woo hoo, just got my G4... damn the posture is different... hahaha... well, engine sounds ok ok... btwe few question, the Petrol switch, what means what ah..? on means on.. res means reserve... and whats the other 1..? i dont know which to use for what... n damn it, how do i open the seat..?

The 3 positions I'm aware of are as follows.

PRI = Primary

ON = On

RES = Reserve

PRI and ON pretty much mean the same thing.

In PRI mode, there is no vacuum needed for fuel to flow down into your carburetors. It free flows with the help of gravity and may flood your carburetors.

In ON mode, negative pressure generated in the combustion chamber works on the diaphragm of the fuel cork through a passage way provided in the carburetor main bore and vacuum hose and the diaphragm builds up a negative pressure which is higher then the spring pressure.

Fuel valve in the fuel cork is forced to open due to the diaphragm operation and thus allows fuel to flow into the carburetor float chamber.

Which seat do you want to open? The rider's or the pillion's?

Rider's seat can be access via a screw located in below the hole located towards the front of the seat. If your seat has been re-wrapped and the hole is no longer there, try to look at the space between the tank and seat and see if you can access the screw there.

Pillion's seat is accessed via the seat/helmet lockset located next to the rear right signal.

Edited by yoshitei
  • Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

The 3 positions I'm aware of are as follows.

PRI = Primary

ON = On

RES = Reserve

PRI and ON pretty much mean the same thing.

In PRI mode, there is no vacuum needed for fuel to flow down into your carburetors. It free flows with the help of gravity and may flood your carburetors.

In ON mode, negative pressure generated in the combustion chamber works on the diaphragm of the fuel cork through a passage way provided in the carburetor main bore and vacuum hose and the diaphragm builds up a negative pressure which is higher then the spring pressure.

Fuel valve in the fuel cork is forced to open due to the diaphragm operation and thus allows fuel to flow into the carburetor float chamber.

Which seat do you want to open? The rider's or the pillion's?

Rider's seat can be access via a screw located in below the hole located towards the front of the seat. If your seat has been re-wrapped and the hole is no longer there, try to look at the space between the tank and seat and see if you can access the screw there.

Pillion's seat is accessed via the seat/helmet lockset located next to the rear right signal.

hmm...i think is rear left signal..not rear right..and PRI i think means prime..not primary..but well..the function u stated is right :thumb: anyway..any idea what is the advantage or prime over on or vice versa?

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

so lets say i wanna ride the bike, i put to ON... if the petrol finishes, i'll change to RES also known as reserve... as for PRI(PRIME or PRIMARY) when do i use this..? i dont think flooding my carb whould be a good thing... so what if i dont use the bike, there is no off button..? like my tzm has off... sorry ah, noob ah... im not sure which seat to open, which seat can i open to put thing in it..? tzm is a 1 piece so i open the whole thing... btw i just start the bike and ride alittle, got alittle buring smell and at the same time, very little smoke coming out form my side tank area which has the burning smell... bike was under lay up for almost a month so is it normal..? btw the choke should be located near the clutch area right..? i dont have 1... haha... izzit normal..? and petrol wise, what should i put..? 2000, 5000 or 8000..? its a 17year old bike, last time when the bike was made, there was only 2000 or 92 right, so is that the best..? because others i scared octane level to high...

Edited by xXxAmiRxXx
so lets say i wanna ride the bike, i put to ON... if the petrol finishes, i'll change to RES also known as reserve... as for PRI(PRIME or PRIMARY) when do i use this..? i dont think flooding my carb whould be a good thing... so what if i dont use the bike, there is no off button..? like my tzm has off... sorry ah, noob ah... im not sure which seat to open, which seat can i open to put thing in it..? tzm is a 1 piece so i open the whole thing... btw i just start the bike and ride alittle, got alittle buring smell and at the same time, very little smoke coming out form my side tank area which has the burning smell... bike was under lay up for almost a month so is it normal..? btw the choke should be located near the clutch area right..? i dont have 1... haha... izzit normal..? and petrol wise, what should i put..? 2000, 5000 or 8000..? its a 17year old bike, last time when the bike was made, there was only 2000 or 92 right, so is that the best..? because others i scared octane level to high...

bro , u can only put thing in the rear seat......

oh, haha ok... thanks... btw nice g4 u have there... where did u do your head n tail at..? your pipe what pipe..? hope i get to meet all u guys someday... wanna see all the different g4s in singapore...

hmm...i think is rear left signal..not rear right..and PRI i think means prime..not primary..but well..the function u stated is right :thumb: anyway..any idea what is the advantage or prime over on or vice versa?

