• Replies 2.1k

Originally posted by SBR750@Aug 16 2004, 12:32 PM

hi, need some help here. my bike can't start. its a FZ1 '02. change the ignition fuse but to no avail. all lights, horm signals are okie cept for there's no action when i start the ignition. can someone pls help before i haf to push the bike to the shop?

hmm... clean your starter button contacts???... your battery in gd condition???

clean my starter button contacts? how do i do that? u mean open up the entire switch on the right? i was wondering if FZ1 has got another set of fuse for the ignition just like my old bike. was trying to locate it but couldn't find any cept for a 30A fuse holder lying side by side. wonder wat that is for? anyway, my batt's good. if not there'd be no horn, lights.

Sport_Bike_Rider

http://im1.shutterfly.com/procserv/47b7cc20b3127cceb1565ade2b5a00000026100Acs2rJw2ZOWOg

Originally posted by SBR750@Aug 16 2004, 01:33 PM

clean my starter button contacts? how do i do that? u mean open up the entire switch on the right? i was wondering if FZ1 has got another set of fuse for the ignition just like my old bike. was trying to locate it but couldn't find any cept for a 30A fuse holder lying side by side. wonder wat that is for? anyway, my batt's good. if not there'd be no horn, lights.

yes... I think there is a starter relay fuse on the bike... its a 30A fuse on the rigth side mid sectino of the bike... you have to remove the side cover to see it, i think...

Same problem happened to me. Need to clean the starter contacts. Need to use sandpaper and clean. My bike was getting hard to start.

press and hold but sometime can, sometimes cannot. WD-40 is useless, in this situation.

halo ppl,

Saw a grey Fz1 # 8514..does it belong to anyone here? BTW, nice set-up dude!! Was wondering why owners use SW-Motech side racks with HB boxes...why not use the standard HB side racks? Anyone proud owners of this set-up care to share a few pointers?

BTW, where to buy SW-motech side racks and how much? :cheeky: :cheeky:

:cheeky: For all FZS1000 Fazer Lovers...

Happy Reading.....:thumb:

Naoki Segawa, product planner and Yutaka Kubo project leader for Fazer 1000 work in Yamaha Factory in Iwata/Japan. They both give insight in Fazer's development.

http://ymedc.introweb.nl/en/archive/street/images/fz1000-01/FZSaction2.jpg

Fazer: Supersport performance with relaxed riding position

Yukata Kubo, project leader of Fazer 1000 is dedicated motorcycle engineer and worked on many important Yamaha bikes before.

Naoki Segawa coordinates the concept making of new models for Europe in Yamaha's factory in Japan. He likes sportsbikes and surfing.

Segawa : We wanted the "Ultimate Strong Fazer" . A bike that exceeds the performance of 1000cc street class machines. Fazer is a real sportbike for use on all kinds of public roads. Of course we used a lot of technology derived from R1 supersport, but goal for Fazer was more versatile use under real everyday conditions. We believe that most enthusiasts like bikes like R1. But for rider, using their machine also for commuting or prefer more comfortable riding style a high performance sportsbike needs better seating comfort, a acceptable space for passenger, and the ability to carry a minimum of luggage just to name a few criteria. Fazer does that.

Kubo:Yes, indeed. The balance between sport function and comfort was the major discussion point between us engineers. To achieve this balance we used a steel chassis in combination with horizontally mounted carburetors instead of a R1 delta box type with downdraft carburetors.

http://ymedc.introweb.nl/en/archive/street/images/fz1000-01/frame.jpg

Tubular steel frame: Rigidity and comfort

This layout enables to locate the rider further forward and allows a more space for legs at a more upright riding position. At the same time we were quite severely "weight watching" . The result: Fazer is not much heavier than other supersport machines in its category: only 208 kg dry weight. The bike handles perfectly on small roads and also to maneuver it in city traffic is pretty easy.

http://ymedc.introweb.nl/en/archive/street/images/fz1000-01/engine.jpg

R1 base: power & torque: 143 HP and 10,8 kg/m

We used the R1 engine as a base. This power-plant is light, compact and produces enormous power. We made some modification to the engine in order to fit use in every traffic condition. Top end power is still at 143 HP, and we gained a more balanced torque curve with 10,8 kgf/m torque. You don't need to shift a lot on Fazer 1000. Even in last gear on secondary roads, the acceleration and power pick up is really great and makes riding a real pleasure. We achieved this by 10% increased crank inertia mass, combined with BSR 37 mm carburetors and a completely new cylinder head.

