Almost got killed yesterday by a lady who was dreaming and forgot to stop at the red light. I think in the future I will wait till I am sure all the front row cars plan to stop before I move off. Heart still skips a beat every time I think of what could happen. Then today, my 900ss starter seems to act funny, left the bike at office and cabbed home. Tomorrow need to get it towed to the dealership. Not my day (s)

Glad you are safe bro!

I need info on how to overcome the frustrated effect on the moving off in gear 1 with the dry slipper. It just dont seem right, as i throttle, I get this strange effect, a subtle jerk with a strange sound, then it moved off normally,only get it during moving off. Hope its me and not the the clutch, its not the tambourine this time,lol, its the real stuff....come to think of it, it does sound like the video, haha, do me a favour guys, repost that video and lets all have a good laugh....

Is it when u are releasing clutch, there's is an extra jerk? I used to get that on my SS tooo. Dun worry, just enjoy the tamburine!

Talking about maturity, its high time you change your avatar.....hate to see you in a vunerable postion :)

ok ok, i changed. No more vulnerable position. So what happened to yr avatar???

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr115/terence28/5c130819-9010-47e4-bccc-755e7865b4b4_zps9cf0dbd4.jpg
  • Replies 14.9k

Bro, now that you've got the dry clutch, i'd recommend the brembo rcs master cylinders if you want to take things to the next level. The feel on these things are amazing. First gear lanches are much easier and smoother, particularly. Dry clutch ducatis can be a little tricky to launch at low rpms at times. Sounds like you'd benefit a great deal from them.

I went with Beringers instead. Was always a firm believer in Brembos till I felt Beringers and never looked back! Way more bling too! :angel:

Hi bro,

Where will be a good place to get the Brembo RCS master cylinder?

Motoworld is a good place. They may cost a little more than online but you get free installation that balaces it out. And shop warranty too of course. I got a little more discount (and he threw in a pair of new reservoirs with clear hydraulic tubing) because i got the RCS19 and RCS 16 as a set. They are not cheap, but the difference in feel is really night and day. And the adjustment options are best of the best. Fold up levers are also part of the system which protects in case of a crash. Looking dead sexy also helps of course.

There is a slightly cheaper brembo gp radial master as well. Besides being cheaper, the finish looks a little better too but there is no ratio click system and the levers cannot fold. Not sure if there is a difference in terms of feel either. But they are still radials

Edited by blackreplica

Brandon,

First of all congrats on your m400. Dont worry about buying on impulse, ducatis do that to people all the time.

I used to own a 400 myself some years back.Yes it comes with single disc. Iirc pillion seat covers are optional extras but you can buy them very easily online

First of all keep your servicing regular and dont skip em to save. Take good care of it and it'll reward you.

You'll want more power eventually but if you plan to keep it or awhile, the best mods are 2-3 tooth larger rear sprockets, street legal exhausts, high compression pistons, and FCR carbs.

Monsters also look pretty nice with blinged up rizoma parts and timing belt covers if you have money to burn.

It may be entry level, but its still a ducati, so enjoy it!

Hi black replica, +1 on the rcs 19 as I use before.

But how about the rcs16 on the clutch you are using now?

What does it helps? Will it make pulling the clutch stiffer?

Hi black replica, +1 on the rcs 19 as I use before.

But how about the rcs16 on the clutch you are using now?

What does it helps? Will it make pulling the clutch stiffer?

Good Morning! Elibodi! May all of you have a smooth day ride out!

I have mirror extender red or black for sale. Let me know if any of you want. thanks! ^_^

Brandon,

First of all congrats on your m400. Dont worry about buying on impulse, ducatis do that to people all the time.

I used to own a 400 myself some years back.Yes it comes with single disc. Iirc pillion seat covers are optional extras but you can buy them very easily online

First of all keep your servicing regular and dont skip em to save. Take good care of it and it'll reward you.

You'll want more power eventually but if you plan to keep it or awhile, the best mods are 2-3 tooth larger rear sprockets, street legal exhausts, high compression pistons, and FCR carbs.

Monsters also look pretty nice with blinged up rizoma parts and timing belt covers if you have money to burn.

It may be entry level, but its still a ducati, so enjoy it!

Thanx u so much, was wondering which mech u guys can recommend me. Am looking for somone careful and have the skills and knowledge to handle M400. Price will definitely be ex but I dun mind paying for good service and skills. Afterall its a customer POV. Minerva? Raymond? Micheal? Racewerk Norman? Pls help my duke look and feels terrible :(

I need info on how to overcome the frustrated effect on the moving off in gear 1 with the dry slipper. It just dont seem right, as i throttle, I get this strange effect, a subtle jerk with a strange sound, then it moved off normally,only get it during moving off. Hope its me and not the the clutch, its not the tambourine this time,lol, its the real stuff....come to think of it, it does sound like the video, haha, do me a favour guys, repost that video and lets all have a good laugh....

