Damn it! Run a 6 laps on PG with my friend's 08'R6... the more i ride, the more i feel like selling away my 749.... Just got to admit, technology wins it! it's 3 secs faster than my duke (with stock worn-out tyres and badly setup suspension somemore).... :cry: imagine if it was on racetecs and ohlins? Ohhhh myyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Gooooooooooooooooooood!!!!!!!!

Ya, still running on stock suspension.... Actually it's not the suspension that is hindering me... It's the wheel base... too long...... i can't do anything to the rake angle as well, mine is unadjustable. And the natural characteristic of the "forward rushing" motion of the duke when u try to exit out of the apex fast, becos our pistons are v-twin configure in a forward and backwards motion... Thats why front wheels tends to "drift out". Ican't go any lower than 1.47secs..... thats it for me on this bike. But the R6 that day had me cutting down to 1.44secs in a hottest lap. Too big gap!

On Sat, i was suppose to go PG again to test on another of my friend's 08CBR600... But too bad last minute, we got something on! if not i think the honda will perform even better!

Hey Bro.. Change bike!!

I'm gonna get the R1'09. Haha!!

for a ducati 999s 06. what is the mileage for valve checking and timingbelt change? pls enlighten me. thanks!

I'm Riding a 999'03.

If i'm not wrong , Mileage for valve clearance is every 20,000km

Timing Belt is 30,000km

I spent $241 on valve clearance and labour is $225.

I think mine is a bit cheaper becuz one of my cylinder's timing didn't run much. Dunno if it will affect any cost

I spent $282 on Timing Belt and Labour is $25.

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Bikes Ridden & Riding Currently.

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2003

Ducati 999 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2006

Yamaha R1'09 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2009

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

FJR1300A '13 / Vespa Lx150 / Ducati S4 / Harley Softail - 2013

• Replies 14.9k

I'm Riding a 999'03.

Timing Belt is 30,000km

I think mine is a bit cheaper becuz one of my cylinder's timing didn't run much. Dunno if it will affect any cost

thanks, your info is very useful. btw, where did u change ur belt and doing up the valves? how many days it took? thqanks

Hey Bro.. Change bike!!

Ohhh nooooooo .... :cry: My favourite one litre at the moment... Sounds like a huge RVF engine to me.... I luv the growl of the engine.... Now it has the benefit of a V twin in terms of traction when exiting out of a corner, and the high end of a in-line four... What else could one ask for....

I believe if nothing goes wrong with the new Aprilia V4 , it might be a good challenger to the '09 R1...

Since WSBK 2009 is starting soon, lets see what Ducati Xerox team can still pull out with this timw without Bayliss. I keep having a hunch that Yamaha and Aprilia will dominate this year.

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

Hey Bro.. Change bike!!

I'm Riding a 999'03.

Timing Belt is 30,000km

is this done at MINERVA?

There's more fun in making slow bike go fast than making a fast bike faster:angel: FOR SALE KAWASAKI ZEPHYR EBC BRAKE PADS FA129HH.DUC CLUTCH SLAVE PUMP,SIGNAL RELAY.

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_CKM-eD8Ulwo/SwP704pVE-I/AAAAAAAAAHg/BrEmx9CIQAk/s1600/misc-01012003_16.JPG

Hey Bro.. Change bike!!

I'm Riding a 999'03.

Timing Belt is 30,000km

bloody hell, owning a duke is really hard.

[

@cagiva03

mate is driving an old 996r and he kills pretty much everything (on track), I personally have a 748r (modified) and can't complain either.

check out youtube Rainer K. or http://www.gaskrank.de and do a search on Rainer....

usually the belts are due every 2 years or 20tkm, older models (2V) are due at 12tkm. I would recommend to do the timming check as well....

time to go

Markus

@cagiva03

mate is driving an old 996r and he kills pretty much everything (on track), I personally have a 748r (modified) and can't complain either.

check out youtube Rainer K. or http://www.gaskrank.de and do a search on Rainer....

usually the belts are due every 2 years or 20tkm, older models (2V) are due at 12tkm. I would recommend to do the timming check as well....

time to go

Markus

Are you guys sure the desmoquattro belt can last 20k? I was told 10k is the change interval.

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg
Are you guys sure the desmoquattro belt can last 20k? I was told 10k is the change interval.

yes I am, Ducati had troubles with the old type belts (without kevlar) but you won't find them any more.

I drive and repair (hobby) ducati's for more than 10years.....if you do a lot of track days or track only I would recommend to change the belts more frequently but it also depends on the model. It is very important to adjust the tension, most of the guys I know they "over due" it and usually the vertical belt has signs of stress.

m.

thanks, your info is very useful. btw, where did u change ur belt and doing up the valves? how many days it took? thqanks

I only do my bike at Minerva. No where else.

