Went to Sitex at expo and saw the 1098S on display... so beautiful :lovestruck: I'm definitely saving up for one from now on.

there was also a 996 parked on the pavement near the road leading to hall 8 and 9.....:cheeky:

• Replies 14.9k

Looks cool... is there red? haha...

Anyway, i'm using Gaerne.

So was my last pair....the plastics cracked on mine, after 2 and a half years usage. Let's see how does the SMX hold up against Gaerne :lol:

Yes.

I told my mechanic abt the loose solenoid, but he checked and say its ok and tighten.

Now the problem happens again. :sian:

Hmm...tighten the solenoid? It's an electrical connector, not sure what the mechanic "tighten". How about bringing to Michael Chong at Kallang Cycle then? He could be a bit *ahem* "careless" but to be fair, he is vastly experienced on early model Ducs.

I would workshop hop after a couple of times given. Does not mean I will not visit again, but my concern is to get the problem solved.

Try Excel also (ask bro Ming aka Cagiva03). Try also Gerry Looi (ask yappiez, RedRocket) and yes, Minerva (you can ask any bros here except me, cuz I'm dang too far away).

Last time Minerva solve this issue for me, so you should give it a try. Eugene is good at electrical work (his rice bowl).

:thumb: And bring your bike to track :angel: I think that is why your Duc show you no love, just like a BMW (those that hardly tour, leaks and dun start). Multiply short trips with frequent starts, not good for Duc.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

When i bought my 999(not 1st hand), i had similiar starting problem too. I can hear the petrol pump going on after turning on the key, when i try starting the bike, the cranking was really weak. After changing the battery, it still couldn't start properly. After changing a new started clutch. wow everything was better. then the next problem came was a faulty RPM sensor becuz of poor current. Becuz of a weak battery it cause a few problems.

Some riders will tell me, not using a bike for a week or 2 is ok.

But i wouldn't never dare to let my bike be untouch for more than 3 days.

I used to bring my Monster S4 to Michael. But for my 999, i bring it to Eugene and no other shops. He's really helpful if u're nice to him, haha. I believe see some customers can be really pissed and he might get all the s**t. I used to be a Hyundai car technician so i know what's it like. From my experience, Eugene is really helpful. he may not share certain things, but only if u ask him, he can tell u lots of stuff. In fact he's given me some tips on how to improve my riding on PG. :thumb:

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Bikes Ridden & Riding Currently.

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2003

Ducati 999 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2006

Yamaha R1'09 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2009

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

FJR1300A '13 / Vespa Lx150 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2013

When i bought my 999(not 1st hand), i had similiar starting problem too. I can hear the petrol pump going on after turning on the key, when i try starting the bike, the cranking was really weak. After changing the battery, it still couldn't start properly. After changing a new started clutch. wow everything was better. then the next problem came was a faulty RPM sensor becuz of poor current. Becuz of a weak battery it cause a few problems.

Some riders will tell me, not using a bike for a week or 2 is ok.

But i wouldn't never dare to let my bike be untouch for more than 3 days.

I used to bring my Monster S4 to Michael. But for my 999, i bring it to Eugene and no other shops. He's really helpful if u're nice to him, haha. I believe see some customers can be really pissed and he might get all the s**t. I used to be a Hyundai car technician so i know what's it like. From my experience, Eugene is really helpful. he may not share certain things, but only if u ask him, he can tell u lots of stuff. In fact he's given me some tips on how to improve my riding on PG. :thumb:

True true....Eugene is okay if you are also okay. Must learn to take his joke, which is pretty common here in the States. His advises on the bike technically are great, but advises about riding in PG, erhm.....wait till you see him ride first lah :lol: No offense to Eugene, but it's hard to take actual riding advise from a person whom I did not see before in the tracks.

Okay, Corse, if you have no problem disconnect battery (neg first then positive when removal, positive first then negative when installation), that is the best thing to do if you have to leave the bike unridden for awhile. I always do this for the cars and bikes I used to owe when I had to go for detachments (was RSAF previously). Saves a lot of trouble, bike fire right up after battery connected.

You could ask Eugene for advises on this practise for your 999, for all the digital instrument cluster and all. I am sure the trip/odometer is flash memory, and should not wipe out if you disconnect battery, but just check with Eugene to be sure.

Ok Hil... Thanx.. Btw.. U can call me Julian.

Anton... I think we've seen enough of the F4 Senn Limited edition. Btw, I dont really like it. Hee.... :p

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

PG This Sat 8th Dec... See ya there Marcus... Ming Ming??

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

Ok Hil... Thanx.. Btw.. U can call me Julian.

Anton... I think we've seen enough of the F4 Senn Limited edition. Btw, I dont really like it. Hee.... :p

Thats not a Senn Limited Edition on my Sig.... just a norm bike at moto show.

i dont even know what brand is the bike ??? i guess you only like Ducati

http://i219.photobucket.com/albums/cc114/antonioshabirto/shoei1.jpg

http://motoplanete.com/mv-agusta/SBR11_MVVRloop.gif

FYI, the bike in the video game picture is an Aprilia RSV1000. I like all things Italian... bikes, babes, Monica Bellucci, Vale Rossi, etc... don't get me started! :angel:

Nope... i like the R1s and R6s also.

Its just that, this bike in the showroom pic is something i wouldn't ride.

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

Nope... i like the R1s and R6s also.