You're right, it's the rear left signal for the lockset.

The manuals I have says PRI = Primary.

But I guess that dosn't matter. Leaving the switch at PRI for too long would only flood the carburetors.

so lets say i wanna ride the bike, i put to ON... if the petrol finishes, i'll change to RES also known as reserve... as for PRI(PRIME or PRIMARY) when do i use this..?

Hmm...

The only time I can think off is when you dry off your carburetors or your tank of fuel.

i dont think flooding my carb whould be a good thing... so what if i dont use the bike, there is no off button..? like my tzm has off... sorry ah, noob ah...

There is no OFF on the GSXR, at ON or RES, the fuel should not free flow even when the hose are disconnected. It needs vacuum from the engine to release the fuel.

If it does, you need a new fuel cork.

im not sure which seat to open, which seat can i open to put thing in it..?

The both seats has space for stuffs, but it's easier to get it in and out of the rear seat as it is access via key. There's also where your CDI and your factory tools should be.

tzm is a 1 piece so i open the whole thing... btw i just start the bike and ride alittle, got alittle buring smell and at the same time, very little smoke coming out form my side tank area which has the burning smell... bike was under lay up for almost a month so is it normal..?

Shouldn't be normal. If it was OK when laid up, check to see if there's anything on the engine block that could be burning - leaves, dead insects ect.

btw the choke should be located near the clutch area right..? i dont have 1... haha... izzit normal..?

Shouldn't matter much as you can still access the choke via the carburetor. Most GSXR I've seen have choke cables that don't work anyway.

and petrol wise, what should i put..? 2000, 5000 or 8000..? its a 17year old bike, last time when the bike was made, there was only 2000 or 92 right, so is that the best..? because others i scared octane level to high...

As for fuel, I use 95 octane in mine. It wouldn't go any faster on 98 octane and if it would, JP10 would be a better option.

i found the choke but its not the pull type... its the slide type thingy... but still cant find how to open my back seat... haha, i saw the part with the key, tried to turn turn n turn still the seat is locked... hahaha... tough luck, but hopefully for the burning i hope its nothing serious...

probably the latch rusted...when u manage to open it..remember to lube it

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

I've came across a couple of sellers here who tried to sell me bikes not registered under their names. Suppose I paid cash, and the owner (brother or cousin) insisted that they did not agree to sell, I'll loose both money and bike and have to start a lengthy process to recover my monies.

A cheque is just to protect both buyer and seller, legally speaking, it's an offense to issue a dud check. So as a seller, I have no reasons to pull a fast one here.

On my last bike, I issued the cheque and the owner left the bike at my place. We when down to LTA the next working day and just before the transfer, I paid him cash and took the cheque back.

I'm protecting my interest here... No point getting cheated then coming here and crying out to the world.

Icic so you issue cheque first then pay cash ah. Like that ok lah. Anyway if the person is not the registered owner of the bike there is no way they can do transfer to the buyer as you need the NRIC and signature of the registered owner on the transfer form to do the transfer. As for the dud cheque, sadly I have encountered once a buyer who issued me a cheque(payment not for bike but for some other stuff) end up the cheque bounce and even the investigating officer told me there was no way for the police to track the guy down! But that was like 10 years ago!

Oh yeah and as for the original suspension for g4 there is no way that it can be serviced as it is stated on the suspensions itself on the green sticker!

The choke is on the left handle. It is to be used concurrently with the Primary nozzle switched on when you have difficulty starting the bike as g4 tend to be difficult to start in cold weather or the bike have been left untouched for quite some time (lay up and such).

For petrol wise no issue even if you were to pump Vpower. The response is even better and of course the fuel consumption would be higher!:cheeky:

And for your passenger seat try to push in and turn the key (i think anticlockwise right?) Hope this helps. :thumb:

probably the latch rusted...when u manage to open it..remember to lube it

lube what..? how..? with what..? if u refering to the back seat, my gf managed to open it, haha... paiseh sia... but the front sit wierd, just pull and its open already, cannot lock one... wierd sia, easy to steal leh...

The choke is on the left handle. It is to be used concurrently with the Primary nozzle switched on when you have difficulty starting the bike as g4 tend to be difficult to start in cold weather or the bike have been left untouched for quite some time (lay up and such).

