us to go to the container to explain things..they were rather polite and after some explaning..they chop on the passport and did not actually request anything..

maybe there are some who request for something back for helping..

but not all..

and yes i agree with manzz..prevention is better than cure..

do what you wan to do and get out..make it a point you can always see what is happening to your bike..

Ride safely and enjoy it As quoted in the movie BIKER BOYZ...."Burn rubber,not your soul"

Just to share a outdated experience.

please note that this happen a long time ago so i don't know if this method is a correct procedure or not.

1. lost 1 passport at malaysia. It fly away (most likely as we assume)

2. After many min of decision, we decided to go back sg to make report for fear that at MY we may have more trouble (we are almost cashless liao becos we are making a returning from a trip)

3. we ride thru the MY custom (only the person without Passport ride thru without chop lah)

4. we stop at sg custom and walk to request to see the officer in the room. we were escoted and pushing (we were order to push and they say cannot ride) our bike at the officer. then we explain the suitation to the officer.

5. we were given the chop (those with passport) and escot out of the custom toward sg.

6. the person that lost passport was advice to make a police report and the SIR report within the day.

end of story.

• 10 months later...

well, if u use a pouch, hide it under a jacket. passport, i always put somewhere separately so i dun have to open the pouch and exposed it.

money, same, M$ put in pocket, min. the exposure of pouch.

I accept with information: lost 1 passport at malaysia. It fly away (most likely as we assume); After many min of decision, decided to go back sg to make report for fear that at may have more trouble; ride thru the MY custom (only the person without Passport ride thru without chop lah); stop at sg custom and walk to request to see the officer in the room.

watchhotmoviesonline

watchonlinesportfree

Here's some tip as i frequently goes to JB.My mum in law hse also there.Avoid walking/riding in a dark/quiet alley if you're alone or couple.Change your money in Singapore better plus extra too.Dun put your money in t-shirt/Polo t-shirt pocket.If you do mistakes on the road just apologised by raising your hand if they horn you.Dont agitate them,They're well known for vengeance.Be it on SG or MY roads dun ya ya with them,again there's no advantage for us.If really bo bian,Then bargain with them.They wanna take all your money go ahead but return your passport and IC.No point showing your hero there unless you got many kakis there.Thank God after all these years nothing happened to me whether i'm riding or driving.Somemore my timing quite dangerous above 12am.Dun ride or drive too slow on minor road when theres no vehicles.

Klass 2,3,4 i shiny Professional'noye litsenziya

1993:Class 2B-Yamaha RXK/RXZ/TZR125RR/SDR200/WR200-Aprilia RS125R-Kawasaki KRR150ZX(Former)

2000:Class 3-Honda Civic 1.6esi(Former)Proton Exora 1.6Turbo(Current)

2004:Bus Driver Vocational License

2009:Class 4

2011:Class 2A-Aprilia RS250-Honda CB400SF PB1-KTM250EXC(Former)Yamaha XJR400R(Current)

2013:Class 2-Suzuki B-King 1300(Former)

Here's a tip I learnt from working at ExxonMobil.

Photocopy your passport and NRIC and keep it in a separate bag when you travel. (Even for riding to Malaysia.)

The idea is that, if you lost your passport and so on. You can seek temporary help by showing your photocopied passports and NRIC. It also works for you to immediately fax to agencies and and there. Also good for showing to Police Officers at various countries that your passport is lost, and they can probably remember and stop your passport being used.

One thing to note, your passport is very profitable, so avoid showing your passport colours easily.

And its good if you can at least photocopy your credit cards and put down a fax number on the photocopy so that should your wallet be lost or stolen, you can instead of calling the credit card companies, simply fax over your photocopy to stop it being used. Usually any hotels can easily help you with that.

You could also probably request from the hotel to provide you some cash, charged to your credit card, before you cancelled it, to tide you over for a few days before you return to Singapore.

hi guys lost my passport in malaysia on 12/12/2010, just wanna share the latest info and some experience with u on whats gonna happen when u lost ur passportin malaysia.

Lucky for my i didn't lost my wallet but lost my passport, GPS and etc. while riding on the NSHW of malaysia.

I travel about 30km+- and found my bag being unzip and everything inside flew out of my bag. it was very fortunate as i kept my wallet in my pocket as i thought im gonna pay when i pass the toll in malaysia as it was my first trip.

When i feel my bag flewing high behind me i quickly grab my bag and i was shock to see my whole bag empty and i immediately stop at the road shoulder of the expressway.

i was stoned there about a min and out of desperate i did a very stupid and dangerous stunt.I ride in the opposite direction of the NSHW to find my passport, while traveling halfway the malaysia police car was driving towards me and they stop me. They were shock to see my riding on the incoming way of the NSHW and told me i could be fine 600RM.

so i told them i lost my passport and i need to find it immediately so after a few mins talk they let me go and told me to U TURN and find again. so i did that and went 1 round again but nothing was found.

so with a very sian and lost mood i went back JB. so this is what you got to do if you lost your passport in malaysia and you are able to at least return to JB.

1) Make a police report, you will need to give 2RM and offical receipt will be given to you.

2) Go to the city square level 35 which is the singapore ambassador to make a certificate which

they called it the emergency passport.

- you will need a photo same as passport

- 36RM to make the cert

- your police report

3) after you have the cert you will be allow to stay in malaysia for 30 days and when you return to singapore this cert

will be taken away from the sg custom.

when you reach JB custom you will be ask to go take statement and get a exit chop behind your cert

and its gonna take a very long time cause they will bring you to their office which is very far and do the stuffs.

advise to u guys DO NOT ride through the JB custom without the proper exit procedure, you can exit and enter sg without problem

but the next time you go back JB again you will have big time trouble so do go through the proper procedure.

lucky for my my IC was with me, else everything is gonna be terrible, so guys do take good care of your belonging.

hope this info help and good luck :)

Edited by freeze18

2007-2008 == Honda (FX^^^M)

2008-2008 == Kawasaki (FV^^^^M)

2008-2010 == Honda (FU^^^^K)

2010-201? == Suzuki (FBB^^^D)

advise to u guys DO NOT ride through the JB custom without the proper exit procedure, you can exit and enter sg without problem

but the next time you go back JB again you will have big time trouble so do go through the proper procedure.:)

I have to agree wif this. I was an avid biker in the 90s and frequents jb with the so call 'gang'. Most would just ride past Malaysian custom in and out. Until one of us got stopped in jb and was arrested for illegal entry... This is no joke. Just not worth the risk.. Just bear with the extra hardship to do the paperwork and go thru proper channel...

Current ride>>

motorcycle

Previous rides>>

Skateboard

Bicycle

Non-LTA approve electric bicycle

Skate Scooter

Bus no 11

• 8 months later...
never bring ur IC (or 11b if u're nsf) out of s'pore, especially when travelling. It is only officially recognised in s'pore. It will be an additional burden if u lose it

Yes, as most hv pointed out, leave IC at home. Make and bring copies of IC and passport for verification purposes at the Singapore Consulate when getting your DOI (one time passport for return to Sg).

Also, do take note of the MFA duty office emergency number +65 63798800 in case you require consular assistance. Sporeans only.

Stay safe. And ride safe.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=224954

2B(8/09);2A(10/10);2(12/11)

Derbi "Black Maverick" Terra 125 (8/09-9/12)

Honda "Burly Bison" Varadero XL1000V1 (10/11-12/12)

Ducati "Banded Mustang" Hypermotard 1100 EVO SP (12/12-)

Vespa "Vicki" GT200 (05/14-)

"Brothers, what we do in life echoes in eternity."

• 3 years later...
  • admin unpinned this topic