Can't remember how long. i think i left my bike there for a week.

Depends if they are busy or not.

Ohhh nooooooo .... :cry: My favourite one litre at the moment... Sounds like a huge RVF engine to me.... I luv the growl of the engine.... Now it has the benefit of a V twin in terms of traction when exiting out of a corner, and the high end of a in-line four... What else could one ask for....

I believe if nothing goes wrong with the new Aprilia V4 , it might be a good challenger to the '09 R1...

Since WSBK 2009 is starting soon, lets see what Ducati Xerox team can still pull out with this timw without Bayliss. I keep having a hunch that Yamaha and Aprilia will dominate this year.

Sounds like my fren's Honda VTR SP2.

Ben Spies on the R1, And the Crazy Japanese guy on the Ducati Xerox. Forgot his name.

IF only SBK will show on Starhub Cable, like the MotoGP.

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/625498_10151506336500777_489049580_n.jpg

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

yes I am, Ducati had troubles with the old type belts (without kevlar) but you won't find them any more.

I drive and repair (hobby) ducati's for more than 10years.....if you do a lot of track days or track only I would recommend to change the belts more frequently but it also depends on the model. It is very important to adjust the tension, most of the guys I know they "over due" it and usually the vertical belt has signs of stress.

m.

So it will depend on how the bike is used? I recently took over a 996 where the previous owner told me the belt is about 10k.... Luckily I never took the chance and decide to change anyhow... To my surprise, the condition was so bad that the belt was rubbing each other. All cam pulleys are also affected as well.

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/2729/21022009092.th.jpg

http://img62.imageshack.us/img62/5999/sbfsignature.jpg

any of u hypermotards staying along holland v? saw 1 on my way to werk. and i saw a black monster over there as well. hi to u guys...

its all about the "BIG BOYZ TOYZ"..continue dreaming...

you guys have nice bike how i wish i have a duke now LOl =/ am having a duke wanna be bike =/

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8440/cagivalogomountedzn0.th.jpg

- ...Its All about style We Mito Riders Have =) Cheers :cheeky:

and btw who staying in waterplace ? been home afew times saw a hypermota there FBC Plated

http://img223.imageshack.us/img223/8440/cagivalogomountedzn0.th.jpg

- ...Its All about style We Mito Riders Have =) Cheers :cheeky:

So it will depend on how the bike is used? I recently took over a 996 where the previous owner told me the belt is about 10k.... Luckily I never took the chance and decide to change anyhow... To my surprise, the condition was so bad that the belt was rubbing each other. All cam pulleys are also affected as well.

http://img408.imageshack.us/img408/2729/21022009092.th.jpg

yes it does, if you do lots of track days I would recommend to check the belts more often and change if required.

I don't know how bad or good the work shops are in SIN, but many guys are simply not accurate enough and that's why you have so many bad stories on engine damages etc......

anyway, check the tension of your belts (it can be easily done without special tooling), check if they are aligned as some work shops having troubles with the spacers (cam's) and the roller/tension pulley's (some have studs and a washer and some don't)........putting them in the right place:sian:

ups.............if I go with our pic it seams to me they turned the tensioner in the wrong direction as the gap between the two rollers is very narrow or the tension is simply to high.........

don't save $$ on belt change... Major engine damage.

Edited by red rocket

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

don't save $$ on belt change... me mate's 748 had the vertical belt snap once at it bent the valves hurt the valve guides...takes heaps of money to repair.

I agree, but if a belt snaps it is usually down to bad maintenance and not bad material :p that's one of the reasons I stopped using work shops :thumb:

Someone was seen riding his Duke to a bikeshop, looking around and asking for 2009 R1... Wondering who he was ???? .......... :cheeky:

99-01 > Mito 125, NSR 150

01-03 > Honda VFR 400 NC30, Aprillia RS250

03-05 > '02 YZF R1

05-07 > '05 Suzuki 600 K5, Wave 125, Nuovo 110

07-08 > '03 T-MAX [5GJ]

08-10 > '07 T-MAX [5VU], '08 T-Max [4B5], 08 R6

05-10 > DUCATI 749 Dark Mono

10-11 > CBR 1100XX, 2010 Busa

13-14 > RC51 SP2

14-16 > Ninja 400R, Z1000SX, MT09 Tracer

Someone was seen riding his Duke to a bikeshop, looking around and asking for 2009 R1... Wondering who he was ???? .......... :cheeky:

HaHA.... DAmn!

HOw u know???

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

HaHA.... DAmn!

HOw u know???

Bro, if i nv rem wrongly u're from SSDC right??

Was chatting with Jackson about u still trying to let go of ur duc in the noon..

Bro, if i nv rem wrongly u're from SSDC right??

Was chatting with Jackson about u still trying to let go of ur duc in the noon..

