hi all gurus, i would like to ask some Qns.

1. are there any bike shops that offers a good deal for it? any1 knows the machine price for both?

2. are racing fairings avail for spark/x1r? can be found in sg or import?

3. theres spark z and spark x. now spark135. whats the latest version?

im planning to get a spark/x1r. so was planning to make my bike something like that.

im referring to the fairings that look something like that.

http://rmreview.com.my/wp-content/uploads/2009/04/lc-135.jpg

• Replies 37

1. head to bike production at serangoon, they offer good prices.

2. race fairings, its still the same plastic so its just the 'look' that make it look more garang, like fore example moulded bla bla bla..

3. spark135 has two versions, spark rr 135(with clutch) spark rx135 (without clutch)

4. as long as you have BIG pockets to mod AND in any case TP or LTA tahan you during road block, by all means go ahead. modifications are endless trust me. up to your imagination.

ps: just my thoughts on this. if you want fairings, i suggest go get a sportsbike like sp, kr, tzm. cubs are cubs. and they're meant to be that way. you'll just load extra unnneccesary weight. 4 stroke engines (the lighter load on it, the faster it goes)

Thrash? Don't mind if i do.

http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/126/59442677.gif

  thrasher said:

2. race fairings, its still the same plastic so its just the 'look' that make it look more garang, like fore example moulded bla bla bla..

3. spark135 has two versions, spark rr 135(with clutch) spark rx135 (without clutch)

4. as long as you have BIG pockets to mod AND in any case TP or LTA tahan you during road block, by all means go ahead. modifications are endless trust me. up to your imagination.

ps: just my thoughts on this. if you want fairings, i suggest go get a sportsbike like sp, kr, tzm. cubs are cubs. and they're meant to be that way. you'll just load extra unnneccesary weight. 4 stroke engines (the lighter load on it, the faster it goes)

Well said thrasher. Spot on.:clap:

For you bro holdurhead, if you do mod your bike to be like the pic in the attachment, it would be an honour for me to meet you in person because you dare to mod your bike until that. :goodluck:

Live to ride another day.

http://img35.imageshack.us/img35/1076/img0048u.jpg

yeah and might i also add. wahh damn rich arrr u if u can do that. the whole bodykit set costs abt $USD 300-400 at least cos the indonesians charge by USD. plus singapore so many damn humps already, it wont be long before the bottom part of the fairing hits a high hump say like those at east coast park or yishun dam..

  thrasher said:
yeah and might i also add. wahh damn rich arrr u if u can do that. the whole bodykit set costs abt $USD 300-400 at least cos the indonesians charge by USD. plus singapore so many damn humps already, it wont be long before the bottom part of the fairing hits a high hump say like those at east coast park or yishun dam..

icic. didnt think of that. ok. thanks so much for ur advice. lol.

  SparKhai said:
Well said thrasher. Spot on.:clap:

For you bro holdurhead, if you do mod your bike to be like the pic in the attachment, it would be an honour for me to meet you in person because you dare to mod your bike until that. :goodluck:

lol, no la.. should be my honour man. sama sama

  thrasher said:

haha ok thanks. actually that cub with fairing looks very very nice and striking indeed. so i tot maybe i can do something like that. thanks for ur advice also.. still have much more to learn from you guys! :thumb:

  thrasher said:
sometimes.. less is more. look at the thais, how they do their bike. :thumb:

yea agree man. btw is the any post on the diff between a x1r and a spark? i jus cant seem to find it...

  thrasher said:
sometimes.. less is more. look at the thais, how they do their bike. :thumb:

sometimes.. less is more. look at bro thrasher, how he do his bike. :thumb: haha..

To be old and wise, you first have to be young and stupid.

thrasher, ur cub tail is very nice :thumb:

TS.. u can mould fairings in JB, land of semua boleh. but be warned, TP wun blind an eye when dey see u..

hi 1q. how to check brake pads? they say mus see the calipers. but where is the calipers ah? is it that golden piece of thing beside the disc brake? i tried to see for brake pad but like dont have anything lei.. dunno if my brake pad gone liao not.. spotting the brake pad shold be easily visible or?

  holdurhead said:
ok thanks so much. btw. any good shops to recommend for getting 2nd hand x1r or spark? goin to join the kup kias soon hoo~

average market rate for 2nd hand yamaha t135 would be from $3k up. but there are many factors to consider.

