Originally posted by S750WP@Mar 8 2006, 12:39 PM

I'm oso the 8th owner of my current g4, it has never break down during my ownership except run till fuel tank empty. In fact its running better compare to the time when I first bought it, after I service and replace the worn parts.

I think your current problem is the side stand relay or the neutral swtich faulty, tt;s why the bike dies when you engage gear 1. Also you can start the bike after that.

I would have swap the farings with you if I did not sell away my ride.

well, guess different ppl different luck ba. some get a good deal, some don't.

arcfire commented tt my clutch lever is very stiff which i think so too.

i believer it's the clutch that's giving problems, my friend and i think that the clutch plates are worn out, hence the plates tend to stick to each other, resulting in engine dying if engage into gear. i tried pushing her around a bit in neutral to loosen the clutch plates first before engaging gear and she did not die. does my reasoning makes sense or not huh? i'm not sure, it's just a deduction.

side stand relay how to check? chris are u gg down to shop today? maybe i can go also.

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

3days back, i havnt been riding my baby much. afterwhich i didnt use her for abt 30hrs. den... the following morning i couldnt start her.. and ice came down to help me start her. the nxt 2 mornings i had to push start her. ice suspected that ppl played arnd wif my idling key. now i suspect that the petrol cant flow into the carb thus being unble to start the bike easily wifout dying out or if it can start i would hav to blow her throttle for awhile den engine wouldnt die.

anyone hav any suggestions wat the problem might be? n cost to rectify it? could be tuning? float needle? carb problem? cdi? magnetic coils?

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-9595.jpg

nsr150-nsr125-gsx400

Originally posted by bob_daniel@Mar 8 2006, 03:25 AM

I hit 220km/h wif illegal yoshi....stock ard 200 ever try wif my fren big bore g4 his meter him 240 mine busa clock him 220 side by side n srad k2 clock him 240 side by side so stock g4 cant hit 230...

dun realli understand wat u tokin....can u plz simplified? :confused:

btw u sure a stock g4 cant hit 230km?...hav u tried all the version in sg? no offence

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by IceZ@Mar 7 2006, 11:55 PM

could it be ur cdi problem?coz when i 1st bought the bike it onli manage to reach 190km..den it start bounce* back...

after i changed the cdi...wow...220km/h...

FYI-a stock G4 speed range is about 190-230km...depends the rider weight and bike condition :smile:

To wat i know i thought the top spd rpm shld be at least at the 13-14k rpm ma...shld be 10k i suspect might me the throttle line or the tunning. but i tune at planet motor recently...no sure leh...hmmm...i'll be trying all the method...i die die wan to make my g4 go above 200...wAHAHAHAH

Originally posted by S750WP@Mar 8 2006, 12:50 PM

I was the one who said it. Well when I first bought the bike, the gear shifting was already very smooth.

But after I play with the air/fuel mixture screw somehow it deterioate, engine becomes rough and very difficult to shift gear and to neutral.

I tune it back to 2.75 turns out and did carb syn,, the bike is running fine again. Engine very smooth and gear shifting back to normal.

Your problem might not be the same as mine. Btw I'm refering to the air/fuel mixture screw and not the throttle stop screw (which is used to adjust the idling speed)

i agree with S750WP, mine g4 used to have this prob initially when i bought over the bike...after i changed the engine oil to castrol r4 and gt it tuned at unity...the prob was solved...

Originally posted by Gixxer-Babe@Mar 8 2006, 06:50 PM

brothers, how about a Sentosa outing? long time no sentosa outing liao leh...

haha...okie when?

Originally posted by paiseh@Mar 8 2006, 12:44 AM

thanks. not say i buai paiseh or wat la.. u see ah..

this bike price outside $14k - $15k market price.

Mine i selling at $13.5k together with COI. Imagine the amount u save on interest. dun tok abt if u got full cash.. my bike machine price is only $11k if dun count in itnerest. if coutn in interestr, its still less den market price.

help me find buyer!! :cry:

y selling off so fast? Upgrading again?

Originally posted by snk@Mar 8 2006, 07:49 PM

y selling off so fast? Upgrading again?

downgrade.. need to wait for a yr b4 i can get class 2 bike.. :sweat:

Originally posted by paiseh@Mar 8 2006, 09:43 PM

downgrade.. need to wait for a yr b4 i can get class 2 bike.. :sweat:

eh...haha...icic...so wat u getting next?

Originally posted by ozzarhomb@Mar 8 2006, 02:08 PM

well, guess different ppl different luck ba. some get a good deal, some don't.

arcfire commented tt my clutch lever is very stiff which i think so too.

i believer it's the clutch that's giving problems, my friend and i think that the clutch plates are worn out, hence the plates tend to stick to each other, resulting in engine dying if engage into gear. i tried pushing her around a bit in neutral to loosen the clutch plates first before engaging gear and she did not die. does my reasoning makes sense or not huh? i'm not sure, it's just a deduction.

side stand relay how to check? chris are u gg down to shop today? maybe i can go also.

Clutch lever stiff, have you tried to adjust the free play??

Clutch plate stuck, have you tried to clutch in at any gear with engine off and move the bike, is it able to move?? If not then its stuck.

The clutch plates hardly stuck because the clutch spring is quite strong, at most the clutch plate worn, or metal plate warped resulting diff to engage/disenage gear. Unless your clutch sleeve hub is so severely worn, until the clutch friction plate unable to disengage from the metal plates.

There are a few interlock (safety pupose) you need to satisfy before the bike can start.

1. clutch lever - need to clutch in than can start (mine was bypass by previous owner)

2. Neutral switch - if in gear you won't be able to start unless you clutch in

3. Side stand switch - if in gear bike and side stand is down you wont be able to start

4. Oil pressure switch - if the light stays permanent, bike oso wont start.

5. Diode - If its faulty bike oso wont start

Check all the interlocks, then check your ignition switch and the starter button, sometimes when the contact is dirty it wont start also. :goodluck:

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by IceZ@Mar 8 2006, 06:44 PM

btw u sure a stock g4 cant hit 230km?...hav u tried all the version in sg? no offence

mine g4 P model hit 220KM/H wif yoshi pipe my fren big bore g4 R model hit 240km/h wif srad k1 side by side....

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d167/yantizz/HPIM2372.jpg
Originally posted by IceZ@Mar 8 2006, 06:44 PM

Tis r the 2 model i tested b4 so tis is wat i experience no offence:thumb:

http://i35.photobucket.com/albums/d167/yantizz/HPIM2372.jpg

On how to check the side stand relay, you need to trace where is the side stand relay connector is connected to, unplug the connector and measure if its 'open'. Then press in the switch, (simulate side stand up) measure to see if its 'close'

Actually it doesn;t matter 'open' or 'close' as long you can see a change in state when you press and release the side stand relay switch, that means your side stand switch is working.

I still believe your side stand is not pressing fully on the side stand switch thus your bike still sensed your side stand is down when you engage first gear and that cut out the engine.

Try this, hold your leg to keep the side stand all the way up and tried to start the bike in gear, if its able to start than my deduction is right. If it doesn;t than you need to measure the continuity to confirm.

Current Ride - 2004 Kawasaki Z750

http://www.motorvoordelig.nl/images/laser/pics_hot_kaw_z750_04-.jpg

My Z750 DIY Page

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/361701-2004-Kawasaki-Z750-DIY-Guide

04 Z750 Specification

http://jarlef.no/Kawasaki/PDF/2004/PDFfiles/z750PDF04.pdf

Originally posted by Ah_KiAt@Mar 8 2006, 04:24 AM

those were the days..!!! shld i get a bike? hm..

Yea....Those were the days when all of us still riding our G4. MIss those sportly days.....

We might be planning for other distance trip on bike to Peneng or Genting.....This coming sept 2006, 3 Nations will be over at Thai puket....

Honda Fit 1.3GE - Honda CBR600 (SOLD - 2009) - Yamaha FZ600 (SOLD 2010) - Honda ST1100 (SOLD - 2008) - Kawasaki KRR150 (SOLD) - Suzuki GSXR400RR (EXPORT) - ChunLan CM125 (SCAPE)

ahh guyss.. no one helpin me yet! =D i jus now go out push start bike again.. battery shuld be fine cuz of headlight n horn all ok. pls pls pls!!!

nsr150-nsr125-gsx400

oh n only hav that problem when engine cold.. if i off engine n 4-5hrs ltr start bike no problem.. if like whole day or overnite den hav to push start..zzz will appreciate any help or advise. ty! i still wanna go kulai wif u guys again. haha.

nsr150-nsr125-gsx400

Originally posted by onglai84@Mar 9 2006, 01:59 AM

oh n only hav that problem when engine cold.. if i off engine n 4-5hrs ltr start bike no problem.. if like whole day or overnite den hav to push start..zzz will appreciate any help or advise. ty! i still wanna go kulai wif u guys again. haha.

tried using the choke?

Originally posted by onglai84@Mar 9 2006, 01:59 AM

one thing i dun understand....... can you crank your bike?

if you can then i dun see the reason for push starting your bike.....

if cranking is not possible den either your starter relay is busted or something related is wacked.

if cranking is possible then y are you push starting? try using the choke n throttle while you crank.

by that time i think i had bought a bike..!

http://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_32.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_24.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_29.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_23.jpg

haha...hey gixxer-babe seems like no one wanna chup u...lolx...

btw i going down to planet this coming sat...anyone going down?