Is it a strange grinding sound? I don't know how bad is it on your bike. I'm on my 4th set of clutch plates (1st and 3rd set sintered steel, 2nd set standard, 4th/current-aluminium). The sound can be reduced by simply rearranging the clutch plates. Only on the sintered steel clutch plates that I've managed to get rid of the sound totally, on the other 2 I've managed to reduce. In all cases it is the grinding sound, no jerks except the point when it is full clutch engagement.

I'll get on to how I manage to arrange the plates later.

Edited by red rocket

Items for sale

Ohlins rear shock spring 7.5 kg(mint)

Showa Fork w lower triple(used)

Stock FULL fairing 998s(used) w MS Prod Carbon Street Belly-pan

MS prod Carbon 998R tail fairing (used-DP#96938402B)

Bestem carbon belt (testastretta engine)

Ducati Corsa Screen-fabbri (new)

Oil Cooler (mint-#548.039.1A)

More parts than I can list here (mostly for 916 series)

(PM me for details)

ok ok, i changed. No more vulnerable position. So what happened to yr avatar???

Ok ok too, upload Avatar.........my passion as a Horticulturist :)

Hi Conjurer, glad to know you are okay.......and ride safe

Hi Brandon, I am sandwich between Wdl and Ysh.....

UAreTheMan! Lets go green and help the earth?

Singapore Green Summit – 11th Aug 2011

http://sma.sg/?/calendar/show/singapore-green-summit-2011-gala-lunch

Singapore G1 (Green One) on the 2nd to 3rd Sept 2011

http://www.sec.org.sg/community/greentransport

Lets say U and me sandwitched between Yishun and Woodlands? haha!

July 04 - June 05: Krr 150

Sept 05 - Apr 07: CBR400RRR

Apr 07 - Apr 10: R1

June 10 - July 11: X1

Mar 11 - ???: 1198

Almost got killed yesterday by a lady who was dreaming and forgot to stop at the red light. I think in the future I will wait till I am sure all the front row cars plan to stop before I move off. Heart still skips a beat every time I think of what could happen. Then today, my 900ss starter seems to act funny, left the bike at office and cabbed home. Tomorrow need to get it towed to the dealership. Not my day (s)

Be careful, ride safe and always expect the unexpected!

In situation like this, it does not pay although we have the right of way.

Perhaps your SS is jealous and throwing a tantrum for not bringinig her out often enough now that you've got the Diavel in your stable. LOL

ok ok, i changed. No more vulnerable position.

So you finally got yourself the SPS?

imho, raymond. he really think for your bike first and most imptantly your pocket also. i went to him first time expecting him to chop me like most shop would. but instead he even help me wash my bike and engine.

Thanx u so much, was wondering which mech u guys can recommend me. Am looking for somone careful and have the skills and knowledge to handle M400. Price will definitely be ex but I dun mind paying for good service and skills. Afterall its a customer POV. Minerva? Raymond? Micheal? Racewerk Norman? Pls help my duke look and feels terrible :(

So you finally got yourself the SPS?

No bro, the SPS slipped away to a very luck new owner in here! This avatar is themed "the one that got away"....

I've been reading this thread from page 1 to learn more about the earlier models, and i saw the old birds like you, seal, RR, ducati.... you guys were here from the start! Salute!

I am now considering the 916 Senna on the market, it is in pristine condition with low mileage..... but ultimately what i really wish to collect is the 998R, the last in the line of the 916 dynasty. I saw you post about a fren who sold his 998R some years back....

Now i'm just wondering what it would cost to buy a 998R in today's context, and if any of the 2 owners will even want to part with theirs.

Last thing i want is to buy the Senna now and later the 998R turns up in the market..... bang balls. If wait on for the 998R, it may be an indefinite wait..... hence my dilemma... You were a 916 owner, what you think?

http://i475.photobucket.com/albums/rr115/terence28/5c130819-9010-47e4-bccc-755e7865b4b4_zps9cf0dbd4.jpg

Hi bros, need ur views on aftermarket rearset? Whats the ones wif good review? And pricing too? If anyone wanna let go theirs even better.. :)

Vespa Px200, Tzm150, Spark 135, DRZ400sm, Yamaha r1' 07, Ducati 1098s - Past rides

BMW C600 Sport, BMW HP4 - Present rides

Went to browse through our advertiser and found excel offer the cheapest rcs master pump.

