Hello,

I'm new on the road and still trying to do road fam'ing on the routes that i'll frequently take to the places i need to go.

I was travelling along Mandai, BKE, PIE to Jurong East area, and i knew i had to exit to the Jurong Town Hall Road. However, being inexperienced, i don't know which exit to get out of and the green signboads just don't show Jurong Town Hall Road (according to the map, that's the first road after exiting).

How do you all know which exit to get out, is it all by experience?

After i saw Choa Chu Kang, i thought it's somewhere near already and kept to the right lanes. But as i go, i still don't see Jurong, but slowly i see Corporation Road, Pioneer Road and even Tuas! I knew i've "holland" already. I finally got out somewhere, and realized it's Jurong West, passing by so many places and some Gek XXX Shopping Centre that i've never even heard of.

Then i knew i had to go back to the PIE on the reverse track, and exit after another 2-3 exits. At a traffic junction, i met a nice indian van driver who told me to go for the 2nd exit, where turning left is Jurong East while turning right is Bukit Batok (or something like that). It was hilarious, i tried to look for it but each time i go up on the expressway, i missed that exit and for about the 3rd time before i finally got out. Each time, i always get to see the signboard that even prints "Bukit Batok" on after i carried on the expressway on the flyover before i can see that board down there. I cursed myself and the road planners for the issue. I need to know the location before i exit, not after i exit though. Haha.

So finally i got out at some exit, and carried on to another expressway-looking carriage, and i thought i'd "holland" again to somewhere in the City maybe, and i started to see Singapore Science / Discovery Centre signages and i felt so much of a relieve.

So, anyone able to advise? :D

Maestro

April 30, 2009 : Passed Class 2B

May 13, 2009 : Bought NSR150 Honda SP, laid up

June 12, 2009 : Purchase Insurance / Road Tax - FS4*3*R

• Replies 49

bro. spare the sarcasm lah.

Maestro

explore to experience bro. always have a map in hand!

bro. thanks! no box, can't put on vehicle. know of any one big page of foldable map or not?

Maestro

i also like u everytime "holland"

do you mean:

(a) you're also like me, always go "holland"; or

(b) you like to see me going "holland"?

wah if you're (b), do you work for the petroleum companies ah? lols.

Maestro

Wikipedia lists all exits for the expressways (PIE here), if that's what you're asking....

wah power of technology lah. thankiew bro.

Maestro

31 Jurong Town Hall Road, Bukit Batok Road (Bukit Batok New Town, Jurong East New Town) Bukit Batok Flyover

hmm. weird. i think i'm looking for this. but i didn't see any signages displaying this name. maybe i missed it.

and i won't know it's bukit batok flyover until i'm on the flyover itself. -.-"

maybe must preempt liao. like after bukit batok flyover, keep left and exit. :)

Maestro

check up streetdirectory http://www.streetdirectory.com and look at PIE and see which exits go where :>

actually i tried to follow that. but it displays signboards for some exits, and not for other exits. not too sure about the rationale though.

i'm trying to look for a landmark to know that it's the correct exit i wanna get out to, and usually it's the signboard but in this case signboards ain't very helpful to me.

so just wondering if that's the case for all expressway, and i've to really learn through experience. its more of a transport bike for me, so my routes are pretty static. so just wanna know if there's an easy way to recognize this, just in case i need to travel to elsewhere when the need arises lor. :)

Maestro

when u "holland", u actually learn more and memorize ur 'mistake' better

true lah. but then.. petrol also abit expensive. ;D

if i happen to holland, then no choice lor. but holland from jurong east to joo koon abit too far lah. hahas.

Maestro

when driving/riding on the roads for the first few months, plan your route out in advance with a map (make sure it is current). be sure you know which exits you are taking in which directions. figure out which landmarks you should see so you have a guide. ALWAYS anticipate ahead what your next turn is. exits on expressways are normally on the left. if you think yours is coming up, keep left, slow down, look around and orient yourself. pay particular attention to what you see around you so that even if you make a wrong turn, the next time round you do not repeat the same mistake.

the easier way is to get a GPS lah :-)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
when driving/riding on the roads for the first few months, plan your route out in advance with a map (make sure it is current). be sure you know which exits you are taking in which directions. figure out which landmarks you should see so you have a guide. ALWAYS anticipate ahead what your next turn is. exits on expressways are normally on the left. if you think yours is coming up, keep left, slow down, look around and orient yourself. pay particular attention to what you see around you so that even if you make a wrong turn, the next time round you do not repeat the same mistake.

the easier way is to get a GPS lah :-)

i do that.. maybe i didn't recognise landmarks enough bah.. but along forested area, it's really independent liaos.

GPS.. where do you all normally fix it huh? i'm on honda sp.

Maestro

Hello,

I'm new on the road and still trying to do road fam'ing on the routes that i'll frequently take to the places i need to go.