Its just that, this bike in the showroom pic is something i wouldn't ride.

thats nice .... well like whata Motocafe said ..... i love all Italian Bikes ....:cheeky:

But i prefer the 999 series over the 1098.

thats nice .... well like whata Motocafe said ..... i love all Italian Bikes ....:cheeky:

But i prefer the 999 series over the 1098.

ditto hahahaha

Motocafe - do you know if the m900 is still around at michael shop? Found the owner already?

ditto hahahaha

Motocafe - do you know if the m900 is still around at michael shop? Found the owner already?

If you are talking about the 1st generation, red m900, it has already been sold. To an Ang Mo, if I remember correctly.

PG This Sat 8th Dec... See ya there Marcus... Ming Ming??

Monday morning 11am session! Bring a group of my friends there to track too...Some are new trackies.

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

If you are talking about the 1st generation, red m900, it has already been sold. To an Ang Mo, if I remember correctly.

Waaah, motocafe, long time never see u here lor!

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2

Waaah, motocafe, long time never see u here lor!

Hiya Ming,

Glad you still remember me. Just sold my 'm996 Special' to a very happy buyer. I'm glad that it is now in good hands. Anyway, I have crossed over to the 'dark side' and bought an Aprilia Tuono R (see my avatar). :angel:

Perhaps when you go track I can tag along? Teach an old dog new tricks? haha! Looks like there's no free Saturdays for me to go track until next year. Miss the last 2 Saturdays - heard there was a big turnout of Ducatis! :thumb:

Hiya Ming,

Glad you still remember me. Just sold my 'm996 Special' to a very happy buyer. I'm glad that it is now in good hands. Anyway, I have crossed over to the 'dark side' and bought an Aprilia Tuono R (see my avatar). :angel:

Perhaps when you go track I can tag along? Teach an old dog new tricks? haha! Looks like there's no free Saturdays for track until next year? Miss the last 2 Saturdays - heard there was a big turnout of Ducatis! :thumb:

So whats the reason behind the Tuono ??

Motocafe, I think he wanna know why the Tuono over the Monster Special Dry :cool:

Why Duc make the Hyper Motard so un-super moto? Aprilia SVX is definately a better twin motard over the Duc Hyper motard.

Errrr .. ok ..... but why ??? you have not answer that

Motocafe, I think he wanna know why the Tuono over the Monster Special Dry :cool:

Reason?? How about 33 of them - take your pick! :angel:

• Öhlins Racing 43mm titanium nitride coated upside-down fork

• Öhlins Racing monoshock with piggy-back cylinder

• Öhlins Racing adjustable double chamber steering damper monoblock fitting

• TITANIUM EVO exhaust system with dedicated EPROM

• 4-valves per head

• Twin spark ignition

• Electronic fuel injection

• Liquid cooling

• Close-ratio gearbox

• Slipper clutch - PPC (Pneumatic Power Clutch) system

• Max power at the crank - 130 HP at 9,500 rpm

• Max torque at the crank - 101 Nm at 7,250 rpm

• Brembo radial monoblock calliper four 34 mm pistons

• Brembo double stainless steel floating disk, 320 mm.

• Monoblock steering yoke

• Monoblock handlebar mountings

• OZ Forged aluminium alloy wheels

• Steel braided lines - brakes & clutch

• Nylon frame sliders

• Nylon fuel tank

• Lap timer

• Carbon-fiber headlight fairing

• Carbon-fiber cockpit cover

• Carbon-fiber radiator guards

• Carbon-fiber body fairings

• Carbon-fiber front fender

• Carbon-fiber ram air intakes

• Carbon-fiber ignition coil covers

• Carbon-fiber belly pan

• Carbon-fiber heel protectors

• Carbon-fiber seat unit

• Carbon-fiber rear hugger

• Carbon-fiber passenger seat cover

These are standard equipment not options. :angel: :angel: :angel:

Reason?? How about 33 of them - take your pick! :angel:

• Öhlins Racing 43mm titanium nitride coated upside-down fork

• Öhlins Racing monoshock with piggy-back cylinder

• Öhlins Racing adjustable double chamber steering damper monoblock fitting

• TITANIUM EVO exhaust system with dedicated EPROM

• 4-valves per head

• Twin spark ignition

• Electronic fuel injection

• Liquid cooling

• Close-ratio gearbox

• Slipper clutch - PPC (Pneumatic Power Clutch) system

• Max power at the crank - 130 HP at 9,500 rpm

• Max torque at the crank - 101 Nm at 7,250 rpm

• Brembo radial monoblock calliper four 34 mm pistons

• Brembo double stainless steel floating disk, 320 mm.

• Monoblock steering yoke

• Monoblock handlebar mountings

• OZ Forged aluminium alloy wheels

• Steel braided lines - brakes & clutch

• Nylon frame sliders

• Nylon fuel tank

• Lap timer

• Carbon-fiber headlight fairing

• Carbon-fiber cockpit cover

• Carbon-fiber radiator guards

• Carbon-fiber body fairings

• Carbon-fiber front fender

• Carbon-fiber ram air intakes

• Carbon-fiber ignition coil covers

• Carbon-fiber belly pan

• Carbon-fiber heel protectors

• Carbon-fiber seat unit

• Carbon-fiber rear hugger

• Carbon-fiber passenger seat cover

These are standard equipment not options. :angel: :angel: :angel:

holy **** ..... Thats superb

Hiya Ming,

Perhaps when you go track I can tag along? Teach an old dog new tricks? haha! Looks like there's no free Saturdays for me to go track until next year. Miss the last 2 Saturdays - heard there was a big turnout of Ducatis! :thumb:

Hey, i am more than happy enough to share my riding technique with anyone in the forum here. Gosh u sold ur Project 996...What a pity :cry:

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

13-14 > RC51 SP2