$499 with installation. Any one have experience to share on them?

No experience with excel but personally i like the 16 even better than the 19. Probably because for street riding, its a lot more useful, as opposed to the track where braking feel is probably more important.

There is a reduction in clutch lever effort for sure. You can set the ratio click system to tune how much feel and pulll effort you want. You'll want the 16 setting to reduce clutch lever travel but with less travel you need a little more effort(but still less than before). Havent tried it on the 18mm setting yet. But you can expect less effort, more feel, but more travel required on the lever to fully disengage at this setting. Im quite happy with the 16 setting for now, the effort is no problem and with the short throw i can shift really quick, quicker than i ever could before without trying hard.

I think all those options are good ones bro. Mike is my regular mech and i've patronised racewerks before and have no complaints about them either

No bro, the SPS slipped away to a very luck new owner in here! This avatar is themed "the one that got away"....

I've been reading this thread from page 1 to learn more about the earlier models, and i saw the old birds like you, seal, RR, ducati.... you guys were here from the start! Salute!

I am now considering the 916 Senna on the market, it is in pristine condition with low mileage..... but ultimately what i really wish to collect is the 998R, the last in the line of the 916 dynasty. I saw you post about a fren who sold his 998R some years back....

Now i'm just wondering what it would cost to buy a 998R in today's context, and if any of the 2 owners will even want to part with theirs.

Last thing i want is to buy the Senna now and later the 998R turns up in the market..... bang balls. If wait on for the 998R, it may be an indefinite wait..... hence my dilemma... You were a 916 owner, what you think?

The one that got away?:cry:oh brother..

Tot you were selling your bike to take over the SPS. Well, you could have made an agreement but that's water under the bridge now. There are still other SPSs around but you need to wait for them to turn up in the market which is hardly. Another thing you could do is spread the word around, check with Minerva or other bike shops for lobang for the particular model you are eyeing or posting in the wanted section of the Classifieds might help too.

The 998R is one bike which is rare here and hopefully they will not be exported out of the country which is the likely fate awaiting this bike http://www.singaporebikes.com/used_bikes/660/ducati_superbike_996/ which is a pity. The last I saw of a 998R, it was speeding down the PIE one evening and that was many moons ago! Never did come across another or one for sale since. Price wise is hard to say but perhaps it would be slightly more than what you would pay for a used 996SPS today, that is if you do come across one for sale :cheeky:

Me no old bird la.. just sharing with like minded Ducati lovers here. Real old bird who is still keeping up the Passion is Fesa; he was the 1st one in our group to own his Ducati back in the Marina South days. I salute him. Another would be Doc Lee but I wonder if he is here in this forum.

Guess its a matter of timing when it comes to the used market.

Until such time you will have to make do with what's available now.

Sennas, Matrix editions etc are nice (no disrespect to owners of such models) but nothing comes close to the real deal if that is what you lust after.

yes the wait can be uncertain but who knows, one might turn up for sale after potential sellers of such exoticas read this post. :p

Are you Ducati-less at the moment and itching to get back on one? ha ha

My personal favorite is the

but unfortunately its not available here, therefore I had to settle for the closest thing which was the 900SS (look wise) back then.

Happy hunting for the one! t28 :thumb:

Edited by RT

T28,

I think you could'nt do much wrong with the 916, particularly the senna you're talking about. It was, and always will be, the original that started the series, being a 916. Its really under-used and the senna graphics is icing on the cake. Of course the 998R is a real weapon but you might end up waiting a long time, possibly forever even. I dont ever recall seeing any 998 anywhere for the last 6 years. All the best in your search either way and sorry for snapping up the SPS bro

Ah.....SEMBAWANGISH

imho, raymond. he really think for your bike first and most imptantly your pocket also. i went to him first time expecting him to chop me like most shop would. but instead he even help me wash my bike and engine.

AH....sounds great, I'll try him out next weekend thanx alot

Went to browse through our advertiser and found excel offer the cheapest rcs master pump.

$499 with installation. Any one have experience to share on them?

I'm using RCS16 on my small bike, my take if you like slow and steady brake 16 is for you. If not go for the 19, like other mention the clocking lever oso allows you to adjust to your comfort. :)

I think all those options are good ones bro. Mike is my regular mech and i've patronised racewerks before and have no complaints about them either

Great alright i'll try them all, btw which EO is good for M400, I've only tried Mobil FS for my small bike so not sure about other brands. Pls enlighten the noob thanx u