I was travelling along Mandai, BKE, PIE to Jurong East area, and i knew i had to exit to the Jurong Town Hall Road. However, being inexperienced, i don't know which exit to get out of and the green signboads just don't show Jurong Town Hall Road (according to the map, that's the first road after exiting).

After i saw Choa Chu Kang, i thought it's somewhere near already and kept to the right lanes. But as i go, i still don't see Jurong, but slowly i see Corporation Road, Pioneer Road and even Tuas! I knew i've "holland" already. I finally got out somewhere, and realized it's Jurong West, passing by so many places and some Gek XXX Shopping Centre that i've never even heard of.

Then i knew i had to go back to the PIE on the reverse track, and exit after another 2-3 exits. At a traffic junction, i met a nice indian van driver who told me to go for the 2nd exit, where turning left is Jurong East while turning right is Bukit Batok (or something like that). It was hilarious, i tried to look for it but each time i go up on the expressway, i missed that exit and for about the 3rd time before i finally got out. Each time, i always get to see the signboard that even prints "Bukit Batok" on after i carried on the expressway on the flyover before i can see that board down there. I cursed myself and the road planners for the issue. I need to know the location before i exit, not after i exit though. Haha.

So finally i got out at some exit, and carried on to another expressway-looking carriage, and i thought i'd "holland" again to somewhere in the City maybe, and i started to see Singapore Science / Discovery Centre signages and i felt so much of a relieve.

where u start off bro??

Oct 2002 - PPL

19 Sept 2005 - 2B

18 Sept 2007 - 2A

20 July 2010 - 2

Oct 2005 - present: Aprilia RS 125

Oct 16 2010 - Feb 2011: Honda CBR 600 RR

Apr 08 2011: Ducati Monster 620

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs099.snc3/16635_162719989997_751319997_2733440_6167145_n.jpg

Street directory.. Check what's the exit number.. Then once you just get on the expressway, take note of the number for the next exit.. Roughly plan out when u should move to the left lane to anticipate where to exit.

Personally I have no problems finding my way as I've traveled on trains / bus to anywhere in Singapore just for the fun of it (blame it on the unlimited bus rides we get using a bus pass when in secondary school).

Only if I'm unsure of how to get to the destination, I will check on streetdirectory.com to reconfirm which exit I must get out at.

Handy if you have a pda phone like htc touch or better. There's a free local map on SLA's website you can use. That's really for the last minute omgidunnowheretoturn situations.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v652/IZECUBEZ/Motivational/Determination.jpg

learnt by mistake, where gotch special skill wan? this kind of thing.

Hello,

Same here bro. get my bike just about one week ago. use to memories the expressway and exit to take on street directory. however, due to being a newbie and kanjiong, i take one hour plus to get to vivocity the first time :faint: the roads in the city can be very confusing as most roads are one way. if you missed any turn, die. and the amount of petrol i used in the first week is ... :cry:

Now i learn to memories the name of major roads that i need to take and not just the expressway and exits because most sign board only indicate the direction of major roads. it also help to write them down just in case you got lost. this works well for me.

there is a system to roads in the cbd area....normally when you see a series of 1-way streets, they are balanced (i.e. one going north, the next going south)...though sometimes its not. look more clearly at your directory and you'll see little arrows showing you which way the streets go. takes awhile to understand but you'll get there eventually :-)

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

Ha. I stay in Boon Lay but I also hoLLand when exiting from AYE towards boon lay. I think it is like tt one leh. As noobs, the area we know as science centre road might be known as Jurong Town Hall Rd in the expressway. The area i know to be Taman Jurong is known as Corporation Rd in the expressway signboard. And if you go to places like east coast park, there are hell lots of exits which all say East Coast Park. just that they refer to different places along ECP.

So sometimes it is not they nvr say, it is just that what they say and what we are used to saying is different. But gain a bit of experience along the way then it will make things a lot easier. ha.

Riders/Drivers are afterall different from Non-riders/drivers.

Why did I become a rider?

This is just my humble and modest attempt to live within my means.

Not to forget the wind, the freedom, the joy, the sun, the ride.

2B TP: 18-03-2009 passed

where u start off bro??

lols. i started off from yishun. going up mandai, then cut into bke..

Maestro

Street directory.. Check what's the exit number.. Then once you just get on the expressway, take note of the number for the next exit.. Roughly plan out when u should move to the left lane to anticipate where to exit.

Personally I have no problems finding my way as I've traveled on trains / bus to anywhere in Singapore just for the fun of it (blame it on the unlimited bus rides we get using a bus pass when in secondary school).

Only if I'm unsure of how to get to the destination, I will check on streetdirectory.com to reconfirm which exit I must get out at.

Handy if you have a pda phone like htc touch or better. There's a free local map on SLA's website you can use. That's really for the last minute omgidunnowheretoturn situations.

will take note bro.. just that i don't recall seeing the exit numbers for all the exits printed on the signboards.. or maybe i too kanchiong liaos. :(

Maestro