For petrol wise no issue even if you were to pump Vpower. The response is even better and of course the fuel consumption would be higher!:cheeky:

And for your passenger seat try to push in and turn the key (i think anticlockwise right?) Hope this helps. :thumb:

yeah got it bro, gf helped me, its actually locking the hook to hook your helmet but it opens te seat... but how about the rider sit, its just pull and its open... cannot lock...

Rider seat got to unscrew the screw bro that is if yours still got the screw ah.

hey bro AmirX gratz on your new ride. Safe ride bro, coffee sometimes. And to All Muslim SELAMAT HARI RAYA ahhh. For the non-one have a nice weekends. Cheers

http://i42.tinypic.com/wqslfr.gif

stock pipe wif carbon fiber sticker . The head 'n' tail is DIY , wif help from frens oso .

bro..ur bike getting power and power lah...tat time only wee tail mod only...now head oso mod liao...:lovestruck:

what project you had there? haha, think next week if free, go find u la kopi.:clapping:

eh..u go la kopi msg mi oso...maybe can join u...so long nv meet liao...

http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc111/djbotak/PICT0079.jpg

once armour, always armour, recce forever...

in stealth we move with swiftness we strike...

Rider seat got to unscrew the screw bro that is if yours still got the screw ah.

hahaha, mine got screw but at the looks of it, the screw the screw n nut both worn out already... i just used 1 finger to lift it up...

hey bro AmirX gratz on your new ride. Safe ride bro, coffee sometimes. And to All Muslim SELAMAT HARI RAYA ahhh. For the non-one have a nice weekends. Cheers

thanks alot... anyway ive bought the bike but no license yet, tp on 13 oct... hopefully pass first time... :pray:

Icic so you issue cheque first then pay cash ah. Like that ok lah. Anyway if the person is not the registered owner of the bike there is no way they can do transfer to the buyer as you need the NRIC and signature of the registered owner on the transfer form to do the transfer. As for the dud cheque, sadly I have encountered once a buyer who issued me a cheque(payment not for bike but for some other stuff) end up the cheque bounce and even the investigating officer told me there was no way for the police to track the guy down! But that was like 10 years ago!

Well, the cheque is to confirm my interest. If the seller prefers cash, it can always be arranged for at the point of transfer.

It's a hell lot easier if LTA is open, just head down, transfer and provide the cash. It gets trickier when LTA is closed and the next working day is the following Monday.

Cheques are traceable unlike cash. But then again, you have a point, there may be some buyers that could leave the seller high and dry.

I came across a guy who tried to sell his cousin's bike to me and I only found out on the day itself. He had his cousin's documents, but wanted to sign on his cousin's behalf.

It's tricky here, cause if the cousin claims otherwise, I'll loose both bike and money.

Oh yeah and as for the original suspension for g4 there is no way that it can be serviced as it is stated on the suspensions itself on the green sticker!

You need the equipment to pressurize the shock back if you're taking it apart. Don't think there're any LBS with those gear.

Over when I was in the UK, there're lots of "funny" things the guys do with their bikes. Most GSXR are restricted to 33bhp at the carburetors, some with swingarms from a RGV250 or shocks from a GSXR 600.

There were a couple of GSXR450, I had one of those tune to over 80bhp at the wheel.

I guess in Singapore, a bike is more of a transport then a hobby.

bro..ur bike getting power and power lah...tat time only wee tail mod only...now head oso mod liao...:lovestruck:

ok, sure. busy nowadays. will sms you..
lube what..? how..? with what..? if u refering to the back seat, my gf managed to open it, haha... paiseh sia... but the front sit wierd, just pull and its open already, cannot lock one... wierd sia, easy to steal leh...

lube the moving joint of the latch...can lube wtih rp7..wd40...or singar oil

Slow rider lives longer

yoshitei, do u head down to the malaysia tracks?

been quite a while since i heard someone putting in after market shocks, rotors etc to this old hag.

lemme noe if ya interested and we'll go burn some rubber together ^^

yoshitei, do u head down to the malaysia tracks?

been quite a while since i heard someone putting in after market shocks, rotors etc to this old hag.

lemme noe if ya interested and we'll go burn some rubber together ^^

:-)

Haha... Have been waiting to be asked. It's been a decade since I was there, would be glad to burn some rubber once I get a decent set of wheels.

Will give you a tinker when the time comes.

what project you had there? haha, think next week if free, go find u la kopi.:clapping:
now i only off on every thursday , if night after 9pm every day oso can , haha...:smile:

aiya...out look power only la.....:smile: