Originally posted by roger@Jan 24 2004, 04:06 PM

I was abt to org one blood/platelets apherisis donation nx Sat!! Anyone on? :smile:

31 jan? mi onz then we can go padang :cheer:

http://img252.echo.cx/img252/5066/ppp012vm.gif

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Always expect the unexpected!

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

• Replies 642

Originally posted by Xiaohei@Jan 24 2004, 02:48 PM

Hi Skydude

How often do you go for blood donation?

As for me is almost every 2 months i will go for donation.

So when will you be going for blood donation again may can go together.

May be next time you put it much early so others got chance to meet up and go together. :thumb:

erh... thot they only allow u to donate every 3 mths :confused:

I like pigs. Dogs look up to us. Cats look down on us. Pigs treat us as equals. --- by Winston Churchill (1874 -1965)

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind.

Driving on the highway is not a competition. It is a cooperation, the sharing of a limited resource. --- Matt Reed

STOC #5806

Originally posted by xiao_p@Jan 24 2004, 04:19 PM

31 jan? mi onz then we can go padang :cheer:

Go padang? for wat?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10715/obliquityresize.jpg

IBA member #25267

Guest ahger^83

donate blood? go whr? how? me no donate b4 lei...belwo 21 need parental consent?

Guest Chilli01

hmmm...i cannot donate blood....i failed the criteria...

muz be more den 45kg den can donate....donate 300cc...over 50kg i think is

donate 500cc.....

dun think need parental consent bah..

Originally posted by xiao_p@Jan 24 2004, 04:21 PM

erh... thot they only allow u to donate every 3 mths :confused:

If you go for apheresis (blood platelet) donation can go every month but each process takes about 2 hours or more

http://www.solidah.com/mystuff/dbsmall.jpghttp://www.solidah.com/mystuff/scootlogo.gifhttp://www.danasoft.com/sig/pharkee01.jpg

DO YOU QUALIFY TO BE A BLOOD DONOR?

You will need to be:

Aged between 16 and 60 (If you are between 16 and 17, you'll need your parents' consent)

At least 45kg in weight

In general good health

Feeling well on that day

Above 12.5mg/dl in haemoglobin level for males and 12mg/dl for females

You must not have the following major illnesses:

Heart or lung diseases

High blood pressure that requires medical control

Cancer

Diabetes that requires medication

A blood disorder or abnormal bleeding tendency

You should not have had a major operation in last 6 to 12 months

AIDS or symptoms suggestive of AIDS (unexplained fever, severe night sweats, unexpected weight loss, swollen glands, chronic diarrhoea or rare cancer)

Uncontrolled seizures after infancy

Hepatitis B or C

Syphilis

Potential donors should also not be suffering from infections such as colds or chicken pox, or be under medications ranging from antibiotics to chemotherapy agents. For a fuller list of other restrictions, Click here

Originally posted by jkaiser@Jan 25 2004, 10:00 AM

Dun worry, Tekong's malaria pill is acceptable... coz after 1 wk, u still hv to take again mah... so if u've taken the pills in tekong, then no prob.

IBA member #25267

Originally posted by roger@Jan 25 2004, 12:02 PM

Dun worry, Tekong's malaria pill is acceptable... coz after 1 wk, u still hv to take again mah... so if u've taken the pills in tekong, then no prob.

tekong that time take maloprin, i checked with doctors outside and found out that it's outdated, as in..effective only in singapore

for my india trip i took lariam...much more powderful, n the side effects sucks...

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Guest nightrider

actually i would rather donate sperm. anyone knows where to go?

Originally posted by roger@Jan 24 2004, 05:44 PM

Go padang? for wat?

well --> "TORQUE - High Octane Bikers Carnival!, 31st Jan 04 - 1st Feb 04, The Padang"

no one goin meh:confused:

STOC #5806

Originally posted by Fass@Jan 24 2004, 10:09 PM

If you go for apheresis (blood platelet) donation can go every month but each process takes about 2 hours or more

actually i dunno wats the diff leh

care to explain? i only do the normal blood donation

STOC #5806

Originally posted by TötöPiN™@Jan 24 2004, 11:41 PM

DO YOU QUALIFY TO BE A BLOOD DONOR?

You will need to be:

Aged between 16 and 60 (If you are between 16 and 17, you'll need your parents' consent)

At least 45kg in weight

In general good health

Feeling well on that day

Above 12.5mg/dl in haemoglobin level for males and 12mg/dl for females

You must not have the following major illnesses:

Heart or lung diseases

High blood pressure that requires medical control

Cancer

Diabetes that requires medication

A blood disorder or abnormal bleeding tendency

You should not have had a major operation in last 6 to 12 months

AIDS or symptoms suggestive of AIDS (unexplained fever, severe night sweats, unexpected weight loss, swollen glands, chronic diarrhoea or rare cancer)

Uncontrolled seizures after infancy

Hepatitis B or C

Syphilis

Potential donors should also not be suffering from infections such as colds or chicken pox, or be under medications ranging from antibiotics to chemotherapy agents. For a fuller list of other restrictions, Click here

Erh....

Is it safe to donated blood and then ride back home later?

Got friend told me it's not safe to ride after donating blood. Is it true?:cheeky:

Guest ViciousKitty74
Originally posted by nightrider@Jan 26 2004, 12:58 AM

actually i would rather donate sperm. anyone knows where to go?

Thomson Fertility Clinic.

Give them a call. I think they will appreciate it.

Guest ViciousKitty74
Originally posted by BLACK COMET@Jan 26 2004, 10:29 AM

Erh....

Is it safe to donated blood and then ride back home later?

Got friend told me it's not safe to ride after donating blood. Is it true?:cheeky:

Yes, its safe to ride home on your bike if you are rested enough and are comfortable with your riding.

If this is your first time, recommend you have a fren with you who can monitor or assess your ability to ride home.

Try going on a cool day, take ample rest after your donation, and ride to anywhere in moderation speed and avoid sudden movements.

i actually made an appt wif HSA de. den suay suay tat day auntie came to visit me.. den my mama say cannot go... den LL lor..she say blood dirty.dunno when i free i go again lor.. keke.. :p i love blood donation..coz it makes me feel so great like a contribution to e society like tat.. keke.... finally i can do something for the society le... lolz..:smile:

:lovestruck: L3mOnadE Life is SuCh~~ "Wang-Der-FuL" :lovestruck:
Originally posted by ViciousKitty74@Jan 26 2004, 10:43 AM

Yes, its safe to ride home on your bike if you are rested enough and are comfortable with your riding.

If this is your first time, recommend you have a fren with you who can monitor or assess your ability to ride home.

Try going on a cool day, take ample rest after your donation, and ride to anywhere in moderation speed and avoid sudden movements.

Also, pls drink more water before going for the donation, so that ur blood can flow faster! That time i kenna 7-8 cycle for my apherisis instead of the usual 6 coz nv do water parade... :(

No prob with riding after doantion. Have been doing that...

IBA member #25267

Originally posted by L3mOn@Jan 26 2004, 11:59 AM

i actually made an appt wif HSA de. den suay suay tat day auntie came to visit me.. den my mama say cannot go... den LL lor..she say blood dirty.dunno when i free i go again lor.. keke.. :p i love blood donation..coz it makes me feel so great like a contribution to e society like tat.. keke.... finally i can do something for the society le... lolz..:smile:

:lol: why AV then blood dirty?!! no connection leh! The draw blood from your body lor, fresh from the heart, not not "somewhr" else! :cheeky:

Pen ur name if u wanna join lor. If too many ppl then i'll see if blood bank can accommodate or not.

IBA member #25267