Segawa: Regarding the engine: R1 engine as a base was more a logic result rather than a given condition. We were free in our minds, which engine to use, but R1 base proved to be the best for the job. And actually we did a lot of internal tests and evaluation before deciding the final package. The project members did lots of actual riding of different bikes to set the target. We evaluated our comparative models as well as major competitor machines to be sure to build the ultimate street machine. Finally our goal, everyone in the team agreed was: "easy to catch up with an R1 on secondary roads with smile and comfort" .

http://ymedc.introweb.nl/en/archive/street/images/fz1000-01/action_2.jpg

Fazer is made for country lanes, to enjoy twisty roads

Kubo: Believe me it was not easy to reach this . As you imagine, R1 is a pretty serious bike with huge performance potential. But we finally managed to combine comfort and performance for public road.

Segawa: Of course R1 is still superior on hard riding on tracks or high sped, but for normal road conditions in public traffic Fazer is not far off.

Kubo: We used buff baking for the exhaust pipe (f35mm, single pipe) and EXUP which contributes to the flat torque and lightweight 4 into 1 muffler, as well as lightweight small clutches and modified second reduction gear (16x43 to 16x44). This also contributes to the easy ride feeling on public roads.

Segawa: Fazer1000 styling was made up after big discussions. We did many tests to determine the best balance between a slim and dynamic styling and good function for wind protection and seat comfort. Actually these both requirements are opposite things. But I believe we found a good balance now.

"But it ain't about how hard ya hit. It's about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. Now if you know what you're worth then go out and get what you're worth."

All fazers 1 gurus, greetings

Anyone knows when the new Fazer 2005 is gonna be launch? And any new specifications changes and uplift etc...do share, thanks in advance.

Me thinking of getting the Fazer 1 as an alternative bike so just before I go happily to bike shop to book myself 1, thought you guys may have some updates. Would be good if there is a web link I can go to for the updates.

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@Sep 9 2004, 11:03 AM

Anyone knows when the new Fazer 2005 is gonna be launch? And any new specifications changes and uplift etc...do share, thanks in advance.

Me thinking of getting the Fazer 1 as an alternative bike so just before I go happily to bike shop to book myself 1, thought you guys may have some updates. Would be good if there is a web link I can go to for the updates.

So far there's no news of the 2005 Fazer 1000. There are many rumors in the internet that the new model will have a EFI engine from the 2002 R1 with under seat exhaust system. But non of these has been verified by Yamaha. Yamaha may release the new model in late Oct or after if there is any... if not its same present model with a new colour... anyway any model Fazer is the best street bike.... check Cycle World (I think) latest mag where the test revealed the Fazer as the best street bike for 2004.

Sankar

Originally posted by vmaxxmadness@Sep 9 2004, 11:03 AM

we all waiting to see wht the new Fazer1000 will look like~ but we only can pray loh~~hahaha :cheeky:

work is life, no a job.

Originally posted by Sankar73@Sep 10 2004, 12:30 AM

from now to the end of the year.....

That's the news/press release right? So usually take how long to reach our shores? When can confirm if there's any '05 FZ6/1? Me itching... :sweat:

Originally posted by EmptyVessel@Sep 10 2004, 01:11 AM

That's the news/press release right? So usually take how long to reach our shores? When can confirm if there's any '05 FZ6/1? Me itching... :sweat:

small boy, go get ur class 2 first, by then i sell u mine lah!

Originally posted by Pauche@Sep 14 2004, 09:55 AM

yo bro, long time no hear, how r u?

this friday GP esso 2200hrs, go makan....... hope to see u.

anyway thats a good one!!!! yamaha fazer 125?????!!!!!! haahaaaa

shouldnt be a problem this time.

missed too many outing liao. :cheer:

Originally posted by lEddyl@Sep 14 2004, 11:08 AM

shouldnt be a problem this time.

missed too many outing liao. :cheer:

refer to trips and thrills section under PG makan thread.

Originally posted by katana777@Sep 15 2004, 12:17 AM

sianz, the new 05 fz1 change nothing much...

was hoping to have underseat exhaust, think stick back to my old bike...

maybe wait for 06 model......

like dat sian half liao lah!!!

wah sian siah..........knnn the 05Fz1 still carb version, like not much difference from the 04Fz1 leh.

the 05 R6 does see improvements from the following:

New camshafts

Bigger throttle bodies

Improved fuel injection

Revised intake funnels