i aint an expert at this but heres what i recall/found for u.

understand what is carb syn, wad it does etc.

carb syn measures the amount of valve opened on each carb when u squeeze tat throttle.

we syn it coz we wan them to open at the same time, at around the same amount.

many things have to be factored in.

jets (mains, pilots etc), carb rubber seals, carb models and sizes (1234 dun different la), even plugs, exhaust and oil lines play a part.

thats why we will usually clean and service the carbs, replacing any worn parts first, before syn.

we connect the vaccum pipes to each of the 4 carbs, syn 1 and 2 first, then 3 and 4.

then we will syn both sets to be as close as possible.

depends on how lean or rich u wan it to run also has a part to play?

refering to the earlier post, this is why when i do something to the engine, i do everything at once.

spend a bit more $ and have assurance my ride will not break down on me or compromise on performance etc.

again, i might be wrong. have only serviced carbs myself once or twice wif help of mechanics.

thank you so much. roughly understand.
  • Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

will be collecting my wife today.. hope she will be fine now.. keeping finger crossed.

so how is ur bike?..running well?

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

hows the exhaust?

good..can feel the increase in hp...but i spent the whole night autosol-ing the thing..lol!!...i think i'll be going down to sengkwang to rewrap the whole thing again..=X

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

guan hoe can change those parts that require to dismantle alot of stuffs..coz their workmanship cheap and they know the best way to dismantle...things like changing fork oil seal and dust cover...coz they give warranty for it also..if u don't like their fork oil..u can buy ur own...and also change stuffs like spark cap...coz its cheaper over there + again got warranty..other bike shop might remove the whole fuel tank to change that...if ur engine oil leak...u are worried that it might cost alot..can go guan hoe to try ur luck also..coz the problem might not be as big as u think while other bike shops will most prob charge u damn high for workmanship juz to change the gasket..hmm...thats all i can think of now...if ur bike got problem then u can post here then maybe i can give u my recommendation..but of coz its up to ur own discretion =)

hmm... ok.. wen i book out again will go visit dem again... wanna get e bike done soon...

glassjelly

how much did guanhoe charge you for servicing carb?

why you said not so good?

guys, i see mech use 4 gauages to tune carbs.

but never really look @ it. so like to know where

should the needle point @ to be consider good tuning?

cant rmb.. is about is below $50?? change nuttin.. juz take out e carb clean n check....

any of u guys change e coolant hose bfore?? how much?? n any 1 got EO leaking bfore?? e shop tell mi is oil seal ned to b change...

o smoke pay smoke.. united we grow

1st: FT5705R nsr 150 sp 2nd: FT5043S nsr 150 sp

3rd: FZ9167K yamaha x1 4th: FP5793G s4 vs

5th: FBA2925P cbr 600 rr 6th: FBA7389D yamaha x1

7th: FT8373U nsr 150 sp 8th: FM1102T gsxr 400

9th: FS783C s4vtec 10th: F*3*B yamaha yzf r6

11th: FN3643E cbr 400 rr now: FBD5**8E yamaha x1r

hmm... ok.. wen i book out again will go visit dem again... wanna get e bike done soon...

cant rmb.. is about is below $50?? change nuttin.. juz take out e carb clean n check....

any of u guys change e coolant hose bfore?? how much?? n any 1 got EO leaking bfore?? e shop tell mi is oil seal ned to b change...

i got EO leak before..but its the f up mechanic at LAB workshop didn't tighten the screw for me after changing the small sprocket...another one is from the cap coz the oil seal broke..guan hoe replaced for me for free..problem solved =)

Slow rider lives longer

Wah g4 rectifier can put in SP ah? Didnt know that... You want I got extra g4 rectifier but no guarantee whether can fix on sp or not...

Yeah! Can be put into SP. But batt size must go up to 5.... Cuz one of my fren sp is using the gsxr rect. and my mech also say can put...

i got EO leak before..but its the f up mechanic at LAB workshop didn't tighten the screw for me after changing the small sprocket...another one is from the cap coz the oil seal broke..guan hoe replaced for me for free..problem solved =)

oo... ok... thanx..

aiyah, like that you go gh change coolent hose, then gai siao ask the boss your bike eo leak is is?? haha, maybe he change foc for you oso leh!:angel:

haha... mayb ar... can try... bt now bike at another shop doin spray job... next week den collect...

lol..thats the way man

Slow rider lives longer

haha... mayb ar... can try... bt now bike at another shop doin spray job... next week den collect...
wow, rem to post your bike's pic. so that if on the road see, know its you.
ben, u look like u r in the freight/transportation/cargo line?
no lah. my warehouse here got 3 containers for us to store cargo. i'm in the drink dispensing machine line as a storekeeper only.:angel:

hey guys. got a bit of problem maybe if anyone can tell me what can be the cause and solution or is it normal.

irregular Idling

whenever i start the bike, the idling seem fine, maybe 1k - 1.5k from the sound as my rpm meter is not really working.. after warm up, and started to ride? at certain point of time when i am stationary, ie stop are traffic junction etc. i notice that the idling (when clutch pull in or on neutral) the idling which i saw from the meter and the sound of engine, either too high (around 2.1K) or too low (lower than 1K sound like going to stall) then before warm up (which is around 1k or 1.5k). any cause and solution for this?

can't feel engine brake

also i notice when i drop from gear 6 to gear 3/4, there seem like there aren't much engine brake.. any cause or solution for this? i heard adjust the idling helps. but since i have the the above mention problem.. does adjust idling make thing worse??

Carb Tuning

also i have spoken to a bro in the sbf who seen my bike before, mention that i might need to tune/adjust my carb. what is the benefit for doing so?? how does it help in my overall experience?