Yup.......

Yamaha YZF125 - 2001

Super 4 Spec II - 2002

+ Vespa LX150 - 2012

Ya, still running on stock suspension.... Actually it's not the suspension that is hindering me... It's the wheel base... too long...... i can't do anything to the rake angle as well, mine is unadjustable. And the natural characteristic of the "forward rushing" motion of the duke when u try to exit out of the apex fast, becos our pistons are v-twin configure in a forward and backwards motion... Thats why front wheels tends to "drift out". Ican't go any lower than 1.47secs..... thats it for me on this bike. But the R6 that day had me cutting down to 1.44secs in a hottest lap. Too big gap!

On Sat, i was suppose to go PG again to test on another of my friend's 08CBR600... But too bad last minute, we got something on! if not i think the honda will perform even better!

Hey Bro.. Change bike!!

Kekeke....I already deflected to Camp Yamaha.....Actually about to strike a deal for a 848 but seller bailed out. I took the next bike available to me, an 08 R1. Gonna track the R1 next month.....trying to get use to riding at more than 10K RPM....kindda weird after riding Twin for awhile. Corse, see if you get the same problem or not :lol: Anyways, my fren who sold me the R1 got an 09 R1, impressive. His R1 pulls strong, better mid range and the mode selector works well. Had to really work mine to keep up on straights. KNN, that's why he so keen to sell his 08 to me, lol....truth be said, he had to sell me the 08 because he's broke after putting down payment for his 09, and we never expect the 09 to be so noticeable to mere mortals like us.

I only do my bike at Minerva. No where else.

Can't remember how long. i think i left my bike there for a week.

Depends if they are busy or not.

Sounds like my fren's Honda VTR SP2.

Ben Spies on the R1, And the Crazy Japanese guy on the Ducati Xerox. Forgot his name.

IF only SBK will show on Starhub Cable, like the MotoGP.

Yup, the 09 R1 sounds like no other IL4. So far, I'm happy with my 08. With only braided front lines and race baffle on stock muffler. I was able to keep up with a fren's 08 ZX-10 modded with Racefit exhaust and PC3 on mountain twisties, pretty surprised. Gonna race him coming trackday. I'm still scare in the twisties, dun feel comfortable on those backroads.

Noriyuki Haga is riding Xerox Ducati now....used to ride the factory Yamaha R1.

The PI races were very very close racing.....I could not sit still and was screaming like a gal. Should I tell you guys the results? Dun wanna spoil it for you guys just in case.

Hilary.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

My fren use to rev abit here and there @ traffic lights and rev abit more than on his previously japanese bike to move off...

Er...that's how to ride a Duc. Rev and feather off clutch. If trying to feather clutch and then throttle like a Jap IL4, the Duc's heavy engine brake will stall the engine.

Trust me, it's not done on purpose to act exclusive.

flowers: 1979-2007 (Gilera Runner, Honda Varadero, Ducati 999, Yamaha 05 R6)

#48 Shoya Tomizawa: 05 Sep 10

LollyPop: 1983-2011

#58 Marco Simoncelli, 20 January 1987 - 23 October 2011 Sepang GP

Kekeke....I already deflected to Camp Yamaha.....Actually about to strike a deal for a 848 but seller bailed out. I took the next bike available to me, an 08 R1. Gonna track the R1 next month.....trying to get use to riding at more than 10K RPM....kindda weird after riding Twin for awhile. Corse, see if you get the same problem or not :lol: Anyways, my fren who sold me the R1 got an 09 R1, impressive. His R1 pulls strong, better mid range and the mode selector works well. Had to really work mine to keep up on straights. KNN, that's why he so keen to sell his 08 to me, lol....truth be said, he had to sell me the 08 because he's broke after putting down payment for his 09, and we never expect the 09 to be so noticeable to mere mortals like us.

Yup, the 09 R1 sounds like no other IL4. So far, I'm happy with my 08. With only braided front lines and race baffle on stock muffler. I was able to keep up with a fren's 08 ZX-10 modded with Racefit exhaust and PC3 on mountain twisties, pretty surprised. Gonna race him coming trackday. I'm still scare in the twisties, dun feel comfortable on those backroads.

Noriyuki Haga is riding Xerox Ducati now....used to ride the factory Yamaha R1.

The PI races were very very close racing.....I could not sit still and was screaming like a gal. Should I tell you guys the results? Dun wanna spoil it for you guys just in case.

Hilary.

Did you get to watch the SBK's first race? Did Haga dominated the race or close fight?

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

Tough to say... in both races there was only 1 other rider close to Haga, Neu--- on the Suz and Spies on the Yam. Both times you could see that one rider was faster than the other in the different sections of the track.

Since Haga started 13th or so in both race and finished 1st and 2nd - you might say he dominated.