Bike

1. Registration Date (eg. see plate FBA, FBB, FBC etc)

2. Mileage

3. No. of previous owners

4. Accident History

5. Road Tax & COE date dues

6. Condition (stock, mildly modded-usually outlook, heavily modded-engine all touch)

Rider

usually determines your insurance price

1. Age

2. Riding experience

3. Previous Bikes owned

my 2 cents bro. you might wanna try Bike Production. not the best, but definately one of the best. :thumb:

holdurhead said:
hi 1q. how to check brake pads? they say mus see the calipers. but where is the calipers ah? is it that golden piece of thing beside the disc brake? i tried to see for brake pad but like dont have anything lei.. dunno if my brake pad gone liao not.. spotting the brake pad shold be easily visible or?

DIY: Look closely at your calipers while depressing your front brake lever. you should see your pads compressing your disc from both sides. if there's too huge a gap from the time you depress till it makes contact with your discs, its wearing out. :)

than again, just go to a workshop. get them to check for you. FOC. :thumb:

yeap, that golden thing. they are the calipers. :p

alamak! 1 step too late. got my x1r from southern motors at bukit merah already. FBC plate. 3.1k. insurance 3rd party only 1k+. total. 4480. age 19yrs old w/o p plate.

SOOOO EXP AH~~~ if 3rd party with fire n theft. 600plus more.. dam dam exp ah..

btw if its FBC plate. should be around 2008 nov isit? the guy so kiam siap only change balancer n front brake pad for me. no rain coat no helmet. sad.

  holdurhead said:

look at the brake oil level? on right side of handle bar wan, ard ur mirror mount area. left abt 1 quarter can change liaoz.

  holdurhead said:
alamak! 1 step too late. got my x1r from southern motors at bukit merah already. FBC plate. 3.1k. insurance 3rd party only 1k+. total. 4480. age 19yrs old w/o p plate.

SOOOO EXP AH~~~ if 3rd party with fire n theft. 600plus more.. dam dam exp ah..

btw if its FBC plate. should be around 2008 nov isit? the guy so kiam siap only change balancer n front brake pad for me. no rain coat no helmet. sad.

bro. you never bargain uhh?

FBC, Nov 2008, yeah around there..

brake pads understandable uhh but BALANCERS? kaoz!! :slapforehead: the balancers reallie that damaged meh? the bike only 6-7mths old liao. how you find the condition of the bike?

  JackOHJack said:
look at the brake oil level? on right side of handle bar wan, ard ur mirror mount area. left abt 1 quarter can change liaoz.

not only change the pad. make sure he top-up yr brake fluid. better still bleed it.

new brake pads, brake fluid empty. :faint: haha.

welcome TS to the world of CUB and you'll lurve your X-1R.... u gonna like the handle bar alot alot...

ya i love the handle bar a lot.. i dunno how to say lei..

not only change the pad. make sure he top-up yr brake fluid. better still bleed it.

what does bleed it means?

and, my rear sus ah. when with pillion. can hear the sound of the sus like goin to give way ah. the sound like rust plus plus creeking sound cant withstand such heavy weight. im ard 67kg. my pillion oso ard that weight. is such things normal?

racing footrest also made my rear brake as good as nothing. i read on the forum, say go buy POSH something like that from jb ah boy. but i cant go in msia. so any idea which sg shop can do? GA motor can or not? heard from ppl that it specialise in kups. hmm

thanks again for answering my q.

  holdurhead said:
ya i love the handle bar a lot.. i dunno how to say lei..

what does bleed it means?

and, my rear sus ah. when with pillion. can hear the sound of the sus like goin to give way ah. the sound like rust plus plus creeking sound cant withstand such heavy weight. im ard 67kg. my pillion oso ard that weight. is such things normal?

racing footrest also made my rear brake as good as nothing. i read on the forum, say go buy POSH something like that from jb ah boy. but i cant go in msia. so any idea which sg shop can do? GA motor can or not? heard from ppl that it specialise in kups. hmm

thanks again for answering my q.

bleed as in flush out the current brake fluid and top up with new.

I still find kup best goes without pillion... but still I believe stock suspension can withstand quite a huge load... going well so far.

It seems like most have mention rear not "jiak", but I find it logical... since we were taught 60% front 40% rear. Rear too "jiak" might lock the wheel and cause skidding, normally human react to sudden front vehicle braking is to depress the brakes hard to slow down the vehicle.

stock suspension can handle quite a load. dude ur only 67kg, i'm 100 lei. most of the time im on my own la. if u got the cash, change your rear suspension to yss suspensions. racing footrest? ur using x1r right? its all about how you bleed your brake line uh. if properly done, your rear brake will makan like hell. been there done that, back to basics for me :D